Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luxury spends

• 21-02-2014 9:29am
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,513 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

My housemate asked me last night when was the last time I spent a stupid amount of money on something and the answer was 'never'. It's got me thinking, I am single, no children or other dependents and I am employed, I have a certain amount of disposable cash so what luxuries should I be treating myself to?

I already buy really good skin care and make up products as my skin won't tolerate every kind. The conversation started with me saying that I needed to start saving more for holidays later in the year so I will be spending on those anyway. My one downfall is eating out too much :o

What are your luxury spends/treats?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I don't really spend ridiculous amounts of money on anything, even when I have it.

I suppose my 'luxuries' would be tattoos and holidays. Neither really serve a purpose, but I save up for them anyway.

My godmother is mad for luxury spends. Still have a couple of designer handbags she bought me for birthdays that cost several hundred each.II'd have been as happy with a River Island bag :pac:

High thread count sheets
    Holidays
    Spa weekends
    Massages and facials outside of the spa weekends

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,513 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

bluewolf wrote: »
    High thread count sheets
    Holidays
    Spa weekends
    Massages and facials outside of the spa weekends

Oh I like the bedsheets idea...I am slowly building up the quality of my bedclothes, so much cosier :D

The other stuff - I feel like I do the spa stuff even though in reality I haven't had a facial in over a year. Maybe I should check that out, my skin could do with one! I had a lovely spa break in Brooklodge a couple of years ago by myself, very relaxing indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Sports gear and race entries - the next few months have a few gear spends (wetsuit, new pedals and bike shoes etc) coming up because I've got my first triathlon this summer
    Match tickets - I live 1 mile from the Arsenal home ground, there's a lot of low-hanging fruit there even though I'm not a gooner
    Bras - I'm an odd size so mine aren't cheap anyway, but I do treat myself a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

A Roomba - I love it so much, I hated hoovering.

My ipad, didnt really need it - love it.

Food - myself and himself like to eat good quality food, and particularly good quality meat - we spend a lot more than most people I know in the butchers weekly (even according to the butcher!) but its on quality as opposed to quantity. We also spend a shocking amount weekly on free range eggs - himself eats a lot of egg whites.

Shoes/boots/trainers - I never stint on footwear.

Education - this is probably my biggest non essential spend on myself yearly - I see it more as a hobby, an expensive hobby! Mind you, I quit smoking over 2 years ago and my yearly education spend is less than my yearly smoking spend was.

Mostly I just buy whatever I want for myself. If it costs more than 200/300 quid I save for a while and then buy it. A lot of stuff I buy for myself has practical use - exercise gear, academic stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

A Roomba - I love it so much, I hated hoovering.

Want. Did you buy it here or pick one up in the States?

Bought it on Amazon.co.uk, had it shipped through Parcel Motel - it was oversized so I had to physically go and collect it from parcel Motels depot in Dublin.

My life has been transformed, my apartment has NEVER been so clean. It even goes under places that I never hoovered at all because it would have meant lying down and poking the hoover in.

We saved for a few months to get it. Theyre pricey enough, but so well worth it. The best part is setting it off on a Saturday morning when I go out to do the weekly shop - I come home and the place is spotless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

It's probably eating out, I love food!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

bluewolf wrote: »
    High thread count sheets

Ever try to actually count them or are they just too goddamn high?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

A Roomba - I love it so much, I hated hoovering

Mother of god, I didn't even know these were a thing!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

My biggest spend is probably my hair, I get it highlighted every three months or so. I know it's expensive but I like being blonde, and there is no way I would dye it myself because I know I would destroy it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Food, although we spend less than a lot of people on it. Buy quality there always.

Motorbikes. Have three nice bikes, and the associated gear. Nice leathers ain't cheap. Daft really, as I can't even ride the damn things when I am pregnant. Still, won't be producing little humans forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

I don't really earn enough to be able to splurge on luxury items, that and I have a stupid amount of direct debits draining out of my account every month paying back student loans, car loans etc.

However, I do treat myself to dinners in nice restaurants and fancy drinks on nights out. I often feel a bit of guilt the next day (and at the end of the month) over what I spend on nights out but in the grand scheme of things, I genuinely couldn't give a toss. It's fun, I have a limited social life because of where I live, and f*ck it - I deserve it.

Iwantmydinner you reminded me, fancy gin. I buy a bottle of fancy gin when I get paid. It takes a few months for us to drink it so I've a nice little collection now including one limited edition numbered bottle that I'm torn over whether or not to open!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Mine is Lego. Expensive but so good.

