Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

In all honesty, which is better - Ireland or England?

• 25-01-2014 2:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭

Taking everything into account, nowhere's perfect, but which is better and by how much of a %? :p

Oh and why?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

About a fraction of a I don't give a **** %

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21 orban103

Ireland's bad but England a kip, housing estate after house estate ye we have Lucan and swords and the blanch but it 60 million of the kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

orban103 wrote: »
    Ireland's bad but England a kip, housing estate after house estate ye we have Lucan and swords and the blanch but it 60 million of the kip

Haha why's Ireland bad may I ask? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Living in the middle of Beirut is going to be better....and safer than this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

In all honesty, your question is pretty pointless. The answer totally depends on the person. England could be paved with gold and I still wouldn't move there- not because I don't like it (I actually love spending time there) but because my home, family and majority of friends are here. Can't put a value on that.

Ireland's bad but England a kip, housing estate after house estate ye we have Lucan and swords and the blanch but they got 60 million. Frank Gallagher's everywhere. All the football riots every wee kip I tell ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Ireland is better by 53% because of our own sense of self satisfaction.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Ireland is better by 53% because of our own sense of self satisfaction.

I've lived in England all my life; the amount of egos is off the scale (not saying everyone but)

We can't have anything outdoors it's just scum ville. Imagine having the love parade here. I mean like the Berlin love parade. Remember Swedish house mafia

A nation of knackers to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,900 ✭✭✭✭ted1

We can't have anything outdoors it's just scum ville. Imagine having the love parade here. I mean like the Berlin love parade. Remember Swedish house mafia

The love parade and the IKEA massif are two totally different events.

That's like comparing Halloween to Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

fr336 wrote: »
    I've lived in England all my life; the amount of egos is off the scale (not saying everyone but)

Ah yes but are they satisfied?

I was at two Berlin love parades you could never do that in the Phoenix park

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Ah yes but are they satisfied?

Fair point; they're the complete opposite of satisfied (yet pretend they are)..hence the ego :p

Most defo nation of scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Most defo nation of scum

That's no way to talk about the Irish.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭Paulie Gualtieri

Most defo nation of scum

Chat to you in two weeks when you get out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Lived in North Shropshire and London - liked both. Like anywhere has it's kips, but some lovely parts as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

A nation of knackers to be honest.

Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Northernrobm

Northern Ireland, the happy medium between the two is better. You can claim to be Irish or British here. Its estate after estate but also our west its field after field. There might not be a love parade but come on folks, its probably the only parade we don't have not to mention two days off for the big one on the 12th July. NI 100% simples

What ever mate, work in financial services and never even been in a garda car,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I was at two Berlin love parades you could never do that in the Phoenix park

Or in England? :confused:

i think you could do it in hyde park defo

I didn't know there was a Berlin in Hyde Park. Carry on.

what are you talking about u said in england, meaning do i think you could have a love parade in england, hyde park is london, Berlin love parade was in tiergarten, dont be twisting my words

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

I've actually heard that a lot! One of my cousins was born and raised in Manchester and he said he'd never return for that very reason. Never been to Manchester so I can't really judge. There was one lad in school who moved from Manchester and he had a big head. But that's only 1 person. :-/

I love Liverpool, would move there in a heartbeat if I got a job. Everyone I met was lovely and I have family over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I didn't know there was a Berlin in Hyde Park. Carry on.

There is, yeah.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Well we should have our answer around 17.45 on the 22nd of next month.
    Personally I think England are still a bridge too far as Ireland are still a team in transition.

However, if we show the same determination we displayed for 79 minutes against the All Blacks and maintain a fully fit squad, I think we can take them. Even in Twickenham.

Opps, sorry.

Were ye talking about cricket ?

what are you talking about u said in england, meaning do i think you could have a love parade in england, hyde park is london, Berlin love parade was in tiergarten, dont be twisting my words

Woah, no need to fly off the handle buddy. We're talking about Love parades, not Lash Out parades.

Peace out, brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

'IRELAND IS DA BEST'

'NO MATE ENGLAND IS DA BEST'

'how will we resolve this?!'

'REPETITION'

you were being cheeky

''I didn't know there was a Berlin in Hyde Park. Carry on''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Hey at least we're both better than Wales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

Thread looks promising. Lots of class on display.

Anyway, I vote for Ireland, don't know about percentages.

The Irish are friendlier and more relaxed, it's noticeable.

Also, a much smaller population counts for a lot, much less pressure on infrastructure and facilities than England, and also contributes to a less stressed vibe around the place. :)

I've nothing against the English, I love some English accents and a lot of English arts and culture, but the country itself is over-crowded, over-developed and over-regulated.

Or I'm just too used to Ireland at this point! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Too very similar countries and (I know this'll be denied) two very similar groups of people as well. I'd say possibly England edges out but only for I'm more anonymous over there. So neither is better/worse really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Southern Ireland and Northern England.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭gufnork

Ireland was better than England when I first came here. Then they started to screw me over with housing charges and USC charges, and as if that wasn't bad enough they then threaten to inflict water rates on me too. Not much to choose between them now at all, at least from a financial perspective.

