Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Shatter shattered?

• 19-02-2014 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭

Alan Shatter has been stumbling from one faux-pas to the next.
    There was the Mick Wallace affair where he disgraced himself and abused his office by disclosing confidential information, which he had no right to have, in order to score political points.
    He deliberately misrepresented the reporting requirement of GSOC in the bugging affair.
    His appointee as 'Confidential Receiver' has turned out to be no more than a hatchet man when it came to dealing with whistle blowers, (presumably on Shatters instructions).

Is it not time for him to resign, or to be sacked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

An Irish Politician resign? No matter what kind of controversy they're involved in they won't resign.

They might leave their party feigning disgust with unpopular party decisions in order to further their own career but that's it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

But how will he maintain his impressive property portfolio if he quits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

He can always fall back on his erotic writing.

I'm sure being in the Dail has rekindled a few fires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Looks a slimy piece of work.
    Not nearly as smart as he thinks he is by the looks of it,I'd drop him just for the positive PR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

He's s h I ttered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Brendan is Howlin, he should Ring Michael as Kathleen wants to Lynch, oh look..Hayes Brian!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

They're all collectively a bunch of ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

He was great in TJ Hooker in fairness to the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

He should be sacked, in any other country he would have been forced to resign ages ago.
    His buddy Callinan (Irelands most dangerous man) should be sacked with him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

He should be sacked, in any other country he would have been forced to reign ages ago.
    His buddy Callinan (Irelands most dangerous man) should be sacked with him!

If they make him King, I'm off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Definitely agree about him being sacked. Disgraceful carry on by this guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I've a feeling he knows where quite a few of the FG skeletons are buried and wouldn't be backwards about coming forward with the fact to the leadership that a ministerial position is what keeps him so distracted that he hasn't had the chance to mention it to anyone yet. Can't see him going anywhere tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

AH answer: Shaken and Stirred like an overdone cocktail?
    Politics Forum: too tired to compile this one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

strobe wrote: »
    I've a feeling he knows where quite a few of the FG skeletons are buried and wouldn't be backwards about coming forward with the fact to the leadership that a ministerial position is what keeps him so distracted that he hasn't had the chance to mention it to anyone yet. Can't see him going anywhere tbh.

That's ridiculous. You might as well be saying that Gerry Adams knows where quite a few of the Sinn Fein skeletons are buried.
    Oh wait a minute! You might just be on to something there

shatter will continue his good work (sarcasim) he is untouchable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

He's a bastard who has single handedly brought the legal profession to his knees, HATE him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

justice is the department that should be above reproach and squeaky clean. its only become murky under shatter. he must go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

An arrogant little prick IMO. Even by Fine Gael standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Shatter is Sh1ttered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Me?

Enda my good man would you mind growing a backbone and telling Alan to fúck off and to take James with him.

Thank you.

The People of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Shatterhas single-handedly restored my faith in government and the law of the land..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Something very fishy going on with this bugging scandal.Shatter is cocky enough to be involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

The arrogance of him is contempable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

And what of the fate of the Confidential Receiver, shafted & sacked by Shatter, Kenny & Co ???
    He told/ warned the Garda whistleblower that Shatter was mad as hell with him for exposing corruption etc and for this he gets sacked - for stating the obvious !!!! Or am I missing something ??? Or is it because he allowed himself to be recorded and thus caught being truthful ie telling it like it is ??? I'm Totally confused by it all !!
    One thing for sure , as echoed in this discussion already, Kenny, Shatter & Co will continue in their jobs!!
    Three words sums up this so called government in my humble opinion - arrogant & self serving ! Oh, better add a fourth - incompetent !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Merkin wrote: »
    He's a bastard who has single handedly brought the legal profession to his knees, HATE him!

What on earth is actually happening in his office :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Official Transcript(Connolly/McCabe):

"If stuff was to get out into the public, the print media, I tell you something Maurice - and this is just personal advice to you - if Shatter thinks you're screwing him, you're finished."
    "What I'm saying to you is, if stuff is to get into print broadcasting media, if Shatter thinks it's you, or if he thinks that it is told by the Commissioner or the gardaí, here's this guy again trying another route to put you under pressure, he'll go after you," the transcript added.

