Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Memories'

• 02-02-2014 10:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭

Have any of you any memories that nobody else can verify?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The night I shagged Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio. No one else can verify it, not even Mary E herself, but by golly, did I ever give her one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭rwg

I can't remember

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

sopretty wrote: »

You first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Why do I feel like the NSA are gonna read this thread (aside from me posting in it)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    You first.

I've already prematurely ejaculated mine Ruu. Pandora is out of her tree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

Sorry - it's my daughter. She spends half her time telling me about her dreams and then half her time (apart from being normal in between times) telling me about these imaginary things that happened when she was young. Her latest memory is that she used up all my olive oil and rice crispies and poured them into a bowl and that I was really annoyed and had to buy new olive oil and cereal. Honestly, I would 99.99% swear such a thing never happened. I would remember lol. I just think she is mistaking dreams for memories somehow?? She frequently wants to tell me about her current dreams and I'm a bit guilty of sort of brushing it off as 'just a dream'. Her chat can frequently be about dreams........? I'm lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...yep, thank the jaysus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Dont think so, but thread title gives me enough reason to post this classic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

I saw an annoying Irish speaker doing lines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭lucky333

Sorry - it's my daughter. She spends half her time telling me about her dreams and then half her time (apart from being normal in between times) telling me about these imaginary things that happened when she was young. Her latest memory is that she used up all my olive oil and rice crispies and poured them into a bowl and that I was really annoyed and had to buy new olive oil and cereal. Honestly, I would 99.99% swear such a thing never happened. I would remember lol. I just think she is mistaking dreams for memories somehow?? She frequently wants to tell me about her current dreams and I'm a bit guilty of sort of brushing it off as 'just a dream'. Her chat can frequently be about dreams........? I'm lost.

She probly is mixing up her dreams with reality. I done this alot when I was a child,. I somtimes still do.. Sometimes I could have a dream that my OH done something that p!ssed me off, the next day I'd be in bad form and giving out an all, OH asks why and I said because you done (whatever...) and he's like 'eh no I didn't' .. Then I remember it was a dream.... Happins alot actually

Lucky - it sounds like exactly what she's doing. How the hell do you get her to stop doing it or at least to believe you that it's a dream?

Without showing my age!! I'm middle age and still doing it. It's because her dreams are so vivid, like mine, they are sooo real, it's like creating your own movie,. Just explain to her what a dream is, it's like watching a movie, but it's not real- just like the movies... She will be able to tell the diffrence but not all the time. As I said I'm still doing it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I was once beamed up into a spaceship and probed all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

When I pay for my round at the bar, no one ever remembers, "it must be your round" feck off would ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

I can't remember the question.........what is it again ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

biko wrote: »

That's just the way everyone feels after a night in Coppers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I fell in a forest once, but I don't think anyone heard me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭lost in cork

When i was 15 my mates mum staring at me smiling in her bedroom doorway stark naked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

But this is on several independent blogs, your linked in, your profile and 50 million views on youtube.

Re-read the op - stuff that nobody else can verify;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

I think they call that 'wishful thinking' ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

So was I, and divil the bit o' harm it done me :cool:

Just watched that documentary - fascinating stuff! I think my daughter though is remembering dreams and not being able to distinguish what is a memory and what is the memory of a dream. Not sure if I should be worried about that? Maybe she has very vivid dreams or something. Don't even know who I would approach to ask about this - doubt a GP would know whether it's 'normal'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I don't even know if half of the stories I tell are true anymore. I think I've embellished them so much down the line that in reality, nothing has ever happened to me ever and I was born about a year ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Get her to study this carefully OP:

Diagram

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

There was a documentary about two priests a few years back and one of them was suffering from the same thing. They used a diagram to overcome it...you should check it out.

Dolbert wrote: »
    Get her to study this carefully OP:

Diagram

Lol, I was actually thinking of that diagram when I wrote my initial post.

Yeah I get a lot of that actually (diagram) lol
    She just has a great imagination, dreams are so vivid they appear real to the mind. Some of greatest ppl in the world (inventors, painters, scientist) had the same thing, a really great imagination and most all got there ideas while having these types of dreams.. I wouldn't worry about it, just keep telling her when something was a dream or not and she will start to know herself..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

my granddad's dog used to get the paper from the shop around the corner for him.
    He'd put the money in a purse around the dogs neck.

I was a young child at the time -but nobody remembers it and my granddad has passed away so he can't back me up :(

lucky dog used to go for pints with my granddad too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The binman jumping into the bin trucks grinder. No one else remembers, but it did happen.