Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lovely white mondeo

• 15-02-2014 6:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭

split from bangeromics

colm_mcm wrote: »

Im suprised he isnt chancing his arm with the whole 1 lady owner from new BS like half the bluffers on dungdeal;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Genuine question, but what gives you the impression it's an ex Garda car?
    Because of the number plate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

bear1 wrote: »

It's white for a start :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Garda plates have a slightly thicker font to normal. You can see this on the rear plate. LX badge is missing off the boot. Also its white, D reg and with intergalactic mileage.

Also, its reg 77031.
    05D77032 is a mondeo 1.8
    05D77033 is a mondeo 1.8
    05D77034 is a mondeo 1.8
    05D77035 is a mondeo 1.8
    05D77036 is a mondeo 1.8
    05D77037 is a mondeo 1.8
    05D77038 is a mondeo 1.8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭zapata

Are these ex-garda cars not sent to recycle paradise when taken out of service? End of life etc?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Was there not a more powerful engine in that Mondeo Colm? The Cops would have the top spec I would have thought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Interslice wrote: »
    sold!

Wow, that was quick....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

Jesus. wrote: »
    Was there not a more powerful engine in that Mondeo Colm? The Cops would have the top spec I would have thought?

not for a normal unmarked one. some of the ones for higher ranking are big engined/specced mondeos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Can't see that being ex Garda car cos there is only 200k on the clock. Retirement age is 300k unless it was so badly damaged, sold for parts, fixed up and sold. I wouldn't touch it with a barge pole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

not for a normal unmarked one. some of the ones for higher ranking are big engined/specced mondeos

yea some units get the 2.5v6 model mondeo but 99% of the Guards mondeos are the base model lowest CC . sereral mk2 cop mondeos I was in the back seat of were just 1.6 "Aspen" with manual windows and NO spec.

a disgrace for our gardai to be lumbered with these slow unsuitable for modern policing POS bog standard family wagons:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Worse still, they've Hyundai's now and had the Avensis for a while too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

davycc wrote: »
    yea some units get the 2.5v6 model mondeo but 99% of the Guards mondeos are the base model lowest CC . sereral mk2 cop mondeos I was in the back seat of were just 1.6 "Aspen" with manual windows and NO spec.

a disgrace for our gardai to be lumbered with these slow unsuitable for modern policing POS bog standard family wagons:o

You say that and that is fair enough but the mondeo is considered one of the best cars the garda have ever had. Especially the 2.0 traffic cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Imagine the looks you'd get driving it though. I'd actually expect to find that burnt it it was parked in a dodgy area.,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

carzony wrote: »
    Imagine the looks you'd get driving it though. I'd actually expect to find that burnt it it was parked in a dodgy area.,.

Maybe thats why it was sold so quick, nice insurance payout for new owner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭SleeperService

ROFL. If there was a special endura powered mondeo going cheap they would have been landed with that I'd say.

You say that and that is fair enough but the mondeo is considered one of the best cars the garda have ever had. Especially the 2.0 traffic cars.
    RARR! Feel da powwwerrrrrr! No wonder they need to do a special driving course.

Not a swipe at your post, I just feel the gardai are poorly equipped in general.
    The 2.0 should have been the base model.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

300k on garda cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

99% of the Guards mondeos are the base model lowest CC . sereral mk2 cop mondeos I was in the back seat of were just 1.6 "Aspen" with manual windows and NO spec.

In a country of 1L Nissan Micra there is no need for more powerful cops cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

Thats not an ex cop car. Theres no Baile Atha Cliath on the rear plate, the front plate is in a non-garda font, the radio aerial grommit is missing from the roof, its got alloys - I could go on. It might be Customs and Excise or other service vehicle but its not Garda active service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

. sereral mk2 cop mondeos I was in the back seat of

Moar details :D

I have seen some nicely powered Garda cars around Galway, a Subaru (Forrester 2.0 turbo I think), Volvo XC70?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

I remember the government made a huge hoopla over buying a few Volvo XC70, I think for use by the rapid response units.

No press release had "state of the art" written more often.

Thats not an ex cop car. Theres no Baile Atha Cliath on the rear plate, the front plate is in a non-garda font, the radio aerial grommit is missing from the roof, its got alloys - I could go on. It might be Customs and Excise or other service vehicle but its not Garda active service.

The aerial stubs need to be removed from the roof for the nct due to being sharp edged if a pedestrian slid across the roof. :rolleyes:
    (Probably removed to lose the cop look though)
    The plates can easily be changed and the non Baile Atha Cliath would be an nct fail - so probably just faded from all the car washes that the guards have to do to look presentable.
    Alloys are also easily changed. (I thought they were wheel trims myself).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

Marcin_diy wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Marcin_diy wrote: »
    Not everyone drives one of them, certainly not around where I live.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Man if Cops from other parts of the World heard that they'd wet their pants laughing.

Traffic Cops are supposed to have high-performance vehicles to go after Crims in fast cars, not average family Sedans.

I agree with interceptor, public service but not a day to day garda car. IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Man if Cops from other parts of the World heard that they'd wet their pants laughing.

