Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Femen' attack on Madrid Archbishop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w4aB6GBcJkc

http://www.examiner.com/article/topless-abortion-activists-hurl-blood-soaked-panties-at-archbishop-of-madrid

Feminist group 'Femen' whipped out their breasts and hurled blood soaked knickers at the Archbishop of Madrid. They were protesting the newly proposed abortion laws in spain which will see a more restrictive policy.

I think the heirachy of the catholic church are long overdo a bit of tit anyways. Lol.

Anyone think theres an appetite amongst Irish feminists to stage somthing similar against the hierarchy over here :D?

While i have no breasts myself, i fully support such action.

thats disgusting. i really dont think it should be encouraged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Pinky and perky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

hurled blood soaked knickers

Some people would pay good money for that sort of carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Agreed with PucaMama. I'm pro-choice myself and I assume that's the viewpoint of these women. However, part of being pro-choice is respecting someone else's choice to be pro-life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fcukin idiots. It's funny that such a radical feminist group are best known for getting their tits out for the media.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Was the blood theirs ??

Was it their period blood ??

Was it fresh ?? all over their smelly stained panties ??

... I wanna be an archbishop.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

That is vile. Throwing bodily fluids at each other should only be between consenting adults. Hope to god they didn't have wings. Might be still flying around the place, like little cotton drones!

Was the blood theirs ??

Was it their period blood ??

Was it fresh ?? all over their smelly stained panties ??

... I wanna be an archbishop.

Full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Lefticus Loonaticus

Collie D wrote: »
    Agreed with PucaMama. I'm pro-choice myself and I assume that's the viewpoint of these women. However, part of being pro-choice is respecting someone else's choice to be pro-life.

I take your point. Altho, do pro-lifers respect the opinions of pro-choicers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

All I got from that is tits, big tits, little tits, perky tits, bouncy tits, something something the church. But mostly tits.

If thats not their message then they should probably stop going around flashing their tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Probably not and they are prone to their own disturbing protests. It's a debate that would usually instantly turn me off to be honest. It seems to bring the worst out in a lot of people. I have my own views on abortion which I usually keep to myself to be honest. Not a debate I enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

I'm willing to show my support by allowing them to fellate me. Blow jobs for Jesus or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

When I asked a feminist to bash the bishop she was incandescent with rage? :confused:

Wouldn't flash her tits either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

That blondy one towards the end of the end of the video had a really nice pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

thats no way for ladies to behave

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

In nominae Padre, Fille, et spiritus.........fvck jaysus urrgh get it off me urrgh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

These women's use of 'breast fascination' is a guaranteed method of drawing attention to their protest - look how many reporters are there to record naked tits the protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

I'm so torn, I hate feminist groups like this but I also wouldn't be a fan of the Catholic Church. I don't think I've ever felt so indifferent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

I was at an anti-war protest many years back where an activist removed her blood soaked pad and stuck it to a policeman's riot shield. I felt so sorry for the guy, who looked fresh out of Templemore, and it was more disgusting for the crowd who were on the receiving end so to speak.

I would consider myself a feminist and pro-choice but I'm not sure about this kind of protest- it seems to draw attention away from the issue, rather than highlighting it- note we're having a discussion on tits, not women's rights here. It also allows the other side to dismiss protesters as loonies.

Feminist group 'Femen' whipped out their breasts

How exactly do you 'whip out' breasts?

I'd like to know so I can give it a shot if something offends me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

GenieOz wrote: »
    I'm so torn, I hate feminist groups like this but I also wouldn't be a fan of the Catholic Church. I don't think I've ever felt so indifferent.

Stick them on an island and arm them. Let them fight it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Lefticus Loonaticus

Candie wrote: »
    How exactly do you 'whip out' breasts?

I'd like to know so I can give it a shot if something offends me.

My apologies, i dont think they whipped em out at all. They didnt seem to be wearing any tops to begin with.

I'll bear it in mind. :)

Don't approve of the action at all, don't approve of any attempt to censor dissent. The Archbishop is entitled to his opinions, as is the church, even if modern society considers them archaic.

