Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could you be in a relationship with someone who uses txt speek/terrible grammar?

• 19-02-2014 9:34pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

To put it in a hypothetical perspective: lets say looks wise they're a seven out of ten, but all their texts look unreadable and their grammar is a one out of ten.

To me it speaks volumes about their intelligence and general laziness.

Could you be in a relationship with someone who uses txt speek/terrible grammar?

Could you be in a relationship with someone who uses txt speek/terrible grammar? 45 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 45 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

y wud it b a prob?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Yeah no problem at all.

I do the majority of my communication face to face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    looks wise they're a seven out of ten,

For a seven out of ten, I wouldn't care if they didn't have fingers to text with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

If they were attractive and had a decent personality I wouldn't care, just as long as they weren't really stupid. I know a lot of people who are fairly intelligent who have terrible grammar in their texts, mostly because they're lazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

No. My nerves could not take it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

How uses text talk in 2014? Pretty much everyone has a smart phone with autocorrect. "Hey sxc, im gud. Wbu?" is a bit 2k7 in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭geckovision

If they only used it when sending texts and I knew - through getting to know them that they had intellectual qualities I personally appreciate and felt they were well suited overall - it wouldn't bother me.

I think a persons intentions and their character are far more important however.

So...no. Not overall.

Discounting someone based on grammar is beyond idiotic in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Jesus man. Forget looks and grammar.

DESCRIBE THE TITS! IT'S ALL ABOUT THE TITS. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Yes.But she'd be getting dictionaries and thesauruses for every Christmas and birthday until she copped on to herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Jesus man. Forget looks and grammar.

TELL ME ABOUT TITS. IT'S ALL ABOUT THE TITS. :mad:

Can she text well with her tits?, now that would be impressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Text speak, no way. But bad grammar, its not worst thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

No. Intelligence is attractive, using text speak or bad grammar is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 121 Gigawatts!?

Nothing worse than bad spelling and grammar. I think it just makes you come across as an illiterate fool.
    Now I know English isnt everyones strong point but not knowing the difference between "there" "their" and "they're" and "your" and "you're" is not that difficult!
    So no, I wouldnt put up with it! Id at least have to say something to the person in the hope that they would make the effort to take a look at it at least

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Awk aye surely ta God like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭H2UMrsRobinson

My one can only write in caps and thinks punctuation is the act of being on time.

He's also one of the brightest men I know and he can multiply and add like a mofo.

So yeh I guess I could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

What does a 7/10 look like?

I'm all ears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Muise... wrote: »
    The exception would obviously be if someone was dyslexic. I could cope with some spelling/grammatical errors as long as it was legible. Continuous text speak would be far too irritating.

Is the spelling error in the thread title intentional? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Nor me. And I'd secretly despise them for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Stepping Stone

I am going out with a former offender. He is very intelligent but bloody lazy. It has taken years of merciless mocking, constant correction and completely refusing to acknowledge the content of text that ommited vowels. Glad to say that we have come through it. Be merciless. It is for their own good. Bad grammar is something that I could not get over, along with abuse of their/ there/ they're, your/ you're, affect/ effect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

I'm all ears.

Im presuming it would be different for everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

If she had really bad grammar would it not be a good excuse to fcuk them hard in the mouth?

No?

I'll get me coat.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

My boyfriend said one of the things that made him sure he was in love with me was that I always used "you're" in texts instead of ur :pac: I found it strange that he'd even notice something like that but obviously it matters to some people

The exception would obviously be if someone was dyslexic. I could cope with some spelling/grammatical errors as long as it was legible. Continuous text speak would be far too irritating.

Is the spelling error in the thread title intentional? :P

I know poor writing wouldn't be their fault if they were dyslexic, but would you listen to someone singing out of tune?

wazky wrote: »
    Can she text well with her tits?, now that would be impressive.

Maybe, if it's cold enough. :)

I was listening to Doolittle today. The Pixies said No. 13 is a song about a girl who described her nipples as the size of a no. 13 pencil. That song is nearly better than tits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

I know poor writing wouldn't be their fault if they were dyslexic, but would you listen to someone singing out of tune?
    The difference is that it is not necessary to sing, whereas written communication is often unavoidable.

No

bluewolf wrote: »
    No
    You forgot the full stop.

:p

You forgot the full stop.

