Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best city to get pissed in

• 18-02-2014 3:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭

Currently ar mheisce in Berlin. €2 for a pint and given free shots, whats not to like :pac:

So AH where is das beste city to head off into the prowl on?

TL;DR Ich bein ein drunken Berliner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Amsterdam without question. Not the cheapest though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

spiralism wrote: »
    Amsterdam without question. Not the cheapest though.

Yore doning somethign rong if you go to Amsterdam to get pissed :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭Paulie Gualtieri

Anywhere in Ireland once the beer isn't too much of a rip.

I've never been to America but if been in some states.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

ya but berliners are boring as shit. a city full of posers.

London is great. Dublin ain't too bad either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Guayaquil, Ecuador.

For no particular reason, just like every other suggestion in this thread.

ya but berliners are boring as shit. a city full of posers.

London is great. Dublin ain't too bad either.

In fairness the only Berliners I think I've encountered were ladies of the night wearing clothes that can only be described as brave (for the record each encounter was responded to with a friendly nie danke) but folk from other places seemed like great craic

P_1 wrote: »
    Yore doning somethign rong if you go to Amsterdam to get pissed :p

Maybe but there's definitely a great nightlife, plenty of places have decent drink deals and it's always bustling without ever being insane, the place of life there really goes at a nice pace, it's not too hectic for a large city (being less so than similarly sized Dublin) but its not too quiet either. Amount of stags you see there is something else.

Also, there's the little matter of the Red Light District and the surrounding area is literally nothing but bars and food. Same in the other two main nightlife areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Everybody stop what you're doing and pay attention to how great and well travelled I am!

Vang Vieng in Laos is great as it has tubing. I've been to some cool clubs and bars around the world but it's down to the company you're with in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Everybody stop what you're doing and pay attention to how great and well travelled I am!

Vang Vieng in Laos is great as it has tubing. I've been to some cool clubs and bars around the world but it's down to the company you're with in my opinion

In Laois you say? Jesus I'll be checking that out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭MooShop

Seoul is a great city for drinking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Prague

/thread

MooShop wrote: »
    Seoul is a great city for drinking!

I got Seoul but I'm not a sojer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

In fairness the only Berliners I think I've encountered were ladies of the night wearing clothes that can only be described as brave (for the record each encounter was responded to with a friendly nie danke) but folk from other places seemed like great craic

ya same here, aussies, brits and danes were great craic but actual germans wanted nothing do with us.

stay away from the ladies of the night, they rope you in saying it's only €50 but it's closer to €500 when you get down to doing anything. a friend was telling me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Galway and Glasgow.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

ya same here, aussies, brits and danes were great craic but actual germans wanted nothing do with us.

stay away from the ladies of the night, they rope you in saying it's only €50 but it's closer to €500 when you get down to doing anything. a friend was telling me.

A 'friend' you say...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Our Year wrote: »
    In Laois you say? Jesus I'll be checking that out!
    Ja, it's a Viet restaurant in Port-Lao-ee-sche. BYOB though, so probably as cheap to drink at home and order a Thai take-away...

Not your ornery onager

MadsL wrote: »
    Prague

/thread

I've heard great things, need to visit no doubt. Would take a lot to top Amsterdam though, even if it is cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Munich.

Las Vegas.

Closer to home I've had some cracking nights on the beers in both Edinburgh and Cardiff actually.

Dortmund when the home team is in town after a win is pretty decent I have to say...

Rather dull place otherwise i heard though and there's better cities not too far away

Also, most cities with a Bundesliga team would have a great atmosphere imo, as standout as Dortmund's fans are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I've heard great things, need to visit no doubt. Would take a lot to top Amsterdam though, even if it is cheaper.

In NL some things are legal; in CZ everything is legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Tokyo is pretty good. Cheap beer (not great mind you), safe, hot ladies.

Incredible amount and variety of places.

Only drawback is the lack of transport from 12am-6am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭ceannbui

great place to go on the piss? Chang Mai, incredibly laid back city, fantastic food, not a great selection of beer but everything is cheap. For just a little bit extra you can get a nice hotel room with a great view or a villa on the outskirts of the city. Spent 10 days there a few years ago with the girlfriend, would love to go back with some mates.

edited to add: or galway. difficult to choose :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭wuffly

Beirut seriously good craic! Rio, Melbourne, Galway & Cork. oh and Belfast! Always have a ball up there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

Pyongyang

nbar12 wrote: »
    Pyongyang

saw a short documentary on VICE youtube channel that followed an American who go into Pyongyang on a tourist visa. Looks mental. did you go on the piss there or just taking the mick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

Rather dull place otherwise i heard though and there's better cities not too far away

Also, most cities with a Bundesliga team would have a great atmosphere imo, as standout as Dortmund's fans are.

Been to dortmund quite a bit and I have had some great sessions there.

one time I went to some club that was about 20e in but the bar was free all night.
    I woke up on the street beside a bakery that had just baked a fresh batch of bread. jaysus..

I've always had a great time in cardiff

been to amsterdam and had a great time cos of the drugs but the nitelife was alright wouldn't rave about it tbh.

Dublin does rank quite high on my list but it's no carriagh on shannon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Saigon for overall laughs. Berlin for clubbing. Pamplona is hands down best if during san fermin festival. Edinburgh v good during fringe. Barcelona, Prague, Budapest, cuzco, rio, Cape town all honourable mentions.
    Having a good gang or falling in with one more important then the place in general.

