Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FFS Cup IX

• 27-02-2014 12:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭

Perhaps a new thread as last time it got buried in the General Chat thread and one of ours got to the final.

Draw is out for the second instalment of the season.

Scraped into round 1 myself, and seem to have a competitive enough opponent, however the way my strategy towards 29 and 31 plays out I'm relying heavily on Captain Ade for this week and have a 442 with a flimsy enough midfield with 2 big hitters benched.

I don't expect as long a run as last time!

Full details of rounds here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,220 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

Missed out on the first cup competition by 3 points and missed out on the members cup by a point. Sickened. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I got a lad is 600k and 300 points behind me. Now, just watch his team beat mine this weekend :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,421 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Up against a Danish guy ranked 100K behind me.

I have no subs this week and a -4 so not expecting it to be easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Scraped through to the first round in the FFS cup and in the members cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

Got someone 469K in the world so should be a handy pass into the next round......famous last words!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

I drew someone ranked 15k with two previous top 10k finishes! One season I got a 1st & 3rd in their cups since then I haven't got past a first round! I guess its best to use up all the luck at the same time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Is there not 2 cups ?

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    Is there not 2 cups ?

There are loads this season. There are two cups about to start a members one and a non-members one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Up against a guy in 24k, looks decent. We have very similar teams, depends on who he transfers in this week and who his captain choice is.

In the FFS cup I'm 4 points behind after today. He has Ade and Noone left against my Bony, Eriksen, Puncheon and Olsson

In the Members cup I'm 14 ahead and opponent has Ade (c), Bennett, Marshall, and Mariappa left against my 4 above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭AdpRo

FFS Cup 24 points down, his Ade v my Ade (C), Snodgrass and Vlaar so almost certain to go out.

In the members cup down by 1 point, my above players v his Bony (C), Vlaar, Eriksen and Vlaar so that one could go either way, all on captain!!

My opponent is such a troll - Left Suarez and Boruc on the bench :)http://fantasy.premierleague.com/entry/1594629/event-history/28/

He'll be on 40 against my 42, both have Ade captain. I need Ince and Marshall to not get outscored by Puncheon and Snodgrass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Fortunately my opponent captained Ade same as me. So trailing by 2 points when he only has 1 other player left and I have 3 seems promising. He has Paulinho though so all to play for against my Olsson, Ince and Noone.

Edit. Forget about my points hit and it was 3 not 2 before that. Not so promising.

Unsurprisingly out....

I'm through by ten points. 55 to 45.

Out of the FFS cup, through in the members cup

Through myself despite a poor week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,421 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Through. He got 55 with Hazard captain, I got 67 (-4) with my boy Luis captain.

KevIRL wrote: »
    Out of the FFS cup, through in the members cup

Same as that!

Through 56-52

Tight margins this week alround due to non performance of a lot of players. It is conceivable that a lot would have lost to those who just left the captaincy on Suarez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,692 ✭✭✭Danger781

I was sure I applied for this but can't seem to find my name :confused:

Edit: Turns out the qualifiers week was my first terrible game week in quite a while

Just noticed my 2nd team in my wife's name is up against our very own Lemlin this week!! Think I am 2 up after today but wouldn't be too confident of holding out for the win!! My own team has a slight lead in the members cup but my decision to captain Sturridge will probably cost me in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,953 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Weetabix wrote: »
    Just noticed my 2nd team in my wife's name is up against our very own Lemlin this week!! Think I am 2 up after today but wouldn't be too confident of holding out for the win!! My own team has a slight lead in the members cup but my decision to captain Sturridge will probably cost me in the end.
    You shouldn't be entering 2 teams in leagues/cups. It's not right.

The more I think about that, it's actually a bigger issue than I was first thinking. It's not just a 'ah that's not in the spirit of the game'. You're blatantly breaking the rules of the game.

Sorry meant to say my wife's team that I help her out with, hope that makes you feel better.

Your wife wanted to enter the Fantasy Football Scout Cup? I'm having an awful time believing that.

CSF wrote: »
    The more I think about that, it's actually a bigger issue than I was first thinking. It's not just a 'ah that's not in the spirit of the game'. You're blatantly breaking the rules of the game.

