Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3rd clutch in 3 days. Help!! (Non standard car)

• 25-01-2014 11:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭

Hi everyone,

I have an Nissan s14a and I put a Toyota Supra 1jz engine into. The car runs 100% but it burns out a clutch after around 4 hours.

I do 4 hours out on the track and the clutch is gone.

Its a pull type clutch.
    The rod on the cylinder on the box is the right length
    There is no signs of slippage until the clutch is totally gone.

I have adjusted the pedal box also but they still keep going.

Any idea what could be going wrong that it doesnt last.

I was thinking pressure plate is too weak and doesnt pull back the clutch but the pressure plate is made for this engine and box.

Thanks for your help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Sounds like springs in pressure plate aren't up to the job/not enough clamping force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭crossy

Sounds like springs in pressure plate aren't up to the job/not enough clamping force.

Thats what I thought but I have tried two different ones. One was a racing clutch and one is a genuine toyota one.
    So it puzzles me even more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

what type of clutch are you fitting? what brand is it? some of the exedy clutches can be dodgy...but they should defiantely last longer than hours...i take it you are abusing the clutch as well on the track days??

First clutch was an F1 clutch (cheap and cheerful)
    Second clutch was a toyota pressure plate and disc
    Third is one I got made in a clutch place with stronger springs

Also should mention Its a drift car so the clutch does get heaps of abuse but I know lads that have a clutch for over a year

Going to buy an ACT clutch now. Hear they are good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Is there a bleed hole inside the master cylinder ?

( tiny pinhole in the metal cylinder itself )

if it has one and its a bit blocked, as the fluid gets really hot and expands a bit it could hold the clutch slightly open - won't last long then

To suss it out put a T piece on the hydraulic line to the clutch and a pressure gauge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

crossy wrote: »
    Going to buy an ACT clutch now. Hear they are good

I have a friend who races Evo's - he reckons that the hardest job is getting a good clutch that lasts, there's a lot of junk going under big names. I'll ask him what he uses as I know he was eating clutches till he hit on one brand. Fecked if I can remember which.

you may need a twin plate clutch if you are dumping it.... the evos will last 3-4 launches on standard clutch disc. but ive also seen some evos last 3-4 launches on a exedy organic and even some twin plates. you really should get a good quality clutch and i would definitely be looking at a twin plate if you are abusing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Yeah you really need to run a high capacity single plate or twin plate setup, what kind of power are we talking? Much over standard?

Ye I probably need a strong clutch because it gets a lot of dumping.

The car is only running slightly over standard at 320bhp.

My problem is I dont want to put in a good expensive clutch and the same happen that.

A friend drifts an s14 pushing 300bhp and it's running a high capacity single for three events and it is perfect. Also it wasn't new when we put it in!

If the same could be said for sr gearboxes :rolleyes:

I'd say a high capacity single or twin and check it 100% as you put it together!

Do some research first by visiting some supra owners sites.... I don't know a lot about the supra but like I said the evo is known for eating standard and cheap clutches...and I would imagine the supra wouldn't be far behind it especially if you are using the clutch to drift

YbFocus wrote: »
    A friend drifts an s14 pushing 300bhp and it's running a high capacity single for three events and it is perfect. Also it wasn't new when we put it in!

If the same could be said for sr gearboxes :rolleyes:

I'd say a high capacity single or twin and check it 100% as you put it together!

Yeah I might do that.
    Only thing is now . My flywheel is scored. Could I skim the flywheel on it for a new clutch or would that mess everything up?

Do some research first by visiting some supra owners sites.... I don't know a lot about the supra but like I said the evo is known for eating standard and cheap clutches...and I would imagine the supra wouldn't be far behind it especially if you are using the clutch to drift

The main reason with evo's is the 4wd I think, the clutch is in the middle of a battle with the engine and the massive traction it'd have.
    Full throttle launches on them should be banned :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

OP look into OGURA racing clutches. I had one for 2 years did numerous track days and normal driving with it. Never once gave me bother. I sold the car and it was still going well.

The main reason with evo's is the 4wd I think, the clutch is in the middle of a battle with the engine and the massive traction it'd have.
    Full throttle launches on them should be banned :)

Not with a twin plate :cool:

The Silvia would still require a lot of torque to break traction on the rear wheels.

What's the standard figures on the supra 280bhp and how many ftlbs?? Ideally for a drift car I'd imagine you would be better having a massive amount of torque for the rear to break away rather than relying on dumping the clutch to get the arse end out

Not with a twin plate :cool:

The Silvia would still require a lot of torque to break traction on the rear wheels.

What's the standard figures on the supra 280bhp and how many ftlbs?? Ideally for a drift car I'd imagine you would be better having a massive amount of torque for the rear to break away rather than relying on dumping the clutch to get the arse end out

:cool: mmm twin plate

yeah the friend has 300bhp and 296ft/lb, wow what a drivable car!

Good point about the clutch use, if your using the clutch too much it will overheat and burn up :)

Try shift locking and handbrake monstering Crossy :D

:cool: mmm twin plate

yeah the friend has 300bhp and 296ft/lb, wow what a drivable car!

Good point about the clutch use, if your using the clutch too much it will overheat and burn up :)

Try shift locking and handbrake monstering Crossy :D

Oh I am swinging out of the handbrake too. On the highspeed entries I am all over the clutch too though. haha

crossy wrote: »
    Oh I am swinging out of the handbrake too. On the highspeed entries I am all over the clutch too though. haha

Whats the car look like crossy? I'd say I know it :)

It sounds like someone needs more torques for Honda (Or ford as it's known now)

Whats the car look like crossy? I'd say I know it :)

This is the car here
    1005445_10201522006842022_1620363862_n_zpsf6746f38.jpg
    1459201_697497786929243_11357159_n_zpsd9a0f72a.jpg

Can't say I know it in fairness, second pic in the esse's is cool :)

have you had the car on rollers/ do you know what power its putting out?

320 bhp not sure of the torque

might be worth getting a bit of a remap.....320 is only tickling that engine...from what i remember the internals are good for around 500bhp. more torque and proper clutch and she will do what you want easily

Yep the jz series was made for the Japanese touring car series and the internals were the same as the race spec cars.
    Amazing machine that can be pushed so far!

Yeah one of the guys I know has it pushing 550 bhp with no internals touched.:)