I've no idea what boobs or blood are meant to achieve, apart from notoriety. Certainly doesn't make me respect them, since I tend to prefer civilised discourse as a rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

tits out for the lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Fooking idiots, I hope it wasn't their own blood they threw at him, it would be a worry for anyone seeing as a number of diseases can be transferred in this way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Were there inverted crosses on some of their backs? Yeah, that's going to help them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

The archbishop should have pushed one of them away with both hands on her tits . That would have been a great still frame for the papers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

If the bishop spunked off on them in retaliation the headlines would read Semen on Femen.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 111 ✭✭SPS1

Gee. This method of protesting has me interested in their views..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

The cynical part of me thinks FEMEN uses these protests and attention received to drum up donations to its founders since there protest methods completely detract from any message.

The paranoid and cynical part of me thinks that they are probably actually funded by the Star and Sun to fill pages and TITillate ;-) their readers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

"Shouty Tits bash the Bishop".

I can see the Headline already. I'm gonna go out on a limb and bet they're into roller-derby too. I'm also betting they don't get the lads view of their protests - which amounts to somwhere around "Ohh look, tits.."

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Progressives using tactics of intimidation so create an atmosphere of fear. This type of vileness of degree (albeit not type) would be similar of the petty bullying tactics that their historical predecessors used against the one institution that stands for tradition and civilisation, the Church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Anyone think theres an appetite amongst Irish feminists to stage somthing similar against the hierarchy over here :D?

Absolutely disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w4aB6GBcJkc

http://www.examiner.com/article/topless-abortion-activists-hurl-blood-soaked-panties-at-archbishop-of-madrid

Feminist group 'Femen' whipped out their breasts and hurled blood soaked knickers at the Archbishop of Madrid. They were protesting the newly proposed abortion laws in spain which will see a more restrictive policy.

I think the heirachy of the catholic church are long overdo a bit of tit anyways. Lol.

Yeah I don't see them doing that in Saudi Arabia where women are actually opressed. Well done, feminists. Fight the the good fight, in a democratic country with a democratically elected government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Yes. Don't equate disagreement with disrespect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

dissed doc wrote: »
    Yeah I don't see them doing that in Saudi Arabia where women are actually opressed. Well done, feminists. Fight the the good fight, in a democratic country with a democratically elected government.

I think they're mentalers, but I wouldn't be encouraging them to try that in Saudi. You'd get a very painful death for it, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭fran17

"feminists"? can think of a lot of words to describe then but none would involve anything feminine.disgusting,truly disgusting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

RoboRat wrote: »
    Some people would pay good money for that sort of carry on.

+1 for dyke nipples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Actions like these could be more harmful to the progression of womens rights on various issues.

Do actions like these not demean us all? (male and female)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

why didn't they direct their protest at the minister of whatever department is bringing in the new law?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Manach wrote: »
    This type of vileness of degree (albeit not type) would be similar of the petty bullying tactics that their historical predecessors used against the one institution that stands for tradition and civilisation, the Church.
    Tradition yeh, don't know about civilisation. The church doesn't have a great track record in that regard. Nothing against people having their religious beliefs, but there's no point in making dubious statements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

"Let's get attention with our tits." Really doing feminism justice there.

I think this group only damages their cause the way they behave instead of furthering it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Rosy Posy wrote: »
    It also allows the other side to dismiss protesters as loonies.
    It allows normal people to dismiss them as loonies for good reasons. Though the loonies are good for a giggle to be fair.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

This is the closest he'll get to a pair of tits. Reactionary and caveman as he is, he probably went to say a few prayers in case he had an erection. No pity for him at all.
    woodoo wrote: »
    The archbishop should have pushed one of them away with both hands on her tits . That would have been a great still frame for the papers.
    They prtested in the Spanish parliament last year. Same way. One of the ushers working there had a good grab at them trying to get the women from the chamber.

"Toño fuera de mi coño" hahahaha

If I show my Willy to a nun I get arrested.
    Where's the equal rights?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

Wibbs wrote: »
    It allows normal people to dismiss them as loonies for good reasons. Though the loonies are good for a giggle to be fair.

Agreed they are most likely loonies up for the craic, but I'm feminist and prochoice and I resent the possibility of being tarred with the same brush as this shower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

Rosy Posy wrote: »
    Agreed they are most likely loonies up for the craic, but I'm feminist and prochoice and I resent the possibility of being tarred with the same brush as this shower.

ME TOO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It's amazing that just because the man is a member of the clergy, some people here think it's ok to throw blood at him.

Some people see them as low life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

in fairness its easier to throw blood than young boys...