(You only have to read this much to realise how big a cnut Shatter really is)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

This is Ireland. Our politicians don't resign, they keep the head down for a couple of weeks and then continue as if nothing happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭TheHappyChappy

Enough corrupt T.D.'s to cover each other in this Govt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Have to laugh at Michael martin looking for him to resign. The man that backed Bertie ahern until he's last day in office.

There isn't one moral bone between the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Shatter should resign, end of story. He is not fit for the position he is in and he has shown this on multiple occasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Alan 'nothing to see here' Shatter should be fired out of a cannon into the sun. How any minister for justice that comes out and prejudges the result of an enquiry he's just called can remain in office is beyend me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

Me? wrote: »
    Enda my good man would you mind growing a backbone and telling Alan to fúck off and to take James with him.

Thank you.

The People of Ireland.

And Phil Hogan.

BTW does anyone have a list of ministers who have resigned over those who have been sacked over the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Does it matter, uh-huh, I'm a shattered
    Don't you know the crime rate is going up, up, up, up, up
    To live in this town you must be tough, tough, tough, tough, tough!
    You got rats on the west side
    Bed bugs uptown
    What a mess this town's in tatters I've been shattered ♫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

And Phil Hogan.

BTW does anyone have a list of ministers who have resigned over those who have been sacked over the years.

I can recall two Taoisigh resigning. Albert Reynolds was brought down by the Brendan Smyth affair. Charlie Haughey resigned after a previous Minister for Justice, Sean Doherty finally told the truth after 10 years of lying about the scandal of tapping of journalists phones.

Ironic how these days it is the journalists who do the phone tapping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I can recall two Taoisigh resigning. Albert Reynolds was brought down by the Brendan Smyth affair. Charlie Haughey resigned after a previous Minister for Justice, Sean Doherty finally told the truth after 10 years of lying about the scandal of tapping of journalists phones.

Nothing Ironic about the police bugging the people policing them :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

And Charlie Haughey was also sacked over the arms crises, that is some record.

Nothing Ironic about the police bugging the people policing them :confused:

If that's what Johnny (I know what I know, how dare you ask me awkward questions) Mooney says happened then I suppose it must have happened. Believe everything you read in the papers.

You think they weren't bugged? Seriously?

And you know that they were and it was the Guards what done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭seiphil

Gangster in a suit!

And you know that they were and it was the Guards what done it.

No. I honestly don't know that they were, or who done it.

I do think though, the chances of them not being bugged was close to zero (according to Verrimus) by someone.

Possibly AGS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

I dont blame the politicians anymore, I blame the people, we should be sharpening our guillotines and pikes.
    We are a fcuking disgrace...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

We are following America in becoming a police state by the looks of things. Shocking behaviour. What's happening with the world eh? Spying is growing at an astronomical rate, civil liberties are being crushed.

Shatter is a crap spoofer - i don't recall/ i don't remember.......where else would you get this crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

wazky wrote: »
    He can always fall back on his erotic writing.

I'm sure being in the Dail has rekindled a few fires.

Looking at Joan Burton. I highly doubt it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Shatter knows too much he could bring the whole thing down

he knows it,they know it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Shatter is a fine minister of justice. There is a certain irony in people calling for his head without a shred of evidence themselves. FF still showing themselves up to be gombeen populists of the worst sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

once again in irish politics, no matter how obviously guilty you are, nobody ever says "Fair enough, i made a mistake, here's how we fix it."
    It would be so refreshing to see that, but this is just embarrassing now

Shatter is a fine minister of justice. There is a certain irony in people calling for his head without a shred of evidence themselves. FF still showing themselves up to be gombeen populists of the worst sort.

Sorry i must of woken up in parallel universe this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Shatter is probably one of the people who supported Enda in the leadership heave a few yrs back so he ain't going anywhere fast.