Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thoughts on BMW

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

First thought would be the fact that its 8 years old with 60000 miles. Thats low mileage. Its 523, so most likely was an executives car. No word on whether there is a full service history with ie.

On the price, and leaving aside what its going to cost to tax it. Its worth more around the 6-6.5k mark.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭tom_tarbucket

First thought would be the fact that its 8 years old with 60000 miles. Thats low mileage. Its 523, so most likely was an executives car. No word on whether there is a full service history with ie.

On the price, and leaving aside what its going to cost to tax it. Its worth more around the 6-6.5k mark.

yeah, mileage is low alright, always suspicious.
    yeah, I hate when they don't mention service history.

Thanks for the input.

EDIT : its does mention a service history : ) " WITH A DOCUMENTED BMW SERVICE HISTORY "

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Aslong as the history backs up the mileage your fine. I have an 07 E90 with 42k on her, so there are alot of low mileage cars out there. The dealer is well established aswell, always seems to have some decent stock.

My issue would be buying the 523, would a 525 not be a better car to buy for the same running costs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭DAZP93

I sold a 2006 523i to a buddy with 115k for 5 grand 3 weeks ago.

That car has also been for sale a good while, you should be able to knock atleast 1000-1500 off the asking price. Looks a nice car though.

There doesnt seem to be to many up for sale at the moment either.

kceire wrote: »
    Aslong as the history backs up the mileage your fine. I have an 07 E90 with 42k on her, so there are alot of low mileage cars out there. The dealer is well established aswell, always seems to have some decent stock.

My issue would be buying the 523, would a 525 not be a better car to buy for the same running costs?

oh for sure, 525i would be better alright ( more bhp, same tax, nice drive etc), but there are hardly any for sale.

kceire wrote: »

+1 on that

DAZP93 wrote: »
    I sold a 2006 523i to a buddy with 115k for 5 grand 3 weeks ago.

That car has also been for sale a good while, you should be able to knock atleast 1000-1500 off the asking price. Looks a nice car though.

There doesnt seem to be to many up for sale at the moment either.

Thanks, but as far as I can see its only on sale for about a week

My appolagies, on closer inspection I was thinking of a different car.

DAZP93 wrote: »
    My appolagies, on closer inspection I was thinking of a different car.

No bother, this one will probably be on sale a for a good while too - unless I buy it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

the pricing is fine, compare it to the other autos from dealers, maybe a tad high, like a few hundred, but thats it...

Idbatterim wrote: »
    the pricing is fine, compare it to the other autos from dealers, maybe a tad high, like a few hundred, but thats it...

Yeah pricing does indeed seem to be ok, other dealers and private sellers have 2006's up there for 11,000, 13,000 etc - madness

Do you think its a decent looking car ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

It's still a huge amount of car for the money...

looks good to me, I would recommend having it checked out by a bmw specialist prior to purchase though...

Just on another matter, Alot of posters have warned me against the newer N 53 engine in the 523i due to coil pack and injector issues.

Anyone know if this affects both the manual AND Auto or just one of them ?

it would have to be both I assume...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

bazz26 wrote: »

im as picky as fook : ) prefer black leather

Even if it costs €2k more?

suppose u have a point :)

I think so, €9k to €9.5k is more like. Very poorly presented advert too - crap photos and car isn't washed.

baaaa ha ha! 10,750 for that?! man thats a good one. There was an 07 from dealer recently same spec asking 7 or 8, cant remember exactly!

I think so, €9k to €9.5k is more like. Very poorly presented advert too - crap photos and car isn't washed.

but on the other hand. the 2006 523i is 7900 and the price on that seems ok I think. this one is a year newer and its a 525i and 3 grand dearer, is that not about right ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

but on the other hand. the 2006 523i is 7900 and the price on that seems ok I think. this one is a year newer and its a 525i and 3 grand dearer, is that not about right ?

But ones in a dealer the other is private sale. The 525i seems very expensive and the owner looking for a high price couldn't even be bothered to wash it not a great first impression.

The 06 523i in your original post is a dealer's asking price. The 06 523i I showed you is €5k private sale, is the 07 525i (private sale also) worth over twice as much?

suppose when ya put it that way, but maybe again that one for 5 grand has had feck all services etc and maybe this 525i has a mighty record.

