Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

people who pretend to hate cats

• 07-02-2014 11:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭

every second person seems to hate cats, I think they are lying because its a popular opinion to have, like why hate them, whats so bad about them? its not like they are a poisonous snake that love to attack humans, that bull about they will eat u if u die in a house they are in is a rubbish excuse as well, if i died and a cat ate me i wouldn't care, id be dead so what would it matter, im sure i would eat a dead cat if it was the other way around.

do you hate cats 156 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    100% 156 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

They lick their own arse and walk over your worktops. That's why some people don't like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Cats are awesome. Even the Egyptians thought so.

And where would the internet be without lolcats? Cheeseburger Dog just doesn't cut it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Cats **** in my garden, I'm the one that is left cleaning up after them, I hate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Rulers of the internet they are. Cats are just like dogs, most are grand, some are assholes, a lot of them are hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

The only thing I hate more than cat people.

We all know the type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

They're too small to get pleasure from. Dogs are where it's at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Sorry OP. Thought you meant the Andrew Lloyd Webber yoke. I hate that.

Genuinely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Much prefer kitty kats to dogs! Love their mischievousness and their independence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

They're so cuddly, cute and fluffy.

Seriously how can anyone hate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

GarIT wrote: »
    Cats **** in my garden, I'm the one that is left cleaning up after them, I hate them.

I **** in peoples garden. Do you hate me too? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Every cat is a dog someone doesn't have. I don't hate cats, I hate the lost opportunity they represent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I **** in peoples garden. Do you hate me too? :(

If I have to clean it most definitely.

Hate is a very strong word. I have a serious dislike for cats.

I got a new next door neighbour recently and they have a cat. I hate that fcuking cat.

He sits on my bedroom window looking at me the perve.

He sits it my garden staring at me when I am in my kitchen eating my breakfast.

He comes into the house if I leave any doors open the little bollox.

I found him trying to drive my car one day :mad:

It's cats like him that give the rest of the cats a bad name.

Disclaimer: I would never wish harm on a cat and kittens are the bznz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheMza

Rotten yokes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

GarIT wrote: »

It's like a cat sex den in Gar's garden. Cat condoms all over the place for Gar to clean up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

It's definitely a popular opinion that feels very borrowed a lot of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

I got a new next door neighbour recently and they have a cat. I hate that fcuking cat.

Jaysus get over yourself. Its a bloody cat for christ sake. Do you dislike the birds for looking at you through the window in the morning also.

If he trys to come into your house hes a friendly little lad, trust me. It is just a popular opinion people have.. fear of the unknown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Cats are gas for the most part, I prefer dogs though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

They're too small to get pleasure from. Dogs are where it's at.

There's just something a little bit wrong about how you worded that.

In any case a cat can grow as big as many small dogs. Not much size difference between a cat and a terrier or a king charles spaniel for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

They're wonderfully, wonderfully, wonderfully, wonderfully pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I love cats. Love their lassez faire attitude, their lack of neediness, their complexity, their independence. They can be just as funny and loving and affectionate as dogs, too.

I'd take a cat over a dog any day of the week.

Merkin wrote: »
    Much prefer kitty kats to dogs!

I feel we could have been friends, until I read this. I don't know if I can make the first move now :(
    Zillah wrote: »
    Every cat is a dog someone doesn't have. I don't hate cats, I hate the lost opportunity they represent.

I wish I had said this :).

I don't mind cats and I definitely don't hate them, even if they have black, evil, hearts of darkness.

I just don't know how anyone could prefer them to dogs.
    Dogs are great, a dog is your pal forever, no matter what.
    Cats are your freeloading selfish dependents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Sly and devious animal, just a step up from a rodent.

Jaysus get over yourself. Its a bloody cat for christ sake. Do you dislike the birds for looking at you through the window in the morning also.

If he trys to come into your house hes a friendly little lad, trust me. It is just a popular opinion people have.. fear of the unknown.

Cat people can't take jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

I think he likes you.☺

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

wazky wrote: »

examples of this please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Why is it that Cats are either mega friendly and laid back or s**t-scared of their own shadows?

examples of this please

I have two of my own, only have them around to keep the rodents away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

People who hate cats have the most stupid reasons to hate them.

"They are so sly" - No they're not, slyness is a human trait. Cats rely on instinct for survival, which may appear sly at times, but it isn't.
    "They poo in my garden" - You must hate birds & dogs then too yeah? Their poo is everywhere too, including peoples gardens.
    "They have no loyalty" - Yes they have, but because they show it in a way that you don't understand, doesn't mean they don't show it.
    "I'm a dog person" - It's not the premier league, what's wrong with just being an animal person?
    "They kill birds" - Enjoy that chicken fillet burger last weekend? Welcome to the food chain.

