Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have a subsidised canteen ?

• 06-02-2014 11:37am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭finix

How much is stuff now ? When I worked in Intel a few years ago you could get a soup and a main course for under 3 euro. Tea/coffee was free.
    Where I am now is just tea/coffee. We used to get club milks until somebody started emptying the box of 36 within minutes, so Club milks are gone. We have a fridge and microwave, That's it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭silly

lucky to have a kitchen. Have a very small kitchen - 3 would be a crowd in it. fridge, kettle, toaster, microwave. Prob better off though, as now I have to bring in my lunch as apposed to spending loads buying it each day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

At Intel, back in the mid-nineties, a full meal with dessert was £3.50 IIRC. I worked in three different places with full subsidised canteens between 1994 and 2006. Then I moved to a place about a ten-minute blast from home, so now I go home for lunch nearly every day.

finix wrote: »
    We used to get club milks until somebody started emptying the box of 36 within minutes,

That's pretty sh!t :(
    We get free fruit and they put up a sign saying please just take one piece until lunchtime and think of your colleagues. Worked a treat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

bluewolf wrote: »
    ...take one piece until lunchtime and think of your colleagues...

Around here, that works better with fruitcake! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

We have a fridge, toaster and microwave. Tea, coffee and milk supplied.

An odd time we might get some biscuits but mostly we take turns bring some in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

Yes we used to have one but "cut backs " prevailed n now its closed with staff of 300+ its a balls as the local shop makin a fortune n u see no one anymore n its stressfull puttin in a 13 hr day and not leaving building if u go into staff room to eat from ur lunch box !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Used to have, but it's been done away with. :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Nope and the feckers have this thing on Mondays where they don't do chips as part of some "Healthy food policy". But offer no proper substitutes for'em. Great so it is, instead of getting the only cheap and reasonable option on their menu I've to get some other overpriced half sized crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I don't even have a canteen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

No, just a kitchen with a cooker,microwave, toaster and fridge. There's no shops nearby either so everyone just brings in their lunch.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭finix

silly wrote: »
    lucky to have a kitchen.
    Cant stop laughing as your first line reminded me of this !:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yes

Yeh but the prices are all over the gaf.

You can get a meal for €2.90. They might Spaghetti Bolognese with garlic bread. Or Turkey and Ham with Mashed potatoes (then you pay extra for your veg). Burgers and chips €2.90. Curry, rice, and naan bread €2.90. All great value.

But then sandwiches are weird, it's €2.60 (and increases with fillings I think) and if you get it toasted it's no extra. BUT if you get a roll it's €2.90 and if you want that toasted suddenly it's a "pannini" and costs €4.50!! Soup is a euro but is thickened with rice or potato usually so it's not very nice. Tea is 10cent.

Brekkie is super cheap too you could have a full fry for around €2!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

We have a "subsidised" canteen. A slice of white catering pan is 22c. Butter is extra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Yep I do, it's very good but I don't use it now as even €4 a day is a bit expensive over a month - that's €90 I could use to buy the girlfriend a present or a badly needed pair of shoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

No subsidised canteen, just a kitchen with a few microwaves.

We get free coffee (nice coffee machine), / tea, fruit and bread which is enough for me tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Nope, we do have a kitchen with fridges, microwaves and toasters though and get free tea, coffee and soft drinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

We have a kitchen with a fridge, microwaves and water fountain with free tea coffee and milk which I'm happy enough with :) last place I worked had nothing

You can get a meal for €2.90. They might Spaghetti Bolognese with garlic bread. Or Turkey and Ham with Mashed potatoes (then you pay extra for your veg). Burgers and chips €2.90. Curry, rice, and naan bread €2.90. All great value.

But then sandwiches are weird, it's €2.60 (and increases with fillings I think) and if you get it toasted it's no extra. BUT if you get a roll it's €2.90 and if you want that toasted suddenly it's a "pannini" and costs €4.50!! Soup is a euro but is thickened with rice or potato usually so it's not very nice. Tea is 10cent.

This is basically what we have.

My breakfast is the same thing every day but I get charged differently depending on what cashier I go to which is odd. Anywhere between €2:50 and tree fiddy (seriously).

