Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boy racers around tesco [Galway]

• 09-02-2014 1:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

Was just around tesco and there were lot od boy racers. I know there is rally weekend but anyone know what they exactly doing. Was Fallow some cars and they kind of just go around with no reason. Few just park and sit in car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That's not racing anyway.
    Sounds like they're not harming anyone, just meeting up and showing off their cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

What? Every tesco?!? A biblical plague of boy racers?!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 PYRAS13

Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Each to their own. If they are not being muppets what harm is in it. Better than being drunk and moronic down the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭jamesdiver

Fools. They should be spending their hard earned money on alcohol and making neknomination videos to entertain the world...alas no, they've found a hobby... pity..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Ludikrus

Their 'hobby' has killed innocent bystanders. Current fads, unfortunate as they might be, doesn't kill bystanders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Ludikrus wrote: »
    Their 'hobby' has killed innocent bystanders. Current fads, unfortunate as they might be, doesn't kill bystanders.
    Also, for anyone who is working early tomorrow that lives around their it is especially annoying because they can't sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Are you trolling? What hobby?
    you know neknomination has killed people dont you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

mrkiscool2 wrote: »
    Also, for anyone who is working early tomorrow that lives around their it is especially annoying because they can't sleep

Earplugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Ludikrus

Are you trolling? What hobby?
    you know neknomination has killed people dont you?

Ah yes, I'm not exactly like you so must be a troll.

Has a necknomination killed any bystanders or pedestrians?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/man-had-leg-amputated-after-being-hit-by-rally-car-court-hears-149474.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

Ah yes, I'm not exactly like you so must be a troll.

Has a necknomination killed any bystanders or pedestrians?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/man-had-leg-amputated-after-being-hit-by-rally-car-court-hears-149474.html

What does the accident mentioned in the article have to do with boy racers in Tesco?? Absolutely nothing...

Not to mention I'd hardly call someone going out of their way to spectate on a road closed to the public a bystander or pedestrian.

Boy racers are a pest in my opinion, but don't worry none of them are actually rally drivers. The guys up at the crack of dawn to compete at a rally won't be doing laps of the local car park the night before a rally...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

Damn them. They should be down the pub spending their money. Would someone think of the children.

It's also amazing how many view boyracers as unacceptable and bring up road deaths yet the other thing young lads do is drink every week to their healths detriment and clog up A&Es at everyone else's expenses. At least boyracers fund themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

What does the accident mentioned in the article have to do with boy racers in Tesco?? Absolutely nothing...

Not to mention I'd hardly call someone going out of their way to spectate on a road closed to the public a bystander or pedestrian.

Boy racers are a pest in my opinion, but don't worry none of them are actually rally drivers. The guys up at the crack of dawn to compete at a rally won't be doing laps of the local car park the night before a rally...

Anyone know the outcome of that case first I've heard of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

that's ludikrus. I have often met my aged buddies in car parks in my car which is a lot faster than these lads I think, and I killed no one. Leave them alone, they have no money to do anything, having spent it all on their cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Earplugs.

Just to point out, wearing earplugs would effectively rule out any chance of hearing your alarm. Catch 22.

I have no issue with noise at night but come 10.30 / 11 then I think a decent level of respect is warranted to those in the vicinity. Furthermore, I have no issue with the hobby or interest in cars. Its far better than the other options that have been pointed out. Just want to make the point that they should accomodate the neighbours, not the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

To the best of my knowledge, nobody has ever died from lads parking up in a Tesco car park.

If you mean dickheads speeding around back roads then fair enough, but its not exactly the same thing, and its not exactly limited to so called "boy racers" either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

<post snipped by moderator>

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

They're always driving up and down that road throwing eggs at people.

The poor eggs :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭jamesdiver

djimi wrote: »
    To the best of my knowledge, nobody has ever died from lads parking up in a Tesco car park.

If you mean dickheads speeding around back roads then fair enough, but its not exactly the same thing, and its not exactly limited to so called "boy racers" either.

Yep! Try commuting on a motorcycle every day in and around the town. You will see offenders from every walk of life.

Anyone know the outcome of that case first I've heard of it?

He got €200,000
    When the car hit him he was apparently sitting on the wall of a hump bridge with his legs over the side. I dunno what he expected f there were an accident... The judge even agreed that what he did was reckless but still ordered a payout.

Still, that has nothing to do with the spotty boy racers hanging around the car parks in Galway annoying locals. Fine by me if they don't annoy anyone, but they inevitably do.. It's mainly a noise thing around where I live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭TBP

jamesdiver wrote: »
    Fools. They should be spending their hard earned money on alcohol and making neknomination videos to entertain the world...alas no, they've found a hobby... pity..

I'm afraid you're deluded if you think these boy racers or car fanatics don't get up to this neknomination malarkey or don't be boozing on a regular basis as well and that's coming from a lad that went through that whole phase a moon or two ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Oh God , babies will die, end of the western world, woe betide me, won't someone please think of the children, lock 'em up and throw away the key, Back In My Day...
    I think I'm going to be sick...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

(Not in my back yard.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Oranmore Tesco underground ?

Whenever i shop there i drive in with the window down (mmmmmmmmmmm)

However when i return to my car its either got 5 dodgy looking fellows in passats/boras parked around it talking about stance (whatever that is) or a bunch of schoolkids on their break exclaiming "Look it's a Focus RS"

They then see a fat man with afew bags of shopping shuffle over load it into the boot and proceed to deafen them to go make dinner.

He got €200,000
    When the car hit him he was apparently sitting on the wall of a hump bridge with his legs over the side. I dunno what he expected f there were an accident... The judge even agreed that what he did was reckless but still ordered a payout.

