Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does a suspended sentence actually mean?

• 24-01-2014 6:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭HIB

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/men-who-beat-taxi-driver-over-26-fare-avoid-jail-29947575.html

Two young guys beat up a taxi driver. Kick him around the head, steal his wallet and leave him unconscious on the ground.
    In court, a number of character witnesses come forward to testify that this act was out of character for the accused.
    Suspended sentences handed down. No jail time.

So, what happens to them? Do they have to report weekly to the guards or something? Are they refused a passport? Any concrete real element to this punishment? They did have to pay compensation, but the amounts seem pretty puny when compared to the injury caused, I think.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

They got away with it. Maybe if they are caught for something else the sentence would be reactivated but that is a big if.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

First conviction.
    Sure they're allowed at least 85 convictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

HIB wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/men-who-beat-taxi-driver-over-26-fare-avoid-jail-29947575.html

Two young guys beat up a taxi driver. Kick him around the head, steal his wallet and leave him unconscious on the ground.
    In court, a number of character witnesses come forward to testify that this act was out of character for the accused.

So, what happens to them? Do they have to report weekly to the guards or something? Are they refused a passport? Any concrete real element to this punishment? They did have to pay compensation, but the amounts seem pretty puny when compared to the injury caused, I think.

Free to do the same thing again to somebody else. Their mother and the local parish priest more than likely said they were good kids who wouldn't hurt a fly. The usual cr@p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

You don't have to sign in with the guards. It seems these days all the courts want is money and the fine is based on how much they think they can get out of you rather than a punishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

They'll be in a taxi again, probably tonight, and possibly with someone you know driving it.

Meanwhile a garlic smuggler is probably warming the cell that these two violent animals should be residing in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That there aren't enough prison spaces.

We really need to heavily invest in a few new prisons, otherwise we're in no position to complain about suspended sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Must be depressing to be a Garda put in a good amount of work into cases only for **** verdicts like this to be passed down.

And people question why I am a proponent of the 3 strikes system (with regards to violent crimes)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

We really need to heavily invest in a few new prisons, otherwise we're in no position to complain about suspended sentences.

No, we need to make prison unbearable, even if you only are in there for a month. Double up the cells and put a 'Bubba' in there with every new inmate.

Civil rights my hole

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

oldyouth wrote: »
    No, we need to make prison unbearable, even if you only are in there for a month. Double up the cells and put a 'Bubba' in there with every new inmate.

Civil rights my hole

You're in favour of putting people who are spending a month in prison (obviously something minor) in a position where they're likely to be raped or beaten?

What is wrong with you? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Civil rights my hole

Yeah because rape is a fair and just punishment. Ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Civil rights my hole

People did that for a few hundred years and it didn't work. Neither did torture, maiming, transportation and death by various gruesome methods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭HIB

Eutow wrote: »
    Their mother and the local parish priest more than likely said they were good kids who wouldn't hurt a fly. The usual cr@p.

Paul Curran, the Dublin footballer apparently acted as a character witness for one of them. He apparently comes from a "respectable family", whatever that means, and he was drunk.

It doesn't actually mention any character witnesses specific to the other guy actually. But, he's hoping to get a job as an apprentice carpenter. He's 20 now , and the assault took place nearly two years ago, so he was 18 at the time. What's he been doing with the past two years I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Dubwat

from the Indo article:
    The court heard that Mr MacEoin has also lost €18,000 in earnings since the assault and is now nervous working the taxi at night. His relationship with his children has suffered because he didn't want to talk about what happened to him.
    Judge Ring ordered Daly to pay €2,000 in compensation to the victim over the next year. Daly previously paid €5,000 over as a token of his remorse. The judge ordered Murphy, who is unemployed, to pay another €500 on top of €1,500 he has already paid.

Can the taxi driver take a civil case against the two 'gentlemen' for the missing €11,000?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Civil rights my hole

Yes, of course, sure when prisons were unbearable they were empty weren' they? Totally prevented crime.

Whole justice system needs to change.

As does as our education and social system, long term goals to eliminate the skanger classes that constantly get into trouble.

We need a more just, socially inclusive society to prevent this happening, not just locking people up as it does not solve anything but make criminals harder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The sentence is suspended for a set time and if they reoffend within that time, it's (supposedly) actually imposed.

You're in favour of putting people who are spending a month in prison (obviously something minor) in a position where they're likely to be raped or beaten?

