Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lack of second hand tractors

• 30-01-2014 7:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭

Were toying with the idea of changing the loader tractor here. She gave us untold trouble last year and we don't have the time to be messing around with out a tractor
    There us very little around tbh.
    Looked at a 04 jx100u today with a loader 4100hrs. Wanted 27,500 for it :0. Crazy.
    Looked at two zetors yesterday two 9641both 06
    One with 2609hrs 26k for that, knew the place it came from and it had two clutches in it already
    Other had 1600hrs was in good enough nick, 26k for that. Both had Ross more loaders.
    Not keen on a zetor from what I've heard and what work I'll be doing with it.
    Ideally I'd like around 110hp with a loader with lowish hrs.
    But there is very little around would love another case again. Definitely not buying a JD.
    Have seen a cs110 with loader in IFJ, any good? 3600hrs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Were toying with the idea of changing the loader tractor here. She gave us untold trouble last year and we don't have the time to be messing around with out a tractor
    There us very little around tbh.
    Looked at a 04 jx100u today with a loader 4100hrs. Wanted 27,500 for it :0. Crazy.
    Looked at two zetors yesterday two 9641both 06
    One with 2609hrs 26k for that, knew the place it came from and it had two clutches in it already
    Other had 1600hrs was in good enough nick, 26k for that. Both had Ross more loaders.
    Not keen on a zetor from what I've heard and what work I'll be doing with it.
    Ideally I'd like around 110hp with a loader with lowish hrs.
    But there is very little around would love another case again. Definitely not buying a JD.
    Have seen a cs110 with loader in IFJ, any good? 3600hrs?

Was in your position last year
    Searched the country looking at 5-10 yr old tractors
    Most had a lifetimes work done and sellers were not shy to ask for them
    so I went mad and bought a New claas
    Very happy with my decision
    I put it over 7 yrs with dealer finance
    it's costing me the same as a jd with 7k hours and bald tires over 5 yrs and at least I know what I Have
    my advice look for good finance package you are young man you will have comfort for 15 yrs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I'm a bit of a Dondeal junky when it comes to looking at tractors for sale. Ya, you're right, the price of the same second hand (model/year etc) tractors are actually going up in price every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

A mf4255/5455 is a good stock mans tractor. Should pick one up easy enough, try wbd farm machinery they always have good low hour models

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭FarmerBrowne

My opinion would be buy a tractor without a loader and then put one on it yourself, some tractors with loaders get dogs abuse with the amount of stuff they carry over good distances(especially insanely heavy bales of silage from the "summer" of 2012)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

epfff wrote: »
    Was in your position last year
    Searched the country looking at 5-10 yr old tractors
    Most had a lifetimes work done and sellers were not shy to ask for them
    so I went mad and bought a New claas
    Very happy with my decision
    I put it over 7 yrs with dealer finance
    it's costing me the same as a jd with 7k hours and bald tires over 5 yrs and at least I know what I Have
    my advice look for good finance package you are young man you will have comfort for 15 yrs

Father not keen on class. Don't think were in the position to justify buying new we have a lot of stuff to put in the yard.
    We would hope to get maybe 9 maybe 10 at a push for our tractor and maybe spend 14-15 on tractor.
    Its either that orr put 5k into our tractor which is shagged and I don't want to put that money in to it and then next summer when I need her mist she let's me down again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

Go to England better value until people stop dreaming over here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

I think you need to rephrase your post to lack of clean cheap tractors and unfortunately those two words don't go together!

Not keen on another Landini :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Tl 90/100 on a 25k budget would be your best bet, bombproof tractor with very little electrics to play-up,there seems to be lot of these available up the north .

nashmach wrote: »
    I think you need to rephrase your post to lack of clean cheap tractors and unfortunately those two words don't go together!

Not keen on another Landini :confused:

Not really tbh but if needs be I'll have to I suppose.
    If I could get a good tractor that would last us five yrs (it will end staying longer) with very little trouble I'd be happy.
    I lost 2 weeks in the autumn because if the tractor we have now.

I'm keen on that cs I have spotted but was told today by a good mechanic that they are trouble some??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Father not keen on class. Don't think were in the position to justify buying new we have a lot of stuff to put in the yard.
    We would hope to get maybe 9 maybe 10 at a push for our tractor and maybe spend 14-15 on tractor.
    Its either that orr put 5k into our tractor which is shagged and I don't want to put that money in to it and then next summer when I need her mist she let's me down again

what have you now? and what will you asking it to do?

uncle has been looking for one too for a few years and eventually took the plug and got himself an 07 tl100a last summer, 4wd with a loader about 2k on the clock. delighted with it. wasn't too happy to splash out close on 30k but having looked at what he would have got for his 20k budjet reckons th extra 10k got him better value. have to agree and while i am on the look out for an upgrade myself haven't seen too many in my budjet that haven't been dogged completely.

having looked at plenty over the last while i wouldn't look further then a case or NH IMO.

saw some of the claas yokes over the last few years, depending what model it is it could be based on a another make like JD. neighbours bought one a few years ago but the engine blew so it was replaced last year. anyway best of luck with the new one.