:p

It was just going to be a really slow sentence :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

I'm all ears.

This is a ten.

So is this.

Work backways. Use your imagination.

The difference is that it is not necessary to sing, whereas written communication is often unavoidable.

I'm a bit too fond of reading to get into a relationship with someone who doesn't write well. That is avoidable!

Mickey H wrote: »
    This is a ten.

So is this.

Look like people to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Far moreso than with a man over 18 who uses that number-out-of-ten shyte.

That's such a 2/10 attitude :rolleyes:

I judge men by their pronouncements on women.

"Judge a moth by the beauty of its candle."

(Rumi)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

i actually don't think i could take it. it HAS to be more effort to use that mental text than it is to just type normally? theres something wrong with those people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Mickey H wrote: »
    This is a ten.

So is this.

Using your scale Im about a 20/10 ......yay go me!!!!! :-D

The people who don't know their 'yours' or 'theirs' are bad enough, but those who spell 'lose' as loose' really get me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

Mariasofia wrote: »
    Using your scale Im about a 20/10 ......yay go me!!!!! :-D

your modesty is most endearing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,583 ✭✭✭LeBash

Yes but i wouldnt understand a single txt which could lead to hilarious sitcom style humor

The people who don't know their 'yours' or 'theirs' are bad enough, but those who spell 'lose' as loose' really get me.

At least these are permutations of the same word. "Should of/could of/would of" make my teeth cry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 id rather brie

I voted yes because of two extremes that I have come across:

i) Someone who doesn't have particularly great grammar and does use frequent text speech but was generally pretty interesting and astute.
    ii) Someone that can spell perfectly well and their grammar was acceptable; however, while they could write a lot in a comprehensible fashion, they didn't really have a lot to say.

For those two reasons, I would rather see what someone actually thinks when it comes to deciding whether I could be with them. On the other side of this argument, could I be with an obsessive grammar-nazi? Perhaps not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

When I started dating my wife she sent me a message of txt speak gibberish, I don't even think we had been on a first date at this stage. I sent her a message back saying "any chance of getting that message in English", from that day on she always wrote her messages correctly. I knew it was meant to be there and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I'm with the OP on this one. My personal understanding of "intelligence" is that it's something you apply to everything you do. My ideal partner reads, learns, understands, synthesises, creates and critiques - and she could never settle for sub-standard communication skills, because that's how we learn.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

High horses, ye should dismount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

I'm all ears.

so you're a ∞/10
    I judge men by their pronouncements on women.

"Judge a moth by the beauty of its candle."

(Rumi)
    That olde hippocastanum:p

Judge not lest ye be jugged.

yawhat! wrote: »
    High horses, ye should dismount.
    Why? The higher the horses, the further ahead we can see. They're usually faster horses, too. Maybe you're happy down there, traipsing through the mud, but we like it up here in the fresh air. (That's right: we.). :cool:

You wouldn't buy a car that couldn't go round corners, or put your money in a bank that you knew was badly managed. A relationship is an investment in your personal happiness - for both of you. Why would you get involved with someone who was definitely going to make you unhappy. If you feel, as I do, that communication is fundamental in any relationship, you can't simply turn that off.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

One of my past best friends had terrible grammar when talking online. To the point he was nearly ununderstandable. I usually avoided texting him. But, in person he's actually quite intelligent, in fact more intelligent than most people I know. So, assuming the girl didn't want to text all the time, I'd be grand with it, but if she wants to text all the time like a lot of girls, then it's a no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Mossyman

If they're not bothered enough to send you a message written in the proper way then they're not bothered that much about you. That's my perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

A few years ago, I had the good fortune to be going out with a gorgeous lass who was intelligent and fond of word games. I am also reasonably intelligent and am more anal about my use of English than most.
    I cringe a little now if one of our gchat conversations pops up when I'm searching through my gmail account. We 'spoke' like complete idiots to each other. "wat r u doin" & "luv u 2" etc... (She was, of course, more at fault than I...)

Would I like to be in such a relationship again? Absolutely.

Ficheall wrote: »
    I cringe a little now if one of our gchat conversations pops up when I'm searching through my gmail account. We 'spoke' like complete idiots to each other. "wat r u doin" & "luv u 2" etc... (She was, of course, more at fault than I...)
    You can always say that you were both doing it ironically ... :P