I'm inclined to agree that this is a bit extreme!
    However, there should be some punishment. The victim must feel appalled by this. A suspended sentence should mean something ...

One idea:

Community service of 8 hours a week (i.e. every Saturday) for the duration of the sentence. The guy wants to be a carpenter..... send him into the army workshops every Sat. If he doesn't show, or they're unhappy with his effort, the remainder of the sentence is served in gaol.

"Sarah Jane O’Callaghan BL, defending Daly, said he co-operated with gardai and helped them retrieve the stolen wallet with all the cash. She handed in a number of “glowing” testimonials including one from former Dublin footballer Paul Curran."

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Twiki

Will they still have a criminal record or will that be wiped if they stay out of trouble for the three years?

anncoates wrote: »
    "Sarah Jane O’Callaghan BL, defending Daly, said he co-operated with gardai and helped them retrieve the stolen wallet with all the cash. She handed in a number of “glowing” testimonials including one from former Dublin footballer Paul Curran."

LOL

I know!:rolleyes:

Helped them retrieve...... "Oh wait, here it is, in my back pocket. Let me just wipe the blood of it there for you."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

Twiki wrote: »
    Will they still have a criminal record or will that be wiped if they stay out of trouble for the three years?

They will remain with a conviction for life, unless the spent convictions bill becomes law.

I know!:rolleyes:

Helped them retrieve...... "Oh wait, here it is, in my back pocket. Let me just wipe the blood of it there for you."

"Well yes judge, i understand that he kicked a man's teeth out in an unprovoked attack and robbed him but it was a misunderstanding as he likes the same sport as me and I'm famous so he's a grand lad really".

Twiki wrote: »

Any conviction is a record.

anncoates wrote: »

LOL

Should have had a Cork player on the prosecution side roaring over "He's not a good boy, he's a gowl".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Yeah because rape is a fair and just punishment. Ffs.

Depends on the crime. No tv license? Oh ho ho ho bend over, buddy..

Perhaps my example was a bit extreme, anger brought on by countless examples of watching skangers getting away with ruining people's lives. Not everyone can recover mentally from getting a hiding, yet the perpetrators know that if their actions ever see a courtroom, they will be out in time for tea. I have been present in court too many times watching total bullies run rings around a system that they know better than the solicitors

If prison was a proper deterrent, then perhaps many crimes would not be committed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Paul Curran, the Dublin footballer apparently acted as a character witness for one of them.
    I don't understand how these are in any way relevant. Unless Curran was involved in some way.

No Pants wrote: »
    I don't understand how these are in any way relevant. Unless Curran was involved in some way.

Lad will probably get a trial with a top club based on his committed and physical man marking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

Nodin wrote: »
    People did that for a few hundred years and it didn't work. Neither did torture, maiming, transportation and death by various gruesome methods.

Well letting people away with it doesn't work either. And I think maiming worked pretty well, if you cut somebody's arm off it makes a lot of crimes pretty tricky. I'm pretty sure killing people also stopped them from committing crimes.
    People say prison doesn't work, but it does, if a thief is locked up for 10 years, that's 10 years he's not robbing somebody, sound effective to me.

What we need is to stop jailing people for sh!te like tv licences or debts

bluewolf wrote: »
    What we need is to stop jailing people for sh!te like tv licences or debts

I agree, but there has to be a deterrent to not paying your debts too, they should just take what you owe out of SW payments, or direct from salary, plus a fine, and keep prison empty for the scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

would they have to commit a similar crime, or of similar severity, for it to he reactivated?

Or if they don't pay their TV license they do these few years on time ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If prison was a proper deterrent, then perhaps many crimes would not be committed

There still wouldn't be enough space, though.

And what do you mean by 'proper deterrent'? There's only so far you can go with that before you end up facing sanctions for human rights abuses from the EU and UN. That's not some liberal bull**** either.. the EU in particular will not tolerate obvious and systemic violations by member states.

Would it really be worth being heavily fined or even booted out of the EU, just so prisoners could be treated less humanely?

would they have to commit a similar crime, or of similar severity, for it to he reactivated?

Usually similar severity, and sometimes not even then, I've heard of people who were in court after they got a suspended more than once and didn't get locked up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Radiosonde

Hearing that the convicted comes from a "respectable family" always makes me want to vomit. It's just code for "better class of person" (therefore should get more lenient treatment than the knackery types.)

