Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man who stabbed another man at the Swedish House Mafia gets a four year sentence

• 25-02-2014 5:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭

A thug who viciously stabbed two innocent fans at the infamous Swedish House Mafia concert in the Phoenix Park has been jailed for four years.

Raymond Donnan, 24, was in a group of eight males and four females that took part in separate attacks on other concert goers.

Donnan’s defence counsel, Michael Bowman BL, said that the 24-year-old knocked back an entire bottle of rum after security staff earlier stopped him from bringing the alcohol into the park.

He said his client was told he could drink it immediately before getting in. Counsel said the organisers of the concert were “reprimanded severely” after the dance music event.

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/swedish-house-mafia-gig-phoenix-3180261

Do you think this was a fair sentence? Should this man be given another opportunity in life? Or do you feel that he has shown too much disregard for others, and he should be thrown in jail and that they should melt the key?

In my opinion, an effort should be made to rehabilitate this young man in the hope that he will realise the error of his ways and try to become a productive member of society. Conversely, people are just as responsible for their actions when they are drunk as they are when sober. A man who did this in a sober state, would surely have received a longer sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

Donnan’s defence counsel, Michael Bowman BL, said that the 24-year-old knocked back an entire bottle of rum after security staff earlier stopped him from bringing the alcohol into the park.
    Which made him go back in time and bring a five-inch blade to a concert, of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Clown could have killed someone thankfully he didnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

One man stabs 2 (with a convinction for carrying a knife before), others in his group attack others and the reason it all happened was because the bouncers made him skull a bottle of rum.

Sound like absolute scum tbh! Happy to have him off the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭efc67

Stabbing someone in the back is sick....i would have given him 10 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

He should get 10 years for attempted, pre-meditated murder. 4 years is a joke, our judges and the law need a major overhaul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

Joke of a sentence he should be tried for attempted murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

He was going in there with the same intentions rum or no rum.

The rum probably saved the victims life as with that amount on board his accuracy was probably off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭15Pete

Would anyone else agree that carrying a knife at a concert should be an automatic, mandatory ten year prison sentence? One would think that would discourage the practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Sound like a very lenient sentence but the biggest issue for me is the lack of rehabilitation in prision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Wait till the brigade arrive,

It wasn't his fault he just needed a man hug and a my little pony

4 years isn't long enough, in my opinion. Let's see if he actually even serves them.

He's 24. He knew what he was doing.

The bigger question I'd have is if he 'knocked back' a bottle of rum, why was he allowed in at all? Surely he must have been showing signs of drunkenness at that stage (though I understand security would have been dealing with lots of people and it was probably easy for him to slip through.

Rehabilitation isn't worth while. Anyone with good conscience and morals will realise they've done wrong and won't re-offend anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

4 years isn't long enough, in my opinion. Let's see if he actually even serves them.

He's 24. He knew what he was doing.

The bigger question I'd have is if he 'knocked back' a bottle of rum, why was he allowed in at all? Surely he must have been showing signs of drunkenness at that stage (though I understand security would have been dealing with lots of people and it was probably easy for him to slip through.

Rehabilitation isn't worth while. Anyone with good conscience and morals will realise they've done wrong and won't re-offend anyway.

He'd have just done his stabbing on the outside with some other poor unfortunates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Julez

The bigger question I'd have is if he 'knocked back' a bottle of rum, why was he allowed in at all?

No, its not! The biggest question is why is he only getting 4 years for stabbing two people. This is the shíte his defence want people to lap up!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Scumbag plain and simple.

He will be doing life imprisonment on the installment plan for the rest of his days.

He'll either die through violence or substance abuse.

Good riddance...Next.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

I think that this guy needs a man hug and a my little pony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,810 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

S0crates wrote: »
    Would anyone else agree that carrying a knife at a concert should be an automatic, mandatory ten year prison sentence? One would think that would discourage the practice.

Only if it's at a concert?:p

People would still do it no matter what the sentence is, right now it's 10 years for possessing either a firearm or ammunition with intent to endanger life, and 5 years for the same if there's no intent but the guards still pick people up for possessing them every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

Gatling wrote: »
    Wait till the brigade arrive,

It wasn't his fault he just needed a man hug and a my little pony
    I can't help but notice that the augers forewarning us of the impending apologetics of the loony left tend to far outnumber actual attempts to defend acts like the one in question.

