Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When do you have your first ciggie of the day?

• 22-02-2014 1:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭

How soon after you wake up do you have your first cigarette?

Was talking to a friend earlier about it and she said she has one about five minutes after waking up.
    To me that's disgusting.
    You have to get your mouth moving, brush your teeth, moisten the throat with a cuppa, get your bearings before you have a ciggie.

I don't have my first ciggie for about two hours after I get up. Smoking the moment you get out of bed is weird..inhaling tobacco on a dry fuggy throat?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

After the dawn shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

fussyonion wrote: »
    Smoking the moment you get out of bed is weird..inhaling tobacco on a dry fuggy throat?!

What's the point in freshening your throat up before inhaling tobacco and making it dry and fuggy again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

7:15 then 2 for the rest of the day

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm having one right now and it's only just after 1am..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

4:20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

WHen I was in my smoking heyday.

Sometimes I'd have a fag in bed before getting up. Then I'd have a drink of something and have another on the way into work. Then when I got to work I'd have another with a cup of coffee. Then about half an hour later I'd have another, and possibly another one 5 minutes after that.

30-40 a day I was on by the end.
    Christ thank **** I quit now that I type it out!

so smokers have a chart now?

smoke when you wake up?? disgusting!!

wait for 2 hours?? a little better!!

so if i wait till evening does that make me better?

what kind of smoker is the worst?
    one that smokes all day from first thing in the morning?

one that smokes 2 fags a day??

one that smokes at 5pm??

whos the best.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

What's the point in freshening your throat up before inhaling tobacco and making it dry and fuggy again?

I do understand your point but what I mean is....when you wake in the morning your mouth is dry and awful.
    You need to have your mouth moistened before you can enjoy a cig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Getting into the car, I leave myself about twenty minutes in the morning to shower and shave. Breakfast consists of OJ, I can never bring my body to eat in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Right this second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭Mech1

any real smokers on here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Mech1 wrote: »

As opposed to...?

fussyonion wrote: »
    As opposed to...?

Young lads smoking candy sticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

WikiHow wrote: »
    Young lads smoking candy sticks

Jaysus, how could anyone suck a candy stick before they'd even had breakfast.
    Disgusting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

In bed upon waking usually, baring that soon after some water/coffee.

well 1st at 6.45 when alarm goes off, 2nd at 7 up at 7.10 coffee and smoke at 7.20 three in car on 16km drive to work and so on we go 60 per day, too much?

In bed upon waking usually, baring that soon after some water/coffee.

Wouldn't be smoking in the bed. Ash and smell on the sheets, afraid of dropping it etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

well 1st at 6.45 when alarm goes off, 2nd at 7 up at 7.10 coffee and smoke at 7.20 three in car on 16km drive to work and so on we go 60 per day, too much?

Borderline id say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

somefeen wrote: »
    Jaysus, how could anyone suck a candy stick before they'd even had breakfast.
    Disgusting

I'd hope to get my candystick sucked before breakfast, it would make going to work that little bit more enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Anyone that says they "Quit" is a lightweight IMO, when I was a chizzler you either smoked or you did'nt, there was no such thing as quitting

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I know a guy who used to set his alarm in the middle of the night for a smoke. :confused:
    Makes zero sense but he did it. He has quit though. Jesus, if he can do it anyone can.

uch wrote: »
    Anyone that says they "Quit" is a lightweight IMO, when I was a chizzler you either smoked or you did'nt, there was no such thing as quitting
    Quitting is for loosers

just worked it out, 60 is exaggeration, works out at about 45 or so. 24 hr period

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Ah cigarettes, they're like cornflakes. Equally disgusting at any time of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

My father-in-law now an ex-smoker used to smoke 80 fags a day. I worked out through my ****e maths that he was lighting up every 18 minutes and given that it would take roughly 5 minutes to smoke a fag he was more or less chain smoking. He was none too happy about me telling him.
    I'm a smoker but I always wait to be up, showered and dressed before lighting up.

How do you even afford 60 a day :O

cloud493 wrote: »
    How do you even afford 60 a day :O
    If you have 13 young lads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

WikiHow wrote: »
    Quitting is for loosers

Loosers. :D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

I quit some time ago now. Was telling a friend how I'd still love one now and again and he says it never goes away.

