Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryanair to allow PED use in al phases of flight

• 06-02-2014 11:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭

RYANAIR FIRST IRISH AIRLINE TO ALLOW PORTABLE ELECTRONIC DEVICES (PEDS) ON ALL FLIGHTS

Ryanair, Ireland’s favourite airline, today (6 Feb) confirmed that all Ryanair customers may – with immediate effect – use their PEDs (including tablets, smartphones, e-readers and MP3 players) for the entire duration of their flight, once these devices are switched to ‘flight mode’ and all safety demos/briefings are observed.

This is the latest customer initiative introduced by Ryanair as it continues to improve its industry leading customer service, and follows the recent roll out of allocated seats for all customers, which was successfully introduced last Saturday (1 Feb).

Ryanair’s Robin Kiely said:

“Ryanair customers can now use their personal electronic devices at all stages of their flight, while they enjoy their allocated seats, our low fares and on-time arrivals. The IAA is one of the first regulatory authorities in the world to approve this measure and we wish to commend them for their initiative. We are working hard to improve our service to all customers and today’s PED approval is the latest in a series of changes which we know our customers will love.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Who wants to use their phone anyway when the plane is taking off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

I wouldn't mind listening to music or watching a movie on my iPad during takeoff and landing

For safety reasons, wouldn't that still be forbidden? I mean, they need the attention of everyone for take-off and landing. I assumed this was just for general phone use rather than listening/watching distracting stuff.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

The phone side will have to be disabled, that's the purpose of Flight mode. It's going to be a huge help to parents of younger children to be able to let them watch their movies on a tablet during "the boring bits", as long as they use a headset or earpiece. The thought of 30 or 40, maybe more tablets all playing different things without them doesn't bear thinking about though.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Growler!!!

Growler!!! wrote: »
    once these devices are switched to ‘flight mode’ and all safety demos/briefings are observed

jasus lads will ye read what it says. Device switched to flight mode. Put them down for the safety demo then do what ye like. Do ye want me to hold your hand too while we're on the plane.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

Growler!!! wrote: »
    jasus lads will ye read what it says. Device switched to flight mode. Put them down for the safety demo then do what ye like. Do ye want me to hold your hand too while we're on the plane.

Some passengers still do...."where's row 17?" or "what seat am I in?" (even though they are the ones holding the boarding card)"

.....perhaps that would be a lucrative market for ancillary revenue?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

For safety reasons, wouldn't that still be forbidden? I mean, they need the attention of everyone for take-off and landing.

This can't be any worse than people sleeping during the same periods. The FAA have recently deemed the use of PEDs as safe during take-off and landing, so the move across to Europe was fairly inevitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

This can't be any worse than people sleeping during the same periods. The FAA have recently deemed the use of PEDs as safe during take-off and landing, so the move across to Europe was fairly inevitable.

Indeed, no different then when folks were reading newspapers or books. No one died on my recent flights in the US as a result of folks reading their Kindles etc :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭CaptainSkidmark

Taking pictures or videos or take off/landing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

Fair play to Ryanair being the first Irish airline. Its tough keeping your nose ahead of so many others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

I think the idea of people being alert during take off and landing is that they don't have earphones in, so that they would be able to hear any safety related announcement. I'm not sure what Ryanairs policy on this is, but I would assume that if earphones were not allowed before, they will still not be allowed. Reading a kindle or whatever is a different situation entirely.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I think the idea of people being alert during take off and landing is that they don't have earphones in, so that they would be able to hear any safety related announcement. I'm not sure what Ryanairs policy on this is, but I would assume that if earphones were not allowed before, they will still not be allowed. Reading a kindle or whatever is a different situation entirely.

What about people who are deaf or have impaired hearing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

I speak from experience here, I have impaired hearing and during the safety demo at the beginning of the flight (Ryanair only though), I've had great difficulty in hearing what's being said on the PA but when I'm flying with PTV on longhaul, I can hear it very well through the earphones via the safety demo video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

If a deaf or impaired hearing person makes it known to the airline when booking, or the cabin crew while boarding, they will be given an individual safety briefing if they require it. Same goes for visually impaired people.