Just annoys me the laziness of some ads

a like for like 06 compared to 07, I would expect to pay E1000-E1500 max for it, thats it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

Sheesh you could buy all three of them for the price of a new Avensis. There's seriously good bang for your buck in petrol E60's.

That 523i in the OP looks niiice, haggle hard OP. Best of luck!

a like for like 06 compared to 07, I would expect to pay E1000-E1500 max for it, thats it.

ok, so when cars get to this age and for this particular model and petrol etc, they yearly difference is abut 1000 so, I kinda had more of a yearly difference in me head

suppose when ya put it that way, but maybe again that one for 5 grand has had feck all services etc and maybe this 525i has a mighty record.

Just annoys me the laziness of some ads

The €5k one mentions a service history in the advert and is a lot better presented than the 07 525i. Just because something is more expensive doesn't mean it is better.

But you could speculate all day which one is the better buy until you go view them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭munzab

im suspicious of the mileage on that one. the seats are worn, the car doesnt look as tight at the other one thats advertised as 120k km (both same mileage).

Mileage can be verified at a main dealer via the key, instrument cluster or ECU. Seat wear looks normal to me on an 8 year old car to be honest. The only difference I can see is that they are the upgraded heated sport seats that are not standard on the SE.

munzab wrote: »
    im suspicious of the mileage on that one. the seats are worn, the car doesnt look as tight at the other one thats advertised as 120k km (both same mileage).

Your suspicious of the mileage on what one exactly ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Just on another matter, Alot of posters have warned me against the newer N 53 engine in the 523i due to coil pack and injector issues.

Anyone know if this affects both the manual AND Auto or just one of them ?
    I've been reading up on this lately. Apparently the coil pack and injector issues are a bit exaggerated. There's no doubt that it happend a fair amount of 5-series, but percentage wise not that much. By and large the recomendation from the BMW forums here and the UK say the early M54 engines are reliable but thirsty and a bit too little torque for the heavier E60, the N52 engines that followed are OK, but prone to a few issues, where as the N53 engines are actually decent if you're not unlucky with injectors. And it does seem that you do need to be unlucky.
    The LCI 523i's have around the same power and torque as the pre-LCI 525i, and the N53 525i's are actually the 3 litre, so most didn't bother over here I'd say. It was 530i or nothing if you were going to pay that tax in 2007!
    Price on these does seem to be like the E39 price range. E39's range in price from €1,200 to €5,500. And condition of them really can be reflected by the price alone in most cases. The E60 isn't too different. Cheap ones usually are cheap for a reason.
    M-Sport ones seem to add a nice few bob to the asking price, and condition, history and milleage can be worth up to 40% more on examples ticking all boxes. However there are bargains around if you're careful.
    Mileage can be verified at a main dealer via the key, instrument cluster or ECU. Seat wear looks normal to me on an 8 year old car to be honest. The only difference I can see is that they are the upgraded heated sport seats that are not standard on the SE.
    I don't think it looks normal for 79k miles. I had a car with 100k miles with cream leather and it was almost perfect. That looks filthy and worn on the inside. Maybe it's poor lighting in the pics, but nothing I see would make me hold my breath if I were going to view it.

when you go to sell in a few years, the difference will be non existant, the way it is between say some 04 v 05 now or some 06 v 07's... Fair enough if it were a new model or emissions based and a considerable saving on tax, but if its just the sticker on reg plate saying 06 v 07, I wouldnt be paying much extra for it to be honest... I know this is a manual and private sale, but looks exact same as the first one you linked to OP, mileage a bit higher, but asking E5900...

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/5-Series/523-523I/201352220715044/advert?channel=CARS

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    I've been reading up on this lately. Apparently the coil pack and injector issues are a bit exaggerated. There's no doubt that it happend a fair amount of 5-series, but percentage wise not that much. By and large the recomendation from the BMW forums here and the UK say the early M54 engines are reliable but thirsty and a bit too little torque for the heavier E60, the N52 engines that followed are OK, but prone to a few issues, where as the N53 engines are actually decent if you're not unlucky with injectors. And it does seem that you do need to be unlucky.
    The LCI 523i's have around the same power and torque as the pre-LCI 525i, and the N53 525i's are actually the 3 litre, so most didn't bother over here I'd say. It was 530i or nothing if you were going to pay that tax in 2007!
    Price on these does seem to be like the E39 price range. E39's range in price from €1,200 to €5,500. And condition of them really can be reflected by the price alone in most cases. The E60 isn't too different. Cheap ones usually are cheap for a reason.
    M-Sport ones seem to add a nice few bob to the asking price, and condition, history and milleage can be worth up to 40% more on examples ticking all boxes. However there are bargains around if you're careful.