Not really tbh but if needs be I'll have to I suppose.
    If I could get a good tractor that would last us five yrs (it will end staying longer) with very little trouble I'd be happy.
    I lost 2 weeks in the autumn because if the tractor we have now.

I'm keen on that cs I have spotted but was told today by a good mechanic that they are trouble some??

Your better off with an mx100 or a 4240

yellow50HX wrote: »
    what have you now? and what will you asking it to do?

uncle has been looking for one too for a few years and eventually took the plug and got himself an 07 tl100a last summer, 4wd with a loader about 2k on the clock. delighted with it. wasn't too happy to splash out close on 30k but having looked at what he would have got for his 20k budjet reckons th extra 10k got him better value. have to agree and while i am on the look out for an upgrade myself haven't seen too many in my budjet that haven't been dogged completely.

having looked at plenty over the last while i wouldn't look further then a case or NH IMO.

saw some of the claas yokes over the last few years, depending what model it is it could be based on a another make like JD. neighbours bought one a few years ago but the engine blew so it was replaced last year. anyway best of luck with the new one.

Have a case 4240 pro with a loader on her.
    She's not able for anything now but she used to mow bale wrap and draw silage. I'd be looking for another tractor to do the same. We will be doing 1500-1600 bales of silage this year so can't be mucking around. And I'll be driving to out ground everyday so 40k box would be handy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Same problem here, well the only reason I'm considering changing our tractor (05 landini) is the clutch and shuttle are both just too heavy, and my dad isn't getting any younger. I priced around afew different places, and by far the keenest price was to trade it in for a brand new landini with a loader, however I'd still have to give 20k, and my dad doesn't want to go that far (despite him being the one who will benefit!)

Timmaay wrote: »
    Same problem here, well the only reason I'm considering changing our tractor (05 landini) is the clutch and shuttle are both just too heavy, and my dad isn't getting any younger. I priced around afew different places, and by far the keenest price was to trade it in for a brand new landini with a loader, however I'd still have to give 20k, and my dad doesn't want to go that far (despite him being the one who will benefit!)

get a second hand digger to do the loader work and keep the tractor. thats what i did and for the same reasons. ol lad has farmers knee and it was causing him a lot of discomfort (me too as well as i hurt the knee playing football when i was younger) from the heavy clutching. he though i was mad at 1st but is delighted with it makes a huge difference .

Have a case 4240 pro with a loader on her.
    She's not able for anything now but she used to mow bale wrap and draw silage. I'd be looking for another tractor to do the same. We will be doing 1500-1600 bales of silage this year so can't be mucking around. And I'll be driving to out ground everyday so 40k box would be handy

TS110 or 115 for a bit more weight. TL/JXU for a more nimble machine. looked at a CS myself a few years ago and like you was cutting to a case man and didn't think they are half as good as the ford and fiat versions

Father reckoned the jxu we saw today was to small. No weight in her for bales.
    Friend had a cs 94 and the only way he got to the end of her was when she burnt to the ground. He gave it dogs abuse though

Father reckoned the jxu we saw today was to small. No weight in her for bales.
    Friend had a cs 94 and the only way he got to the end of her was when she burnt to the ground. He gave it dogs abuse though

from what your saying the jxu/tl would be a bit on the light side so the ts would probably be better alright. had a ts115 on trial a few months ago and was pleasantly surprised how nimble it is while still having a fair bit of grunt, they have a 6 pot engine but have a short foot print

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

get a second hand digger to do the loader work and keep the tractor. thats what i did and for the same reasons. ol lad has farmers knee and it was causing him a lot of discomfort (me too as well as i hurt the knee playing football when i was younger) from the heavy clutching. he though i was mad at 1st but is delighted with it makes a huge difference .

Yeh a digger would be very handy here, well a backhoe is going to be a compromise, I'd much rather drive a track machine, usually borrow one for a wk or so in the summer and get loads done. The backhoe would definitely need to be easily enough removed, as we have plenty of low sheds, and even at that I'd be weary of my dad driving into the shed if i did have the backhoe on! I've looked around at afew terex 860s on dd, but none for say 12k or so, I'd be slow about going any older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Omniscient

Is it a big job (and expensive?) to register a tractor brought in from the UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VbHJCHX80lI

http://www.independent.ie/business/farming/landini-packs-a-punch-with-little-italian-26604285.html

If you were to go down the Landini road the 5H would be the machine for you id say. Cheaper than most tractors in the horsepower range

Timmaay wrote: »
    Yeh a digger would be very handy here, well a backhoe is going to be a compromise, I'd much rather drive a track machine, usually borrow one for a wk or so in the summer and get loads done. The backhoe would definitely need to be easily enough removed, as we have plenty of low sheds, and even at that I'd be weary of my dad driving into the shed if i did have the backhoe on! I've looked around at afew terex 860s on dd, but none for say 12k or so, I'd be slow about going any older.

