Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To all dog owners

• 17-02-2014 7:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭

On the off-chance, that any one of you boards members happens to be a neighbour of mine and is the one with the CONSTANTLY BARKING DOG, could you all please check that your beloved doggies are not barking right now. If you find them to be barking, could you please shut them up and take them inside.
    Thank you.

My sanity is being compromised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,872 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Just bring it into your garden and see how they like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

I actually read that as tall dog owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Nope - my two are sitting here in the kitchen chillin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Barking mad it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Hold on and I'll check...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Dog is quiet as mouse out there, the cat though is meowing like fcuk.

Sure it's not a meowing your hearing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Just to be sure, I have gone out and killed the 2 dogs with a swift kick to the head. Hope all is well now, OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Nope, my dog is enjoying the barking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

OP, we obviously have the same neighbour :(

Just as I posted above a bunch of moron students went past the house barking at one of the neighbours dogs.

So if any of you happen to be my neighbours could you check on you moron students kids and if they are out barking at dogs can you please shut them up and take them inside ?

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Whilst we have your attention, if your dog shits in public, could you pick it up?

Thanks.

MadsL wrote: »
    Whilst we have your attention, if your dog shits in public, could you pick it up?

Thanks.

Depends how runny it is usually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Thanks.

And if it's a guide dog? Then what, brainiac?

How do blind people wipe their arse?, like how do you know when to stop wiping?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Thanks.

I could but I won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

wazky wrote: »

Smell the paper

Then the owner will usually bring it home on the bottom of their shoe I'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

Dog has shut up! Woohoo!! Peace in my brain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

sopretty wrote: »
    He/she must be a boardsie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭The Glass Key

Thanks.

He weights 60kgs htf do you think I could pick him up?

Depends how runny it is usually.

Wtf are you feeding your dog?

Smaller, more annoying dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

My dog only barks at nosy neighbours.

Service dogs are clearly smarter than you , as are blind people.

The handler runs his hand down the dogs back which tells them if the dog is peeing or shitting. Male dogs are trained to squat not lift their legs when peeing. The handler marks the position of dog, then picks up the poop with a bag as normal.

If blind people can clean up after their dog then why can't other people ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Thanks.

Naaaaaaa. It helps fertilise stuff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

More friction/resistance

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Naaaaaaa. It helps fertilise stuff...

Like tarmac, buggies and peoples shoes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Hope it barks again just to annoy you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

We're all gods children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I love dogs - but dog owners tend to do such a bad job of keeping dogs...it's no wonder I have so much difficulty renting with a pet :(

Remind your neighbours of their legal obligation to keep the dog quiet and hopefully that'll be enough. Odds are it won't be though.

Hope it barks again just to annoy you.

Yes indeed, I spoke too soon. Poor thing is back to barking its head off.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

All efficient means of spreading said fertilizer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Yes indeed, I spoke too soon. Poor thing is back to barking it's head off.

UCDVet wrote: »
    I love dogs.

Handy that. Be awkward as a vet if you didn't.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    We're all gods children.

In Dog we trust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I just got in after walking the eating/shyting/chewing machines around the back field. I'm wet, cold and if the feckers so much as mutter, I'm booting them up the khyber. So it's not one of mine anyway. Why the fcuk did no clever-dick dog breeder invent a self-walking dog yet?? What do they need me for? Company?? A guide?? They've done the lap a thousand times. Fcuk off and go on yer own, ye hairy hitlers. And they smell. Much as I love em, I hate them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

My dog is currently barking non stop. She dislocated her knee earlier today when she threw herself down thre steps.

So my neighbours can complain all they like, it's not gonna change anytime today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I'm not a vet. It's just a poor selected name. I've also never been to UCD.

*mind blown*

My dog is currently barking non stop. She dislocated her knee earlier today when she threw herself down thre steps.

So my neighbours can complain all they like, it's not gonna change anytime today.

Your dog threw herself down the steps?

Going through a ruff patch probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

Our local vet ... Scared of cats :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

I laughed out loud!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    Hold on and I'll check...
    Ru's been gone a long time :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Ru's been gone a long time :eek:

Maybe it was his dog barking because it was hungry.
    And now. It has eaten him. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

She runs too fast down the stairs to the back garden and occasionally jumps. She fell this time.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I'm not a vet. It's just a poor selected name.
    You weren't there, man. You wouldn't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

I love dogs - but dog owners tend to do such a bad job of keeping dogs...it's no wonder I have so much difficulty renting with a pet :(

Remind your neighbours of their legal obligation to keep the dog quiet and hopefully that'll be enough. Odds are it won't be though.

What legal obligation is there, can you post a link. I'm not being smart here I really want to know because I've been complaining about my neighbours dog for the last three months and DCC and DSPCA tell me there is nothing they can do once the dog has food and shelter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Dog whistles are at a frequency of 23 to 54 kHz. I'd say it'd be easy to tune a sine tone to that on your computer with free software like Audacity, then hook up speakers at a window facing the dogs' garden and train the little fcukers yourself since their owners aren't bothered.

I read that to train a dog not to bark, first you have to train it to bark on command. This means you can enjoy yourself getting the dogs to annoy their owners while working toward a quiet life for yourself. Win win!

I think they just bark when they're left outside for long periods of time. Bored out of their brains probably. Owners don't know, as they're not there to have to listen to them!!!