I don't think it looks normal for 79k miles. I had a car with 100k miles with cream leather and it was almost perfect. That looks filthy and worn on the inside. Maybe it's poor lighting in the pics, but nothing I see would make me hold my breath if I were going to view it.

Im purposely staying away from the N53's due to the advice on here !!

when you go to sell in a few years, the difference will be non existant, the way it is between say some 04 v 05 now or some 06 v 07's... Fair enough if it were a new model or emissions based and a considerable saving on tax, but if its just the sticker on reg plate saying 06 v 07, I wouldnt be paying much extra for it to be honest...

You wouldn't be paying much extra for what ? is it for an 07 over an 06 ? 10,900 V 7,900 etc ?

Im purposely staying away from the N53's due to the advice on here !!
    I was the same until I read up on it from the BMW experts! Now I'm staying away from N52's and deliberately seeking an N53!

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    I was the same until I read up on it from the BMW experts! Now I'm staying away from N52's and deliberately seeking an N53!

Lord jaysus, this is doing me head in, I'm back to square one now. So N 53 is ok. ive let a couple of nice N53's go due to the advice on here. Hope rocky does not see this ; ) He has an awful set on the N 53's

Op have you considered a 3 series? you could get the 2L engine in that...

You wouldn't be paying much extra for what ? is it for an 07 over an 06 ? 10,900 V 7,900 etc ?
    yeah exactly, its insane, he's in for a major reality check!

Op have you considered a 3 series? you could get the 2L engine in that...

I just want a 5 series : ) Always wanted one, just love the look of them

fook it, I might open a new thread on this and get it sorted once and for all

Just get a 530i and be done with it. :p

sure that probably has another set of f3ckin issues to deal with :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭munzab

Your suspicious of the mileage on what one exactly ?

That one

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/06-bmw-523i-sports-auto-fully-loaded/6441794

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

Lord jaysus, this is doing me head in, I'm back to square one now. So N 53 is ok. ive let a couple of nice N53's go due to the advice on here. Hope rocky does not see this ; ) He has an awful set on the N 53's

Too late :p

I already have my N52, up to you to do your research and choose either way.
    When I was looking, there were no general N52 problems that I could find; since then someone here posted a link to 1 case of the engine being noisy sometimes in the morning until oil lubricates it. No major failure, just ... noise.

On the other hand, the 1 N53 523i I test drove had 8 or 9 entries in the service record for coil packs/injectors, and 2 I enquired about had them replaced. 3/3 for the N53. In saying that, depending on your mileage and how recently these were replaced, you may have 3+ years of reliable motoring anyway. I have no idea how much they would cost to replace.

And to reiterate, I don't care at all about the year, as long as it's the model I want. I wouldn't pay extra for a 2006 if a 2005 looked better in spec, condition, service history etc...

But, if you're going for an N53, need to balance the buying price with tax savings for post 08 cars, and resale value... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

have a grey e60 with black leather...cousin has identical black one with cream leather.
    Mother looking at the car parked beside mine and comes over to me saying that's a fantastic looking car....very classy and looks expensive etc...
    throws her a dirty look and tells her they're the same frakking car "you stupid cow" (last part said in my head).
    All she saw was the cream leather interior and with the black colour assumed it was a higher class of car than mine.

Blazer wrote: »
    have a grey e60 with black leather...cousin has identical black one with cream leather.
    Mother looking at the car parked beside mine and comes over to me saying that's a fantastic looking car....very classy and looks expensive etc...
    throws her a dirty look and tells her they're the same frakking car "you stupid cow" (last part said in my head).
    All she saw was the cream leather interior and with the black colour assumed it was a higher class of car than mine.

I suppose my main concern is not the colour the leather as such, but the colour of the carpet, cream leather normally means a light coloured carpet, whch would stain easily.

Mats help that! :)