And holidays. Can't beat a good holiday. I'm lucky though that in my previous position I was able to travel quite a bit and had a generous enough holiday allowance so I always stayed on a day or two extra at the location. Flights were paid for so it was just an extra day or twos holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭quaalude

Lux23 wrote: »
    It's probably eating out, I love food!

Same here - I *love* going out for dinner, going out for a nice cocktail or glass of wine, or going out and getting a really delicious dessert.
    I also like to buy nice ingredients to cook with.

The older I get the fewer things I want to own, so I like to spend money on things that don't take up room in my gaff!
    I got singing lessons a bit over a year ago, and I'm thinking of taking some drum lessons over the coming months, just to deepen my appreciation of music, really.

I am very frugal in almost every other way - despite what this post makes me sound like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I eat out a fair bit. But it feels less of a luxury than an entitlement to me at this stage :P

The last large amount of money I spent was on a dress and on a handbag. I love them and I'll have them for years so it's justifiable I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

We got a big unexpected tax refund and got a jacuzzi. I was sceptical but my oh was really keen on it and it's been lovely though it is slightly embarassingly flash. It's got salt water so no stinky chlorine. He's in the process of giving up smoking and I think it's done wonders for his stress levels.

Rosy Posy wrote: »
    We got a big unexpected tax refund and got a jacuzzi. I was sceptical but my oh was really keen on it and it's been lovely though it is slightly embarassingly flash. It's got salt water so no stinky chlorine. He's in the process of giving up smoking and I think it's done wonders for his stress levels.

Wow! Id love that. Is it outdoors or indoors or in its own little building or how does it work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

Wow! Id love that. Is it outdoors or indoors or in its own little building or how does it work?

It's set into a wooden deck just outside our back door. We're in New Zealand and it's a fair bit warmer than here (in fact since we've had it, this summer, I haven't been able to get in during the day as it's too hot, but then I am heavily pregnant!). We've stayed in places skiing that have had outdoor ones so I don't think it matters too much about the weather as long as it's close enough to your house that you don't perish getting in and out. Our neighbour has an outdoor shower heated by a gas bottle which will be next years project if we can save enough here and there over the year.

Rosy Posy wrote: »
    It's set into a wooden deck just outside our back door. We're in New Zealand and it's a fair bit warmer than here (in fact since we've had it, this summer, I haven't been able to get in during the day as it's too hot, but then I am heavily pregnant!). We've stayed in places skiing that have had outdoor ones so I don't think it matters too much about the weather as long as it's close enough to your house that you don't perish getting in and out. Our neighbour has an outdoor shower heated by a gas bottle which will be next years project if we can save enough here and there over the year.

Sounds lovely, Ive seen one here in its own little bespoke building in the garden. Ive been in an outdoor one in a hotel - was a bit of a far dash back through the cold though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Definitely handbags. I just got myself a LV Neverfull today. The girl in BT said they're going up 10% next week, so it's a bargain really! :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Long-haul business class. I've only done it twice, once with my mother to New Zealand and once on my own to Australia, when I got upgraded to First class for the Dubai-Dublin leg (now THAT was extravagance! How the other half live).

I know it's expensive but your holiday starts from your front door when they send the driver to pick you up. I find the extra space and general stress-free atmosphere in business class worth every penny.

That said, I don't smoke, rarely drink and haven't bought new clothes for years. Swings and roundabouts.

spurious wrote: »
    Long-haul business class. I've only done it twice, once with my mother to New Zealand and once on my own to Australia, when I got upgraded to First class for the Dubai-Dublin leg (now THAT was extravagance! How the other half live).

I know it's expensive but your holiday starts from your front door when they send the driver to pick you up. I find the extra space and general stress-free atmosphere in business class worth every penny.

That said, I don't smoke, rarely drink and haven't bought new clothes for years. Swings and roundabouts.

I was on an Airbus A380 from Hong Kong to Dubai recently. I was travelling alone in economy and I was hoping against hope that this would be the one flight I'd be upgraded on... but no :( I just wanted to go up the stairs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Gym membership. It's my only luxury at the moment...although it's more of a necessity as it really does keep me sane :D

spurious wrote: »
    I know it's expensive but your holiday starts from your front door when they send the driver to pick you up. .