And all other manner of, well, frankly, bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

See that's exactly why I love cats

I have two of my own, only have them around to keep the rodents away.

that does not explain why u think they are sly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

It's because Irish people are needy fuuckers and anything that doesnt lick our arses and make us feel like kings is a threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭FamousSeamus

I don't hate cats but I'm definitely a dog person, their way more fun and loyal than cats!! Saying that I don't mind cats and they are handy to keep the rats and mice away!!

Myrddin wrote: »
    "They kill birds" - Enjoy that chicken fillet burger last weekend? Welcome to the food chain.

And all other manner of, well, frankly, bollocks.

Cats kill for fun, as the academic study below reveals. Cats are the serial thrill killers of the animal kingdom.

http://theoatmeal.com/comics/cats_actually_kill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Cats just don't think everyone is sound. You might not be sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Only weirdos go on and on about cats.

Zillah wrote: »

This opinion is so retarded its not even funny. Has it not struck you that people can own multiple pets?

Every dog only owner is as dumb as their dog.. (Dogs aren't that dumb, I own both)

This opinion is so retarded its not even funny. Has it not struck you that people can own multiple pets?

Every dog only owner is as dumb as their dog.. (Dogs aren't that dumb, I own both)

Learn to take a joke or people will think you're one of those repressed, uptight, humourless cat people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Candie wrote: »
    Cats kill for fun, as the academic study below reveals. Cats are the serial thrill killers of the animal kingdom.

http://theoatmeal.com/comics/cats_actually_kill

There's a few reasons why they hunt & kill, from teaching their kittens how to survive to needing a meal. Tis the food chain, & we sit at the top of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Intelligent and smart animal, just a step up from a dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Love cats, nothing is funnier than a cat chasing a bit of wool or the dot from a laser pointer and running into a wall, my cat used to follow me all over the house mewing for food but if you picked him up he would scarper in seconds, love cats so much.

Candie wrote: »
    Learn to take a joke or people will think you're one of those repressed, uptight, humourless cat people.

So what if I am, cats have been the humans repressed best friend since ancient eygpt, and its about time someone stood up for them

murpho999 wrote: »
    Intelligent and smart animal, just a step up from a dog.

Wouldn't be hard to outsmart most dogs in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

I'm a mensa member and dog only owner. Are you saying my dog is hyper intelligent?

Considering the lack of intelligence in your assertion on the ownership of pets, i'll leave others to dwell on the irony of your post and conclude about the level of intelligence of multiple pet owners such as yourself :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

I lived in an apartment with a cat once. It shat on my bed. And I mean this was like no cat poo you've ever seen in your life, it was like a cowpat. It was the vilest thing, I dumped everything from the mattress protector up but still couldnt go into the room for 3 days for the smell. The same cat once climbed onto the kitchen table and pissed on a loaf of homemade scone. This is why people hate cats.

Having my own dog now I can say that it's a much nicer experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I have no strong feelings about any animal but animal people can be a strange bunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Oh great, from the obligatory Irish language thread to revisit this...yet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I don't pretend to hate them, I actually do. In fact I despise them with the intensity of a supernova as it's a well known fact that cats spend 87.6% of their day thinking up ways to kill humans. If I knew any mad scientists I would ask them to develop an airborne virus that would only kill cats..... and possibly turn their bodies into flowers or something because it would be a bit dodge having dead cats lying around all over the place.

Cats - Evil personfelinified

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I really like dogs but I also really like cats. I think that cats have a bad reputation because a small no. are assholes but also because my own cat is terrified of everyone and runs away from anyone trying to pet him, he also ''pervs'' on people through windows but he's too afraid to go into anyone's house. I don't undestand why people are so annoyed by the ''perving'', he is just being nosy, it is not the same as a person looking in through your window.

However, you'd never know then how loving he really is, (not even my friends see that side, because he is too busy running away from them when they visit) whenever he comes into the house (and before he looks or asks for food) he first climbs onto my lap and curls up with me and wants a hug and kisses.

He is so affectionate and not just because he wants food as some people think, he needs a lot of love and attention, he loves to be played with and he is hilarious, he also sits for treats and never scratches on purpose - only if you are playing with him and he gets carried away.

He doesn't even scratch the vet or when we have to check his temperature he just meows in an annoyed fashion, but no scratching. He knows when I am ill and he curls up on my lap then and puts his paws on my chest.

He actually needs quite a lot of affection, like a little dog! Handy enough though, we don't have to take him for walks, he can be left alone in the house all day and isn't upset by it and he never destroys the furniture, he only uses his scratching post.

i remember once my parents were at my cousins house 20 miles away, when they got home they pulled up outside our house and a young cat comes from under the car and casually walks into the house, into the sitting room and jumps up on my brother who was lying on the couch as if he has known him for years lol he was my cousins neighbours cat, it was then when i realised how smart and how much of a survivor cats are, a dog could never have pulled off what the cat had done.