Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving Licence Receipt

• 20-02-2014 5:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭

Hi there guys,

Applied for my full licence and I've got the receipt for the licence. I'm insured as a full driver with my insurance company and I'm wondering will it be alright to drive alone while carrying the receipt, a copy of my certificate of passing and my passport on hand?

Thanks guys,

Curtis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭tom_murphy112

Congrats Curtis! Yeah that is what I did as well.. I send a copy of my certificate of competency and NDLS receipt, and my insurance company updated my policy as a full license driver.. I just carried a copy of my provisional license, certificate of competency and NDLS receipt... and I got the full license in about 2 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

No, you're not covered to drive with just the reciept. However. I had reciept I had no problem driving around till the license arrived. I doubt you'll have any hassle even if a garda does stop you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭CurtisBoylan

My insurance company is okay with it and I'm insured as a full driver, but I just mean from the guards point of view. Going to take down my L plates and i'd be driving alone too?

Thanks guys

My insurance company is okay with it and I'm insured as a full driver, but I just mean from the guards point of view. Going to take down my L plates and i'd be driving alone too?

Thanks guys

Sorry, when I said covered I meant that you wouldn't be allowed to drive, not that you wouldn't be covered by the insurance.

Since you don't have your license you aren't supposed to drive, though I, and most others have done it and most likely you would get away with it in the off chance that you were stopped, as you have 10 days to produce it at a garda station.

Sorry, when I said covered I meant that you wouldn't be allowed to drive, not that you wouldn't be covered by the insurance.

Since you don't have your license you aren't supposed to drive, though I, and most others have done it and most likely you would get away with it in the off chance that you were stopped, as you have 10 days to produce it at a garda station.

With the 1 month or so wait I don't know if I could produce it within 10 days but I'm pretty sure they'd understand and it wouldn't get far in court if they even did bring me to court..

I will be with my friends and I'm 17 I think it's normal for us teens to be pulled over by police so what I'm going to do is photocopy my certificate and bring the receipt and passport while I drive so I'll have all that with me incase I'm pulled, I'd want to get one angry guard to go any further than a warning.

With the 1 month or so wait I don't know if I could produce it within 10 days but I'm pretty sure they'd understand and it wouldn't get far in court if they even did bring me to court..

I will be with my friends and I'm 17 I think it's normal for us teens to be pulled over by police so what I'm going to do is photocopy my certificate and bring the receipt and passport while I drive so I'll have all that with me incase I'm pulled, I'd want to get one angry guard to go any further than a warning.

Honestly, just till you get the license I'd keep friends out of the car for the time being until you get your license. I didn't start loading the car up with lads bar a few occasions when I'd only have one in the car.

You'll only be attracting attention to yourself having a car full of people, and while the gaurds likely won't do take any action, you'll only be annoying them going cruising with no license. Good luck :)

Honestly, just till you get the license I'd keep friends out of the car for the time being until you get your license. I didn't start loading the car up with lads bar a few occasions when I'd only have one in the car.

You'll only be attracting attention to yourself having a car full of people, and while the gaurds likely won't do take any action, you'll only be annoying them going cruising with no license. Good luck :)

Maybe a good idea. I'll keep it to one or two then. Thanks for the help!