Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AR/tist in the spotlight this week- ThebitterLemon

• 11-02-2014 2:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭

So its time for me to hand over the reigns and choose somebody else to be bombarded with questions for a week :) TbL is still relatively new to boards but has had a very positive input so far. His training log can be read here for those interested in following him on his quest to break sub 3 hours for the marathon. :)

I'll get the ball rolling (and rob some questions previously asked in the older threads):

-When and why did you start running?

-What is your favourite distance?

-What are your main goals this year?

-How did you find this forum?

-Where did the name ThebitterLemon come from?

-What are your current PBs?

-Do you run with a club?

-Favourite and least favourite session?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Tnx Pa4

I told Pa when he asked me to do this, that I was old, fat and round and I pound off the ground, I know feck all about running but if he couldn't get anyone else to do it, I'd give it a lash. He couldn't, so here we are :)

Smokey bacon, Rancheros, Monster Munch, to pre answer one of the more popular questions here.

I'll do the best I can not to bore ye all to death, I'll start replying this evening.

TbL

Tnx again Pa, I think!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

What is your sporting background?
    What is your favourite race?
    Best and worst performances?
    Do you have any long term goals?
    Any races on the bucket list?
    Do you do any supplementary training?
    Diet - good, bad, working on it, don't give it a second's thought?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

Favourite race distance?
    Best race you've ever run in terms of your own performance?
    Worst race you've ever run in terms of your own performance?
    Sporting idols?
    McDonalds or Burger king?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Ok, let's get the dirty secrets out in the open: How many marathons have you run? ;)
    What was it that drew you to multi-marathoning?
    Do you plan to hit 100 marathons, and when you do, will you stop or keep going?
    Do you feel that age is a barrier to progress?
    Now that you've had a flavour of chasing a singular goal, which do you prefer: running a marathon a week, or training for a single event?
    Favourite marathon?
    If you had a choice, where would your 100th be?
    Two inches of snow on the ground: treadmill, sofa, or snow?
    Favourite beer?

Hi Pa4,

When & why did you start running?
    I started in late 2004. I started running by accident really, my blood pressure and cholesterol were through the roof and my weight was creaking floor boards. Doctor told me I absolutely had to lose the weight and get some exercise. A friend and I decided to train for a triathlon to lose the weight. I hadn’t a bike at the time so we decided to start swimming at the local pool first. I went out and bought a pair of Speedo togs and goggles and tried them on at home that night. When I paraded myself in front of the missus she had a laughing fit, “what the hell’s wrong”, I demanded angrily. You can’t go to a public pool in them she said between fits, you’ll get arrested, a bit of your belly is covering the “S” in Speedo! Needless to say I never made it to the pool, instead that night I put on a pair of O Neills shorts, a Sex Pistols T shirt and did a walk, shuffle run around the block. Dry retched in the neighbours hedge at the finish but I was hooked. Could have been a tri fairy :)
    Favourite Distance?
    Marathon, Marathon, Marathon
    Main Goals this year?
    To do everything I can to get a sub 3 marathon, as AMK would say its the main thing.
    How did you find this forum?
    When I decide to do something, I can get very compulsive about it. When I decided that running was going to be my thing, I googled and visited loads of running sites/forums (got waylaid to some non running ones along the way :) ) and this was one that I would dip in and out of as a guest.
    Where did the name ThebitterLemon come from?
    When registering with Boards I was considering using “DollyPartonsKnockers” (as in the people who put her down rather than her airbags), I also considered TheVillageIdiot, at the time I was registering I remember the missus was giving me grief for been so cranky, “you’re worse than a bitter lemon” and I just used that, simples!
    Current PB’s?
    I’ve only done a few races that weren’t marathon distance. I’ve dipped under 20 mins twice for 5K, 40.30 for a 10k, and 67 odd for my only 10 miler. 1.29 twice for the HM. 3.15 odd for the Full. Just under 4.15 for 50K. 5.50 odd for the Conn Ultra (I need to check what exactly this was) and 25 odd hours for the 100 miles.
    Do you run with a club?
    Kinda, I’m a member of the 100 marathon Club (UK & Ireland) which is a recognised Club in the UK.
    Favourite & least favourite sessions?
    I hate speed work, I love doing sessions where I can just coast along at 7.30-8.00 mile pace forget about everything, and not be hurting too badly. I’m kinda a lazy bastid so anything that takes me out of my comfort zone makes me apprehensive.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

What's the story with no fluids or gels on long runs?

hey Ray,

Sporting Background?
    In the 1880’s when I was a young skinny lad and the latest computer game was Space Invaders that was played on a machine the size and weight of a small truck, I loved sport, any sport, I’d try my hand at anything. As I got a little older I concentrated on squash, I’d play train 7/10 times a week and absolutely love it. It’s my passion. I played to a reasonable standard and a couple of years ago when I made a comeback and lost the weight, I played on the Irish veterans team at the Squash home Internationals. Unfortunately due to an injury last year I haven’t played in almost 12 months.
    Favourite Race?
    I must admit to having a gra for the Limerick marathon, I’ve done it 3 or 4 times and have gone sub 3.20 there twice. I also enjoyed the Reykjavik marathon, but the buzz at the London marathon takes some beating. Shout out also for the Connemara marathon that’s on my doorstep.
    Best & Worst performances.
    Best, either the Waterford marathon where I did 3.15 out a diet of high mileage but no speedwork or program, or the Connemara ultra marathon where I did 5.50 odd (I’ll post the exact time later tonight) after doing the race directors marathon the day before. I’d never run further than 26.2 miles until that day and if memory serves me correctly I did negative splits.
    Worst, too many to talk about, but Chicago a few years ago where I felt I was in sub 3.15 shape but burned up in the scorching October sun and DNF, springs to mind.
    Long Term Goals?
    Go sub 3 for the marathon and see where I might go from there, I’d love to go back playing competitive squash.
    Any Race on the bucket list?
    I’ve unfinished business with the Connemara 100, I wanted to break 20 hours. Its on my **** it list for now, but we’ll see :) I’d also like to do a marathon in Japan and I’ll get that done in the next year or two.
    Any Supplementary Training?
    None at the moment, I’m desperate for neglecting core and cross training. I’d like to ease myself back into squash, but need to be careful. Some of the core and other work that some of the other loggers do is incredible, Duanington sickens me with his pull ups, I literally can’t do one!
    Diet?
    Sweet jesus its terrible, getting better but still abysmal. I’m addicted to Chocolate, on Christmas night I ate two full selection boxes belonging to the kids, well thats not quite true, I left the fudge in one of them, I’m not a fudge kinda guy. I could also eat a trough of curry cheese chips, mmmmm