No way?
    Do want

The only thing I ever splashed out what I thought was "stupid money" on was a €24 umbrella. I just had to have it. It had little leopards on it. I used a €20 gift card to cover most of the cost, so I didn't feel too bad. And I got to say, it was so much studier in the wind, was well delighted with it. I left it in a friend's flat a few weeks ago, and he has managed to lose it on me.

Moral of the story is: I cannot have nice things!

I guess my luxury items are the odd bottle of craft beer I splash out for on the weekends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

My only extravagance at the moment is running stuff - clothes, shoes, race entries etc.

I've cut back on a lot because I'm trying to save for a deposit for a house. Although take away coffees manage to just find their way into my hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Handbags and lately I've stopped buying cheap shoes and spend money on quality ones. I love bags and if treated well good ones last a lifetime. My current splurge is nice clothes for breastfeeding, makes it slightly less of a chore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

vitani wrote: »
    My only extravagance at the moment is running stuff - clothes, shoes, race entries etc.

I've cut back on a lot because I'm trying to save for a deposit for a house. Although take away coffees manage to just find their way into my hands.

I would totally not view sports gear as a luxury spend, it's a health and fitness spend. Good for the mind too :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

My biggest extravagances have been:
    - I bought a new mini cooper couple years ago. Vroom vroom
    - Bought myself a pair of Louboutins
    - An Orla Kiely handbag. And a Longchamps handbag
    - I go on a couple trips a year (maybe 1/2 short and a longer one)

I dont really buy anything else during the year. Id rather buy 1 good quality thing than a few lesser quality things. So, maybe I buy 1 thing per year.

I do get gel nails done every 4 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭mel1

Pandora, and dear god more pandora! Poor purse always empty.

That hover sounds verrrrry interesting. Am going to look into that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Goldenlady

Oh god this thread has really made me think!! Ive been convincing myself Im saving money, but now looking at my list I really need to reign it in, below is my spend in last 12 months!:
    Great length Hair extensions (Every 6 months for last year and half)
    hair colour every 4 weeks
    Clip in hair extensions ( for the week I got without in between getting new ones in)
    Michael Kors Watch (Christmas present to myself)
    Gym membership (Yearly)
    DKNY bag
    Orla Kiely Bag
    Facials & Massage every two months
    Concerts: At least 4 to 5 a year
    Spa Weekends: 2 a year
    Bought two pairs of runners last week end (Cos you need two like!)
    Guitar (bought exactly 12 months ago and still sitting in same place!)
    Tablet (last week cos my laptop had a virus which only took a place two days to fix but felt I need a tablet)
    42inch Telly for my apartment

And I wonder why I dont have enough money to buy a house! Ok need to have a talk with myself now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

Theatre tickets.
    Holidays.

My car - since I only use it weekends, a weekly cleaning lady, Jo Malone candles, having the thermometer at 22 c, and organic and/or free range meat. I also buy far too many books! And another vote for quality bedding.

I don't drink, I don't smoke, so I don't feel at all guilty about spending on things that make life comfortable. :)

sullivlo wrote: »
    Mine is Lego. Expensive but so good.

And holidays. Can't beat a good holiday. I'm lucky though that in my previous position I was able to travel quite a bit and had a generous enough holiday allowance so I always stayed on a day or two extra at the location. Flights were paid for so it was just an extra day or twos holidays.

Fellow Lego collector here!
    Haven't bought any in years though. Got some great eBay wins back in the day. Always trying to bid on street bases though, they always went over my budget.

I actually now realise4 my ultimate luxury spend is Manic Street Preachers tickets and travelling for their tours. So broke at the moment, trying to save for the two gigs I have lined up in the UK in April! Straight off the back of the gig in Dublin, followed by Bristol, last September. Yes, stalking the Manics is my luxury expense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

lazygal wrote: »
    Handbags and lately I've stopped buying cheap shoes and spend money on quality ones. I love bags and if treated well good ones last a lifetime. My current splurge is nice clothes for breastfeeding, makes it slightly less of a chore.

I'm not one of these people who've a million pairs of shoes but I spend a few quid on the ones I do have (not designer but good quality ideally made in Europe). I was spending so much on cheaper shoes that fell apart after a few months that I now spend more on shoes that will last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭PinkCat86

The best things in life are luxurious :)

- Juicy Couture watches
    -Juicy Couture handbag
    -Pandora bracelet and charms
    -Brown Thomas lace lingerie
    - peter mark hair styling
    - Zara formal clothes

Love all these buys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

I've reigned in my spending considerably. The only things recurring are my skin care and makeup.

I did buy myself a DKNY handbag with my first pay check though.