As for earphones off during takeoff and landing, sure, it would be great if everyone could hear what was going on, but to impair everybody's hearing is hardly a good idea. The idea is that cabin crew will know where deaf passengers are seated (or blind, PRM's etc) and will be aware that they may need extra assistance in the event of an emergency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭omega man

The FAA and EASA may have said its safe but they have clearly put full responsibility on the operators to risk assess and test accordingly. In fact EASA haven't even provided anything but general guidance on the subject compared to the FAA. It's most certainly not a straight forward policy to introduce for airlines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Fagashlil

According to the memo we received about this, the use of earphones is not permitted during the safety demo, but ok to use after.

Also, PEDs over 1 kilo, including laptops and DVD players, must be stowed either under the seat or in the overhead locker for take off and landing

Also the CSS on each flight is to randomly select 2 PAX per flight and ask them to show them the device to ensure flight mode is selected.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

If a deaf or impaired hearing person makes it known to the airline when booking, or the cabin crew while boarding, they will be given an individual safety briefing if they require it. Same goes for visually impaired people.

As for earphones off during takeoff and landing, sure, it would be great if everyone could hear what was going on, but to impair everybody's hearing is hardly a good idea. The idea is that cabin crew will know where deaf passengers are seated (or blind, PRM's etc) and will be aware that they may need extra assistance in the event of an emergency.

Thanks you!!! YES YES YES.......... what you said!!

Earphones on during take off/landing hugely reduce ones awareness a book does not! Listening to music with headphones would mean you would not hear an emergency announcement or command! Its common sense really! :rolleyes: Pointing out that deaf people have their hearing impaired for such announcements is being pedantic! And the reasons why have been explained above!
    Sleeping passengers will be awoken by such loud commands such as the brace command wheres someone listening to Steve Aoki at full volume will not notice it!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Fagashlil wrote: »
    Also, PEDs over 1 kilo, including laptops and DVD players, must be stowed either under the seat or in the overhead locker for take off and landing

Oh, so that just precludes a 11" Macbook Air 1.08kg !!

A real pity as the MBAs are really very light.

Will this mean they will be banning hardback copies of war and peace, they come in at over 1kg after all!!
    Locker10a wrote: »
    Sleeping passengers will be awoken by such loud commands such as the brace command wheres someone listening to Steve Aoki at full volume will not notice it!

Really, and what if they are wearing earplugs as many people do?

A person using headphones listening to music or video is much more likely to notice a commotion on a plane then a sleeping passenger with earplugs.

If there is any real safety concern here, then perhaps they can have the cabin lights flash on and off during an emergency or perhaps even better have red emergency lights flash on the get peoples attention.

This would also be very useful for deaf and hard of hearing people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ComeraghBlue

Taking pictures or videos or take off/landing?

Most people did that anyway. I was guilty of it

bk wrote: »
    Oh, so that just precludes a 11" Macbook Air 1.08kg !!

A real pity as the MBAs are really very light.

Will this mean they will be banning hardback copies of war and peace, they come in at over 1kg after all!!

Really, and what if they are wearing earplugs as many people do?

A person using headphones listening to music or video is much more likely to notice a commotion on a plane then a sleeping passenger with earplugs.

If there is any real safety concern here, then perhaps they can have the cabin lights flash on and off during an emergency or perhaps even better have red emergency lights flash on the get peoples attention.

This would also be very useful for deaf and hard of hearing people.

Cabin crew wouldn't allow a sleeping passenger to have earphones in this would be checked during the final cabin secure check prior to take off.
    Also your ideas are very good re: attention lights! You should patten that and go with the idea to Airbus, Boeing, Embraer etc .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

Cabin crew wouldn't allow a sleeping passenger to have earphones in

I've been on several flights where the people around me have been fast asleep before take-off.

Also your ideas are very good re: attention lights! You should patten that and go with the idea to Airbus, Boeing, Embraer etc .

There's nothing original, and hence patentable, about red flashing lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭relaxed

Have these devices ever caused a problem?

I've often inadvertently left such devices in my cabin bag and not switched them to flight mode.

I am sure plenty of others have done the same.

markpb wrote: »
    I've been on several flights where the people around me have been fast asleep before take-off.

Being asleep for take off/lading is allowed but take off/ landing with earphones or without your seatbelt fastened, tray table up, arm rest down, window blind open , bags not stowed etc. is not allowed and where a passengers is asleep with ear phones in or any of the above things i've mentioned they will be woken up by cabin crew to prepare themselves for take off/ Landing

There's nothing original, and hence patentable, about red flashing lights.