must not, must not stop at Chipper on way home, feck ya Ray :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Hi TbL

- what do you do for a living

- any kids? what are they doing?

- favourite chocolate bar

- if you could live someone else's life who would you chose?

- 4 people you'd like to have dinner with and why

- any pets

- why do you sign your name after all your posts? Everyone knows it's you it says so in the top left hand corner of your message box ;)

- don't feel bad about the fudge, fudge is evil and deserves to be discarded!

TRR wrote: »
    Favourite race distance?
    Best race you've ever run in terms of your own performance?
    Worst race you've ever run in terms of your own performance?
    Sporting idols?
    McDonalds or Burger king?

Hi TRR,

Q1. & Q2. Answered above.

Sporting idols

I really admired Jonathon Power a Canadian squash player who became world champion and world number 1, despite coming from a country that would have not been considered as having a squash history or pedigree. He had an unbelievable talent coupled with tremendous determination. Super athlete and fantastic to watch in full flight. Squash at that level required unbelievable fitness.

From a running perspective I always thought John Tracey was a class act, seemed to be as tough as nails and appeared to me to have used his talent to its fullest extent. There's a clip on YouTube whe he beats a cocky Ovett in a 10k, on the line, the smug Ovet is slowing and looking to take the acclaim when Tracey digs deep and beats him. Guts over raw talent!

McDonalds or BK

Mickey D's although I'm also partial to a flame grilled Whopper, I remember been in a Burger King on a Saturday before a London marathon, tucking into a Whopper with all the trimmings for lunch, my buddy turned to me and said, "I wondering what the Kenyans are having for lunch"!!! It's wasn't exactly the lunch of champions.

Neither do curry cheese chips though, so I'd take the local chipper before both

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Hmmm with all the races you have listed I reckon I must have bumped into you somewhere at some stage....

Where and when do you see yourself going sub 3?

Have you qulified for London/Boston through GFA?

Any Ultras on your bucket list?

Have you ever done any pacing and did you enjoy it?

Having seen you frequent the Boxing Forum, do you see that as a favourite sport to watch?

Best Heavyweight of the past 50 years?

Favourite all time boxer?

Given all the trolling you do on the Boxing Forum do you have a DrQuirky like weather forum obsession to get banned?

Ok, let's get the dirty secrets out in the open: How many marathons have you run? ;)
    What was it that drew you to multi-marathoning?
    Do you plan to hit 100 marathons, and when you do, will you stop or keep going?
    Do you feel that age is a barrier to progress?
    Now that you've had a flavour of chasing a singular goal, which do you prefer: running a marathon a week, or training for a single event?
    Favourite marathon?
    If you had a choice, where would your 100th be?
    Two inches of snow on the ground: treadmill, sofa, or snow?
    Favourite beer?

Hey Krusty,

It's coz of you ultimately that I'm here at all!

How many marathons

112 or 113 I'd need to recheck my list.

What drew me to multi marathoning

Really it was the social side to it, it got to the stage where no matter what marathon I'd go too there would be somebody there that I would know or be acquainted with. The craic and piss pulling before during and after is fantastic, you gotta be able to give and take it but I really enjoyed that side of it. I'd mainly train alone so having company on runs was great. I'd travel away for the weekend with a couple of lads to different marathons and they would be great craic with some guys taking it very seriously and some others not so much. At the Amsterdam marathon we had a couple DNS's :)

Do I plan to hit the 100 maras and will I stop

I've hit that target and will take a much different approach going forward, I,d like to see over the next year or two, what I'm capable of if I knuckle down and focus. Thereafter at my age I'll go out to pasture and rack up more marathons and enjoy the craic along the way.

Do you feel that age is a barrier to progress

That's a great question. Age certainly can curtail progress, and I suppose it would depend what one would define as progress. For example if I had concentrated on the marathon in my early 30's I'm sure I would have gone sub 3, if I then kept up running I might have gone somewhat faster over the next few years but eventually time and age will catch up with you and your times will regress. On the other hand I didn't take that approach and I'm only now starting to focus so I expect to make progress over the next 24 months. If I break my current PB then it's progress from where I'm currently at but if I been focused 15 years ago then I'd say I would not now run those types of times. In a nutshell I suppose progress is subjective to a number of different variables.

Do I prefer running a marathon a week or training for a single event

Another tough question, I think the mental aspect of training for a single event is definitively harder, physically it's also different though not necessarily harder that doing back to backs and weekly marathons. In my nativity I thought I could combine both but that one sure way of styming progress. This training cycle has been like a roller coaster but I feel in reasonable shape and think I could run pb's over some of the shorter distances now. Ask me again after Seville :)

Favourite Marathon

Limerick has been good to me, but I've enjoyed others see above.

Where would 100th marathon be

Done and dusted did my 100th at the Conn 100

Two inches of snow, treadmill, couch or snow.

