Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how do ye clean you hands??

• 25-02-2014 10:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭

started spending almost everyday on the farm for over a year now, and finding it very hard to keep the hands clean, as they say a first world problem! used swarfega and most over soaps but dirt stays on fingers, insides and sides especially. what ye find helpful?
    ps gloves not the answer for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Blue Holland

started spending almost everyday on the farm for over a year now, and finding it very hard to keep the hands clean, as they say a first world problem! used swarfega and most over soaps but dirt stays on fingers, insides and sides especially. what ye find helpful?

If i'm goin at a job on a tractor or machine where going to get hands covered in oil and grease i use bit of cheap hand cream first, stops getting into the cracks and washs off a lot easier.
    As for cleaning hands i'm sure it's not recommended but the Vanish oxi action stain remover powder stuff is very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

I'm the same nothing would shift the dirt and I mean washing hands with scrubing brush sit down for the dinner and she would wonder did I wash them. I can't remember name of it put p.m me tomorrow to remind me look at tin. It will take off the dirt and oil. Oil and diesel seems to soak into my hands, today I was taring so hands were oil and diesel and tar and was hooking on and off breaker on digger and swapped tipping trailers a few times and hands were a right mess but a good scrub with this stuff and there spotless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

ps gloves not the answer for me[/QUOTE]

Unless you have got some medical condition "and id love to hear it :D" your cutting of your nose to spite your face.As the saying goes prevention is better than the cure use the blue nitrile gloves would not be without them now have students come in some like yourself dont like gloves but they have to wear them milking by the end of the 3 months they would not do a tap without them its just a case of giving yourself time to get use to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

another year farming and all you will be worried about is the cows, clean hands means you dont have enough hardship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

loveta wrote: »

Unless you have got some medical condition "and id love to hear it :D" your cutting of your nose to spite your face.As the saying goes prevention is better than the cure use the blue nitrile gloves would not be without them now have students come in some like yourself dont like gloves but they have to wear them milking by the end of the 3 months they would not do a tap without them its just a case of giving yourself time to get use to them[/QUOTE]

Bath, a good soak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Miname wrote: »
    another year farming and all you will be worried about is the cows, clean hands means you dont have enough hardship.

Hardship is the answer to all first world problems, a good dose of it puts things in perspective :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I clean one hand with the other and visa versa.... he he ha ha :D

Seriously though l'm finding out that a lot of the cheap boxes of disposable gloves are false economy. Bought a few boxes of lidl ones before and they perished out in the shed before I ever tried putting them on! Others would be in rags after 5 mins of use. ..... thank God only keeping my hands under wraps with them :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

Figerty wrote: »
    Unless you have got some medical condition "and id love to hear it :D" your cutting of your nose to spite your face.As the saying goes prevention is better than the cure use the blue nitrile gloves would not be without them now have students come in some like yourself dont like gloves but they have to wear them milking by the end of the 3 months they would not do a tap without them its just a case of giving yourself time to get use to them

Bath, a good soak.[/QUOTE]

+1 for above. spent years not wearing gloves until they started bleeding at slightest bending of fingers,now i wear those green similiar to red builders gloves around yard - think they're called hurricane gloves,friend of mine ditto,he was diagnosed with skin condition which required serious medical attention ,cost him too.barrier creams will help,so too will a lot of dairy ointments.get real dermatitis mild or severe is no laughing matter and may limit more than your social life big time.as far as i know handling food or food-products is banned if suffering from certain infections

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭223vmax

Washing up liquid then sugar on top, works for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Washing powder is good stuff to clean but hard on the hands.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

Loctite hand cleaner in an orange bottle. if hands are very bad maybe a second application of the stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 harry molloy

Loctite is great stuff, €20 a bottle I think and it lasts me 12 months. And I won't smell like a farmer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Justjens

Drumex or Fast Orange, go to any good motor factors and they'll have some, wouldn't be without it in the house, large tin only lasts about 6 months!!

Burt's Bees is mighty hand cream for when your hands get dry and cracked, available in any chemist or health food shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Figerty wrote: »
    Bath, a good soak.
    I think it's the washing your hair part as it works in the shower too. Gets the worst smelling hands perfectly clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Serviced a baler yesterday in work. Was covered in all shades of shíte by the time six bells came along. A good lump Swarfega works wonders and a nail brush of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭TheClubMan

As for cleaning hands i'm sure it's not recommended but the Vanish oxi action stain remover powder stuff is very good.
    That is brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Gloves, gloves, gloves on the tractor, on the loader, in the jeep , in the parlour, in your pocket and especially on your hands. Have enough pairs around and they'll always be where you need them. When you see how fast a pair of those builders gloves get wrecked you see how much damage you are inflicting on your hands. Gloves are the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Gloves are three only option. Like you I hated them but after about a fortnight you get used to them. Will hardly touch anything now without them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

them green builders glove get recked and if they get wet they are miserable to wear. i'd imagine the blue light plastic gloves would be ripping all the time??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Blue Holland

