Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thyestes Day

• 22-01-2014 6:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭

Love the Thyestes and always have a bet in the race. Closest I came to a winner was Tarquinius beaten a nose last year. Took a small each way chance on the bottom weight and well handicapped Caducues, who ran his best race for a long time last time out when not staying 3 1/2 miles running better than the bare result suggests. This is much stronger but 33/1 was a few points too big.

Also thought Rowe Park was a massive eye catcher last time out (watch the race, jockey went very easy once her chance was gone in the final furlong) in a decent race. She has won over c&d off about two stone higher a few years ago and could be one for tomorrow. 7/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Can't wait for this. Am heading down tomorrow for my first experience of Gowran's big day. Nice card.

Mullins looks likely to win at least three races. Zaidpour looks a banker, while I think he's also got odds on shots in both the first and the last. In saying that it's a pretty hot bumper with seven winners from the eight runners. Dogora will also be difficult to beat in the beginners chase. In the big race I think Sole Witness looks a big price after a decent fourth in the race last year. He looks to have been targeted at this again and the 40/1 that was available earlier on today looks far too big. I'll have another look at the handicaps in the morning when I see how they've been priced up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Wells Diamond (Henry De Bromhead syndicate I'm in) could make her first show in the 1.45, she's first reserve at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Black Hercules will only be around 4/6 or 8/11 by the looks of Betfair.

Short enough on his form but if the hype surrounding him last day is even half true he could be an absolute aeroplane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

It's a little more competitive a race than that price suggests. 5/4 or better, I'll play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Black Hercules will only be around 4/6 or 8/11 by the looks of Betfair.

Short enough on his form but if the hype surrounding him last day is even half true he could be an absolute aeroplane
    Priced up already, BH is evens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Also thought Rowe Park was a massive eye catcher last time out (watch the race, jockey went very easy once her chance was gone in the final furlong) in a decent race. She has won over c&d off about two stone higher a few years ago and could be one for tomorrow. 7/1
    Hoping for a bumper price myself on this one. Horse loves Southwell and looks well handicapped here. Would fancy Keniry over the claimers taking rides as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭CheltenhamJ

Dogora could very interesting tmrw for future , thyestes a great race have great memories of grand habit and zetas lad , balnanslow my choice this year

It's the best bumper this yr. twentytwo's taken, Crawford mare, was also entered but she's dodging this. Has the makings of a good contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Cart

Panther claw to roar home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭king Henry 14

VICANGELOME goes against black hercules in the bumper. Did us a good turn at cork the last day when he hosed up. As I said that day they really think a lot of him and expect big things. This is a step up but I'm sticking with him to turn over the fav. Owners are thinking of a crack at Cheltenham if it goes well tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭MadHorse

Time of Black Hercules run was not that electric and patrick said “I’d say he wasn’t that impressive. He got his hind legs knocked taking the bend. He’ll want further in time, but I’m very fond of him.

I wouldnt get stuck into him. I think Mystical Dreamer may prove to be an expensive purchase. Stack The Deck won a limrick bumper on 26th so probally not the strongest of races but connections like him and they are not slow. I think Vicangelome will run well. I know connections of Mr Boss Man and they told me to back him the last day :D, I have not been talking to them yet but I know that race time that day was really fast and he had done very little work before that race (but race is working out poor)

Might be one race to watch and not have a bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I think the favourite will win the bumper but I won't back him at that price in such a good race. Probably go for Stack the Deck w/o and a small bet in the win market too in case he does turn him (and the rest) over.

Spoils have cut it to 4/5 but probably only laid 50 quid

8/11 with Powers

Spoils have cut it to 4/5 but probably only laid 50 quid

8/11 with Powers

Actually Powers and Spoils are the only two to price it up yet, they've quite a difference in opinions on most runners

Odds on, on this race, is silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 nevis7

I spoke with Robert tyner over the weekend. whoever told you that his bumper horse vicangelhome is going to run at Cheltenham in the bumper is telling blatant lies, the information you received did not come from the owners or the trainer.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Groody Hill in the Thyestes for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭kksaints

On His Own to repeat his win from a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

VICANGELOME goes against black hercules in the bumper. Did us a good turn at cork the last day when he hosed up. As I said that day they really think a lot of him and expect big things. This is a step up but I'm sticking with him to turn over the fav. Owners are thinking of a crack at Cheltenham if it goes well tomorrow.
    Hope he runs a big race as Tyner has one that can beat it hard held.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Tidal Dance going again today. I took some of the 2/1 last night generally 7/4 now. Carries a penalty but it's not like Venetia to run them under a penalty unless she really expects them to win.
    I made te case for him the last day and I still think 7/4 represents value and I expect Tidal Dance to go in again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭BQQ

Love the Thyestes and always have a bet in the race. Closest I came to a winner was Tarquinius beaten a nose last year. Took a small each way chance on the bottom weight and well handicapped Caducues, who ran his best race for a long time last time out when not staying 3 1/2 miles running better than the bare result suggests. This is much stronger but 33/1 was a few points too big.

After missing several Liz Doyle winners at juicy prices this last week, I have to back Rich Revival in this.
    Was well supported for the Irish National last year, but disappointed.
    Pulled up again last month on his comeback in the Paddy Power, but he was 3/3 over fences before that including a nice win from Panther claw.
    Stable is flying now, so hopefully this is the target.