Well with a little initiative and inventive thinking Im sure someone could invent a comprehensive system of warning for aircraft passengers! Cabin safety has come a long long way over the past 50 years or so and there are certainly room for improvements!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Cabin crew wouldn't allow a sleeping passenger to have earphones in this would be checked during the final cabin secure check prior to take off.

Not true

First of all I said earplugs, not earphones

Also I often use my earphones as earplugs (they are Shure in-ear type that block out noise) and as long as you kept the plug end unplugged from your music player/phone and in view on your lap, they had no problem with you continuing to have them in during take off and landing.

Not true

First of all I said earplugs, not earphones

Also I often use my earphones as earplugs (they are Shure in-ear type that block out noise) and as long as you kept the plug end unplugged from your music player/phone and in view on your lap, they had no problem with you continuing to have them in during take off and landing.

Concerning cabin safety procedures I considered earplugs to be the buds you plug into your phone etc not the traditional noise blocking squishy ones!
    RE: leaving them in your ears but unplugged from your device, I wouldn't allow it as per my airlines procedures.

Seriously like have we really come to this? Is it actually that much to ask these days that people cannot follow simple instructions for only few short minutes??

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

relaxed wrote: »
    Have these devices ever caused a problem?

I've often inadvertently left such devices in my cabin bag and not switched them to flight mode.

I am sure plenty of others have done the same.
    There have been documented instances of electronic devices causing interference........on the other hand there have been multiple examples of pax leaving devices on and nothing happening. It seems that the risk is very low......but the rule was there because of the risk.

Regulators haven't just decided to do this overnight.....this subject has been under scrutiny for at least 10 years. (remember not being allowed CD players?) Remember some people not wanting to use mobiles due to the brain radiation?

Rules can change with advances in tech and research. However human nature doesn't change so regardless of what the rule involves you will have the majority who follow the instructions (that they themselves have voluntarily agreed to by buying the ticket). And you have the other group who protest at being told what to do, believe they know better than anyone else so deliberately ignore the rule out of petulance. (again even though they agreed to the T&C's of the airline)

Concerning cabin safety procedures I considered earplugs to be the buds you plug into your phone etc not the traditional noise blocking squishy ones!
    RE: leaving them in your ears but unplugged from your device, I wouldn't allow it as per my airlines procedures.

Earplugs are earplugs, they have always been allowed during take off and landing (I'm not talking about the safety briefing here).

I've never once been asked to remove my "unplugged" in-ear earphones.

The point is listening to music during take off and landing is no different then what has always been there (earplugs).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Tenger wrote: »
    There have been documented instances of electronic devices causing interference

Many of which are of correlation rather than causation in type. "something went weird, someone had a mobile phone/laptop powered on" back when those were rare and mystical devices that most people had barely seen let alone owned.

Earplugs are earplugs, they have always been allowed during take off and landing (I'm not talking about the safety briefing here).

I've never once been asked to remove my "unplugged" in-ear earphones.

The point is listening to music during take off and landing is no different then what has always been there (earplugs).

Yes correct listening to music etc is not allowed and shouldn't be regardless of changing rules! Unless you are plugged into the aircraft's built in entertainment system, some airlines allow this!
    You may have in the past been allowed to leave your ear-phones on unplugged but I wouldnt allow you :D

Yes correct listening to music etc is not allowed and shouldn't be regardless of changing rules! Unless you are plugged into the aircraft's built in entertainment system, some airlines allow this!
    You may have in the past been allowed to leave your ear-phones on unplugged but I wouldnt allow you :D

Well though, the rules have now changed and I'll happily listen to my music during take off and landing now :P

Nope I'm pretty sure the headphones rule will still apply ,although my airline have not addressed the issue yet so I'm not 100% clear on it! The only change is that instead of turning your phone off you just switch it to flight mode and you are also allowed to leave other devices on for all stages of flight whereas before it was above 10,000 ft ! Not much has changed really and policy will vary airline to airline, but all of this is besides the point as to why you insist on decreasing your own situational awareness by insisting on listening to music ! Aw well some people just know it all don't they!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

Nope I'm pretty sure the headphones rule will still apply ,although my airline have not addressed the issue yet so I'm not 100% clear on it! The only change is that instead of turning your phone off you just switch it to flight mode and you are also allowed to leave other devices on for all stages of flight whereas before it was above 10,000 ft ! Not much has changed really and policy will vary airline to airline, but all of this is besides the point as to why you insist on decreasing your own situational awareness by insisting on listening to music ! Aw well some people just know it all don't they!

