Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

''You don't need alcohol to have a good time''

• 22-02-2014 6:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32

What a load of bollox. Why do people go to bars/clubs every weekend then?

Personally, alcohol makes me dance better

Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Because if I don't drink, I can't stand you *****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

I enjoy a few drinks, don't see the point in going to a pub to drink water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

But you do need to take a picture of your alcohol and post it online to let everyone know you're drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Besides if you don't drink you won't make that selfie movie with your smartphone where you mouth off about your other blingy tinsel friends. You'd be too inhibited about looking the divk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Jesus loves you,

Everyone else thinks youre a cu nt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

I once tried to sell tickets for a fundraiser with no drink allowed but could sell none. Many people equate a good time out with drink.

Other countries do not have as intense a relationship with drink as we do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I am never sober so i dont know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

nine9nine wrote: »

Thoughts?

If you 'need' alcohol then you are an alcoholic. Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

You don't need it to have a good time but it's definitely needed to have a great time.

doolox wrote: »
    I once tried to sell tickets for a fundraiser with no drink allowed but could sell none. Many people equate a good time out with drink.

Other countries do not have as intense a relationship with drink as we do.

Sure we"re only havin the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Nobody needs it to have fun, but it definitely helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭SweepTheLeg

I'd love a few pints now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭marozz

I don't need alcohol to have a good time, but it certainly helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Looks a bit like a Junior Cert English question... "You don't need alcohol to have a good time." Discuss

I've never really enjoyed drinking. I don't like pubs or clubs very much either, so I don't feel that I need alcohol to have a good time.

RayM wrote: »
    Looks a bit like a Junior Cert English question... "You don't need alcohol to have a good time." Discuss

It could make a great essay title, limit it to 1000 words though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

We don't have to take our clothes off, yo have a good time, whoaa no!

Went out once and drank Kaliber all night when everyone else was getting pissed.
    Dullest night of my life.
    Never again.
    Never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

Drink helps me hate other people less; but it makes me hate myself more.

I find an auld smoke of Heroin to strike a happy medium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Thoughts?

Hand back your man card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I cannot enjoy myself without it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Personally I wouldn't go out of my way to surround myself with drunk people while sober because drunk people are idiots when you're not one of them. But you don't need to be on a pub to have a good night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I don't drink at all but I still have a good time. I'm the first one on the dancefloor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

Depends what you're doing doesn't it. It can loosen people up a bit and get them yappin'. If you're one of the marvellous people whose social skill set is higher than that of the average person then by all means go out and enjoy yourself sans booze, but don't kill anyone else's buzz while you're at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭soundman45

Of course you need a swally ask rab c Nesbit if you need advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

If you're needing the booze to be enjoying yourself, I'd say you need to start looking for a support group.

Despite what you've grown up to believe, it ain't normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Slightly off thread but cant help singing
    "we Dont have to take our clothes off to have a good time...."
    Ok.......carry on :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I don't mind people who don't drink but the majority of my friends who don't drink are drier than a nuns fanny. If I'm drunk, the last people I want to be around are sober people. They're usually the ones with the camera taking photos every ten seconds and they always remind you of the stupid stuff you did the night before. They sit with a face on them all night because everyone is talking about crap and having a good time because they're drunk and they can't join in because they're not on everyone else's level.

I don't care how much craic you think you are, if you go out with a group who are all drinking, they're going to think you're the anticraic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Thoughts?

Because theres nothing else to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Because theres nothing else to do.

Stay at home and watch the Late Late show?, that's one thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

I don't think you need alcohol to have a good time but then again, I don't think you need to be in a nightclub to have a good time either. I hate nightclubs, they can all f*ck off and die.

I do enjoy going to the pub for some food and a chat but I won't always have a drink and if I do it's usually something tame like a baileys or a hot cider. I can count on one hand how many times I drank last year. I think a lot of people get caught up in the idea that to have a good time you need to be plastered and going out the whole time. It's not really for me. :-/ Different strokes for different folks I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

I'm beginning to think that boozing is overrated tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Saggyjocks

I've gone out plenty of times and not drank, can't say I've enjoyed myself as much as if I was drinking, I'd be aware of the non drinkers in the group they're the ones that'll remember it all, careful not to engage in too much conversation with them or do something like the dreaded walking to the toilet or bar dance, and I've never danced sober in a nightclub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

Saggyjocks wrote: »
    I've gone out plenty of times and not drank, can't say I've enjoyed myself as much as if I was drinking, I'd be aware of the non drinkers in the group they're the ones that'll remember it all, careful not to engage in too much conversation with them or do something like the dreaded walking to the toilet or bar dance, and I've never danced sober in a nightclub

How do you get to the toilet? Run? Hop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Mickey H wrote: »
    I'm beginning to think that boozing is overrated tbh.

Calm down and have a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I've actually had more fun nights sober then drunk. It's not needed by any stretch but can be nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I drink to make other people more interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Mena wrote: »
    If you're needing the booze to be enjoying yourself, I'd say you need to start looking for a support group.

Despite what you've grown up to believe, it ain't normal.

Here you are Fr Matthew. Richard Harris started this one:

“I formed a new group called (AU) Alcoholics Unanimous. If you don't feel like a drink, you ring another member and he comes over to persuade you.”

wazky wrote: »
    Stay at home and watch the Late Late show?, that's one thing.

Graham Norton is better, he has better guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

Most depressing thread ever. Nothing worse than someone who sits down at the table with a 'baileys' or a 'hot whiskey', may aswell drink water. Most depressing sight ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Sure, alcohol isnt the answer but you forget the question after enough which is just as good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Personally, alcohol makes me believe that I dance better

Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭LoganRice

Yeah you don't need alcohol to have fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

You can have a good time with or without it.

/end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

''You don't need alcohol to have a good time''
    You do if you're out with a bunch of people who're on the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Iv been known to break dance after a few eventhough I never broke danced in my life; it even caused a few injuries in my time but its just something the lads expect me to do after a few jars.
    I also can sing all three lines of the Fields of Athenry when drunk; again I havent a clue as to only one line.
    So go figure non belivers.
    Edit: just heading out the door now for a quiet one see ye tomorrow or the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I've been having fun all day without alcohol. Just copious amounts of sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Lux23 wrote: »
    I've been having fun all day without alcohol. Just copious amounts of sex.

Just forgot my scarf........fap fap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 GraceC92

None of my friends drink and I don't either and we always have a fun night out! We were only out last night and were the first ones on the dance floor enjoying ourselves. Obviously I can't compare a sober night to a night drinking because I haven't experienced it but we have never not enjoyed a night out just because we didn't drink alcohol.