Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai kicked me out of house

• 10-02-2014 3:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭

PLEASE READ, THIS IS JUST RIDICULOUS WHAT THEY DID

A week ago, me and some of my housemates (student house) came back from a night out and saw that the glass of the back door was smashed. We soon saw that all the doors were still locked even though the keys were left in them and nothing was taken. We then found one of my housemates upstairs in her room. She claimed that the guy who she had brought home had raped her. We all new she was lying because she always does this but that's beside the point. The police were called and arrived shortly after, and the next day about five "investigators" and some more police came to do a "crime scene investigation". One of the guards was being were arrogant and snappy and rude to me for know reason whatsoever. He called me pathetic, and demanded that I give him my laptop password for no reason. He then said I have to leave the house immediately for the weekend and I am not allowed enter my room to take any clothes, or my laptop. I asked could I get my inhaler and the six of the officers bombarded me and one immediately said "If you don't get out right now we'll drag you out", and I was taken out. Two of my other housemates were still in the house for the next half an hour while I was outside. I asked my housemates what they were told, and they said they were both allowed bring their laptops and clothes and weren't asked for a password. They also told me that one guard was saying that I have anger problems to them. They forced me to go to the station and give a statement and then left me there at the station in the middle of town with no money to get home. It's not like I was a suspect or anything, they knew the name of the guy who did it, and knew I was in the club the whole time. And I wasn't being cheeky or disrespectful at all at the start, I was fully cooperating and being pleasant. Guards just usually don't like me. If anything they should have been more suspicious of one of my housemates as they ended up taking a genital swap of him, but asked me for nothing, so he must have been accused of something, and I obviously wasn't. I want to know if they were allowed to do this. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭sandra06

maybe the girl who said she was raped felt uncomfortable with you in the house and the guard was just trying to help her by removing you ,if she was raped the last thing she would need are her housemates around esp if she is as you say not telling the whole truth

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

so are you posting from outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭AlanMcC23

so are you posting from outside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

It's not like I was a suspect or anything
    Ha, that's exactly what it sounds like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Who did you do the genital swap with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Your story makes absolutely no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

I have to admit it kinda doesn't but in the end of it all you will be allowed back in so not to worry.

How did they force you to make a statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Well if they investigating a rape, last thing the crime scene people is you making dinner and watching tv in the house while they are testing the place for DNA or whatever they were looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

PLEASE READ, THIS IS JUST RIDICULOUS WHAT THEY DID

A week ago, me and some of my housemates (student house) came back from a night out and saw that the glass of the back door was smashed. We soon saw that all the doors were still locked even though the keys were left in them and nothing was taken. We then found one of my housemates upstairs in her room. She claimed that the guy who she had brought home had raped her. We all new she was lying because she always does this but that's beside the point. The police were called and arrived shortly after, and the next day about five "investigators" and some more police came to do a "crime scene investigation". One of the guards was being were arrogant and snappy and rude to me for know reason whatsoever. He called me pathetic, and demanded that I give him my laptop password for no reason. He then said I have to leave the house immediately for the weekend and I am not allowed enter my room to take any clothes, or my laptop. I asked could I get my inhaler and the six of the officers bombarded me and one immediately said "If you don't get out right now we'll drag you out", and I was taken out. Two of my other housemates were still in the house for the next half an hour while I was outside. I asked my housemates what they were told, and they said they were both allowed bring their laptops and clothes and weren't asked for a password. They also told me that one guard was saying that I have anger problems to them. They forced me to go to the station and give a statement and then left me there at the station in the middle of town with no money to get home. It's not like I was a suspect or anything, they knew the name of the guy who did it, and knew I was in the club the whole time. And I wasn't being cheeky or disrespectful at all at the start, I was fully cooperating and being pleasant. Guards just usually don't like me. If anything they should have been more suspicious of one of my housemates as they ended up taking a genital swap of him, but asked me for nothing, so he must have been accused of something, and I obviously wasn't. I want to know if they were allowed to do this. Thanks.

If she always does this surely the Garda wouldnt bother with such an extensive search/questioning, you're not giving the full story here it doesnt make sense im afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

dave1982 wrote: »
    Well if they investigating a rape, last thing the crime scene people is you making dinner and watching tv in the house while they are testing the place for DNA or whatever they were looking for.
    The new suspect is some kind of hybrid of a Goodfellas' pizza and a pot noodle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭AerynSun

She claimed that the guy who she had brought home had raped her. We all new she was lying because she always does this but that's beside the point.