The year is 2014 and people are still going on about the PC brigade in what I can only assume is a non-ironic fashion. It's a bit like the BNP I guess; sort of quaint and amusing in a way, but pretty embarrassing for those involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FudgeBrownie

He said his client was told he could drink it immediately before getting in. Counsel said the organisers of the concert were “reprimanded severely” after the dance music event.

They cannot justify the stabbings through the fact that he was told he could drink it before getting in (though it's idiotic being told that). It doesn't mean he had to down it. Even if he did bring it in, the idea was obviously to get shít faced. So they're just trying to shift some of the blame.

It was entirely his own responsibility. Simply a scumbag idiot with no regard for the value of life or well being.

I say fúck it, feed him to the lions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/swedish-house-mafia-gig-phoenix-3180261
    Conversely, people are just as responsible for their actions when they are drunk as they are when sober. A man who did this in a sober state, would surely have received a longer sentence.

The above is contradictory.

If you're gonna get yourself into a state that should not be an excuse for acting the prick. Drunk or not, same sentence IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Should have gotten ten years for bringing a five inch blade to a concert. The law is not much of a deterrent in this country imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Should have gotten ten years for bringing a five inch blade to a concert. The law is not much of a deterrent in this country imo.

Well said teddy!

Last time I checked one doesn't need a five Inch blade to listen to music,

It's the victims I feel sorry for. Knowing that this gurrier will be out on the streets in no time !!!!!

Ridiculous nonsense, he deserves a minimum 10 years for the stabbing attacks and an additional 10 for carrying a deadly weapon in public. No one carries around a 5" blade unless they plan to use it for something illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I can't help but notice that the augers forewarning us of the impending apologetics of the loony left tend to far outnumber actual attempts to defend acts like the one in question.

The year is 2014 and people are still going on about the PC brigade in what I can only assume is a non-ironic fashion. It's a bit like the BNP I guess; sort of quaint and amusing in a way, but pretty embarrassing for those involved.

Tend to throw around "do-gooders" an awful lot too, because doing good is somehow an evil thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Yeah, I agree. I consider myself fairly left wing and I dont think he got a long enough sentence. In many cases I have to wonder are judges cut off from reality. The only thing I wonder about as one other poster pointed out is that people should have some hope of getting rehabilitated in prison and not be lead further down the road to crime which seems to happen at the moment.

But, only a scumbag goes around the place with a knife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Good enough for the scaldy prick

Fair sentence?? I think so....4 years is more than enough to reflect on what he done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Total overkill by the judge,he shouldn't have been allowed in in the first place and how did he get the shiv in there in the first place.
    If anything it was reckless disregard on the part of the event security

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

He was part of a gang of 8 fellas and 4 girls. He was the worst offender and was caught. The first person he stabbed has not been identified yet which is baffling.
    Scum of the earth, going to a concert and stabbing random people for the craic. 4 years is soft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

What about the other scum that were with him, have they been arrested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

After drinking a full bottle of rum a normal person would just go inside, dance a bit and then stumble away to sleep it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Total overkill by the judge,he shouldn't have been allowed in in the first place and how did he get the shiv in there in the first place.

I totally agree, they should strip search everyone going to a concert. Its as if the security actually held him down and made him drink all that rum, and then whispered in his ear "go and stab some random people, heres a knife".

I mean, whats the world coming to, when the security should have been excuted, this poor guy was a victim. His life is ruined because of the event security. I hope he sues thier asses off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

by that 'logic' judges should go easy on anybody who commits a crime with an illegal gun cause : 'how did they get to have an illegal gun in the first place?'.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

4 years is overkill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭geckovision

Attempted murder is what it was and he has previous.

He's scum. Showed no regard for innocent people's lives so he'll get no empathy from me.

Rehab? People like him are obviously below it. How many chances does one get? He can rot in there for all I care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Was reading comments posted on one of the tabloid websites by people who knew him etc.

Very worrying the amount of young people sticking up for him saying he knows he done wrong and people shouldn't judge him, it was an accident etc and at the end of the day no one died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Hope when he gets out he stabs the judge. Its the only way these geriatric muppets will dish out tougher sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

It's important to note that he is immediately entitled to 25% off his sentence, unless he acts the bollox in prison in which case that will be reversed...