Derry, Galway, Cork, Dublin all very good for pubs if not clubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Not a city, but a very big town.

Turnhout in Belgium. Spent a few very very messy weekends there sampling the local beers. Nice people too.

Manly in Sydneys Northern beaches is a cracking spot too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

a similar thing can happen in amsterdam if you dont do your negotiating beforehand, a friend told me

negotiation, what ladies of negotiable affection call foreplay :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

Copenhagen

Just don't do what we did and take the train over the bridge into Sweden. Malmo is easy on the eye but boring as sh!te for a session. Pubs close at midnight on the dot and are a bit of a rip-off for booze. A barlady in Gustave Adolf's Square gave me a half pint for the price of a full pint in Dublin. I said "€5:50? is there any way I could get a bit more" she said "Yeah, you could buy two of them"

Kind of walked into that one tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Munich is a great city for the booze. A trip to the Hofbrauhaus for a feed and and a few steins is a must for any visitor there :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Guayaquil, Ecuador.

For no particular reason, just like every other suggestion in this thread.

Ok, sorry for sounding pretentious here but...

yes....I have been on a bender in Guayaquil and all I can say is, its a dull place. Not much going on. Quito has much better nightlife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

MadsL wrote: »
    In NL some things are legal; in CZ everything is legal.

Only thing I would say about Prague is that its not very nice to be Asian/Tanned/non european looking/woman on your own or openly gay, I would definitely not recommend it while drunk anyway.

In Amsterdam its fine to be all of those things without problems, unless maybe you are wearing a PSV/Feijenoord football jersey.

San Sebastian would be a good one.

Prague also.

The best though......well that depends on who you're with.....

Galway, Edinburgh, Liverpool and Cork in that order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Any city with delicious wine and company, a soft bed in a quiet room and nubile slaves to bring fresh fruit and pastries and run me a bath the next morning.

Wie geht's Heute, P_I? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

nbar12 wrote: »
    Pyongyang
    ceannbui wrote: »
    saw a short documentary on VICE youtube channel that followed an American who go into Pyongyang on a tourist visa. Looks mental. did you go on the piss there or just taking the mick?

I'd say he's taking the mick ;)

Surprised no one has mentioned it yet but for me:

1) Warsaw
    2) Dublin
    3) Galway
    4) Riga
    5) Kiev
    6) Lviv (Ukraine too)

The worst cities:

1) Rome - just so boring
    2) Dresden
    3) Vilnius

bear1 wrote: »
    I'd say he's taking the mick ;)

Surprised no one has mentioned it yet but for me:

1) Warsaw
    2) Dublin
    3) Galway
    4) Riga
    5) Kiev
    6) Lviv (Ukraine too)

The worst cities:

1) Rome - just so boring
    2) Dresden
    3) Vilnius

Good shout, extremly dull for a booze up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Tel Aviv is unbelievable craic. I flew out from there on my way back from the Holy Land and the place is mental. There's a white sandy beach that fronts on to the Mediterranean, a rake of banging house clubs and scores of bars with tons of outdoor seating. The women are absolutely belting and the residents are generally a friendly bunch. I went out in the evening for a bit of grub and ended up getting manked off my tree until 4.30am.

London is great too, I still get a buzz off heading out. The best places to go are gaffs like Shoreditch, Camden and Angel which have clusters of dozens of pubs and bars.

Barcelona is up there for having the craic as well. I didn't realise until I went there how the Spanish youth are absolutely murder for drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Galway and Glasgow.

Glasgow?

You taking the Piss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Good shout, extremly dull for a booze up.

I was a bit surprised it was so dull, the women as well are so far up their own hole that they can tickle their own tonsils.
    Wouldn't recommend it at all for a party weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Ostrava

Theres a street there called Stodolni which is pretty much all pubs and clubs. Great craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Galway,
    Newcastle,
    Bangkok,
    Sydney

Only thing I would say about Prague is that its not very nice to be Asian/Tanned/non european looking/woman on your own or openly gay, I would definitely not recommend it while drunk anyway.

In Amsterdam its fine to be all of those things without problems, unless maybe you are wearing a PSV/Feijenoord football jersey.

Ya see there's that. Amsterdam is generally very safe, i've had no bother there even wandering on my own late at night. Even the scumbags there are just more likely to annoy you for change late on than try anything, they get money illegally through robbing bikes anyways or selling ground up headache pills to tourists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Currently ar mheisce in Berlin. €2 for a pint and given free shots, whats not to like :pac:

Always though the Hakkeschemarkt was very overrated. Liverpool is a good town to get stewed in. Wimminz galore who are locked and up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Vegas wins hands down,

Go out at 2 in the day and god only knows where you'll end up it really is a mad place and everyone is there to party so you meet all kinds of strange people you wouldn't in everyday life, Once ended up at a house/pool party in a mansion hosted by Flyod Mayweathers busneiss partner and football agent Sky Andrews (ashley cole ,ledly King) , It was Sky who invited us we bumped into him and Sol Campbell (legend) in Marquee night club just chatted and had a bit of crack and they left us there table with free bottles of vodka and rum , The next day one of the lads got a text from Sky with the adress inviting us to the party, it was great crack,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Stop legging drunk people from Berlin, they have to suffer enough with that Peter Fox fella.

Arnheim in the Netherlands.