Course I did take your jobs... And your women... Well 'one woman' if truth be told.

Anyway, we'll always have Essex! So England wins!

• Site Banned Posts: 6 DJumbo brekfast troll

ted1 wrote: »
    The love parade and the IKEA massif are two totally different events.
    we did have a Love (ulster) Parade...
    That's like comparing Halloween to Christmas
    why do mathematicians get Halloween and Christmas mixed up?

because 31 OCT = 25 DEC

maguic24 wrote: »
    I've actually heard that a lot! One of my cousins was born and raised in Manchester and he said he'd never return for that very reason. Never been to Manchester so I can't really judge. There was one lad in school who moved from Manchester and he had a big head. But that's only 1 person. :-/

I love Liverpool, would move there in a heartbeat if I got a job. Everyone I met was lovely and I have family over there.

An unfair comment by me really as there are plenty of stupid and arrogant people the world over. It just gets a bit much when you live in a ****hole as I do where the stupid and arrogant factor is off the scale :pac: My own fault for still being here (the town, not England as a whole - great place in many ways) :cool:

gufnork wrote: »

Anyway, we'll always have Essex! So England wins!

Noone likes a comedian ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Spend a week in Nottingham and no city / town in Ireland would ever depress you again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Hard to say really, obviously being Irish my heart lies here but neither is better. Both have positives and negatives.

lukesmom wrote: »
    Hard to say really, obviously being Irish my heart lies here but neither is better. Both have positives and negatives.

What would yours be? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

iDave wrote: »
    Hey at least we're both better than Wales

Hey! Scotland, Wales and Ireland are supposed to stick together. I personally, think Wales is beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

What would yours be? :D

Ireland scumbags, junkies, murder, thiefs, gangs

England scumbags, junkies, murder, thiefs, gangs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

In all honesty, which is better - Ireland or England?

For me.....

From a career/professional perspective - England.

From a quality of life perspective - Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Just about everything in england is technically better on paper. They have better roads, better services, polite people and any hobby you could think of is catered for.

I couldn't live there though, I'm too accustomed to the madness that is Ireland, I hate that you could travel 500 miles in the UK and walk into the exact same building you left that morning (travel lodges), I hate when you walk down the street in London looking at menus it slowly dawns on you they're all the same menu because the same corporation owns all the pubs and restaurants.

The whole place comes off as very bland where nothing unpredictable happens. If you're into that kind of stability England's great.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Just about everything in england is technically better on paper. They have better roads, better services, polite people and any hobby you could think of is catered for.

I couldn't live there though, I'm too accustomed to the madness that is Ireland, I hate that you could travel 500 miles in the UK and walk into the exact same building you left that morning (travel lodges), I hate when you walk down the street in London looking at menus it slowly dawns on you they're all the same menu because the same corporation owns all the pubs and restaurants.

The whole place comes off as very bland where nothing unpredictable happens. If you're into that kind of stability England's great.

Will Ireland ever be as bad as that, do you reckon? Obviously it's not free of corporates at the moment, but as bad as England and most of the world? Or is a huge benefit of having such a small population that these leeches don't bother with Ireland so much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

It's a difficult one really.

Ireland is 900% self-sufficient in beef, but on the other hand, England has better Radio 4 reception.

And the English morals are suspect as some of their celebrities take drugs, which would never happen here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Will Ireland ever be as bad as that, do you reckon? Obviously it's not free of corporates at the moment, but as bad as England and most of the world? Or is a huge benefit of having such a small population that these leeches don't bother with Ireland so much?
    We're not that far off really. Most small shops are just franchises for Eurospar or the likes they just give the person running the shop more leeway to make a shop that doesn't come up to the standard of shop units in the UK. We've seen Tescos, Lidl and Aldi get a good foothold in most largish towns (by Irish standards).

We should be ok on pubs though, the Vintners have a stranglehold on the industry that doesn't allow the UK businesses to run their business model of selling large quantities for small margins. Irish pubs and UK pubs are very different, Irish pubs depend on people drinking whereas UK pubs offer food and don't depend on drinkers at all, they wouldn't really be pubs by our standards just restaurants that look a bit like a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

ScumLord wrote: »
    I hate when you walk down the street in London looking at menus it slowly dawns on you they're all the same menu because the same corporation owns all the pubs and restaurants.

Oh no, no, NOOOOOO!! London is incredibly diverse gastronomically, so how you've managed to miss that, I don't know! Do you only eat in pubs and chains?

Every time I go to London, I do my research beforehand on where to go to eat, and it's all there: French, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, Indian, Moroccan, Lebanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Japanese, Russian, Turkish, Greek, Hungarian, American, Argentinian... all of it. BBQ, sushi, sashimi, donburi, dim-sum, curries, cordon bleu, tapas, kofta, goulash, kebabs, burgers, couscous, risottos, pastas, schnitzels... I just go on gastronomical jaunts tbh, disguised as going to visit a friend or do some shopping.

Don't EVER eat in a samey-samey place in London, of all cities, again.