So it's a effectively a 3 year sentence

For stabbing someone multiple times. That is a bit of a disgrace to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Bertser

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=718844208155346&set=a.196840703689035.45312.191236384249467&type=1&stream_ref=10

Comments on this are hilarious, his friends saying 'nobody's perfect', so basically putting a completely normal person in the same bracket as a convicted criminal because 'nobody's perfect'. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

It is the way the law works; the criminal in this case is a goose who is laying golden eggs for the legal profession; he got 48 months, he was in custody since the appearance, that's (what 18 months?), leaving 30 months to do, for some reason I don't understand the prison service calls 12 months 9 months, so he has only 22 months to do, and he may get a bit of that off for good behaviour, so lets say he'll be released a free man before Christmas 2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Bertser wrote: »
    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=718844208155346&set=a.196840703689035.45312.191236384249467&type=1&stream_ref=10

Comments on this are hilarious, his friends saying 'nobody's perfect', so basically putting a completely normal person in the same bracket as a convicted criminal because 'nobody's perfect'. :rolleyes:

Was just about to post this, had a read of this before work this morning, the scum commenting and defending the chap in the comments makes for hilarious reading....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

biko wrote: »
    After drinking a full bottle of rum a normal person would just go inside, dance a bit and then stumble away to sleep it off.

He must have been smoking that super skunk that the dealers are peddling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

He must have been smoking that super skunk that the dealers are peddling

Not just your average stuff...

High quality 25 quid for .8 of a gram stuff... :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Do you think this was a fair sentence? Should this man be given another opportunity in life? Or do you feel that he has shown too much disregard for others, and he should be thrown in jail and that they should melt the key?

In my opinion, an effort should be made to rehabilitate this young man in the hope that he will realise the error of his ways and try to become a productive member of society. Conversely, people are just as responsible for their actions when they are drunk as they are when sober. A man who did this in a sober state, would surely have received a longer sentence.

Too many scumbags using alcohol as an excuse for their actions IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭shroom007

Fieldog wrote: »
    Was just about to post this, had a read of this before work this morning, the scum commenting and defending the chap in the comments makes for hilarious reading....

jesus h christ are we reaching tipping point with the skangers, lets have the next skanger gig in killiney,foxrock or in the judge's house for that matter I bet there would be a drastic increase in the lenght of sentence if the same thing happened to one of their little darlings. inbreed scum 10 years minimum no messing ,no poxy poverty defence "me ma's a alco me da's unemployed im from a disadvantaged area did'nt finish school or whatever ****e they vomit up in front of the senile ole judge who has no idea what its like to have to deal with this kind of human garbage on a day to day basis. 10 years,out in 5 ,spitting out little skangers for the next 40ty.making zero contribution to society.Brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Too many scumbags using alcohol as an excuse for their actions IMHO.

Case a few weeks back bloke attacked his ex gf battered her ,wrapped an electrical cord around her neck in an attempt to strangle her ,the attacked her with an iron ,

Got 4 years and a couple suspended

Similar bloke tried to rape a girl he talked to in a night club in a front garden after he followed her home he had a few shots and guess what and knock down sentence with a few years suspended ,
    Both attackers blamed alcohol ,

Time to take sentences away from judges and bring in mandory sentences for serious crimes

Americas 3 strike sentencing is incredibly flawed but I think that something similar needs to be brought in here in relation to violent crimes. Carrying of a lethal weapon, assault, etc should all see tougher sentencing and if you are convicted if a third crime such as assault then you should spend the rest of your days in a cell.

Reading the comments on that Facebook link and it's shocking just how quick people are to defend the guy. I know that if a friend of mine or family member did something similar then I'd see them as a scumbag. I wouldn't be defending them or making excuses, especially if they brought a deadly weapon to a concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

darced wrote: »
    There is no need to go to the ridiculousness of the rest of your life in a cell but a hefty 7 year sentence would be about right for me and a good deterent.

There is if it's a repeat offender. If you are convicted of three crimes such as assault with a weapon then you have no rights to walk our streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

There were mitigating circumstances folks...
    Defence counsel, Michael Bowman BL, said Donnan, in “an act of gross stupidity”, drank an entire bottle of rum and was “ferociously intoxicated” but asked the Court to consider the “impetuosity” of youth in passing sentence.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/man-jailed-for-four-years-for-swedish-house-mafia-assault-1.1702973

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson