Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 Bitches!! will they fight?

• 31-01-2014 10:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭

Got a new dog last week. Shes a English pointer she gets on well with my 2 Boxer bitches. I have them in separate pins. my question is would 2 gang up on the 1 if im not there or am i safer to keep them separate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

Martin1979 wrote: »
    Got a new dog last week. Shes a English pointer she gets on well with my 2 Boxer bitches. I have them in separate pins. my question is would 2 gang up on the 1 if im not there or am i safer to keep them separate?
    Have they been together yet. And what age are they. There is a pecking order in dog's and when they sort this out all should be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Martin1979

two boxers are 7yrs and the pointer is 14 months, I have them together for a cupple of hours every evening when im around and half hour in the am. They do seem fine but some guy down the rd told me they would gang up on the weaker one(pointer) and I dont want anything to happen to her whatever happens!

Of the two boxers one of those is prob the dominant one so the other will try to be dominant over the pointer. A growl or a snap is usually all it will take and as the pointer is still young she will submit. I have 6 bitcher and no trouble between them.

ya 1 is the boss alright! If u got 6 then I got feck all ta worry bout. There was a cupple a snaps rite enough but not as bad as I thought. Cheers for that!

No prob. Just one more thing don't feed them together for now.

Good idea!!! while I have ya, does the pointer still need a really good working dog food in the off season? or would something lesser do her?

Normally i would say feed something with less protien as when not working they don't burn it off. But as you'r pointer is still growing keep her on it as long as she look ok.she is still growing in stature and needs good food. u also could give her a pound of mines or a tin of tuna and a raw egg once a week. now back to putting the dog's together. tomorrow eve would be good. if u go out about half hour before dark just let them be together with u. then when it dark put them in the pen to gether. they will settle better a night and all wake up to gether. hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Knowing the breeding in them pointers , she will test the water a few times to see if she can rule the roost , at such a young age tho she will probably settle in to her place ,

Feeding time is when u need to seperate them tho . And keep the feeding up , u get out what you put in .

And I'm still waiting for a pic bud !!

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Knowing the breeding in them pointers , she will test the water a few times to see if she can rule the roost , at such a young age tho she will probably settle in to her place ,

Feeding time is when u need to seperate them tho . And keep the feeding up , u get out what you put in .

And I'm still waiting for a pic bud !!

Some reason I cant upload pics. Pm me ur email or if u got watsapp il forward. Got 2 short videos as well

Pm on the way il up load them for ya

image_zpscda6f446.jpg

image_zpsb4bb13de.jpg

image_zpsb05d1dc6.jpg

image_zps8c1889fe.jpg

image_zps5a106d71.jpg

image_zps641a41d9.jpg

image_zpscda6f446.jpg

image_zpsb4bb13de.jpg

image_zpsb05d1dc6.jpg

image_zps8c1889fe.jpg

image_zps5a106d71.jpg

image_zps641a41d9.jpg

Nice 1!

beautiful bitch and i wish you the best of luck and many years hunting with her.

Thanks triggerpl if it wasn't for u I wouldn't have found her. She's trained well very obedient and friendly but when she's working she just concentrating on that!

Mate I wouldn't recommend the man unless I knew you'd be looked after , probably has some of the best pointer lines in the country .

And if you decide to breed her make sure and go back to him he'll know exactly what dog to mate her too .

Nice 1!

She's a fine looking dog. Hope she has a great hunting life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Theres a saying 'kennel three kill one'
    Id never house three dogs together all it takes is a bit of a fight when youre not there between two of them and the other one joins in and picks a side
    If its two dogs scrapping generally one will submit and the other will be happy with that but when theres another dog there normally they will kill one of the others
    If you have the room id leave them where they are

Theres a saying 'kennel three kill one'
    Id never house three dogs together all it takes is a bit of a fight when youre not there between two of them and the other one joins in and picks a side
    If its two dogs scrapping generally one will submit and the other will be happy with that but when theres another dog there normally they will kill one of the others
    If you have the room id leave them where they are

I have had gun dog's for 35 year's and in all that time can say.That i have never had a promlem with 3 4 5 or 6 dogs penned together. I have come across dogs that would fight any dog they come across even when hunting or out for a walk with there owner. so if u want a happy dog house stay clear from a dog that show's aggression to other dog's and even more importantly to people.

Dogs all fine lads! Last night and all day today!

good to know. :)

snipe49 wrote: »
    good to know. :)

:-))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭martin s

DONT DO IT! everything will no doubt be fine for a while, maybe even months, but sooner or later you will get a call to get home asap as there is bedlam in the pen! it happened to me and it was a f%%%% disaster, I ended up having to put one of the dogs down and then convince me missus it would never happen again as she was balling hysterically when she rang me and I could hear the yelping in the background:( 3 bitches wont work, :(:(:(

martin s wrote: »
    DONT DO IT! everything will no doubt be fine for a while, maybe even months, but sooner or later you will get a call to get home asap as there is bedlam in the pen! it happened to me and it was a f%%%% disaster, I ended up having to put one of the dogs down and then convince me missus it would never happen again as she was balling hysterically when she rang me and I could hear the yelping in the background:( 3 bitches wont work, :(:(:(
    sorry to hear that. What breed were they. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

what breed where they i never heard of gundogs doing it.most gundogs are bread for none vicious nature.iv been around dogs all my life and never seen that happen.even with 4 bitches 2 staffys and 2 boxers.seen them have the odd scuffle that was it.i seen online before the losing dog getting attacked by all the rest of the dogs.but they were pitbulls.sorry to here that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭irish setter

I wouldn't pen bitches together because if they do fight they will kill. When they are on heat is a dangerous time but can happen out of the blue. Chances are they would be grand but if they did start you'll lose one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭martin s

snipe49 wrote: »
    sorry to hear that. What breed were they. ?
    lurcher and 2 terriers, the lurcher had to be put down, I know a lot you lads will say ah, I,m not surprised but I wouldn't take a chance on any breed:(
    these dogs were together well over a year without a squabble and then mayhem!