You can now have earphones in your ear and listen to music at all times except during the safety demo. These are the rules EASA agreed to and now brought in by Ryanair.

IngazZagni wrote: »
    You can now have earphones in your ear and listen to music at all times except during the safety demo. These are the rules EASA agreed to and now brought in by Ryanair.
    Thanks for the clarity I'm surprised by the move but if that's the new rule so be it! But as I mentioned varying airlines will take from the new regulations what they want to add into their new policy, I think listening to music during critical stages of flight is a bad idea for obvious reasons!

Obviously the EASA doesn't and I'll take their opinion (and the FAA) over anyone elses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Seriously like have we really come to this? Is it actually that much to ask these days that people cannot follow simple instructions for only few short minutes??

come to what? If you've heard one safety demo you've heard them all. I don't think it's unreasonable to say most people ignore them completely.
    About time some of these nonsense rule are rolled back upon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭cuilteanna

come to what? If you've heard one safety demo you've heard them all. I don't think it's unreasonable to say most people ignore them completely.

Regular travelers can recite it from memory.

In-flight wifi was the first big improvement, now I'm hoping for my next trip these new rules will apply too! My OH was on a business trip to NY once where someone put the headphones on, seat back/footrest up and closed the window blinds as soon as the cabin crew had taken their seats.

Obviously the EASA doesn't and I'll take their opinion (and the FAA) over anyone elses.
    Thats absolutely fine just remember EASA aren't God, and they dont know everything, there are many nonsense rules they have (Like the one the just revoked) after years and many areas they have no rules or regulation for at all where there should be. They generally only regulate about the important stuff after a fatality unfortunately.
    Typical know it all attitude , you are wrong every aircraft type has different procedures and layout and out of decency if nothing else you should turn your attention for the short few moments, it wont kill you and you never know when you might regret not doing so!
    cuilteanna wrote: »
    Regular travelers can recite it from memory.

In-flight wifi was the first big improvement, now I'm hoping for my next trip these new rules will apply too! My OH was on a business trip to NY once where someone put the headphones on, seat back/footrest up and closed the window blinds as soon as the cabin crew had taken their seats.

Yes you are right, regular travelers can recite it, but everyone is not a regular traveler aand the vast majority haven't a bulls notion where their nearest exit it!
    Yes in-flight Wi-Fi is fantastic and these new rules are for the most part a really positive move, what your OH witnessed does happen, It shouldn't and it is something we look out for, the sad thing is that the person who reclines their seat at that stage is ruining the chances of the person behind saving themselves by adopting the brace position correctly, an incredibly selfish thing to do.
    And if people think they are defying the rules just to stick it to the cabin crew, let me tell you the last laugh is on you, while you are seated with your window blind closed, ear phones in, seat pushed back and carry-on pulled out onto the aisle/ seat beside you, the cabin crew will be safely strapped into their 4 point harness jump-seats, fully aware of whats going on and ready to react.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Lustrum

IngazZagni wrote: »

On my Ryanair flight last night I was asked to take my headphones off once the seatbelt sign came on for the descent - crew said airplane mode is fine and ped can be on but no headphones. Not sure if they're all implementing this (as in all Ryanair cabin crew), but have to say I agree with it. Particularly with noise cancellation headphones, you wouldn't have a clue what's going on around you

Lustrum wrote: »
    On my Ryanair flight last night I was asked to take my headphones off once the seatbelt sign came on for the descent - crew said airplane mode is fine and ped can be on but no headphones. Not sure if they're all implementing this (as in all Ryanair cabin crew), but have to say I agree with it. Particularly with noise cancellation headphones, you wouldn't have a clue what's going on around you

Yip thought that would be the new procedure ! As I tryed to argue above! Situational awareness and safety comes before convenience and that's the way it should be! No compromise on safety EVER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Fagashlil

"PED's that meet the weight restrictions can be used at all times except when deemed necessary by the Aircraft Commander. Headphones must be removed during the Safety Demonstration"

Direct quote from the latest crew memo RE PED's, I would post the whole memo, but pretty sure I'm not allowed. This memo was issued only 5 days ago, so prehaps Lustrum was on a flight before this date??