Traffic Cops are supposed to have high-performance vehicles to go after Crims in fast cars, not average family Sedans.

Not my words as such though, it's been said many a time on the emergency services forums. The 11 avensis are considered miles behind of the older mondeos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I have seen some nicely powered Garda cars around Galway, a Subaru (Forrester 2.0 turbo I think), Volvo XC70?

The traffic corps volvos are the 2.4 5 cylinder diesels remapped to 230bhp or so. Was talking to a garda driving one wondering if it was a petrol.

He looked at me like I was mad when I thought it wasn't diesel :p

The traffic corps volvos are the 2.4 5 cylinder diesels remapped to 230bhp or so. Was talking to a garda driving one wondering if it was a petrol.

He looked at me like I was mad when I thought it wasn't diesel :p

Well I didn't know they were remapped!
    2 countries pop into my head when it comes to serious horsepower and that's Italy and Germany.

BMJD wrote: »
    Moar details :D

Nothing exciting just getting late nite lifts home and to the chipper:o

although I did get a proper fast active spin when I as a 18yr old was the victim of an attempted aggravated robbery at work by 3, 16 and 17yr old lads..

2 of them had run away after trying their best to cave my skull in when the security finally came to my rescue..(I was very angry as a 18yr old and gave as good as I got.nearly broke my foot kicking one of them in the head .had done some informal taekwondo too in my teens.. I wouldnt fight my way out of a paper bag now though:o)

the 3rd lad I had tackled him and and wanst about to let him go. he.ended up walking into some glass doors repeatly :pac: and crying for his mammy when he was on his own in the security office lol

when the cops came I handed the scummer over to them and then we went for a high revs if not high speed hunt around the local streets to see if they would pick up the other 2 scummers..sadly they had gone to ground..

on the plus side I got a half day off work and got my jacket replaced which they had almost ripped off me.. I also was full of adreneline for a week lol:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I have yet to see a top spec garda car in this country. They are all bog spec from what I can see. Just like that white one above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

I have yet to see a top spec garda car in this country. They are all bog spec from what I can see. Just like that white one above.

I'v often seen a 2006 ghia mondeo in lucan. driven by a few detectives. it had sunroof, rear wiper, chrome door handles ect.. best i'v seen lol

a few 3 litre if I remember right V6 mondeos, volvos high specs but these are more used by phoenix park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Consecutive plates and high mileage could tell a sales rep story or ex-rental either.

Edit:

It has aircon, deffo not ex-state :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

It is an ex Garda vehicle.
    And they are hubcaps not alloys, the cheap ones u could get on Lidl/Aldi/Halfords

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

D Trent wrote: »
    It is an ex Garda vehicle.
    And they are hubcaps not alloys, the cheap ones u could get on Lidl/Aldi/Halfords

As said already, don't think so. Garda Cars aren't retired until 300k, this only has 200k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

Mr Simpson wrote: »
    As said already, don't think so. Garda Cars aren't retired until 300k, this only has 200k.

Could have been retired early i.e a write off. would explain the different front plate.

ninty9er wrote: »
    It has aircon, deffo not ex-state :p

Some patrol cars definitely had aircon over the years - seen a few at auction a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Maybe the odometer has been adjusted?

Not always the case. This time last year-I would be able to check and confirm if the car was or wasnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

having seen what the Garda are up to in the news recently, I wouldn't be surprised if it was clocked! :pac:

vibe666 wrote: »
    having seen what the Garda are up to in the news recently, I wouldn't be surprised if it was clocked! :pac:

Be careful there vibe - Boards might be bugged.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

4515815017_d734e22007.jpg

Not far off to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

followed a black Mondy the other day that I suspected was Gards....highly amused to see him slow down and have a good look at my silver D reg Ford when I didn't pass him...eventually he figuered I'm not a Gard and sped off again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

Nothing exciting just getting late nite lifts home and to the chipper:o

although I did get a proper fast active spin when I as a 18yr old was the victim of an attempted aggravated robbery at work by 3, 16 and 17yr old lads..

2 of them had run away after trying their best to cave my skull in when the security finally came to my rescue..(I was very angry as a 18yr old and gave as good as I got.nearly broke my foot kicking one of them in the head .had done some informal taekwondo too in my teens.. I wouldnt fight my way out of a paper bag now though:o)

the 3rd lad I had tackled him and and wanst about to let him go. he.ended up walking into some glass doors repeatly :pac: and crying for his mammy when he was on his own in the security office lol

when the cops came I handed the scummer over to them and then we went for a high revs if not high speed hunt around the local streets to see if they would pick up the other 2 scummers..sadly they had gone to ground..

on the plus side I got a half day off work and got my jacket replaced which they had almost ripped off me.. I also was full of adreneline for a week lol:cool:

Random.

We're you just trying to find a suitable thread to tell your story?

mfergus wrote: »
    Random.

He was asked for more info, and he gave it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

He was asked for more info, and he gave it.

Ah rite. Missed that part. Now I look pretty stupid :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ah rite. Missed that part. Now I look pretty stupid :)

Yes, Yes you do..... :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Random.

I do post a lot of random stuff at times in fairness :D