Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

....trying to ID Phil Hogan's car....

• 06-02-2014 2:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭

...bear with me, I believe Phil Hogan has a ministerial A6 (Silver), the one the protesters broke the window in.

I'm writing on the subject of tax to Dept of environment atmo, I want to quote an example of their own ministers car, and want to determine tax rate applicable to it.

Anyone know the reg of his, so I can check it on motortax.ie ?

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

State cars are tax exempt, so the rate is 0

If he has a state car of course, maybe it's private...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

If you'd said "So I could fill it full of expanding foam", then we'd've jumped at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

testicle wrote: »

That's the thing you see: it may well be private. I know of at least one other where the car is privately owned.

But that isn't why I need it, I'm just looking to create an analogy from it, so if I knew it was a 2.0Tdi A6 Manual, 140bhp, I could work out the tax.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

From here it's a 09 Audi A6 if that helps to narrow it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭PurvesGrundy

All I can say is fair play and I would write a letter too if I had the patience!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

testicle wrote: »

It is not a state car. Only the Taoiseach, Tánaiste and Minister for Justice have the Mercs now. The rest have their own cars but have civilian (as opposed to Garda) drivers.

This has been the case since the present Government got elected, but as usual, the general public would rather moan and groan even when the Government does the right thing. PS, I'm not a Government fanboy and think Leo Varadkar has been a disaster (though this is no different to pretty much every one of his predecessors unfortunately), but if we're going to criticise the Government let's at least criticise them on facts not what we think.

Apologies for having a bit of a rant, and not aimed at you personally, but wanted to get all of that off my chest before more time is devoted to bashing the Government on something that doesn't actually happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

It is not a state car. Only the Taoiseach, Tánaiste and Minister for Justice have the Mercs now. The rest have their own cars but have civilian (as opposed to Garda) drivers.

This has been the case since the present Government got elected, but as usual, the general public would rather moan and groan even when the Government does the right thing. PS, I'm not a Government fanboy and think Leo Varadkar has been a disaster (though this is no different to pretty much every one of his predecessors unfortunately), but if we're going to criticise the Government let's at least criticise them on facts not what we think.

Apologies for having a bit of a rant, and not aimed at you personally, but wanted to get all of that off my chest before more time is devoted to bashing the Government on something that doesn't actually happen.
    If they were doing the right thing you'd think they'd drive the car themselves instead of wasting money on a driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    If they were doing the right thing you'd think they'd drive the car themselves instead of wasting money on a driver.

Indeed.. you can be sure that's not being paid out of his own pocket

(waits for someone to spin it into a "providing employment" angle)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Indeed.. you can be sure that's not being paid out of his own pocket

(waits for someone to spin it into a "providing employment" angle)

It's not unreasonable for a government minister to have a driver. The money "wasted" is pretty inconsequential in the scheme of things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

I agree. Whatever else about these guys, they work hard and a lot of that work is done in transit. They simply don't have the time to drive themselves. All we need to do now is figure out how to stop them working on their election campaigns, constituency work, and "favours" while they're supposed to be working for the country.

It's not unreasonable for a government minister to have a driver. The money "wasted" is pretty inconsequential in the scheme of things.
    It is unreasonable in my opinion. Why should the tax payer have fork out for a driver when this minister is capable of driving himself. It's ridiculous Imo.

rovoagho wrote: »
    I agree. Whatever else about these guys, they work hard and a lot of that work is done in transit. They simply don't have the time to drive themselves. All we need to do now is figure out how to stop them working on their election campaigns, constituency work, and "favours" while they're supposed to be working for the country.
    Imo They haven't done anything for the country in the last three years apart from introduce tax after tax and then waste the lot of it on consultant after consultant & Irish water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

It is unreasonable in my opinion. Why should the tax payer have fork out for a driver when this minister is capable of driving himself. It's ridiculous Imo.

Ministers would rack up huge miles, much of the time spent in the car will be used to return phone calls, read emails, documents and reports and carry out other work as required. Whatever anybody says about the value of their work a driver is an absolute must in order for them to carry it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

rovoagho wrote: »

Make them drive themselves, then they won't have time to do things that aren't what they where elected to the Dail for. Oh wait they're elected for "favours" so running the country wasn't why they were voted in. Still at least if they have to drive themselves they'd be too busy to be pandering to parish pump politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

mickeyk wrote: »
    Ministers would rack up huge miles, much of the time spent in the car will be used to return phone calls, read emails, documents and reports and carry out other work as required. Whatever anybody says about the value of their work a driver is an absolute must in order for them to carry it out.

Sorry, but no.

I got a reply yesterday to an email sent to Phil last.........October ? is that the metric for efficiency then ?

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭BRYAN Is Ainm Dom

So they dont have enough time to drive themselves but no doubt they have enough time to get pissed in th Dail bar.

galwaytt wrote: »
    Sorry, but no.

I got a reply yesterday to an email sent to Phil last.........October ? is that the metric for efficiency then ?

Well that is just petty, are you seriously saying somebody that the electorate voted in to run our country should need to waste 30-40 hours per week driving when a driver could be employed for him for a pittance in the grand scheme of things. We all have our gripes with politicians, their actions, not responding to emails, their remuneration and pension arrangements etc, and you may think minister hogan is useless. I personally think the man is a total incompetent and has been promoted beyond his abilities but the fact is he was voted in and needs the tools at his disposal to do the job he was given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭hoodrats

mickeyk wrote: »
    Well that is just petty, are you seriously saying somebody that the electorate voted in to run our country should need to waste 30-40 hours per week driving when a driver could be employed for him for a pittance in the grand scheme of things. We all have our gripes with politicians, their actions, not responding to emails, their remuneration and pension arrangements etc, and you may think minister hogan is useless. I personally think the man is a total incompetent and has been promoted beyond his abilities but the fact is he was voted in and needs the tools at his disposal to do the job he was given.

your not labour are you? :confused:

hoodrats wrote: »
    your not labour are you? :confused:

Nope, not affiliated to any party, but I follow the media and politics with interest. The man has made a complete balls of everything he has touched since being made a minister and has been a pr disaster, his handling of the propert tax and Irish water in particular would be funny if it wasn't so serious. How he is still in his admittedly difficult job is simply baffling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Maybe you are looking to borrow it while your fiesta is being fixed ;)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I wonder is that the A6 that flew passed me 2 weeks ago with blues and twos going?