Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai searches and arrests

• 19-02-2014 7:14pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭

Lads, I requested my information from the Garda pulse system and I have received a list of unsuccessful searches that stretch from a number of years. I was wondering can I have them searches deleted considering they were unsuccessful?

Also 3 years ago I was arrested, brought to the garda, my photo and prints were taken, yet this never showed up on pulse atall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Didn't know you could request stuff from pulse,
    Don't know why the arrest wouldn't be there maybe have a chat with a solicitor hopefully they can advise you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

Didn't know you could request stuff from pulse,
    Don't know why the arrest wouldn't be there maybe have a chat with a solicitor hopefully they can advise you

you can request arrests, convictions, court apprarances and searches they carried out.

You just fill in a little form and a cheque to 7 euro.

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=4&cad=rja&ved=0CEQQFjAD&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.citizensinformation.ie%2Fen%2Fjustice%2Flaw_and_rights%2Faccess_to_garda_records.html&ei=CQcFU7rHPIa47AbYi4GQBQ&usg=AFQjCNHzwWVt-z9dYikqlHglQkbBVRr2WA&sig2=y2tSeZaVL5iaG7RDriKmWg&bvm=bv.61535280,d.ZGU

I'm just confused as to why arrest wasnt recorded yet unsuccessful searches were....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

As far as I know the stuff on Pulse stays there forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Once something goes on Pulse it doesn't come off. Entries can be invalidated but as far as I know cannot be deleted.

I have heard that when a court case is struck out then that information on pulse can be deleted? that's why I assumed any information that has no real meaning like unsuccesful searches could be deleted also.

I heard on the radio they want to bring in legislation to delete peoples convicitons. surely, if there gonna do that then they'll delete meaningless information like the above..

jamesr123 wrote: »
    I have heard that when a court case is struck out then that information on pulse can be deleted? that's why I assumed any information that has no real meaning like unsuccesful searches could be deleted also.

I heard on the radio they want to bring in legislation to delete peoples convicitons. surely, if there gonna do that then they'll delete meaningless information like the above..
    The spent convictions bill won't delete them, they are still there they are just effectively sealed unless you're looking to do work with vulnerable adults or children.

The only people who can access pulse are the Gardaí, none of this should be a problem for you unless you want to work with the two groups I mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭TheHappyChappy

source wrote: »
    Once something goes on Pulse it doesn't come off. Entries can be invalidated but as far as I know cannot be deleted.

I beg to differ on that sir

Holsten wrote: »
    The spent convictions bill won't delete them, they are still there they are just effectively sealed unless you're looking to do work with vulnerable adults or children.

The only people who can access pulse are the Gardaí, none of this should be a problem for you unless you want to work with the two groups I mentioned.

well I was actually hoping to join the gardai. Obviousally not now but in the next few years..

Obviousally no convictions atall. Just the searches......
    I beg to differ on that sir
    ??

well I was actually hoping to join the gardai. Obviousally not now but in the next few years..

Obviousally no convictions atall. Just the searches......

??
    Ok if you are trying to join the Gardaí you need to be up front about everything, they will find out anyway.

Unless they were searching you for guns/ammo/bombs due to perceived acts of terrorism I doubt it would affect your chances.

Holsten wrote: »
    Ok if you are trying to join the Gardaí you need to be up front about everything, they will find out anyway.

Unless they were searching you for guns/ammo/bombs due to perceived acts of terrorism I doubt it would affect your chances.

No guns or ammo here :D I was driving a very shabby car at the time.. with tinted windows, loud exhaust and that.. somedays I was stopped 3 times :o feckin civics :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭TheHappyChappy

Hit the books re: Morris Tribunal

Pulse shown not to be fool-proof & not 100% accurate in numerous cases

A 'friendly' guard will often check pulse & tell you what comes up with your name & dob

A 'friendlier' type of guard it has been shown will adjust data as required

Hit the books re: Morris Tribunal

Pulse shown not to be fool-proof & not 100% accurate in numerous cases

A 'friendly' guard will often check pulse & tell you what comes up with your name & dob

A 'friendlier' type of guard it has been shown will adjust data as required

I think it's ridiculous that they hold such minor information anyway. At the end of the day who cares if a person was stopped..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

I think it's ridiculous that they hold such minor information anyway. At the end of the day who cares if a person was stopped..

So Gardaí shouldn't keep a record if a known child sex offender was stopped in the vicinity of a school or children's playground or shouldn't keep a record of people entering and leaving known criminals houses.

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    So Gardaí shouldn't keep a record if a known child sex offender was stopped in the vicinity of a school or children's playground or shouldn't keep a record of people entering and leaving known criminals houses.

That's different now. I'm not a known criminal or hanging around with criminals..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

That's different now. I'm not a known criminal or hanging around with criminals..

I am making a point there about serious stuff but really I do think that there should be some trawl of the system every so often and delete innocent entries such as yours. Obviously your mode of transport would attract attention of Gardaí. Now if you were blasting out Garth Brooks stuff from your music system there would be a case for listing you as a serious offender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

I notice you say your not a criminal but don't mention anything about a sex offender :D

I am making a point there about serious stuff but really I do think that there should be some trawl of the system every so often and delete innocent entries such as yours. Obviously your mode of transport would attract attention of Gardaí. Now if you were blasting out Garth Brooks stuff from your music system there would be a case for listing you as a serious offender.

Well if that was the case then they would have certainly warned me about loud music but I think it was mainly the dodgy looking cars. I did think that maybe there was a reason for the entries but it just says 'searched' and there are a good few of them so it must just be procedure to record.
    mfergus wrote: »
    I notice you say your not a criminal but don't mention anything about a sex offender :D

nothing like that going on here

In all fairness this could work out well for me, I mean you could argue that I'm definitely not a criminal/ drug dealer considering all them unsuccessful searches lol ..

Would it be the same if the searched your home and found nothing?

no, simply because they would have to get a warrant and to get a warrant you need a very good reason to search the house.

You can be simply pulled over in a car anytime..

Ah I see,so would it not show on the pulse thing searched x house and found nothing?

Yes it would.

And if that record was requested could they refuse as it might contain informers name?

You can only request records on yourself, only anything to do with you.

I think they just record things on the computer if there bored and have nothing else to do.. I know a mate of mine who was searched numerous times whilst walking around town and nothing come up when he requested his pulse information..

I had to give a statement to the Gardai. I found a family friend dead and that never showed up on pulse but they might not record that type of info on pulse...