So yes, headphones are permitted during take off and landing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

Yip thought that would be the new procedure ! As I tryed to argue above! Situational awareness and safety comes before convenience and that's the way it should be! No compromise on safety EVER

http://ad.easa.europa.eu/blob/SIB_201321_Use_of_PED_during_Commercial_Aircraft_OPS.pdf/SIB_2013-21_1

There's the new rules. It really doesn't make it clear whether headphones are allowed or not during landing. It only states that airlines should make sure the pax are not distracted during the safety demo. So airlines can decide how much of these new rules they want to implement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Typical know it all attitude , you are wrong every aircraft type has different procedures and layout and out of decency if nothing else you should turn your attention for the short few moments, it wont kill you and you never know when you might regret not doing so!

oh don't be so over dramatic ffs.
    I never claimed to 'know it all', just a realistic view of what actually happens in the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Lustrum

Fagashlil wrote: »
    "....This memo was issued only 5 days ago, so prehaps Lustrum was on a flight before this date??

So yes, headphones are permitted during take off and landing.

I was on FR8363 last night (12FEB) from STN-SVQ. As I said, I don't know if they are all implementing this procedure but the crew yesterday were fairly adamant that everyone had headphones off once the seatbelt sign came on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

they need to charge 10 euro for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭cuilteanna

Yes you are right, regular travelers can recite it, but everyone is not a regular traveler aand the vast majority haven't a bulls notion where their nearest exit it!

True, I sometimes forget how people can be. Even the Economist article on flight announcements mentioned that knowing the nearest exit is one you really should pay attention to. But I know that from what row I'm in and what aircraft I'm on. I can tell the cabin crew at the door what way to get to my seat.
    Yes in-flight Wi-Fi is fantastic and these new rules are for the most part a really positive move, what your OH witnessed does happen, It shouldn't and it is something we look out for, the sad thing is that the person who reclines their seat at that stage is ruining the chances of the person behind saving themselves by adopting the brace position correctly, an incredibly selfish thing to do.
    And if people think they are defying the rules just to stick it to the cabin crew, let me tell you the last laugh is on you, while you are seated with your window blind closed, ear phones in, seat pushed back and carry-on pulled out onto the aisle/ seat beside you, the cabin crew will be safely strapped into their 4 point harness jump-seats, fully aware of whats going on and ready to react.

They were in business class where apparently there is some kind of a shell thing that the seat reclines into, so not putting the passenger behind at extra risk as far as I know. Still something I can't imagine doing for the sake of 15 minutes or so!

Other than occasionally not paying much attention to the safety video (when you do as many trips a year as I do you really do know it by heart) I always follow the rules. It constantly amazes me how many people decide the toilets are necessary just AFTER the seatbelt sign is put on! Wearing headphones during takeoff and landing isn't something I ever intended doing anyway, being able to keep reading on my iPad / Kindle is what I look forward to.

oh don't be so over dramatic ffs.
    I never claimed to 'know it all', just a realistic view of what actually happens in the real world.

I'm not being over dramatic at all, the rules onboard aircraft aren't founded on on nothing, there is a reason behind them and you have to admit what your saying does come across as ignorant! All I'm saying is have a little respect for the regulations that are designed around your safety, sometimes things are inconvenient to us but we just have to get over it and get on with it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭fatboypee

I had the same issue last night on FR1182. Having had experience the week before when told to turn off my tablet as "only phones with flight mode are allowed" , even after i pointed out flight mode on my tablet, I screen snapped the actual page to show the attendant who told me to remove my earphones.
    The website CLEARLY states that use of IPOD and MP3s are allowed throughout the whole flight which in my understanding is the primary use of headphones.

I dont care either way as long as I know the rules but WTF, the attitude on the attendant was ridiculous..

I may point out I used the headphones ONLY after the safety briefing had completed and we were taxi-ing out to the runway.

FBP

fatboypee wrote: »
    I had the same issue last night on FR1182. Having had experience the week before when told to turn off my tablet as "only phones with flight mode are allowed" , even after i pointed out flight mode on my tablet, I screen snapped the actual page to show the attendant who told me to remove my earphones.
    The website CLEARLY states that use of IPOD and MP3s are allowed throughout the whole flight which in my understanding is the primary use of headphones.

I dont care either way as long as I know the rules but WTF, the attitude on the attendant was ridiculous..

I may point out I used the headphones ONLY after the safety briefing had completed and we were taxi-ing out to the runway.

FBP

The reaction of the cabin crew member you dealt with is not at all surprising as allowing headphones during the critical stages of flight makes ZERO sense to cabin crew and goes against everything they would have been taught during initial training