If it's beside the point, how did it make it into your story? I have to tell you OP that making the claim that your housemate is lying about what happened to her is pretty serious. You say you 'all knew' she was lying 'because she always does this' - what exactly does she always do? Bring home lads who don't take NO for an answer because they expect young women to 'deliver the goods'? And not only has she suffered multiple traumas of this sort while she's trying to learn how to have a successful relationship, the fact that those unfortunate incidents happened now gives you - and the rest of the house - the right to call her a compulsive liar?

I hope your housemate finds another house to stay in, with housemates that have half a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

So OP, by your account, there were signs of a break-in at your house a week ago, but nothing was taken. On the very same night, your house mate made an accusation of rape by a man whom she had brought home with her. However, you did not believe your housemate because she always makes false allegations of rape.

Gardai demanded your laptop and password and put you out of the house. You say that Gardai forced you to make a statement afterwards. You say that you are not a suspect. You say that Gardai took a genital swab of one of your housemates, and therefore you say that he must have been accused of something, and that you obviously were not.

This story does not have one shred of credibility.

So OP, by your account, there were signs of a break-in at your house a week ago, but nothing was taken. On the very same night, your house mate made an accusation of rape by a man whom she had brought home with her. However, you did not believe your housemate because she always makes false allegations of rape.

Gardai demanded your laptop and password and put you out of the house. You say that Gardai forced you to make a statement afterwards. You say that you are not a suspect. You say that Gardai took a genital swab of one of your housemates, and therefore you say that he must have been accused of something, and that you obviously were not.

Kinda sounds like when my 4 year old is trying to lie his way out of trouble :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

....Guards just usually don't like me......

Hmmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

I suspect it was colonel mustard in the bathroom with a candle stick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Op your story makes no sense what so ever. You say you know your flatmate is lying. Does your flatmate habitually lie about criminal offensives? What way was the glass from the door lying on the ground? The garda was perfectly within his rights to ask you to leave the scene & also to leave all of you possessions there, as they were investigating a crime scene.

JillyQ wrote: »
    Op your story makes no sense what so ever. You say you know your flatmate is lying. Does your flatmate habitually lie about criminal offensives? What way was the glass from the door lying on the ground? The garda was perfectly within his rights to ask you to leave the scene & also to leave all of you possessions there, as they were investigating a crime seen.

So true it had to be said 3 times :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Chonker

OP did you mean Frape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ezra_pound

Did they have a warrant to gain possession of your laptop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

So true it had to be said 3 times :D

sorry was on my mobile :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

ezra_pound wrote: »
    Did they have a warrant to gain possession of your laptop?

Do they need one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,386 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

Definitely omitting some important details from your story. They must have had a valid reason for their actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

infosys wrote: »
    Do they need one?

Good question, seeing as it is the scene of an alleged crime.

Also, some of the responses here are of AH calibre. Not good considering the allegations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 zozimus

Actually given my experience with the Gardaí this makes perfect sense.
    They treated a guy like dirt - even though he had clearly done nothing wrong. The OP needs to write to them and make an official complaint immediately.

The Gardaí need to realise that they need to treat people with respect and that in Ireland we are innocent until proven guilty.

I'm sick of hearing of this kind of arrogance from the gardaí - especially when dealing with those ancillary to an alleged crime. I have helped people with their complaints in the past, and have experienced nothing but rudeness, threats and closing of ranks.

The 'service' offered by our police force is generally useless. Not good enough.

Remember OP - you have the same rights as the person who has alleged she was raped and deserve to be treated with just as much respect and dignity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭number66

Just want to say most of the responses to the OP are really negative, It would seem that these people believe that guards are never wrong or never overstep their authority. So the OP's story seems a bit inconsistent, but why would he come onto a public forum if he knew he was in the wrong.

To the OP, this is the wrong place to air such grievances, You should speak to someone you trust that has more knowledge of these matters and consider making a complaint to the garda ombudsman. https://www.gardaombudsman.ie/ , if you are a student maybe go to the student union for advice.