Dinners are OK depending on what it is. Turkey, beef, lamb etc is usually nice but I wouldn't touch the curry or any other attempt at Asian cuisine (stool softener) unless I felt like spending the rest of the day in the jacks.

Oh, our tea and coffee is free though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Nope and the feckers have this thing on Mondays where they don't do chips as part of some "Healthy food policy". But offer no proper substitutes for'em. Great so it is, instead of getting the only cheap and reasonable option on their menu I've to get some other overpriced half sized crap.

What do you consider a "proper substitute" for chips? You really eat chips with your lunch every day that they are available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

We have a kettle, a fridge and a sink. We have to pay for everything including tea or coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I work in a hotel, staff are given one meal per shift, normally the chefs will pick one or two dishes to do as staff meal.
    Managers can eat whatever they want, when ever they want. I was skinny when I started working here, you'd never guess it:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

We have a good restaurant, €3.50 gets you a main meal and there's always traditional, wok, or veggie.

Tea and coffee are free or its €1.50 for a barrista made coffee.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

i think we share offices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

4 Years in Hewlett Packard. Some nice meal on day shift. Food on night was terrible. Think meal were priced between about €2.80-€4.50. Free tea and coffee. Remember there was talk of taxing subsidised canteens. Left there about 2005. Usually brought my own lunch in anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,037 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

No canteen here so to speak but we have a nice coffee machine and tea is free too. We also have lots of soft drinks, cordial, crisps, chocolate and fruit. Oh and we have free spring water too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Last two places I've been in have had canteens.

- Breakfast would typically come in less than a euro (porridge is about 40c, think eggs are about 30c a pop, you can get a full fry for less than €1.50 a day if you want to push the belt to the limits).
    - Lunch would cost about €1.35 for a roast / chicken breast / lasagne sort of thing and veg / spuds / salad.

If you go off the tracks it'll get more expensive, the food can be poor at times, but it's certainly more welcome than shelling out over a fiver every day on a centra roll or having to plan ahead on bringing lunch in. Plus work wins too, we only get half an hour for lunch but you're eating on site, so it's plenty of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭mrmorgan

we have a canteen, but the food is awful, 4.50 a dinner!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,424 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

My working location is off the beaten track, so we get fed every working day, basically 5* food, lobster, steak, lamb, with cheese plates, sandwiches, rolls, cakes, chocolates, nuts, fruit, red bull, sodas, tea coffee...... all for free, only downside is that i have to do biannual medicals with a limiting BMI :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Breakfast, fruit, biscuits, coffee, tea free. Tis grand not having to worry about breakfast and have my crunchy nut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Subsidised, no.
    Free, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

we've got no food.... pints and most spirits cost only 3 euro though, with free drinks from time to time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭Markcheese

smurfjed wrote: »
    My working location is off the beaten track, so we get fed every working day, basically 5* food, lobster, steak, lamb, with cheese plates, sandwiches, rolls, cakes, chocolates, nuts, fruit, red bull, sodas, tea coffee...... all for free, only downside is that i have to do biannual medicals with a limiting BMI :)

Where are you working ?? Do they have a gym...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Worked in a hotel where at lunch you just went into the kitchen and they had a buffet style area for employees. Grab a plate and eat away. Think the place I will be working has a subsidised canteen but no idea what its like. Another place I was going to apply to offers a free 3 course lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bop1977

Free tea and coffee, a microwave and a George Forman grill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

finix wrote: »
    How much is stuff now ? When I worked in Intel a few years ago you could get a soup and a main course for under 3 euro. Tea/coffee was free.
    Where I am now is just tea/coffee. We used to get club milks until somebody started emptying the box of 36 within minutes, so Club milks are gone. We have a fridge and microwave, That's it !

Was it Yanni who stole the club milks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Yes. Fully subsidised coffee, tea, drinks, snacks, breakfast, and lunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Free tea and coffee. Free fruit on fridays.
    Canteen prices are about 4.90 for a full proper meal or 2.50 ish for a sambo or roll or toastie. Not great but still glad to have it. They always have yummy deserts for 90c. Crumble and custard today......yum!