Still, that has nothing to do with the spotty boy racers hanging around the car parks in Galway annoying locals. Fine by me if they don't annoy anyone, but they inevitably do.. It's mainly a noise thing around where I live.

And there is everything that is wrong with the Irish legal system in one sentence. Of course the principle comes from the US. But we took it and ran with it.
    Nothing is ever your fault, no matter what you do.
    So, stick your head out of the window of a moving vehicle, run across a motorway drunk, lie down for a nap in black clothing on a backroad at 3 am, jump through windows, our legal system will look after you and the more of a moron you are and no matter how reckless you are, we will give you hundreds of thousands, if not millions so you can receive 24/7 care paid for by the state for the rest of your life.
    It's like a lottery that pays out for stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭puddinboxxx

They sent about 15 cops and the garda helicopter to move us all out onto the roads where accidents happen instead of leaving us parked up looking at cars...
    Clever boys alrite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

Wasn't there a law brought in a while back that made 'non standard' exhaust modifications illegal to combat 'noise pollution'?

Ah, another sh1tty law that hasn't been enforced. Well done the gubber-mint!

SamAK wrote: »
    Wasn't there a law brought in a while back that made 'non standard' exhaust modifications illegal to combat 'noise pollution'?

Ah, another sh1tty law that hasn't been enforced. Well done the gubber-mint!

It wasn't. There are limits of noise levels, but "non standard" doesn't exist, you might as well try non standard tires.
    Many manufacturers make exhausts, its just the deluded ravings of some politicians on a drive for votes, even though he knows absolutely nothing abouy cars and is just making an arse of himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

PYRAS13 wrote: »
    Was just around tesco and there were lot od boy racers. I know there is rally weekend but anyone know what they exactly doing. Was Fallow some cars and they kind of just go around with no reason. Few just park and sit in car.
    Shopping maybe :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

corktina wrote: »
    that's ludikrus. I have often met my aged buddies in car parks in my car which is a lot faster than these lads I think, and I killed no one. Leave them alone, they have no money to do anything, having spent it all on their cars.

I reckon that instead of these lads buying cars and sitting in car parks not annoying anyone, we should make them sell their cars and spend the money on drink and drugs so they end up roaring and shouting at 4am and vomiting through your letterbox and pissing on your door handles :D

PYRAS13 wrote: »

What else are they going to do? They don't want to sit at home with the parents, and they haven't got money or the inclination to go drinking all the bleeding time! Being a young male of a certain age bracket is tough, no one wants us anywhere, they expect most of us to just melt into the shadows!

"non standard" doesn't exist, you might as well try non standard tires.

You know what I mean by 'non-standard'....as in - different to the one that was on the car when it rolled out of the factory! Come to think of it, that's hilariously difficult to ascertain!
    There are limits of noise levels

Does that mean that every gaaaard goes equipped with a 'decibel-ometer' to measure sound, as well as a light measuring device to check the level of tint on your windows?

Further - how would they check the sound pressure level of your zorst? At idle, or revving? Or do they tell you to go down the road, turn round and come hooning it past them? :D Sure things like temperature and altitude vary the way sound travels through the air......so many variables!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Ya can't beat boy racers.

IMO the noise is the main issue. It's one thing to have a bunch of these guys (and gals too) moping around a car park but I've a friend living bear a crossroads outside of the town where the cruisers go to do circles in between laps of the town and it cracks him up.

Their driving -you could argue- doesn't affect people too much it's mainly at night and they generally don't cause too much carnage. It really comes down to the noise annoying people and secondly the black marks all over the road...

What else are they going to do? They don't want to sit at home with the parents, and they haven't got money or the inclination to go drinking all the bleeding time! Being a young male of a certain age bracket is tough, no one wants us anywhere, they expect most of us to just melt into the shadows!

You know what I mean by 'non-standard'....as in - different to the one that was on the car when it rolled out of the factory! Come to think of it, that's hilariously difficult to ascertain!

Does that mean that every gaaaard goes equipped with a 'decibel-ometer' to measure sound, as well as a light measuring device to check the level of tint on your windows?

Further - how would they check the sound pressure level of your zorst? At idle, or revving? Or do they tell you to go down the road, turn round and come hooning it past them? :D Sure things like temperature and altitude vary the way sound travels through the air......so many variables!!!

Yes. What tires where on your car when it left the factory, you can only put that exact make and model if tire on your car. Stupid.
    There are many manufacturers of exhaust and maybe the car maker changed makes, so car a has to have make a and car a made a week later only make b.
    In countries where people actually know about cars, you get type approval. So you can buy any exotic add on for your car, as long as it has been approved.
    This will not work in a country that has no car culture to speak of and legislation is made by imbeciles.

There are many manufacturers of exhaust and maybe the car maker changed makes, so car a has to have make a and car a made a week later only make b.
    In countries where people actually know about cars, you get type approval. So you can buy any exotic add on for your car, as long as it has been approved.
    This will not work in a country that has no car culture to speak of and legislation is made by imbeciles.

Legislation made my imbeciles....hmm, says it all.

Can we ban people from making their turbo diesels (Passats) go 'peeeww' whenever they change gear? Might write to my local TD bout that one. Drives me nuts. :pac:

If it ain't a turbo petrol, then SHUT UP! rant rant rant

Legislation made my imbeciles....hmm, says it all.

Can we ban people from making their turbo diesels (Passats) go 'peeeww' whenever they change gear? Might write to my local TD bout that one. Drives me nuts. :pac:

If it ain't a turbo petrol, then SHUT UP! rant rant rant

I don't quite understand where you're coming from. I'm not even arguing against modification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

its job research for where they will end up working