• Goldenlady wrote: »
    Oh god this thread has really made me think!! Ive been convincing myself Im saving money, but now looking at my list I really need to reign it in, below is my spend in last 12 months!:
    Great length Hair extensions (Every 6 months for last year and half)
    hair colour every 4 weeks
    Clip in hair extensions ( for the week I got without in between getting new ones in)
    Michael Kors Watch (Christmas present to myself)
    Gym membership (Yearly)
    DKNY bag
    Orla Kiely Bag
    Facials & Massage every two months
    Concerts: At least 4 to 5 a year
    Spa Weekends: 2 a year
    Bought two pairs of runners last week end (Cos you need two like!)
    Guitar (bought exactly 12 months ago and still sitting in same place!)
    Tablet (last week cos my laptop had a virus which only took a place two days to fix but felt I need a tablet)
    42inch Telly for my apartment

And I wonder why I dont have enough money to buy a house! Ok need to have a talk with myself now!

God it's like looking in a mirror

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭Daisy78

I'm also trying to save money and clear a car loan to buy a house....but I do have certain treats which I can't /won't give up namely

Eating out at least twice a month
    Theatre tickets at least once a month
    Good moisturiser...Estée Lauder day and night cream. I cringe handing over the money but if it didn't work I wouldn't buy it.
    Jewellery...mostly costume jewellery but I would have spent 100 plus on some pieces in the last two years. I usually buy something to mark a significant occasion and they are pieces that last and I can wear with lots of different things.
    Bought a magi mix food processor on sale in January for 170 which was an absolute bargain.

I used to spend a lot of money on travelling but I've pulled back on that now bigtime. I also don't tend to spend a heap on clothes maybe a nice dress or good quality jeans once every so often. I'm also (trying) to spend less on books and use my library card a bit more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭Longford Lass

Gosh, I'm sorry I read this thread now! Feelingslightlydepressedafterdoingso.com!
    Theres still plenty of money in this great little country of ours it seems??! And fair play to you all...if not why not!
    Currently my luxury spend is a latté :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Gosh, I'm sorry I read this thread now! Feelingslightlydepressedafterdoingso.com!
    Theres still plenty of money in this great little country of ours it seems??! And fair play to you all...if not why not!
    Currently my luxury spend is a latté :(

Ditto, all my spare cash goes on my house or my kids. Or my car which I suppose can be classed as a luxury these days. I don't spend much on myself apart from entering races which can be a bit pricey but I justify it by the fact its keeping me healthy. If you have it spend it on whatever makes you feel happy. I regret not spending more money on myself over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

I love eating out! It really is one of my favourite things to do.

Ad I booked a moth in Thailand for this summer. I feel I missed out in college coz I always worked, never did interrailing or J1 so I deserve it.

With my first 'grown up' pay cheque in September I got new glasses. They're carbon fibre Armani and I love them. They cost over £200 but I wear glasses every day and I hadn't got new glasses since before college!! For Thailand I'm hoping to get a prescription pair of designer wayfarers, I don't want to be using contact lenses in places that may not be clean!

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    I love eating out! It really is one of my favourite things to do.

Ad I booked a moth in Thailand for this summer. I feel I missed out in college coz I always worked, never did interrailing or J1 so I deserve it.

With my first 'grown up' pay cheque in September I got new glasses. They're carbon fibre Armani and I love them. They cost over £200 but I wear glasses every day and I hadn't got new glasses since before college!! For Thailand I'm hoping to get a prescription pair of designer wayfarers, I don't want to be using contact lenses in places that may not be clean!

Best friend invested in prescription Ray Ban Wayfarers - she adores them. They are awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Best friend invested in prescription Ray Ban Wayfarers - she adores them. They are awesome.

And they will obviously make me infinitely cooler!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

Actually I treated myself to my first pair of glasses last month :P I don't technically 'need' them, but they definitely help with driving at night. And they're also great for the theatre :o

Oh and I also spent a fair amount on a goldsmithing course this weekend!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

Flowers.

Completely unnecessary, but it's really nice to walk in the door and see a lovely fresh bunch of flowers in a vase.

It's one thing that I always used to splash out on in the past, but not since I moved in with my boyfriend (he wouldn't appreciate them!) We had a baby six weeks ago, and have gotten a few gifts of flowers since, and I've gotten used to having them around again. I'll be buying them again now. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

Fountain pens and watches. Every month I promise myself that I won't spend my excess cash on fountain pens and watches, and every month I break that promise :o