Also, seems you have had issues with the Guards before, I'd advise you to learn what your rights are, as that is the only defense you have. And always show respect to the guards no matter how they treat you, they can and will use any response you give against you. Just make sure you note the guards badge number and/or name so you can identify them later.

Regards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭thepikminman

I don't give a **** about having credibility, I didn't go onto boards and post this whole story to try convince anyone that I'm innocent. And yes that's exactly what happened, it made no sense, that's why I posted, they were completely abusing there power. And me and all four of my other housemates (including her sister who she is close to) believe she is lying because she smashed the window and felt guilty so she made up this excuse. The guard who demanded the password didn't even know I existed because when he came into my room he was shocked to see me and said "oh, do you live here too?". And he was nice to me for the first five minutes but then suddenly mid-sentence he decided he didn't like me and completely change his tone. Jesus, I thought the public's views on the retarded irish police were up to date with reality, but clearly they're not. If you read the other posts, you'll see that nearly all of them are extremely immature, and seem very simple minded and are blatantly copying each other like little sheep. I bet if the first post was on my side, the rest would be to. Ah, you ****ing general humans piss me off, but at least we more advanced humans now have people to sweep our floors and get our coffee.

zozimus wrote: »
    Actually given my experience with the Gardaí this makes perfect sense.
    They treated a guy like dirt - even though he had clearly done nothing wrong. The OP needs to write to them and make an official complaint immediately.

The Gardaí need to realise that they need to treat people with respect and that in Ireland we are innocent until proven guilty.

I'm sick of hearing of this kind of arrogance from the gardaí - especially when dealing with those ancillary to an alleged crime. I have helped people with their complaints in the past, and have experienced nothing but rudeness, threats and closing of ranks.

The 'service' offered by our police force is generally useless. Not good enough.

Remember OP - you have the same rights as the person who has alleged she was raped and deserve to be treated with just as much respect and dignity.

Thank god, at least one person UNDERSTANDS the point of the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭AerynSun

Thank god, at least one person UNDERSTANDS the point of the post.

So let me see if I'm following: the thing that the girl regularly does, is smash up the windows in the house?

See now if you had said that, we might have been less confused, and understood that you all suspected her of smashing the window and having to come up with a cover story. The way you wrote it, I thought she was regularly making accusations of rape against the lads she was bringing home. Was she bringing lads home at all now? Or are you saying that she was sitting in the house alone, smashing windows and being creative about explaining why she would do that?

AerynSun wrote: »
    If it's beside the point, how did it make it into your story? I have to tell you OP that making the claim that your housemate is lying about what happened to her is pretty serious. You say you 'all knew' she was lying 'because she always does this' - what exactly does she always do? Bring home lads who don't take NO for an answer because they expect young women to 'deliver the goods'? And not only has she suffered multiple traumas of this sort while she's trying to learn how to have a successful relationship, the fact that those unfortunate incidents happened now gives you - and the rest of the house - the right to call her a compulsive liar?

I hope your housemate finds another house to stay in, with housemates that have half a clue.

I didn't bother reading past the first sentence because you suffer from some type of severe mental disability. It made it into my story to let everyone know that this is a bull**** case. The reason its beside the point is because it had nothing to do with the way the guards treated me, which was the POINT of the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Mikros

Ah, you ****ing general humans piss me off, but at least we more advanced humans now have people to sweep our floors and get our coffee.

Your attitude stinks - if this is reflective of how you approach people in real life you can expect to be treated poorly. Given the incoherent nature of your story it is difficult to offer an opinion, but an allegation of rape is a very serious thing and the Guards priority is in the investigation which includes securing evidence. If you feel you were mistreated there are avenues you can take to complain officially.

AerynSun wrote: »
    So let me see if I'm following: the thing that the girl regularly does, is smash up the windows in the house?

See now if you had said that, we might have been less confused, and understood that you all suspected her of smashing the window and having to come up with a cover story. The way you wrote it, I thought she was regularly making accusations of rape against the lads she was bringing home. Was she bringing lads home at all now? Or are you saying that she was sitting in the house alone, smashing windows and being creative about explaining why she would do that?

We're saying she came home drunk with the guy, had no key, wanted to bang his, smashed the window on a drunken impulse, banged him, he left, she felt guilty about the window and needed to come up with an excuse, so the bitch says he raped her to take the blame away from herself.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Moderator: Okay, that's more than enough of that.

OP, read the forum charter before posting here again.