Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CRC Big Italian Bike Ride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 gerryhev

I see they have over 800 places filled already, need to get in soon. Something in Armagh on the Saturday too, not sure of details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

I just entered.
    850 entered.
    1,000 limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

What's the craic would it be possible to drive up that morning or would it have to be a stay over job ?

Feckin' peer pressure.......i've just entered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 gerryhev

Pasta party the night before and 7.00am start for first group so would advise staying over, read they are sending riders off in 50 rider groups every 5mins as the PSNI didn't want any huge groups on the roads.

Only 25 places left 975 entries already.

Entry closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Just turn up and ride, the roads are free! You don't even have to pay road tax or nathin'

el tel wrote: »
    You don't even have to pay road tax or nathin'

Typical ignorant driver, as a fellow cyclist i thought u knew there was no such thing as road tax ?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

Eamonnator wrote: »
    Entry closed.

Ah FFS. Only found out about it today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

detones wrote: »
    Ah FFS. Only found out about it today.

Talks are at an advanced stage between the promoter and Croke Park residents about adding another concert sportive. Extra places will be available according to their facebook page

Woo hoo got my place sorted this morning. 225k what have I let myself in for!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Ye i am doing the 225 aswell

Me too. It will be my longest sportive ever.

Well the Wicklow is 200k so i'm pretty sure most of us felt we could manage another 25k at the end of that, least that's the way i'm looking at it.

Just hope there's no major hills in the last 25k, actually i hope the last 100k is all downhill !

Could somebody, who knows about these these things, please post a mapmyride thingie, that shows elevation, for the 225Km cycle?.
    I'm getting anxious about this!.

This is a rough map of the route, think it's more or less right, looks like the big climbs come around the 120k and 130k mark :( and another bit of a lump around 200k.

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/4091731

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭clog

Its not that difficult a route, the climb out of Ballycastle at 120km looks steep but it's only 2.2% over 11km (cushendall road to kom on Strava). The next climb out of Cushendun is steeper but its only about 2km long.

After that its a nice run along the coast back to Belfast.

So anybody on here doing this? Plan to do the 230k. Will be my longest spin to date. Less than 2 weeks to go !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

ye i am doing the 230 km as well will seem like a warm down after the 450 km this weekend

detones wrote: »
    So anybody on here doing this? Plan to do the 230k. Will be my longest spin to date. Less than 2 weeks to go !!!

I'm doing the 230k, with some friends. Like you, it will be my longest spin ever.
    W200 has been my longest.

I have an entry for the Gran Fondo which I cannot now use due to a clash with a family christening send me a pm if interested.

Yep i've signed up too !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Jmcmen

Did this over the weekend, thought it was a class Sportive. The most enjoyable I have done to date, the organisation was excellent. Unloaded the goodie bag last night, worth the entry fee alone, Tee-Shirt, Cap, Tube, Tool kit, Bottle, Crisps, 12 Gels, 2 bars, 2 protein drink, lube.....ya get the gist.
    I would love if they did it again, met alot of sound lads too.
    Big Thumbs up, worth the dry wedding on the Saturday and the 5am start