I'd like to say the snow, but don't have proper snow weather running shoes so it'd be the deadmill.

Favourite Beer

10 years ago I was an elite drinker, I had very impressive PB's across the short shots to the longer yards of ale and most variants in between.

I'm older Budweiser now and don't drink at all, does Fanta Lemon count :)

TbL

What's the story with no fluids or gels on long runs?

The McMillian program I'm following would be an advocate of this approach, but TBH it was something I wanted to try myself. They didn't have gels years ago when the likes of Treacy and other Irish marathoners were regularly doing sub 2.15.

I no feck all about running and even less about the science behind it, but I think ones body can pretty much adapt to anything and I've certainly found it easy enough to transition to running longer with no fluids or gels. It trains the body to fuel itself more efficiently or something like that, someone who knows what they are talking about will probably pitch in and explain.

I haven't done it in the summer yet, I hate running in heat and might find it harder then, I'll know in a few months :)

TbL

Hi TbL

- what do you do for a living

- any kids? what are they doing?

- favourite chocolate bar

- if you could live someone else's life who would you chose?

- 4 people you'd like to have dinner with and why

- any pets

- why do you sign your name after all your posts? Everyone knows it's you it says so in the top left hand corner of your message box ;)

- don't feel bad about the fudge, fudge is evil and deserves to be discarded!

Hey Career Move,

What do I do for a living

I'm a professional athlete, no wait Ted I'm an accountant.

The old joke is probably true, what do accountants use for contraception........their personalities! I'm part of the management team of a company based in Galway.

Kids and what do they do

I've 3, the two older ones are in school the youngest is 3. The youngest was a surprise to all involved. We almost called him Smirnoff coz if it wasn't for vodka he wouldn't be here, and I don't drink :)

Fav choc bar

Anything with chocolate, literally. I love it out of the fridge, Minstreals, Dairy Milk, Fruit & Nut, yum yum, Rolos, revels, I've even been known to eat cooking chocolate if the stash is gone. Trying to rein in the addiction!!

4 people to dinner[/

I'd have to give that some thought and get back to you!

Any Pets

Couple of cats but for Boggers they're more vermin control that pets. Young lad is mad to get a dog, so maybe in the summer. Had a couple of goldfish funerals recently!

Why do I sign my name after all my posts

I'm an auld lad and used to communicating mainly with a pen and paper and signing your name, I suppose it just one of my foibles I also always put my initials at the end of my internal work e mails although equally everyone knows its me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Will you stop signing off on your posts??

Are you watching the new tyson doc and if so, what do you think

Longest spell not running

Are your kids into athletics?

What motivates you to keep going? What I mean is that I doubt I'll hit ten marathons, you just seem to keep throwing them out.

favorite log on boards

Do you cycle at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

What if anything did you gain/learn from your experience in Sixmilebridge this summer ?

menoscemo wrote: »
    Hmmm with all the races you have listed I reckon I must have bumped into you somewhere at some stage....

Where and when do you see yourself going sub 3?

Have you qulified for London/Boston through GFA?

Any Ultras on your bucket list?

Have you ever done any pacing and did you enjoy it?

Having seen you frequent the Boxing Forum, do you see that as a favourite sport to watch?

Best Heavyweight of the past 50 years?

Favourite all time boxer?

Given all the trolling you do on the Boxing Forum do you have a DrQuirky like weather forum obsession to get banned?

Hey Meno,

When/where do I see myself going sub 3

I'm hoping to hit a 3.10 in Seville in 2 weeks, if I do that I will attempt a 3.05 in Limerick and if that pans out I'll look for a flat marathon in Sept/Oct to go sub 3.

If any of those don't pan out and the chances are one of them won't I'll target Seville again next year. Spanish marathons seem to have high proportion of the field finishing sub 3,15 compared to many other marathons.

Have I qualified for London/Boston on GFA

No Meno, I've never looked into Boston but it's one I'll definitely do ive done London twice once when I got a charity entry transferred into my name, and the first time a Race Director friend of mine got me an entry.

Have I ever done any pacing and did I enjoy it.

No, lots of the lads I run with frequently do pacing gigs but, it would never be for me, I wouldn't have the patience for it.

Do I see boxing as a favourite sport to watch

Absolutely, I love watching most sports, boxing is one of my favourites (also love watching darts, but can we call that a sport). I remember my Dad used to let me stay up into the early hours to watch Ali fights and I remember staying up to watch Sean Mannion fight for a world title. I would stay up all night watching classic boxing if I got the chance, if there is a boxing doc on I'll watch that and drive the misses mad:) Ive never been to a big title fight but I hope to rectify that. I tried my hand at boxing but for a very short spell but it wasn't for me, i'd run 100 metres quicker than I'd throw a punch. I don't know much about the technicalities of boxing but I do like a good brawl. I would also like my sons to try it as I believe it is great for focus and teaching discipline.

Best Heavyweight of the last 50 years

I'll have to plump for the obvious, Ali, although as a young lad growing up around the early Tyson years he was an absolute savage, he had boxers with pretty good technical skills like Micheal Spinks literally throw themselves to the floor to get out of his way. Read a bio on Jack Johnson and saw a recent documentary on him and what he managed to achieve was pretty incredible.

Favourite all time boxer

Hard to chose, maybe Sal Sanchez, slick, skilful and pretty tough. I also actually also liked Eubank, thought he was underrated was teak tough and could bang (obviously not one of the worlds best ever, but I liked him). Hearns, Haggler, Leonard et al were all class and I love watching those fights.

Trolling on the boxing forum

Don't know about trolling :) but I do love pulling the piss out of Flanna, it's one of my secret pleasures in life. Gotta be able to take it if you give it! He's gone to ground since last Saturday despite me trying to bait him back. He'll slug off some Dutch Gold and get his courage back soon I'm sure. You haven't posted there in a while?

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

You might not like the question, but I've been dying to ask ever since it happened ...

What happened to you in the 10in10 in Sixmilebridge?

And another one:

If you started running now, but with everything you know now, would be still go for the multi-marathons or would you try to get sub-3 first instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

What is your least favourite session?

Which session do you feel benefits you most?

You seem to have a great appetite for miles, miles and more miles at the moment...how soon after you started running did you start swallowing miles at the rate you do?

are all lemons really bitter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Ah TBL.........a great choice.

* What's the best excuse you've given your wife for getting in a run without her knowing.

* Wifes thoughts on your 'new' online activity?

* What got you into the online training programme that you have now?

* From what you know what is A.L. like as a coach?

* Biggest learnings from this training cycle?

* I'm sure you've met some characters from your 113 marathons- best story so far about 1 of them.

Gavlor wrote: »
    Will you stop signing off on your posts??

Are your kids into athletics?

What motivates you to keep going? What I mean is that I doubt I'll hit ten marathons, you just seem to keep throwing them out.

favorite log on boards

Do you cycle at all?

Hey Gavlor,

Will I stop signing off on my posts

See below TbL

Haven't seen it yet, I love those boxing documentaries, but I have to compete with the missus for airtime as she is watching the latest "Great Mongolian Bake Off on Ice" or other crap like that :) I'll look it up tonight. Didn you see the Jack Johnson one that was on over the Xmas, I thought it was excellent.

In late December 2012 I got my first and hopefully last bad running injury, I had a severe grade two hamstring tear, I was out for a couple of months. It drove me crazy, pool walking and daft exercises aren't for me, I ain't a patient man! I was driving everyone in the house crazy, to the extent that the missus was pleading with me to go out and try a run. "I can't I whined, I'll do damage", "I'll show you feckin damage if you don't" was the sympathetic response. My missus wouldn't be big into running, I don't think see has actually ever watched me compete in a race, doesn't bother me at all as long as I'm allowed out :)

Are my kids into athletics.

Eldest is only 10 and she does a small bit in school. To be honest, as long as they play sport I don't care what it is. I do encourage them to be physically active because I'd hate them turn into the Gastropod I became with all that weight on, but I wouldn't be obsessive with them about it, rather try and give them time and encouragement.

What motivates me to keep going?

To be honest I love the buzz and the social side to the marathon while gladly taking the mental and physical benefits. There is a good question poster later about multiple marathons or a quick time that I'll get to later, but I'm determined to give sub 3 my best shot, and in the coming years I'd happily revert to bashing out marathon after marathon. It's also strange that given the choice of doing an 18 mile LR on my own or a marathon, I'd pick the marathon every day. I actually found it hard to get my head around doing LR's on my own during this training cycle. I also initially got caught up in chasing the whole 100 marathon thing, but now that itch is scratched, I'd happily do a marathon every weekend if her indoors permitted it. (apologies for the rambling response:))

Favourite Log on Boards:

Any log where there is something to be learned coupled with a bit of give and take banter. I like PA4's coz the speeds scare me, Duaningtons coz he's a wanna be Chippendale doing all those fancy pull ups, AMK, coz he's the King, Ososlo, for all the beauty tips, Beepbeeps, coz I wanna be him, your own coz you seem to be a witty bastid, and Stazzas coz, well let's face it coz he a mad bastid. Lots of others that I follow and enjoy but I won't name everyone. However, meno knows my absolute favourite thread on Boards:)

Do I cycle

Not since my Da took the stabilisers off me bike :)

TbL xxx

ger664 wrote: »
    What if anything did you gain/learn from your experience in Sixmilebridge this summer ?

Hi Ger,

The biggest thing I learned from last Summer in Sixmilebridge was the enormous dedication, personal sacrifice and resources that is required to stage an event like this. (10 marathons in 10 days) It was incredible to witness the effort expended by Tom, Richie and everyone else involved. As far as I am aware all monies raised went to the local running club.

Absolute respect to all involved, and a bit of begrudging respect to the lads and lassies that completed the event :)

I'll answer from a personal perspective when replying to T's question below.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Great detail in all the answers provided, kudos!

You might not like the question, but I've been dying to ask ever since it happened ...

What happened to you in the 10in10 in Sixmilebridge?

And another one:

If you started running now, but with everything you know now, would be still go for the multi-marathons or would you try to get sub-3 first instead?

Hi T,

Absolutely no problem with that question.

Nothing really happened to me, I just don't think I was well enough prepared to complete the event. I was injured until middle of March and only got about 8 marathons (no back to backs) in, and very little decent mileage in advance of it. I was also a little blasé in advance of it as I usually recover very quickly after a marathon.

I completed the 1st, in under 4 hours as planned, but felt very nauseous towards the finish. I wasnt able to stand up in the clubhouse and some of the lads that had just finished helped me out. (that's the type of camaraderie that I find fantastic amoung the guys doing multi marathoning, all just finished and tired themselves but willing to go beyond the call of duty and assist a fellow marathoner in distress, one of the lads even helped undress me for Gods sake :) )

I do not like running in heat and by Jesus it was inordinately hot that week. I started day two but pulled out around half way, as the feeling I had towards the latter end of the run on day 1 kicked in around the half way point and I was in no fit state to continue. I turned up again a day or two later and managed to get to mile 23/24 before again pulling out. I thought that I might have had a virus but it was more than likely the lack of preparation, over confidence and the heat (that feckin heat) that did me in. I was having the absolute piss pulled out of me by the regulars but I love that and all the craic that goes with it. I turned up for a 4th one and while I was out at the car one of the lads doctored my race number.

Our race numbers had our name and the banner "the 10 in 10", printed on them (or something along those lines), anyway one of the lads took a scissors to my number and cut out the first "0", so I headed out for my 4th attempt with my race number showing my name and "the 1 in 10". I was still laughing at about mile 15/16 when I once again pulled out. That sort of messing and craic is what it's all about. I still laugh today when I think about it. Fair play to you and all the lads that finished it, fantastic achievement. I actually don't look back on SMB as a huge failure, sure I didn't finish it but I enjoyed it.

If you started running now, but with everything you know now, would be still go for the multi-marathons or would you try to get sub-3 first instead?[/QUOTE]

Now this is a question that seriously conflicts me.

The honest answer is I don't know for sure.

I think if I could have the time back (and be able to bring the experiences forward) that I would do things the other way around.

I'm sure (and I don't want to sound cocky) that if I had focused on doing the best marathon time I could then I would have definitely have broken 3 hours. I did 3.18 in my first marathon and it took me nearly 90 more marathons to beat that time because I was multi marathoning and not following a program/goal.

If I don't go sub 3, I think I will always have that lingering "what if feeling."

Anyway, before I get too morose, I am where I am and I'll just have to make the most of it.

"The 1 in 10" :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

these are fantastic threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

TBL

Thanks for your honest answers. Just to clarify the small amount of funds left over after the event went to a local National School Build Project. We had hoped it would have been more but the heat added a lot of extra expenses in ensuring participants where look after correctly.

As regard the non finish you where in good company there :)

Ger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Great questions and answers.

Sunday morning, 8am, the sun is shining, the family are away, you're not following a training plan, what run do you do?

Do you ever wear an MP3 player training? (If so what are the go to tunes?)

What do you crave after a marathon?

How fast will you run a 10k this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

I'm really enjoying this thread, lots of great questions and honest answers.

My question is stolen form marathontalk;

If you had 6 months of perfect training, no injuries, no job, the perfect plan and all the support you needed (coaches, physio etc.) ......
    How fast would you run a mile?

Duanington wrote: »
    What is your least favourite session?

Which session do you feel benefits you most?

You seem to have a great appetite for miles, miles and more miles at the moment...how soon after you started running did you start swallowing miles at the rate you do?

are all lemons really bitter?

Well D,

How's the body sculpting coming along:)

Whats my least favourite session?

I have never done any real structured speed work, so I find it very difficult. It's bad enough when either the lungs or the legs are telling you you've stepped outside your comfort zone, but when both are imploring you to rein it in, that's the type of session I hate. 2k reps would spring to mind as ones that I really don't enjoy. In the short time I've been logging here I have seen improvements in the speed side of things and I'm hoping it's something that continues.

What sessions do I feel benefit me the most?

I'd say tempo paced runs. I'm never, at this stage in life gonna do quick shorter distances and I think 5-8 mile tempo runs are really beneficial for me personally.

I'd also agree with RunForrestRun (I think it was him anyway), that Long Runs at marathon pace are of tremendous benefit. I would like to get up to 18 miles at MP in my next training cycle and I'm gonna ask Coach L, to incorporate this into my next program. Ive only managed 8 miles at MP during a LR as part of the preparation for Seville and I'm hoping all the other training will compensate for this.

Appetite for miles?

When I gave up the idea of becoming a Tri fairy and started running, I very quickly targeted the marathon and over a period of time built up a base,thereafter I became obsessed with doing the 100 and the miles just continued from there. In prep for the Conn 100 (whose finishing time I felt didn't reflect the effort I put in ) I did a good few 80, 90, and 3-4 north of 100 mile weeks. Looking back though, an awful lot of thoses miles were just junk miles. Anyway there are lads on here doing those type of miles frequently. I don't look at it and give myself a self congratulatory clap on the back and think, well done bud you did 90 miles this week. What I do take from it is, that if I need to do the higher mileage to achieve my goal then my body seems able to handle it, but it's nothing special, I'd prefer to look back at my log and see 50 mile weeks and a sub 3 than 100 mile weeks and a 3.05:)

Are all Lemons really Bitter.

Yes, and my missus would contend that this one on occasion borders on rancid :)

However like all Lemons we aspire to Lemon Valhalla, the glorious resurrection as...............

.....................Lemonade.

TbL

Ah TBL.........a great choice.

* What's the best excuse you've given your wife for getting in a run without her knowing.

* Wifes thoughts on your 'new' online activity?

* What got you into the online training programme that you have now?

* From what you know what is A.L. like as a coach?

* Biggest learnings from this training cycle?

* I'm sure you've met some characters from your 113 marathons- best story so far about 1 of them.

Good evening your Majesty,

What's the best excuse you've given your wife for getting in a run without her knowing.

In 2012, I was away with work in London and was due home on the Saturday morning. At this stage I was in the manic throes of chasing the 100. On the Friday afternoon a guy we were meeting said, as part of some idle chit chat, that he was going home to Cambridge to do the "Cambridge Boundary Run", my ears picked up as I had heard of it previously, my mind went into plotting mode. I schemed/dreamed up another meeting for late on Saturday and phoned home with the bad news Felt a bit bad coz I remember getting a bit of sympathy, but continued with the plot regardless. Had to buy some gear, Vaseline and a gel or two and made my way up to Cambridge. The run itself was run by the students of Cambridge Uni and only cost £12 to enter. Probably a bit of Karma kicked in coz the run itself was only "Meh", across mucky fields, trails and some roads. It wasn't very well signposted and the crusty students used flour (I kid you not, white baking flour) to make arrows on the ground to point runners in the right direction. They were obviously the Arts and not Science students coz they didn't last very well in the pissing rain! I enquired after what the fcuk was the story with the flour arrows and I was told it was part of some greener environment campaign :) Anyway I survived it, but never got to wear the t shirt! (fecking thing was probably made from hemp anyway:) )

Wifes thoughts on your 'new' online activity?

I don't think see has noticed much difference TBH, I don't watch much of what passes for TV these days, and she will only watch so many documentaries and WW2 Nazi program's, so I've always spent a fair bit of time on the computer in the evening. She did get suitably concerned however when I told her I was meeting an Internet aquaintance called AuldmanKing, early in the morning in the PP :) like I mentioned yesterday, she has feck all interest in my running but in fairness to her she has always supported me and put up with me, anyone who reads my log will know I'm high maintenance :)

What got you into the online training programme that you have now?

Desperation! In 2012 I tried to put together a program myself but it fell apart very quickly. I then tried an Australian web based program, but I don't think the sessions suited me at all and I gave it up. I never had a coach and the idea of an online resource appealed to me and Google brought me to McMillan. I read a bit about McMillian and what I read resonated with me. I got a present of a 3 month subscription and I'm going to renew for another 6. I think it is the combination of the training program and the log here together that have worked very well for me. I know for a fact the log has gotten me out when I otherwise wouldn't and some of the support and advise on here has been incredible.

From what you know what is A.L. like as a coach?

I don't have much to compare him to, but he really seems to know what he's talking about. He customised the program for me and changed it about when needed. I have asked him to be as critical as possible, because I felt he was accentuating positives and possibly not raising negatives/weaknesses. (I told him I had a very thick skin!) When I renew I'm going to use the Skype facility to discuss things with him directly and hopefully that will make it even more productive. And sure if he doesn't know I can always ask you :)

Biggest learnings from this training cycle?

A small bit of patience :) if I stick to the plan and don't lose the run of myself then I'll put myself in the best possible position to achieve my goal. Theres life in the auld dog yet :)

I'm sure you've met some characters from your 113 marathons- best story so far about 1 of them

I've met some great people along the way, had some fantastic experiences and really enjoyed the craic. Some real dodgy stuff happened on tour, but one of the more printable stories involved a marathon weekend away and one of the lads took another's Vaseline and actually syringed deep heat or tiger balm into the tub of Vaseline, just below the surface. We didn't get the reaction we thought we'd get when he applied it as it didn't appear to have any effect, but on the walk down to the race he was continually fiddling with his shorts and muttering to himself. He came out of a portaloo at the start and told one or two of the lads that he was getting a rash or something and that his ball bag was getting slightly red and uncomfortable. We all fell around laughing but he wasnt impressed when he found out. It took him 4 or 5 pints to even raise a smile in the bar that night as we all launched into a poor rendition of Johnny Cash's "burning ring of fire" and "great balls of fire":)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Who is the athlete you admire the most?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Kinda, I’m a member of the 100 marathon Club (UK & Ireland) which is a recognised Club in the UK.

Would you consider joining a real club (training sessions, club singlet, coaches, juveniles, etc)?
    What is the one thing that would make you more likely to do so?
    Do you watch athletics on television? In person?
    What single action (by government, clubs, AAI, whoever) could be taken to get more people running?

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Great questions and answers.

Sunday morning, 8am, the sun is shining, the family are away, you're not following a training plan, what run do you do?

Hi BB,

You're going great in training, I'd love to think I could get close to that kind of form.

Quietly tip toe out of the room so as to not wake the mistress :)

Cup of coffee on the decking and head out to Seanadh Pheistin (my local route, Micilin Muc, posted a picture from there on his log, it's really scenic especially on a sunny day) I love a run that gets the buzz flowing but doesn't leave me wrecked. I'd do 8 miles at about 7.30 pace, I reckon that would give me my optimum fix. It's fairly quiet on that route and if it was sunny I'd run it shirtless, however I'm a little reluctant to do that since summer 2012. A gang of minks had encamped in a line of caravans along the side of the road and I was running by, a couple of young lads were messing at the side of the road and as I passed one of them said "Jesus lads look at the tits on yer man"!!!, and this was when I was in the middle of training for the Conn 100!

Absolutely never have and never will. Each to there own but I just don't get it. When I'm out running the craziest stuff goes through my head and I find it really relaxing. If I like a song it can also go on a endless loop inside my own head as I'm running (the Price & Southern cover of Lorde's Royals got me through many miles, visualisation of Julie Prices legs also helps :) ). If I ever had to run listening to tunes what better one to sprint to the finish than AC/DC's "Thunderstruck", you'll be shaking at the knees!

Junk food and more junk food.

Starter of coke and smokey bacon crisps

Main of quarter pounder and cheese and curry cheese chips

Dessert of a galaxy ice cream

Yaboya, who is also doing Seville and has a log has really improved dramatically over the last 3 months, he started off hoping to break 3.30 in Seville and he just ran 39 mins, so he's in 3.05 shape. I think his improvement is too good and I still suspect he's been drinking pints of Ben Johnsons piss :)

Anyway I'd like to think I hit the low 39mins. That wouldn't translate to a sub 3 using most race time calculation predictors, but I think I can compensate for that by doing more miles at MP.

TbL

Marthastew wrote: »
    I'm really enjoying this thread, lots of great questions and honest answers.

My question is stolen form marathontalk;

If you had 6 months of perfect training, no injuries, no job, the perfect plan and all the support you needed (coaches, physio etc.) ......
    How fast would you run a mile?

Hey Marthastew,

Best of luck in Donadea tomorrow.

I've often fantasised about having no responsibilities and being able to concentrate for a decent period of time on running almost full time.

I've no idea what I could get down to as I've very llittle shorter stuff done, maybe 5.40, or 5.30 down a big hill with a gale blowing behind me :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

Is there a limit on how far a recovery run should be?

Who is the athlete you admire the most?

Hi TW,

Well done last weekend, great result in EnNiscorthy.

I always admired John Treacy, always seemed to give it everything, and utilised his talent to the max.

From a multi marathoning perspective, Dave Brady, of Raheny Shamrocks, takes some beating. Dave has more marathons done than anyone else in Ireland (probably north of 300 at this stage) is in his sixties and is still bashing out dozens of marathons every year. Not only that but you're likely to see him at almost every race, around Dublin irregardless of the distance. Sound man to boot and great craic. He claims to have run a couple of sub 3's a long time ago, but we tell him that if the timing instrument at the end of the race was an egg timer it doesn't count :) Ageism is alive and well in multi marathoning circles!

I also avidly followed Martin Fagan, and really was hoping he'd qualify for the Olympics, but we all know how that ended, and I'll quickly close that can of worms.

Did Krusty take his beating like a man :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Hey ThebitterLemon
    Nice getting to know you!

Would you give up running forever if handed a cheque right now for 250,000 euro (sorry vitani!)

Why do you run?

What % of your day has you thinking about running?

What boardsie would you like to me that you haven't met already?

What age do you think you can keep running until whilst still enjoying it?

Is there a limit on how far a recovery run should be?

Hi CJ,

One thing I don't do is give or proffer advise as I'm definitely not qualified to do so. I do have personal perspectives and for me I've learned that recovery runs should be run real real slow, I'd have no problem running a RR at 9.30-10.00 min pace.

I used to hate these and would skip them or run them too fast, but done properly I believe they are an integral part of any training program.

I personally wouldn't run a recovery run of much more than 6-7 miles, however the last 60 miles of my Conn 100 run felt like a disaster recovery run :)

TbL

Ososlo wrote: »
    Hey ThebitterLemon
    Nice getting to know you!

Would you give up running forever if handed a cheque right now for 250,000 euro (sorry vitani!)

Why do you run?

Hey Ososlo,

Did the Park Ranger send you a valentine card :)

Would you give up running forever if handed a cheque right now for 250,000 euro (sorry vitani

I can unequivocally state that I would definitely not. Running keeps me sane and I wouldn't be long burning through the 250k on psychologists bills! Seriously they could keep the cash.

Why do you run?

Initially coz I was in really bad physical shape and that was affecting me mentally.

I run now, because of the buzz it gives me and it's a fantastic way for me to unwind and relax. I'm also very competitive and running allows you to run against both yourself and others.

If I don't run for a couple of days I'm like a rattlesnake and the house is collectively encouraging me out for a run!

Lately 24 hours it's full on, usually if I get a run in early in the morning I'm happy enough and don't give it much more thought, if not it'll play on my mind periodically throughout the day till its done.

I've met AMK, sound man. I wouldn't be particular and would meet anyone if there was a run involved. I notice most people tend to speed up however when they are out running with me, I've learned recently that it wasn't because of the pertinent running tips I was dispensing but rather coz I talk a load of ****e :)

Good question, and something that I think about occasionally. I've done the Isle of Mann marathon a couple of times and it incorporates a veterans championships. The winners of the age categories genuinely look 10 years younger than their age. I really believe that running is the elixir of youth and I intend to run to my own funeral or die trying :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Did the Park Ranger send you a valentine card :)
    yeah it has a picture of a deer on it. Dead giveaway:rolleyes:

Good question, and something that I think about occasionally. I've done the Isle of Mann marathon a couple of times and it incorporates a veterans championships. The winners of the age categories genuinely look 10 years younger than their age. I really believe that running is the elixir of youth and I intend to run to my own funeral or die trying :)
    LOVE IT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Do you want me to bring an extra pint of Ben Johnson's piss for you with me to Seville?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

TBL,

If you had a choice between running multi-marathons for the rest of your life, or only running one more marathon but it was sub 2.30, which would you choose?

What is it about multi-marathoning that you enjoy? I must admit, it seems like an alien concept to me! (No offence)

Favourite music/band?

Do you do any core/strength work?

What runners do you wear?

PC ;)

pconn062 wrote: »
    TBL,

If you had a choice between running multi-marathons for the rest of your life, or only running one more marathon but it was sub 2.30, which would you choose?

What is it about multi-marathoning that you enjoy? I must admit, it seems like an alien concept to me! (No offence)

Favourite music/band?

PC ;)

Hey PC,

Thats the hardest question I've been asked, the smart arsed answer would be I'd take the 2.30 marathon and go ultra multi marathoning :)

I honestly can't answer that, I THINK I'd continuing with the multi marathoning despite the 2.30 being a colossal achievement.

What I do regret somewhat is not giving the marathon my absolute best shot a few years ago. But as I've said previously I am where I am.

Of course it's an alien concept to you, sure aren't you a track fairy (no offence :) ) A lot of its to do with the social side of things, I get a good buzz out of that and the mental and physical challenge from the run itself. It's kind of hard to explain but it gets addictive and contrary to what some people might think, it's not just about chasing numbers, I've no real interest in trying to get to 200 marathons as quick as I can but once I feel I've given the marathon a really good effort/attempt over the next 18-24 months then I'll go back to doing 20+ a year.

Favourite music/band?

I don't have a particular favourite, I've a broad eclectic mixed taste in music, Pink Floyd, AC/DC, Leonard Cohen, Lou Reed and I also have a penchant for 80's music.

Really, really poor at this. I hate it with a passion and it bores me to tears, my plank turns into a plonk after 20 seconds. I'm determined to try and incorporate it into my next training cycle, maybe Duanington could post some tips :)

When I started running I only had an old pair of squash shoes, and they weren't suitable for running for a man of my girth at that time.

I went into the local running store and came home with a pair of Nikes with some sorts of stilts in the heels, Air Max shox or something like that. I think the sales assistant thought I said wannabe gangsta rather than wannabe runner! Any way they didn't last long and I've burned my way through dozens of pairs of Nike Zoom Vomeros since. Fine them class for the heavier gent :)

Hope your butts getting better :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Tea or coffee?
    • Sugar or not?
    Hob nobs or chocolate digestive?
    2 oceans or Comrades?

