Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you don't give a **** about that everyone else seems to

• 22-01-2014 6:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Sherlock.
    Garth Brooks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Formula 1
    Heineken Cup
    X Factor
    Mrs Browns Boys
    Water Charges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Irish rugby team
    Lists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Whose fault it is.

Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Penny Lane

Football
    Rugby
    Operation Transformation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Kettleson

Television..folk don't realise how much that wrecks with your head. Cracks me up hearing folk talk about Eastenders and Coronation street when they all have a life of their own to be getting on with, and missing a lot of it in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Threads like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Gender roles. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Football
    X factor
    Soap operas.... Actually make that most TV
    Facebook
    Weight and diet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Palestine :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Love/Hate
    The bondholders
    X Factor
    Drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

The 3 things I don't like:

0. Internet Forums
    1. Irony
    2. Lists
    3. Off by one errors in programming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Sports (most notably Football, American Football and Rugby)
    X Factor
    Love/Hate(Not because it sucks but I've never watched it)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

Mata

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Cat Memes

Tugboats wrote: »
    Mata

What's a Mata you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Whenever something happens like a murder or a rape and everyone's going all internet tough guy saying they should be killed and the death penalty should be brought back etc etc.. That sort of anger is completely lost on me. I don't get it. People hearing a sad news story and being really touched by it. Don't get it, doesn't bother me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Team sports. It astounds me to see so many people so emotionally invested in a physical game with arbitrary rules. Screaming at the television, crying at defeat, bringing their children like its a cherished thing to pass on.

Incredible.

Bunch of lads kicking a ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Dante

Women's rights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

Diets

Sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Quenelle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

The gym/exercise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Sports, shows like Love/Hate, celebrity gossip (for the most part)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Zillah wrote: »
    Team sports. It astounds me to see so many people so emotionally invested in a physical game with arbitrary rules. Screaming at the television, crying at defeat, bringing their children like its a cherished thing to pass on.

Incredible.

Bunch of lads kicking a ball.

It's that whole feeling of "belonging to something / feeling part of something / togetherness" basic human need stuff, innih!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

That Amber program

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

Atari Jaguar

whirlpool wrote: »
    It's that whole feeling of "belonging to something / feeling part of something / togetherness" basic human need stuff, innih!
    There are plenty of ways of 'belonging to something' that don't involve the likes of professional sport where money matters more than the actual playing for the people involved. The whole atmosphere of people roaring at television screens, talking about 'our teams', etc. Really not interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Cydoniac wrote: »
    There are plenty of ways of 'belonging to something' that don't involve the likes of professional sport where money matters more than the actual playing for the people involved. The whole atmosphere of people roaring at television screens, talking about 'our teams', etc. Really not interested.

I'm not interested either. I hate sports. But I can understand it. Especially since most of the screaming / roaring / violent fans probably have years of pent up anger / depression / self-loathing,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,907 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Hurling !!

How much anyone's new XXX cost.

I care not one bit about how much your car, new shoes, degree, sofa or house has cost you. Not in monetary terms, nor in blood, sweat or tears. Why people make a point of telling me is a puzzler, I never announce how much something has cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

politics/politicans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Rugby
    Mrs Browns Boys
    Lady Gaga
    Jay Z
    One Direction
    Barcelona
    Syria

Lists, this has reminded me how much I dont give a **** about listing things, /done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

1. I'm a celebrity dancing on ice with the stars get me out of here
    2. Religion
    3. Mrs Brown
    4. X Factor
    5. Anything that happens in Africa
    6. Global Warming, or climate change or whatever it is now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Tattoos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Other peoples babies.
    The fact that the NSA might know that I had a pizza last night.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Calory counts. Just f*cking eat it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Kettleson

beano345 wrote: »
    Tattoos

I'm sooo pleased you said that cos its a "sin" you know.

Check out commandment #5.

http://www.followthissite.com/list-of-sins.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭linvoysblues

Doge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

GAA.

Irish politics.

Most popular TV e.g. Breaking Bad, Love/Hate, Game of Thrones. Zero interest.

Women's rights

I'd go further than that and say Women's Boxing in general holds little interest for me.

Ilyana 2.0 wrote: »
    GAA.

Irish politics.

Most popular TV e.g. Breaking Bad, Love/Hate, Game of Thrones. Zero interest.

That's a good one, I'm sick of hearing about how brilliant that is.

Kettleson wrote: »
    I'm sooo pleased you said that cos its a "sin" you know.

Check out commandment #5.

http://www.followthissite.com/list-of-sins.php
    Eh, what? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Facebook
    GAA
    Palestine
    IT
    Nurses
    Charities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Candie wrote: »
    How much anyone's new XXX cost.

I care not one bit about how much your car, new shoes, degree, sofa or house has cost you. Not in monetary terms, nor in blood, sweat or tears. Why people make a point of telling me is a puzzler, I never announce how much something has cost.

This post cost me 8 seconds to read...:pac:

I would have to say not everyone cares about this any more, but a lot still abide by those fussy rules, like which knife/fork/spoon to eat with, elbows on table, pointing soup dish away from you when eating. None of these make sense.

As long as these rules have a basis in common sense, obviously (don't talk while eating-spray food everywhere otherwise, don't chew with mouth open-keep digestion internally, good hygiene when eating etc)

"Oh no, you've used the fish knife to cut butter!!?? One simply does not do such a thing!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Charities on the telly before the news every evening, I honest to goodness couldn't give a toss how many people are dying of war, disease, malnutrition, West Nile virus, rape, genocide, rabies, aids, mad cow disease, swine flu, the common Cold or whatever your having yourself, do they not realise I have my dinner to be eating in my nice little house in first world comfort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Anything that goes on outside my parish

This post cost me 8 seconds to read...:pac:

I would have to say not everyone cares about this any more, but a lot still abide by those fussy rules, like which knife/fork/spoon to eat with, elbows on table, pointing soup dish away from you when eating. None of these make sense.

As long as these rules have a basis in common sense, obviously (don't talk while eating-spray food everywhere otherwise, don't chew with mouth open-keep digestion internally, good hygiene when eating etc)

"Oh no, you've used the fish knife to cut butter!!?? One simply does not do such a thing!"

I'm not saying it's the old 'talking about money is vulgar' thing, I just do not care how much people have spent, and get uncomfortable when people want me to be impressed at how much their hideous sofa has cost.

As to the rest, I like nice manners but lots of the old ways are outdated and I don't see many people tilting their bowl away, or even using a fish knife to eat fish :)

One thing I really hate is seeing someone lick their dinner knife though - there's something really cringy about that.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Football (association)
    Alcohol
    Celeb news
    Other news about random people. Like those "weird court cases", "guess what this woman got sued for" and ****e like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Football (or is it soccer??) "We played well last night"
    Really? Last i heard you weren't on 20k a week ya feckin knob!

Celeb gossip. Jaysus feckin crisht my brain cells are withering at the thought of it.