The black milkers ones are lot better than blue ones, would wear them good bit around the yard but none worth a f**k when comes to do bit of mechanical-workshop work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

when i was getting married they used nail varnish remover on my hands to get all the dirt off them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Wear gloves all the time when milking wash again when finished and when I go in for breakfast I use swarfega on hands when fixing machines good for removing oil and grease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

use to never use gloves hated them, now wear them milking and doingfarm work wouldn't be without, use he black milker gloves great job, hands are smooth and clean just as herself like them ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

them green builders glove get recked and if they get wet they are miserable to wear. i'd imagine the blue light plastic gloves would be ripping all the time??

Yep the green ones are rotten to wear when they get wet, as for the blue ones all depends on the quality of the gloves yo buy, now the trick in getting them to last/last longer is the correct size they need to be tight but not busting on ya.Was in a local main agent tractor dealer garage before xmas and all the mechanic were using gloves except one ould lad big pair of black hands on him that power hose wont n shift the grease off :P

My 4th class teacher was a dairy farmer and often came in with dirty hands. No excuse for that. I don't wear gloves bar when doing something disgusting like retained cleanings and I have a pair of marigolds for slurry work just to keep the tractor clean, but my hands would never give away my job when I'm out somewhere. Sure they're not dainty like that of an office worker but they're not caked in dirt and all callously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

When ever we are coming home from holidays my wife always takes a good look at my hands-only time they are ever completely clean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

Maxi flex gloves are a good fit and have a bit of lasting in them for wet work I ware the blue latex glove in side them

Gillespy wrote: »
    My 4th class teacher was a dairy farmer and often came in with dirty hands. No excuse for that. I don't wear gloves bar when doing something disgusting like retained cleanings and I have a pair of marigolds for slurry work just to keep the tractor clean, but my hands would never give away my job when I'm out somewhere. Sure they're not dainty like that of an office worker but they're not caked in dirt and all callously.
    Good indication of dairy hygiene I'd say. Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

just do it wrote: »
    saw a lad at the mart yesterday with the dirtiest wellies ever, like wtf 2 minutes would run them under a tap. Think of all the diseases etc he could be bringing

just do it wrote: »
    What do you mean?

Gillespy wrote: »
    What do you mean?

You're milking cows right? If your hands are that clean without gloves it indicates you've good overall hygiene standards.

Edit: it's a compliment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

Dreumex classic was the name of that cleaner

cowdung is not the worst on your hands, but removing it and other farming residue on a frequent basis may cause serious problems to your health eventually,especially if removal by washing with soap and water is proving difficult. No matter what you clean your hands with, it's got a chemical base or combination,as well some may have a Ph value that damages your skin protection by removing protective oils in the skin, which causes brittle dry skin etc.which is more prone to diseases like dermatitis etc.
    Prevention of skin diseases like dermatitus should be priority,severe forms can literally peel the skin off your from hands and further ,so if more effort is put into hygiene maintenance id say less chemicals in bloodstream, some cleaners may be a combination of small amounts of industrial cleaners you are prohibited from storing without licence,but if it was included in such small quantities it was fine or was it. now the fluoride in water , do you know where that comes from.
    Gloves should be kept clean,dry and disposed of regularly especially after frequent contact with chemicals, oils and sprays, they can soak through gloves getting into your bloodstream in the same way as pour-on drenches that kill worms,warbles and fluke in cattle . Oils are developed for metal lubrication purposes,not for contact with skin.Used or waste oil is worst and are seen as serious health threat even by the companies that sell them new, they print health warnings on the packaging for more than legal reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Anyone suffer with the cracks on there hands? Noticing that I'm hardly ever without a split on one of the fingers the last while....annoying bloody things

i get them almost instantly if i take of silage wrap off bales, they bleed within days regardless of how quickly i wash hands, use some barrier creams and gloves .some dairy ointment are just as good, i know because if im using it on heifers, if they are sore for some reason,problem doesn't rise.

I also get sore hands and they crack if i wash hands in cold water without drying them properly,or if i splash petrol on my hands accidentally especially if im doing one of those quick cleaning jobs that wont take a minute without gloves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Washing powder for the clothes is a great man to clean the hands.

Keep some beside the sink in utility room. Good and soapy, the granules scour the dirt or oil off completly and a nice clean smell.

I'm lucky in that my skin is very resistant to cracking or reacting to chemicals in general.