Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rehab CEO "we are not a state owned company"

• 27-02-2014 12:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭

She is saying her salary is therefore none of our business. Why then are they getting State money?
    Is the CEO's belligerence damaging to Rehab?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Rehab is damaging to Rehab.

All I know about them is scratch cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

greenpilot wrote: »
    She is saying her salary is therefore none of our business. Why then are they getting State money?

Whatever benefit of any skill she brings to her job certainly appears to be wiped out by her attitude and general demeanour.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Basically what she is saying is that rehab has two halfs. One a commercial side where they make big money. The other a government funded operation. I think the commercial side out weights the government funding but a large amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

She's right. Rehab isn't a state company and she isn't answerable to anybody except the board for her wages.

That said, I normally wouldn't give a fcuk about her wages seeing as it's a private company but there's something amiss whereby only 8c out of every €1 goes to where it's needed most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Fishyfreak

Who are the shareholders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

BattleCorp wrote: »
    She's right. Rehab isn't a state company and she isn't answerable to anybody except the board for her wages.

That said, I normally wouldn't give a fcuk about her wages seeing as it's a private company but there's something amiss whereby only 8c out of every €1 goes to where it's needed most.

I agree and the fact that she is "one of the lads" from the good ol FF days doesn't help either (helicopters, Galway tent, whip rounds u know yourself).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Rehab gets 83 million in Government funding, so if that's her attitude then the Government should cut the funding and let them operate on their own.
    60% of their income comes from the commercial side so I'd love to see how they manage with a 40% reduction in income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

I think our Angie is doing a great job and definitely deserves to be paid more than the president of the USA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

The government does 'buy' some services from the two Rehab companies
    Rehabcare receives €40m for the provision residential support, day care, home support and respite beds.
    €13.5m is paid to NLN to provide over 1,000 rehabilitation places.
    So a lot of the money is not a free donation.

I would like to see the government cease any discretionary donations to Rehab until they get in line with other Section 39 companies. But I would not like to see the government cease to buy these services from the two Rehab companies as there is no alternative service available, and that would hurt those who need it most.

Hopefully Rehab international group will step in and get Rehab ireland to play ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

cos she's not worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Going by what Shane Ross said on news at one its going to be an interesting afternoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I know one thing they are not - a charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Leslie91 wrote: »
    I agree and the fact that she is "one of the lads" from the good ol FF days doesn't help either (helicopters, Galway tent, whip rounds u know yourself).
    these people and their ilk should all be burned in a big ceremonial Wicker Man type contraption thereby exorcising this country of the gobeenism which has plagued us for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

She's being very stupid and this will end badly for her. Whether she is right or wrong about disclosing her salary, whether she is right or wrong about being worth the salary is no longer the point.

There is a sustained outcry about this. There is a perception that she's landed in an overpaid job due to her political connections. There is a perception that its being funded in some way by the taxpayer. She needs to be accountable in some way and not try to stick her head in the sand. If she continues on this road, her position will become untenable. Maybe she knows this and is waiting to take the unfair dismissal case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

She is totally correct.
    She works for a private entity who sell their services to the Government.
    If the Government don't like it they can opt to provide the services themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Caliden wrote: »
    Rehab gets 83 million in Government funding, so if that's her attitude then the Government should cut the funding and let them operate on their own.
    60% of their income comes from the commercial side so I'd love to see how they manage with a 40% reduction in income.

Rehab doesn't get €83 in Government funding, it sells services to the state.
    It is no different than the company that sells computers or toilet rolls to the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Rehab doesn't get €83 in Government funding, it sells services to the state.
    It is no different than the company that sells computers or toilet rolls to the state.

Then perhaps the Government should go elsewhere. It was disclosed in the proceedings that there has been zero research into 'shopping around'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Well they are, but they're just a bit confused on whether the charity should go to the disabled, or to their needy CEO. When they asked their CEO about this, it looks like she thought their mission would be better fulfilled, by redirecting charity to the CEO - she knows best, right?

Makes sense really - before we can help the disabled, we've got to first give enough charity to those who want to help the disabled.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

As far as I'm concerned if you're a charity with tax exempt status then you are in a round about way funded by the Government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

The hubris is strong in this one. I predict a great fall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

well they are not spending any of the cash on their website ... It's terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Leslie91 wrote: »

I said to a mate of mine that the "value" that the likes of her use to sell themselves to a company is their access to other movers and shakers in the golden circle that can be used for the companies advantage

Didnt know she was a fianna failer when I said that but just goes to show, its always the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

anyone else remember the word "rehab" being used as a personal insult?

John misses an open goal during a game of World Cup.

"Ah John, you're a ****ing rehab"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

anyone else remember the word "rehab" being used as a personal insult?

Yep. Still is sometimes

Mate of mine had a story about rehab made school bags

Bambi wrote: »
    I said to a mate of mine that the "value" that the likes of her use to sell themselves to a company is their access to other movers and shakers in the golden circle that can be used for the companies advantage

Didnt know she was a fianna failer when I said that but just goes to show, its always the same.