yeah same here, but you get used to the arm, that said i have re cut some of the cladding to accommodate it as i used to drop the arm going into the sheds before. have seen a few nice and clean HXS units around the 10-15 mark

from what your saying the jxu/tl would be a bit on the light side so the ts would probably be better alright. had a ts115 on trial a few months ago and was pleasantly surprised how nimble it is while still having a fair bit of grunt, they have a 6 pot engine but have a short foot print

Father doesn't really want to go below 04/05 but I'd say we will have to

http://www.slemishtractors.com/ford_new_holland.htm

add roughly 2k to the price to get them over from england

Reggie. wrote: »

Few drums of green in the boot and bring her back yourself

fergus1001 wrote: »
    Few drums of green in the boot and bring her back yourself
    and the ferry crossing too, be a long drive :D

Don't have time to go over England and look for tractors though

machines over there are as hit and miss as here TBH

slemish are up in antrim

just saying for english machines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

machines over there are as hit and miss as here TBH

Actually I find machines sourced in England/UK are better tHan here, they mind kit better over there and store most stuff in sheds. I know you will find rough stuff everywhere but in my experience it's been good, we have bought 10-15 bits of kit over the past few years from a combine to plough and potato equipment and there's never been a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Try here www.facebook.com/mcmurray.tractors? for blue,based in lisburn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

slemish are up in antrim

Was there once, nothing too exciting on offer, no warranty and no delivery, bit of a pig of a man imo

micraX wrote: »
    Actually I find machines sourced in England/UK are better tHan here, they mind kit better over there and store most stuff in sheds. I know you will find rough stuff everywhere but in my experience it's been good, we have bought 10-15 bits of kit over the past few years from a combine to plough and potato equipment and there's never been a problem.
    there are a few places to avoid but i cant mention them on here

Would you like to pm me them please :)

simx wrote: »
    Would you like to pm me them please :)
    ill get onto the english relations to send me on the list and ill send them on to ya.

Id also like that list as I'm in the market for a tractor and looking towards England as a source

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Them cs tractors are great tractors but the cs110 left the side down .You should be looking for a 6 cylinder ts 115 , 110-90,late 7840 or else 4 pot tl 100 which is same as jxu 100. Expect to pay up to 20k + loader for good example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Had a jxu 115 last year nice monoverable tractor but way to light had heaps of power but found you couldn't use it , was a base modal with no splitergears so taking of with a load was a problem in hi ratio. Was a bit dangerouswith a bale on the front would often lift the rear end ans she even had the wheels filled with water

Seems to be differing views on the CS on here. A few of them around here as well as in Steyr 9105 clothes and very well regarded.

Well able for a 4f reversible, 3m one pass and large tandem axle trailers.

Bit of weight in the backend too which is good with a loader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

We bought a 2nd hand 3 years ago and I swear I could sell it now for 5 grand more, big demand of 4 wheel drive with loader 100 hp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

nashmach wrote: »
    Seems to be differing views on the CS on here. A few of them around here as well as in Steyr 9105 clothes and very well regarded.

Well able for a 4f reversible, 3m one pass and large tandem axle trailers.

Bit of weight in the backend too which is good with a loader.

Case mx 110 & quicke 970 here, bit thirsty and slightly light on the backend.

Found out my tractor is worth 11k but it needs a few bits done with her.
    The lad that looked at it gave me a list that needs to be done if I keep her.
    Too much travel from the clutch to pressure plate-dont know how to fix that.
    Ball joint connecting track rod end to ram is worn- can do that myself.
    The hubs are worn, he doesn't know if its a dome in it or bearing but it needs doing badly.
    One of the injectors has a bit of a blow out if it.
    Needs a new hyd pump.
    And a full set of tyres.
    Could cost near 4k to do all that if not more

Found out my tractor is worth 11k but it needs a few bits done with her.
    The lad that looked at it gave me a list that needs to be done if I keep her.
    Ball joint connecting track rod end to ram is worn- can do that myself.
    The hubs are worn, he doesn't know if its a dome in it or bearing but it needs doing badly.
    One of the injectors has a bit of a blow out if it.
    Needs a new hyd pump.
    And a full set of tyres.
    Could cost near 4k to do all that if not more

Was that 11k as a trade in - with the hours you say that are on it - you would struggle to get 9.5k for it let alone 11k.

Ye as a trade. We told him we didn't know the hours on her :0 which is true ha

It is probably made up somewhere else in the deal then!

If ye take her doing 1k hrs a yr she has at least 15,000 hrs up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Don't know what make she is but allot of them you can adjust the cable at the pedal or near the gearbox. If hydraulic a simple bleed could help you as a slave or master cylinder may not be pushing out its full length.

Father driving me wild all day saying he is going to buy a tumosan. No way is one of them coming in here