Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mr Walton RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Every sperm a winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Aw.. that's sad..

Goodnight Johndad.

R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Hayley from the Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Malcoms dad Hal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭denismc

Just saw him in Cliffhanger last night

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭finix

denismc wrote: »
    Just saw him in Cliffhanger last night

The Burren Co Clare ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Good actor R.I.P.
    Think his name was Ralph Waite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

NCIS - Gibb's dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Citroen2cv

He also played an inmate in "Cool hand Luke". Great Movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Now you've gone and made me all nostalgic OP. Anyone remember granddad Walton? That man seemed to live in his longjohns:D, then there was the Little House on the Prairie too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Now you've gone and made me all nostalgic OP. Anyone remember granddad Walton? That man seemed to live in his longjohns:D, then there was the Little House on the Prairie too.

I always thought the feud between the Ingalls family and the Waltons was a great story twist...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Loved that. They were all so feckin religious those shows tho.

Good looking man, Mr Walton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Ah, memories of Sunday dinner and the Waltons or Little House on the Praire on the telly. The guy who played Mr. Olsen (the nice shopowner with the bint wife and brat daughter) in Little House died the other day as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

He ploughed a fertile furrow.Rip.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭finix

kneemos wrote: »
    He ploughed a fertile furrow.Rip.

Imagine falling in the door locked at 4am and falling over the lumber on the way to bed ? Harsh Talk around the table next day ! Lick arses they were, especially John Boy ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Talking about long johns and little house on the prairie in one sentence did you know that pa Ingalls wore no long johns not even an underpants while filming :eek:
    Nellie OIeson wrote about it in her book Confessions of a Prairie Bitch. Information overload I know but I couldn't resist :)

It's funny how much times have changed. When I was a kid in the 70's all those programmes like The Waltons and Little house on the prairie had a moral at the heart of each episode, now it's Grand Theft Auto or some such, simpler times they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

Good looking man, Mr Walton.

Seriously sexy. Himself and the wife were really into each other on the show. Loved that.

It's funny how much times have changed. When I was a kid in the 70's all those programmes like The Waltons and Little house on the prairie had a moral at the heart of each episode, now it's Grand Theft Auto or some such, simpler times they were.
    That's true. You must be around the same age as me.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    That's true. You must be around the same age as me.
    41:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Will Geer. A contemporary of Woody Guthrie and the recently deceased Pete Seeger, he was blacklisted in the 1950s for being un-American, ie a communist. In the 1990s President George H Bush asked why Americans couldn't be more like the Waltons!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭Missymoohaa

My on screen dad would have to be Jed Bartlett from The West Wing, coz he's one of the good guys and he lives in the White House......

or Bill Cosby.

41:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 yayabalexreya

A sweet and earnest man who'll forever be remembered with fondness.
    R.I.P. Mr. Walton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

GTA is an over-18's video game and not a programme streamed on daytime TV. Kids still watch kid stuff; the likes of Spongebob and Powerpuff girls have been going strong for years now. These are quality shows for kids, clever and witty, and I'd honestly think they're better off watching the likes of these than The Waltons, which was harmless but dumb as a bag of rocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

John Goodman or John Candy in whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

A sweet and earnest man who'll forever be remembered with fondness.
    R.I.P. Mr. Walton.

Did you not see him in Roots !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

The Bodyguard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Goodnight Paw

21/25

GTA is an over-18's video game and not a programme streamed on daytime TV. Kids still watch kid stuff; the likes of Spongebob and Powerpuff girls have been going strong for years now. These are quality shows for kids, clever and witty, and I'd honestly think they're better off watching the likes of these than The Waltons, which was harmless but dumb as a bag of rocks.
    Each to their own, I don't have kids so I don't know what kids watch on tv, but frankly Spongebob is for simpletons and stoners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 yayabalexreya

Stojkovic wrote: »

Yes I did. He never had the black heart of a cracker though. You could tell his heart wasn't in that part.

Great suggestion. I'm going to download Roots again. ;)

Back then there was no daytime tv us youngsters went out doors even did some work if you were lucky enough to live on a farm ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Good, decent fare like the Black and White Minstrel Show

goose2005 wrote: »
    Good, decent fare like the Black and White Minstrel Show
    :eek::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭taytobreath

Old Grandpa Walton was gay. He was a gay rights activist. A very modern man for his time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

If it was still on Mary-Ellen would be a crack hoe, Jimbob would be gay and Ike Godseys would be Kmart.

Fcuk, I hated Sunday tv as a kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

I love the Waltons.

Me and my sister, we're so close, we would put the Waltons to shame.

I love little house on the prairie too. So much so I was looking at a boxset to buy at one stage but never did.

If anyone is interested, TG4 shows little house on the prairie on weekdays at 1pm. I try and catch it when I'm free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Addle wrote: »
    The Bodyguard.

Oh that's right. He was Frank's dad in the bodyguard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Stojkovic wrote: »

Was just about to say that.

"Would ya like a bellywarmer Captain"