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Tea or coffee?
    • Sugar or not?
    Hob nobs or chocolate digestive?
    2 oceans or Comrades?

Hey BB,

Nice "jog" in Donadea yesterday :)

Coffee all the way, when I was a young lad and before the world was exposed to skinny, caramel infused, chocolates dusted, decaffeinated, lattes, my Ma would make an instant Nescafe coffee with hot milk, I used to love it and to this day I'll drink 4-5 cups of coffee a day.

Sugar, one spoon preferably brown!

Hate hob nobs the texture is like something that's been scraped off the end of a hamsters cage. If they were the last biscuit in the house I'd reach for an apple instead ( that's how ****e they are) :)

Probably Comrades, I had originally thought I'd do my 100th there but it didn't work out and I hadn't realised how popular it was/is. Two Oceans looks cool too, maybe I'll get them both done when I'm out to pasture :)

For ages I also wanted to do the marathon du sables but I don't have much interest in it anymore. I don't run well in heat and tend to start melting at around 25' heat. Did a bit of research on it and I don't think it'd appeal to me. I might experiment this summer and see if I might change my mind, pick a very hot day, throw a bucket of sand down my shorts and shoes and head off for 20 miles!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Hey there TBL. Great read so far.

- Is there anything you introduced to your training methods that you found particularly improved your performances over the longer distances?

Hi RR,

Up to 2012 I was just bashing out miles and marathon after marathon. I didn't follow a structured plan and did no speed work but I still PB'ed twice over the summer that year. Looking back at it, I think the improvement came from all the miles in the legs plus I was starting to run the marathons slightly quicker than I had in the past, I ran a fair few sub 3.30's and a couple of sub 3.20's, so I was getting stronger all the time and everything seemed to come together in Waterford for the 3.15 (my PB), I hadn't planned on running a PB but just felt good on the day. I sometimes wonder if I did the same sort of miles within a structured plan what time might I have run.

Currently I'm focused on a training plan and hoping to at least break 3.15 this day next week. I've done a lot of shorter speed stuff on this training cycle but the two things that I think will ultimately stand to me (even if not next week, then definitely this summer) are tempo runs (30-45 seconds faster than MP) and long runs incorporating MP miles. I've only done 8 MP miles within a LR on this cycle but I'd like to get this up to 16 on my next plan. One would need to take a rounded approach to these however, because it my opinion, they can wreck your head. When I did the first LR with 8 miles at MP, I wondered how the hell I was going to do 26 odd miles at that pace ( I did 12 today with 6 at MP and I'm still wondering) :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Hi RR,

Up to 2012 I was just bashing out miles and marathon after marathon. I didn't follow a structured plan and did no speed work but I still PB'ed twice over the summer that year. Looking back at it, I think the improvement came from all the miles in the legs plus I was starting to run the marathons slightly quicker than I had in the past, I ran a fair few sub 3.30's and a couple of sub 3.20's, so I was getting stronger all the time and everything seemed to come together in Waterford for the 3.15 (my PB), I hadn't planned on running a PB but just felt good on the day. I sometimes wonder if I did the same sort of miles within a structured plan what time might I have run.

Currently I'm focused on a training plan and hoping to at least break 3.15 this day next week. I've done a lot of shorter speed stuff on this training cycle but the two things that I think will ultimately stand to me (even if not next week, then definitely this summer) are tempo runs (30-45 seconds faster than MP) and long runs incorporating MP miles. I've only done 8 miles within a LR on this cycle but I'd like to get this up to 16 on my next plan. One would need to take a rounded approach to these however, because it my opinion, they can wreck your head. When I did the first LR with 8 miles at MP, I wondered how the hell I was going to do 26 odd miles at that pace ( I did 12 today with 6 at MP and I'm still wondering) :)

TbL

Great comprehensive answer, thanks.

RayCun wrote: »
    Would you consider joining a real club (training sessions, club singlet, coaches, juveniles, etc)?
    What is the one thing that would make you more likely to do so?
    Do you watch athletics on television? In person?
    What single action (by government, clubs, AAI, whoever) could be taken to get more people running?

Hi Ray,

Apologies, I had missed this set of questions.

A couple of years ago I joined a Club in Galway City. I didn't really benefit from it because I'm away a lot with work and find it hard to stick to rigid timetables. It's also a 45 min drive away from my house so it wasn't really convenient. When I did go to the odd track session it was packed and to be honest I didn't think it was great.

If there was a Club in my village I'd definitely join it. I find that running with people of different standards is great and running with company brings plenty of benefits. One of my better/enjoyable runs on this training cycle was in the PP with AMK.

I used to watch an awful lot of athletics on TV, I loved the rivalry between Coe & Ovett and was riveted to the telly. Also used to watch O Meara, Flynn, Paul Donovan, O Sullivan etc whenever the opportunity presented. Very rarely watch it on TV now as my youthful exuberance has turned into bitter lemon cynicism.

I don't think we need to get more people running, but I do think we need to get many more kids running. There appears to be plenty of middle aged people out running, the majority of them have probably come to running later in life.

I don't think there is a panacea to this problem, it's not even simply throwing money at the problem. Running just isn't trendy for the majority of kids and despite how cheap and easy it is to do it doesn't appear to be accessible to younger kids, if that makes sense. Parents are almost reluctant to let their younger kids outside the door, never mind out for a run.

I like this initiative

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/the-running-blog/2013/jun/27/kids-run-free-children-running

Just my 2c for what it's worth Ray. As someone said to me before, opinions are like assholes, everyone has one, and everyone thinks everyone else's stinks :)

TbL