Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving without wipers?

• 13-02-2014 10:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭

OK, so I have a problem.

The windscreen wipers on my wife's car stopped working earlier today, she's booked into the garage tomorrow to get it fixed but the problem is I'll be gone to work (in fact I'm gone until Saturday), we're 4 miles out from town and the forecast for tomorrow morning is more RAIN.

So how can she get the car into the garage with no wipers, any bright sparks with any ideas? I heard wiping a spud over the surface of the windscreen might work. And she doesn't have arms like an orangutan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Cover the car in tarpaulin.

Problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

MayoForSam wrote: »
    OK, so I have a problem.

The windscreen wipers on my wife's car stopped working earlier today, she's booked into the garage tomorrow to get it fixed but the problem is I'll be gone to work (in fact I'm gone until Saturday), we're 4 miles out from town and the forecast for tomorrow morning is more RAIN.

So how can she get the car into the garage with no wipers, any bright sparks with any ideas? I heard wiping a spud over the surface of the windscreen might work. And she doesn't have arms like an orangutan.

get a mate in an anorak to perch on the bonnet with a squeegee. Sorted.

Sounds like an accident waiting to happen. Can she borrow a friend's car or maybe take public transport, and then bring it somewhere when it is dry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Well if she can drive one handed then you could use a umbrella, buy holding it out the window and above your windscreen.

change the fuse on the wiper circuit. Dull answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

She should reverse the car to the garage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Fix it yourself.

Head out the window is easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Are you still at home with the car? I'd bet money its a 15c fuse that takes 30 seconds to change.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,586 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If she drives fast enough the rain will blow off.

Senna wrote: »
    Are you still at home with the car? I'd bet money its a 15c fuse that takes 30 seconds to change.

someone else said that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

Sway the car violently across the road so the car itself acts like one giant windscreen wiper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Book a tow truck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

get a mate in an anorak to perch on the bonnet with a squeegee. Sorted.

My 10 year old son would relish that challenge.
    Dónal wrote: »
    Sounds like an accident waiting to happen. Can she borrow a friend's car or maybe take public transport, and then bring it somewhere when it is dry?

No such thing as 'buses' out here in the sticks.
    Well if she can drive one handed then you could use a umbrella, buy holding it out the window and above your windscreen.

Might be a tad breezy for a brolly.
    change the fuse on the wiper circuit. Dull answer.

Motor is fine, linkage is probably broken.

Hmmmmm.....

Senna wrote: »

Presumably the fuse would blow for a reason and the new one will do the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Do you have windscreen insurance?;)

kneemos wrote: »

Very true. I have never changed a fuse and had somthing work, ever...no, wait..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Is it possible to drive the car down to outside the garage now,if not checking the fuse as suggested might be worth trying

Head out the window is easier.
    Too Ace Venturaish for my liking.

wipers are for cissies anyway.

I don't even bother with a windscreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Fuses often blow with no lasting damage to the circuit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Well I can offer you my services as a windscreen wiper sound man for a very low price, aside from that you are on your own.

I don't even bother with a windscreen.

windscreens are also for cissies. I wear a scarf and biggles goggles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    Well I can offer you my services as a windscreen wiper sound man for a very low price, aside from that you are on your own.
    How long is your blade?

Actually seen a man do it manually with a wiper in his hand,it was very light rain though.

How long is your blade?
    That's a very personal question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

My windscreen wipers stopped working on the fecking dual carriageway on the way to work one morning. It's awful - she doesn't have a choice; can't be done. I was in a line of traffic so didn't have a choice for a few minutes. I stuck my head out of the window. It's the only way. Pulled over when I could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

Use the force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Drive it down now and park it up for the night, if it's not raining....

mike_ie wrote: »
    Drive it down now and park it up for the night, if it's not raining....

Walk back, making car noises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Get someone with a squeegee to lean forward out of the sunroof. Only four miles, wear a hat and coat, it'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Shoe laces lads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

My bet is also on a fuse, happened to me late last year.

New fuse in and hasn't given a bit of bother since, fuses just blow sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Put the top down

then:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,419 ✭✭✭✭josip

First off a bit of background

This is what you need if you could get an Amazon drone to deliver it for you before the morning.

Failing that there's the DIY approach.
    MayoForSam wrote: »
    My 10 year old son would relish that challenge.

This is your best bet and it's not as far fetched as you would think :rolleyes:
    1. Cut 2 pieces of cane or similar, about a foot and a half or 50cm, whichever you prefer.
    2. Onto one end of each cane tie a piece of string a little longer than the width of the windscreen.
    3. Your son sits in the passenger seat holding one cane and the passenger window slightly open.
    4. Your wife passes the string and the other attached cane out the side window, over the windscreen and around to the driver side where she passes it in the side window.
    5. They drive slowly to the garage with your wife rhythmically saying, up and down, up and down, up and down...

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    My bet is also on a fuse, happened to me late last year.

New fuse in and hasn't given a bit of bother since, fuses just blow sometimes.

I'll have to get me a fuse then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Stupid advice. And very dangerous. That should earn you a ban.

OP, ignore that nonsense. What you want to do is drive really really really fast. The water will blow off the windscreen.

I'll have to get me a fuse then.

Fuses are for cissies. Use cigarette packet silver paper. There's a lot of stuff for cissies. Cissies have a great life.. I wanna be a cissie.

endacl wrote: »
    Stupid advice. And very dangerous. That should earn you a ban.

OP, ignore that nonsense. What you want to do is drive really really really fast. The water will blow off the windscreen.
    A couple of handbreak turns might help with any residue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Having such a laugh reading this thread...keep it up :D

A couple of handbreak turns might help with any residue.

ake ffs, ake.

eak is for cissies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

With a little duct tape and a bit of string you could probably rig up one of these on the outside.

ake ffs, ake.

eak is for cissies.
    The sad thing is I had to read that a couple of times to figure it out! :o:pac:

:D just mesin.. :P

Messing, mesin is for cissies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Buy goggles,
    Smash windshield
    Get garage to replace wipers and windshield

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

Tell her to down a bottle of vodka and she won't notice.