Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did your bike get stolen in the Sandyford/Stillorgan area today?Read on

• 19-02-2014 9:43pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 96 ✭✭

Two children of the no fixed address variety boarded the luas green line this evening with two mountain bikes, I didnt pay any heed to them until they talked about selling them; then I realised the lock was still on one bike (beneath the seat). With zero proof I could do nothing but take a picture of the bikes and the two future social welfare recipients; so if your bike got stolen today message me and we will take it from there.

Also, tried to ring luas helpline on the way but it was closed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Any idea how much they were selling them for?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 96 ✭✭Cucking Funt

wazky wrote: »

Dunno, but the older one asked the younger one would he buy it off him for his confirmation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Did it occur to you to call the gardas? They probably could have been there in a min or two. What help is a luas hotline? The staff would have zero authority to stop a criminal.

I imagine those two bikes have been sold for smack already. If you see stolen property call the gardas. They are actually really good at grilling people with stolen goods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Do you always ring the Luas helpline when you see a crime being committed?

Old lady being robbed? Ring the Luas

Great Train Robbery? Ring the Luas

Pablo Escobar spotted on Dollymount Strand? Ring the Luas

hfallada wrote: »
    Did it occur to you to call the gardas? They probably could have been there in a min or two. What help is a luas hotline? The staff would have zero authority to stop a criminal.

I imagine those two bikes have been sold for smack already. If you see stolen property call the gardas. They are actually really good at grilling people with stolen goods.

Like I said, no proof.

Do you always ring the Luas helpline when you see a crime being committed?

Old lady being robbed? Ring the Luas

Great Train Robbery? Ring the Luas

Pablo Escobar spotted on Dollymount Strand? Ring the Luas

No proof, ad nauseam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

With zero proof I could do nothing but take a picture of the bikes and the two future social welfare recipients

Yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Your lucky no one called the Luas helpline when you started taking pictures of the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Why not call the Gardaí?

Two potential robbery suspects on board a Luas trying to flog potential stolen goods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If the locks were still on the bikes how could they have been stolen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Like I said, no proof.

They talked about selling them. I think its a pretty obvious assumption that you dont talk about selling your own personal bike on the street to randomer. I would have left it up to the Garda to decide whether or not they were stolen.

Im pretty sure a quick description of two to the local garda station would have resulted in a squad car is on the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A crime commited on the Green Line?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

wazky wrote: »

Tree fiddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Dinging

OP fair play for posting this, lots of others would have ignored this possible theft. Maybe post in the stolen bikes thread over in the cycling forum . They will be more appreciative of your help.

Dinging wrote: »
    OP fair play for posting this, lots of others would have ignored this possible theft. Maybe post in the stolen bikes thread over in the cycling forum . They will be more appreciative of your help.

Cheers, plenty of keyboard warriors.

Besides its not my job to correct little tinkers, i have a wife and kids to get home to

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

No proof, ad nauseam

What are you on about? You don't need proof to report suspicious behaviour to the gardaí, you suspected the bikes were hot from their conversation, you are entitled to report it and let them take it from there.

I will take social and legal advice from a man named muff :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Muff diving talking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

no more than we should from a man called Chcking Funt :p

If you took advice from a Xmas cracker it would improve your cop on level tenfold.

You must be some kind of vigilante yourself Muff? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

This is what AH would be like, 24/7; if they legalised weed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    This is what AH would be like, 24/7; if they legalised weed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

Waits with bated breath for the Muffs apoplectic reply :)

vektarman wrote: »
    Waits with bated breath for the Muffs apoplectic reply :)

Indeed you might, but youll find him breaking down Love/Hate in the relevant TV forum, perhaps he/she will call Nidge weasel to track me down.

Anyway baby to look after and all here....

Because if I saw something suspicious that would appear to be breaking the law I'd have enough common sense to report it to the Gardaí without thinking I needed some kind of proof? How that tallies to me being some kind of vigilante is fairly odd, but you don't seem like the sharpest little fella so I won't ask you to explain...I'd say typing with that pole stuck to your forehead is fairly tiring too.

Christ almighty, at my age exchanging abuse with a random fanny on the internet as I feed my son, is this what life has come to

Because if I saw something suspicious that would appear to be breaking the law I'd have enough common sense to report it to the Gardaí without thinking I needed some kind of proof? How that tallies to me being some kind of vigilante is fairly odd, but you don't seem like the sharpest little fella so I won't ask you to explain...I'd say typing with that pole stuck to your forehead is fairly tiring too.

Thats not what your aul doll said

Anyway baby to look after and all here....

Did you mention something already about future social welfare recipients?

Why? Did you realise your arts degree will get you no where :D

EDIT: You little príck of a spotted Warcraft warrior. You may be level 99 there but youre a little fanny in real life son.

Mod: Banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Calling children ''little tinkers'' and ''future social welfare recipients'',lovely stuff.Your child will grow up to be a lovely person with such a fine role model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭corsav6

So what's the story, anything goes in ah without any bans? Genuinely curious here as some comments above seem a little below the belt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Not G.R

Why? Did you realise your arts degree will get you no where :D

EDIT: You little príck of a spotted Warcraft warrior. You may be level 99 there but youre a little fanny in real life son.

He may be a lv 99 whatever but you're the saddo who trawled through his posts to find something to abuse him with :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Jesus.
    Train wreck thread locked.