Never mind that! Having one team in this carry on is a big enough headwrecker, if I was trying to run two I think I'd end up with some kind of breakdown!

Yeh really annoys me too. There was a team deleted earlier in the season that was a multi accounter good to see they are cracking down on it. The only reason it came to light though was because the guy used the same name and both reams were doing really well. Lots of teams do it would be better if they did more to cut it out the rules clearly state one team per person.

Just to set the record straight here, I have been playing the game for the last 4 or 5 years, my wife decided this year that she wanted to enter a team in her work league and asked me for help, her team, her money, her logon, her e-mail address.

She picked a team, I looked at it, told her to make a few changes and she entered the team. I help her with transfers etc. Turns out the team was doing quite well and much better than my own team so I sent her a link to FFS and told her to enter the team in here for the craic. I also told her to enter it into a couple of other public leagues just to see how high she could finish in them, second captains, off the ball, last word, etc.

I count the team as my second team because I help her out and she is doing much better than me this year! Anyway you will all be glad to know that Lemlin is about to knock her out of the FFS cup tonight.

Just to set the record straight here, I have been playing the game for the last 4 or 5 years, my wife decided this year that she wanted to enter a team in her work league and asked me for help, her team, her money, her logon, her e-mail address.

She picked a team, I looked at it, told her to make a few changes and she entered the team. I help her with transfers etc. Turns out the team was doing quite well and much better than my own team so I sent her a link to FFS and told her to enter the team in here for the craic. I also told her to enter it into a couple of other public leagues just to see how high she could finish in them, second captains, off the ball, last word, etc.

I count the team as my second team because I help her out and she is doing much better than me this year! Anyway you will all be glad to know that Lemlin is about to knock her out of the FFS cup tonight.

I haven't checked it. What's the scores?

My wife has a team too tbh. Her father and me help her out with it plus she uses stats alot. She has no interest in football but won thescore.ie League last year.

I see no major problem with it myself. In my own work league, we encourage some of the girls to enter teams in their names that their boyfriends/husbands look after. The more the merrier after all!

There's no 2 ways around it, you're controlling 2 teams in the same competition giving you 2 horses in the race when everyone else only gets one. It is pure and utter cheating. A blatant case.

Lemlin wrote: »
    I haven't checked it. What's the scores?

My wife has a team too tbh. Her father and me help her out with it plus she uses stats alot. She has no interest in football but won thescore.ie League last year.

I see no major problem with it myself. In my own work league, we encourage some of the girls to enter teams in their names that their boyfriends/husbands look after. The more the merrier after all!

There's no problem doing a wife/gfs team for their work league. The problem arises when you start entering the team in your own leagues (particularly h2h ones) giving you a competitive advantage over the others. It is cheating and banned for a reason.

My wife enters leagues with my mates. All I do is advise her. She makes the decisions herself based on what me and her father say. She also looks at stats.

She knows a few other lads give her the odd opinion too.

My wife enters leagues with my mates. All I do is advise her. She makes the decisions herself based on what me and her father say. She also looks at stats.

She knows a few other lads give her the odd opinion too.

That isn't comparable. Having a wife who plays Fantasy Football is not cheating, using your wives name to enter 2 teams you're controlling in a competition is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Sanity_Saviour

There's no 2 ways around it, you're controlling 2 teams in the same competition giving you 2 horses in the race when everyone else only gets one. It is pure and utter cheating. A blatant case.

I can see you as the type of guy who gets angry and worked up when someone wears tuesday socks on a monday

Yeah. Good one. Haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Can everyone please keep things civil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Sanity_Saviour

Yeah. Good one. Haha.

or this guy Old-man-yells-at-cloud_zps2c0304d1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Can everyone please keep things civil
    or this guy

Ahem *taps sign*

Larry25.jpg

Did I get through then?

Yip, easy enough in the end, yaya v Silva the main difference, best of luck in the next round.

Amazed I am still in been lucky to get through with worse than average scores actually thought I was had been knocked out two gameweeks ago for some reason!! Last past Champion still standing drawn a decent looking team this week though if Chelsea keep a CS I need a little miracle to go through.