Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do any of ye run 540 rpm gear on 1000pto setting & what?

• 07-02-2014 1:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭

As title says do any of ye run 540rpm gear at 1000pto and if so what kind of jobs?

Reason I ask is we used always run pto power washer on the MF 265 540 rpm opened up. We have the 265 off being tidied up (tin work & paint) at the minute and stuck the power washer on the MF 4345 at 1000pto at tick over. It seemed a much easier job, well quieter anyway not to have tractor roaring away at full revs. Its the only time I ever selected the 1000 pto gear on the 4345.

The 4345 has selectable 540 & 1000 pto no eco 540. Is there any other jobs that could be done on the higher 1000pto at low revs.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Lad that USED to work for me used 1000rpm for topping and wrecked the gearbox:(

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭PN14

Yeah I know thats the big risk its why I never used the 1000 pto selection up to now but decided to give it a go on power washer couldn't see much risk in that as the tractor is stationary no chance of accidently forgeting the pto selection and hitting the go go juice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Unless you have a PTO speed readout in the tractor I wouldn't recommend it. Running implements over their rated speed will wreck the gearbox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Always run the power washer on 1000 rpm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭PN14

Have digital readout on PTO speed on dash.

Its not something that I'd usually consider but you hear lads now and then saying that they run stuff at the 1000 pto setting. I'm just wondering how prevalent this is and what kind of jobs would people use it for.

I would be of the opinion that 1 mashed gearbox would need a lot of saving in fuel to pay for it if something went wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

I've used the topper on the 1000 pto for cleaning off pasture but the tractor would be only ticking over. I have the digital speed readout.

The gearbox is wrecked on the topper but that from an irresistible force meeting an immovable object..... or in other words I hit a big basta*d of bog oak cleaning off heavy rushes.:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

I went power harrowing one day and forgot to select the 1000pto in the tractor. only realised it was in 540 after doing half of the field. (it is meant to be run on the 1000 pto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

towzer2010 wrote: »
    I've used the topper on the 1000 pto for cleaning off pasture but the tractor would be only ticking over. I have the digital speed readout.

The gearbox is wrecked on the topper but that from an irresistible force meeting an immovable object..... or in other words I hit a big basta*d of bog oak cleaning off heavy rushes.:mad:

Is there no shear bolt on your topper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

f140 wrote: »
    I went power harrowing one day and forgot to select the 1000pto in the tractor. only realised it was in 540 after doing half of the field. (it is meant to be run on the 1000 pto.

My power harrow runs at 540 rpm, run it at 1000 rpm where possible tractor ticking over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

PN14 wrote: »
    As title says do any of ye run 540rpm gear at 1000pto and if so what kind of jobs?

Reason I ask is we used always run pto power washer on the MF 265 540 rpm opened up. We have the 265 off being tidied up (tin work & paint) at the minute and stuck the power washer on the MF 4345 at 1000pto at tick over. It seemed a much easier job, well quieter anyway not to have tractor roaring away at full revs. Its the only time I ever selected the 1000 pto gear on the 4345.

The 4345 has selectable 540 & 1000 pto no eco 540. Is there any other jobs that could be done on the higher 1000pto at low revs.

we do the same with our 4245.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Damo810 wrote: »
    Is there no shear bolt on your topper?

There was surely and I gave out to it for not shearing after watching half the blade carrier bar bury itself in the ditch 40 foot behind me.

In fairness it was the first implement I bought when I started earning and it has cut some fairly rough stuff since then so it owed me nothing. I'm buying a new one in the next few weeks anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

towzer2010 wrote: »

Do the same here but use 540 if a particularly rough field.

Also always put the PTO back in 540 as I'd be afraid of what the father would do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭porter shark

I've switched the agitator t 1000 on occasions but just for a minute to shift a lump that wouldn't come wit 540.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

Filling slurry on 1000 shaft , spread 540 sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭DMAXMAN

when filing the sprayer I always put on 1000 speed and tractor just revving to 1100 revs.also run fert spreader on 1000 speed. power washer too. slurry tanker when filling. hate to hear tractor revving when there is no need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Pto can still be run at 540 rpm just with less engine revs, so it should be safer for machinery, less torque etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

I runthe mower on the 1000rpm when topping, also the power washer, occasionally the slurry tanker when filling. Jobs which have a low hp requirement, and no need for tractor reving and burning fuel.

There is a mark on the rpm dial indicating the point where the 1000rpm PTO spins at 540rpm and I make sure not to exceed this.

Also I fix the throttle at that rpm and ensure not to cut back or rev up when turning. As someone else said, ensure to put back into 540 mode when finished as my Dad mightn't spot it when out working himself.

cant understand this 1000pto when filling the tank? I barely rev the tractor up filling it in the 540 never mind the 1000. would the pump be fierce loud even ticking over in the 1000? how much faster would it fill after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Filling slurry on 1000 shaft , spread 540 sometimes

Always do this. Much better for the karma, tractor just ticking over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

f140 wrote: »
    cant understand this 1000pto when filling the tank? I barely rev the tractor up filling it in the 540 never mind the 1000. would the pump be fierce loud even ticking over in the 1000? how much faster would it fill after?

Same here, have 540eco but have to use the normal 540 on tanker as it would be to fast even ticking over on the Eco, you'd have no power to go anywere.
    And for filling you only need about 300pto rpm which is done at about 1100rpm so not like its revving all that hard..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

Zr105 wrote: »
    Same here, have 540eco but have to use the normal 540 on tanker as it would be to fast even ticking over on the Eco, you'd have no power to go anywere.
    And for filling you only need about 300pto rpm which is done at about 1100rpm so not like its revving all that hard..

Fill at 355-370 spread at about the same, , pto read out on dash so it's never pumping like mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Fill at 355-370 spread at about the same, , pto read out on dash so it's never pumping like mad

Little over 300rpm and ours blows off, can be a pig on a hill as you often start running low in power in tractor, have had to knock off the pump once or twice to give her a burst on up the hill.

10000litre pump tho so that may be why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Zr105 wrote: »
    Little over 300rpm and ours blows off, can be a pig on a hill as you often start running low in power in tractor, have had to knock off the pump once or twice to give her a burst on up the hill.

10000litre pump tho so that may be why.

Fill @330-350 spread @220-250 8000litre pump here

came up with a new one today. used the 1000 pto on the generator. bledy ford 5000 wouldn't start asit wasn't going since December and had to use the f140. I still make out the 5000 would be more economical reving at 2000 rpm in the 540

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Years ago we ran a generator on the 1000 pto on an International 784 and she overheated. Went back to using 540 ever since. Even though the tractor would be roaring outside the door of the house!