Was she not appointed to her position by Frank Flannery. (FG)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭clear thinking

On vinb a minute ago. She gets 240k and waived 80k in bonuses the last few years. So she costs rehab 240k, the benchmark or cost to replace her is 380k. Good deal for rehab imo as finding someone to run 3800 staff is not easy. Wouldn't mind that money myself having said that!
    The govt money seems to be spent on direct services or compo for the lotto monopoly that they are entitled to get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

On vinb a minute ago. She gets 240k and waived 80k in bonuses the last few years. So she costs rehab 240k, the benchmark or cost to replace her is 380k. Good deal for rehab imo as finding someone to run 3800 staff is not easy. Wouldn't mind that money myself having said that!
    The govt money seems to be spent on direct services or compo for the lotto monopoly that they are entitled to get.

I thought Human resource and managers managed the workforce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

The lottery's a con on the working class, it tricks people into believing that they can make a fortune without even trying. 'Could be you' is the biggest lie ever told. You can see it in any shop - dead-eyed people temporarily disappointed but ever optimistic that their 'numbers' will come up next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

It's certainly a serious blow to the argument that CEOs get big bucks because you have to pay big bucks to get the best CEOs. That response as all the intelligence and acumen of a shit flinging chimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

€240,000 is a ridiculous salary for her to be receiving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

So Rehab are funded to a hefty tune by the tax payer and the state buys services off them??
    And this person is not answerable, so who made the decision to state fund this organisation or any other like it?

Why doesnt the state JUST buy the services needed?
    Now Im wondering who rehab actually are?? who are they that they are receiving all this state funding, who benefits, if its a private company as they seem to be saying, and who else is getting paid what?
    jobs for the boys and girls
    fcukers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

She made the point that for the €80m that the government give Rehab, they receive €80m in services - that they are a supplier as opposed to a state funded organisation.

If that is the truth I couldn't give a fiddlers what she is on. If the govt aren't getting value for money for the €80m the onus is on them to find a new supplier, but I dont see what the suppliers CEOs wages has got to do with anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

The way I see it, we have two choices.

We could A) Kill her and all like her.

Or B) Whinge and do nothing about it, as usual.

For the record, I don't want any of them killed.

But I wouldn't give a shite if they were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭jamaamaj

I'll have an A please Bob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

They get a sort of rebate funding. The fund was intended to benefit charities that were inhibited from competing with the State-owned National Lottery, which the Government is now trying to sell. Charity lotteries had to cap prize funds – currently at €20,000 week – in contrast with the massive prizes offered by the National Lottery. The compensation scheme was supposed to end after three years but it continued under the approval of an inter-departmental committee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

BattleCorp wrote: »

If she's taking the "We're a private company, so butt out" route, then she needs to be judged by commercial standards.

Is she uniquely, or even well, qualified for the job? No. She was a midwife before this. A fine and honourable profession, but has nothing to do with administrating charities.

Has she increased the charity's income - surely the most important part of a charity CEO's remit? No evidence one way or the other on this. If she'd been successful, I'm guessing we'd have heard the numbers trumpeted from the highest rooftops, so I'm saying 'no' on this one.

The flip side of income is expenditure and final profit. For a charity, this means how much of every penny gets through to the people it is meant to assist. Once again, I've yet to see the numbers for our Angela's efforts.

So to recap. She claims (a) they're not a state body so her salary is no business but her own and (b) you typically pay big money for the best people in the private sector.

The problem is she doesn't pass muster any of the private sector metrics for leadership and success. She's screamingly unqualified. She refuses to say how much of every euro reaches the people her charity assists. She refuses to say what difference her tenure has made to fund raising.

You can't invoke private sector standards to protect your pay-out and then not allow your record as a manager in the commercial sector to be judged by commercial standards.

I suspect that what will happen is she'll continue to do well with her chums in the Dail with screwing money out of government, but - as with the Central Remedial Clinic before Christmas - donations and scratch card sales will drop like a stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Or the tl;dr boiled-down version: her defence is that you pay top dollar for the best people.

The problem is there is zero evidence that she's a top charity executive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

So a file has been forwarded to the Gardai from the PAC, regarding allegations of possible criminal activity by current and past members of Rehab.

Things are really becoming interesting now.

Is the FF/FG circle of crooks and cronnies about to be laid bare for everyone to see?

Oh hold on, I forgot fora moment who our justice minister and Garda commissioner are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Whatever benefit of any skill she brings to her job certainly appears to be wiped out by her attitude and general demeanour.
    The interview process was knowing Bartholomew Ahern!
    I dont know about that the board and director seems to major benefactors...
    €240,000 is a ridiculous salary for her to be receiving
    But imagine the talent, world class leadership and amazing visionaries that would leave if they were to be paid a real world salary...

Idbatterim wrote: »

I dont know about that the board and director seems to major benefactors...

But imagine the talent, world class leadership and amazing visionaries that would leave if they were to be paid a real world salary...

Get your facts straight, she was Flannerys choice.