Backed Rowe Park again. ALL THE MARBLES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

4.50 Meydan Dux Scholar 12/1 is very well treated in this average Group2 but is badly drawn in 10.His run behind Moonlight Cloud buts him bang there and 12/1 is a shade on the big side.I have been watching Pipers Piping Kempton 5pm for some time and I missed the 20/1 early doors so its a watching race as value is gone.Pipers Piping was with John Butler Barneys right hand man,who is this trainer???I said the price was gone when around 7/1 its now 2/1 from 20/1 is Barney at it again,I think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Big Bucks

Going to have a small e/w on Tom Foleys Playing in the Thyestes. Beat a couple on of decent yardsticks at Limerick over Christmas and followed it up with a bloodless win at Cork the following week. Although his rise in the tackling this 3m1f trip for the first time, visually in the Cork and Limerick wins i taught he would be comfortable going further and 14/1 with powers at the moment seems like decent e/w value to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭BQQ

Saddlers Encore in the bumper at Warwick.
    Josses Hill has boosted his form no end and there is likely a lot of improvement to come on this second start. 6/1 currently.

Along with the 8/1 I got on Rowe Park last night, I have taken 20/1 on Phoenix Flight in the 6:00 at Kempton. Have been expecting this one to start going over jumps more, but the fact they keep persisting with it in handicaps suggests to me that they may just be looking to take advantage of a low mark to spring a surprise. All the form suggests that the 2M it runs over today is the suited trip (has won at Kempton several times over this distance) and has not been totally disgraced in such similar races at a higher mark. Not even going to bother going e/w - this either wins or doesn't place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭shamdrog63

sting60 wrote: »
    4.50 Meydan Dux Scholar 12/1 is very well treated in this average Group2 but is badly drawn in 10.His run behind Moonlight Cloud buts him bang there and 12/1 is a shade on the big side.I have been watching Pipers Piping Kempton 5pm for some time and I missed the 20/1 early doors so its a watching race as value is gone.Pipers Piping was with John Butler Barneys right hand man,who is this trainer???I said the price was gone when around 7/1 its now 2/1 from 20/1 is Barney at it again,I think so.
    Prohibition in the same race as Pipers Piping was heavily backed last week,and has made the same trainer switch.

BQQ wrote: »
    After missing several Liz Doyle winners at juicy prices this last week, I have to back Rich Revival in this.
    Pulled up again last month on his comeback in the Paddy Power, but he was 3/3 over fences before that including a nice win from Panther claw.
    Got a text there saying it is fancied each way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Had Yes sir Brian put in to the tracker because of the wreck of a ride Katie Walshe gave it at Christmas(hadn't it backed,ride just stood out),obviously wanted to hold it up,she couldn't manage that so decided turning in to the straight that when it wasn't pulling that was the time to yank the head of it when everyone was getting serious and left it caught of the pace.

Cant believe that she wasn't pulled in for this or it being mentioned in its form,maybe they are afraid to upset Ted or Ruby.

Ragin it is in such a hot bumper race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

BQQ wrote: »

Thats the word alright......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Will be watching Zigger Zagger in the 145 closely.

Friend of mine's horse not beaten far by him LTO and they very much rate their lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭jj92

sting60 wrote: »
    Hope he runs a big race as Tyner has one that can beat it hard held.

Do you mean he has one that can beat Vicangelome in his yard? If so who? Don't think I've spotted it running..
    and cheers for the heads up on the Curley coup, got on at about 35s:-)

Rowe Park gone for some stroll in the market Francie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Mossey Joe

tipptom wrote: »
    Had Yes sir Brian put in to the tracker because of the wreck of a ride Katie Walshe gave it at Christmas(hadn't it backed,ride just stood out),obviously wanted to hold it up,she couldn't manage that so decided turning in to the straight that when it wasn't pulling that was the time to yank the head of it when everyone was getting serious and left it caught of the pace.

Cant believe that she wasn't pulled in for this or it being mentioned in its form,maybe they are afraid to upset Ted or Ruby.

Ragin it is in such a hot bumper race.
    Was a very strange ride, madness she wasn't pulled in front of the stewards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Mossey Joe wrote: »
    Was a very strange ride, madness she wasn't pulled in front of the stewards
    Yea,I thought the horse was after blowing a tendon or something with the way she yanked the head of it but then she started riding it again straight away.
    Should have been pulled in to explain it and if there was none she should have been suspended and sent back to RACE to reapply for her license test again.

Rowe Park Rowe Park Rowe Park

Rowe Park gone for some stroll in the market Francie
    Out and in again, not bovvered :P

Piss off Rambo Will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Unlucky

Agonizing lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

Unlucky
    Beaten a nose. Ahead 1 stride after the line.

Last few weeks had over a ton on the following Rowe Park, Drawnfromthepast and Palace Moon, any one know what all three have in common

Beaten on the line, innit? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

Beaten on the line, innit? :mad:
    they all needed longer head and neck features .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Got word for Lookoutnow in the Thyestes

Correct, that one quite easily hurt most

Bookies must have had a word in a few trainers ears today after the debacle yesterday, because all the favourites are getting beat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

Jesus that McManus yoke hosed up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Oscars Business looks interesting off bottom weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Panther claw moving well from 14's to 8's