His ma quit 26 years ago and last week was saying how for 2 days all she could think about was having an oily rag.

After breakfast, with coffee, outside preferably. That 4-5 minutes of silent peace and contemplation before the day gets going proper. Loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 420Sw4gBro9000

I quit some time ago now. Was telling a friend how I'd still love one now and again and he says it never goes away.

Yes I still have them when I'm drinking with mates but never seem to crave them when drinking with the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Edit: No. Even joking about my smoking is sad. This is all sad. sad, sad, sad.

Lyaiera wrote: »
    Just after the barman pulls me my first drink. So about half an hour after I'm up.

Light weight, have my own tap by the cot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FudgeBrownie

I think it's sick how people wake up and first thing they do is have a smoke in bed. Dirtbirds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

The minute I wake up. Always. Then sex. Then another.

Dressed then tea and another reading paper. Then Breakfast and another.

That's been my morning routine for years.

God Life is good :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I know a guy who used to set his alarm in the middle of the night for a smoke. :confused:
    Makes zero sense but he did it. He has quit though. Jesus, if he can do it anyone can.

Your friend reminds me of a John Lennon book I read, he never could sleep properly and would wake up in the early hours and head to his kitchen to throw on tea whilst cursing Walter Raleigh for bringing Tobacco to Europe with a cig in his hand waiting for the kettle to boil.

Setting an alarm specifically to get up and smoke sounds bizarre though, it would suggest that he's not a light sleeper, being sound asleep is the one time when you're free from the impulses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Usually 10 or so minutes after waking up. I'm sure it helps me properly 'wake up'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I don't smoke, amn't I great!

7.45 when i sit down for my coffee.. That's breakfast and then lunch at 12.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Don't know how anyone can smoke in bed. Your bedroom must smell manky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I used to smoke 40 a day (at the ripe old age of 23-24!). Managed to quit completely, but due to a really sh!tty year, I'm back on them.

Nowhere near to 40 a day though. I have one at 7am when I get out of bed (outside the house, hate smoking inside), one before bed and depending on who may be in my bed, one after sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

23 minutes before never for me and then I'd have my next one at half past zero. That usually does me for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Used to be about halfway to work, so maybe 45 mins to an hour after I woke up. I'm on ecig now and have a drag off that soon after I wake up and then another few drags on my route to work.

Do they taste like smoking coffee or are my taste buds shot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Hang on, I'll just finish me fag and cup of coffee, then I'll be right there. Just up - late night tbh, need a fag right away to kick start the engine. And a coffee.

Tilly wrote: »
    Do they taste like smoking coffee or are my taste buds shot?

Did you get coffee flavoured e-liquid? I use a minty liquid, think I'll get a chocolate one and mix for mint-choc :D

I have no idea what I bought but they were rank. Didn't know they came in fancy flavours. Chocolate would weird!

Tilly wrote: »
    I have no idea what I bought but they were rank. Didn't know they came in fancy flavours. Chocolate would weird!

Oh did you buy a disposible one that looks like a cigarette? Some of those are more cheap than cheerful.

I've found them a great way to cut down. Since getting it in November I've had about 2 or 3 cigarettes (mostly when out over Christmas). I've also saved a fortune and I'm slowly decreasing the nicotine content of the liquids I use with a view to quitting the ecig eventually too. Bonus is there's no smell so I smoke it inside at home, which I never would have done with cigarettes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

I used to smoke, and would have one first thing after breakfast but I remember it used to sort of sicken me. It was like I just wanted to get that first cigarette out of the way and then the rest would go down easy. Strange.

I only miss smoking when I'm around friends in the smoking area puffing away. Or when I'm watching True Detective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

somefeen wrote: »
    Sometimes I'd have a fag in bed before getting up.

Smoking in the bedroom. :eek: I draw the line there.

I'm only a social smoker anyway but I never have a craving for a smoke in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Man I used to love a nice fat roll-up & a triple expresso to jump start me in the morning...

Nothing much has changed, except now I have a tobacco/whiskey/caramel/vanilla vape with my expresso :D