"Good character" is also a bizarre one with violent offences.

If during the period of suspension, the person is convicted of any crime, that court must send the person back to the the first court, to decide if the sentence will be activated, once that court decides then the second matter goes back to the second court to decide on sentence on the second issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

we need the three strike rule as in US, three convictions and your banged up for 25 years.
    Labour for each person to pay off the prison costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Radiosonde wrote: »

"Good character" is also a bizarre one with violent offences.

It's really irrelevant waffle, as by definition if you are guilty of crime you are not a good character.
    Especially the crime mentioned in the OP

infosys wrote: »
    If during the period of suspension, the person is convicted of any crime, that court must send the person back to the the first court, to decide if the sentence will be activated, once that court decides then the second matter goes back to the second court to decide on sentence on the second issue.

And if the period of the suspension lapses in that time, do they get away with it?

Galway K9 wrote: »
    we need the three strike rule as in US, three convictions and your banged up for 25 years.
    Labour for each person to pay off the prison costs.

Such views in the USA has led to over 2 million prisoners, the largest in the world, many prisoners work for a tiny payment, and allows some companies compete with low wage economies. Most prisoners are African American and Hispanic, leading to the claim that its a new slavery.

http://www.globalresearch.ca/the-prison-industry-in-the-united-states-big-business-or-a-new-form-of-slavery/8289

Nino Brown wrote: »
    And if the period of the suspension lapses in that time, do they get away with it?

If they are not convicted again during the period of suspension then they will be sentenced in relation to the second matter. The first matter as the period of suspension is over will be in the past, but a judge can of course take the previous conviction into account for sentencing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

No tv license? Oh ho ho ho bend over, buddy..
    No one gets jailed for not having a TV licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭xxmeabhxx

I really dislike the whole "character witness" nonsense! If a person has committed a violent crime then the fact that there's a couple of people who think they're great should be totally irrelevant. If a man kicks a taxi driver in the head and steals from him then he has committed that crime and coming from a "good family" and wanting to be a carpenter shouldn't change that! If there is any hope for these two scumbags then I think the shock of prison is more likely to get them on track then letting them get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

infosys wrote: »
    Such views in the USA has led to over 2 million prisoners, the largest in the world, many prisoners work for a tiny payment, and allows some companies compete with low wage economies. Most prisoners are African American and Hispanic, leading to the claim that its a new slavery.

http://www.globalresearch.ca/the-prison-industry-in-the-united-states-big-business-or-a-new-form-of-slavery/8289

"The War on Drugs" has more to do with the numbers in jail than the 3 strikes rule. People caught with very little drugs being jailed as long as murderers in some states is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭kult

2 of my friends got 3 months for not having tv license, but papers and media keep quiet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

I've never understood the fetish towards anal rape that some people seem to have. They're obsessed with it. Bizarre.

They should be given an award, if anything.
    Galway K9 wrote: »

Three strikes could see someone getting a long sentence for stealing three separate packets of custard cream biscuits.
    It's a bit much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭kult

To avoid a tv license payment: an inspector asks you if you have TV license, you just say I DO NOT NEED A TV LICENSE, if he asks again say the same...you do not say yes or no, based on information you give: I do not need a tv license - the inspector cannot take any action against you. I haven't paid a tv license in 11 years now. Once the inspector came in with Gardai, I asked them if I am being arrested, did I commit a crime, or what? If not then they can go home and stop wasting tax payers money. Also you are not obligated to talk to the inspector. All my friends are doing it now and none of them pays anything to those hyenas...

kult wrote: »
    2 of my friends got 3 months for not having tv license, but papers and media keep quiet...

Or did they get sentenced for not paying the fine for not having a TV licence?

To avoid a tv license payment: an inspector asks you if you have TV license, you just say I DO NOT NEED A TV LICENSE, if he asks again say the same...you do not say yes or no, based on information you give: I do not need a tv license - the inspector cannot take any action against you. I haven't paid a tv license in 11 years now. Once the inspector came in with Gardai, I asked them if I am being arrested, did I commit a crime, or what? If not then they can go home and stop wasting tax payers money. Also you are not obligated to talk to the inspector. All my friends are doing it now and none of them pays anything to those hyenas...

I just don't answer the door, if somebody is calling they phone or text. If they don't they don't get in. No good ever comes from answering the door to unannounced guests, it's never somebody you want to talk to.

They got time for refusing to pay the fine.