Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Times fantasy rugby

• 21-01-2014 3:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭

If anyone is up for doing 6 nations fantasy rugby this year i just set up a league. Its called 'Feck Toulon!' and the code is 52398.

EVERYBODY SET UP AND JOIN!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

ive a boards.ie pool set up
    name: boards.ie
    pin: 52410

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

ive a boards.ie pool set up
    name: boards.ie
    pin: 52410

Done.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭LostArt

done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

I love the "Feck Toulon" name. Im in!
    And sure sign me up for the boards.ie also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭bazalicous

I love the "Feck Toulon" name. Im in!
    And sure sign me up for the boards.ie also!

Cheers, i thought it was a good name too, so sick of Toulon!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nudger

In both, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Hey guys

If any of ye have signed up for the ESPN game we're running a league over in the Fantasy Sports Arena forum for it if ye're interested? You're all more than welcome to join and both games seem to be the exact same in style. I've entered the "Feck Toulon" league for the IT but I'm not sure if I'll play both yet.

Anyway best of luck and feel free to drop over if ye're interested, we've played the Lions and Autumn International with a rather low turn out so lets hope the big one gets a bit more participation.

Pin: 49775

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057126139

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭BionicRasher

bazalicous wrote: »
    If anyone is up for doing 6 nations fantasy rugby this year i just set up a league. Its called 'Feck Toulon!' and the code is 52398.

Pin not working for me on this one. Anyone else able to join? I have joined other league's without issue

Edit..... Internet connection dropped off I can join now :-)

I'm only pending but it worked ok for me.

Just spotted your edit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

in both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

Pending in both. But will miss the points for opening game....lucky im not competitive!

Il accept all who applied now.

Thanx lads for all entering 'Feck Toulon',

At time of writing this there's 22 teams,.. But my team 'Dirty Scrumbags' is taking the trophy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,753 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

I'm in... Go Lunster!

BTW, we don't expect the team to do very well this year as we are in the middle of a development cycle... Things are expected to come good in 2016...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭spooky woo

bazalicous wrote: »

done:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭spooky woo

i just set up a league grand slam
    League PIN: 56727

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭ShamFeen

I'm in "Bananas". I'm good at propping up leagues!

spooky woo wrote: »
    i just set up a league grand slam
    League PIN: 56727

I'm in!

• Administrators Posts: 54,423 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Here's my team - was hard to pick to be honest. Total lottery at this stage really.

fantasyrugby.PNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Why don't they separate the forward positions? That's annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

Joined!

Why don't they separate the forward positions? That's annoying!

The only positions they separate at 9 and 10. Easier for them that way.

Ive accepted everyone who's applied for the boards.ie league

Easier(for them) if they don't separate the positions. Makes it less interesting though

Yea but the point scoring is bit skewed as well. It's really focused around point scoring and assists, so really all you want to do is pick players who will play in all the games and who are likely to score tries. Completely ignore lineouts, scrums, though obviously your back row players are more likely to score a try straight from a scrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,826 ✭✭✭b.gud

awec wrote: »
    Yea but the point scoring is bit skewed as well. It's really focused around point scoring and assists, so really all you want to do is pick players who will play in all the games and who are likely to score tries. Completely ignore lineouts, scrums, though obviously your back row players are more likely to score a try straight from a scrum.

Ya this is why My forwards consist almost entirely of back rows :)

This is my first time doing fantasy rugby so maybe someone can tell me what happens if there's a penalty try how are points for that awarded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

b.gud wrote: »
    Ya this is why My forwards consist almost entirely of back rows :)

This is my first time doing fantasy rugby so maybe someone can tell me what happens if there's a penalty try how are points for that awarded?

If its a maul or scrum collapse no points, except free points for the kicker I guess.

If someone gets tripped before the line, or somehow fouled in another try preventing way, they will get an assist instead of a full try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

How did we all do with our teams?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

How did we all do with our teams?

Badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,753 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Better than I expected. 22 in the boards league & 61pts! Viva Lunster

Reasonably happy with 64 points. Heaslip, Care, Denton and Dave Kearney were all denied by the TMO which was a bit unfortunate because I had all three. Particularly cause I also had Billy Vunipola and Sexton. So I think in two of those cases I would get an assist as well.

I'm devastated I didn't pick Huget. I had meant to, but for some reason decided to swap him and bring in picamoles.

I'm also beginning to wonder is it worth having halfpenny. He's probably one worth one or two more points than Farrell, but he's holding some much more likely try scorers out of the squad.

44 points here, pretty brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

42 myself. Sexton carried my team but other than that, it was just appeance points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

60 for me.

If you left out either Campagnaro or Huget you're totally ****ed.

Surely if you're not in the 80's/90's at this stage, you've no chance of catching up, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,826 ✭✭✭b.gud

The last minute addition of Huget paid off, 77, top of the league and feeling pretty cocky* :D

*I have no doubt that some week soon I will be coming in with my tail between my legs having slid well down the table

19543261 wrote: »
    60 for me.

Surely if you're not in the 80's/90's at this stage, you've no chance of catching up, right?

Yea you need to get a good score the first week to have any chance really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

57!

b.gud wrote: »
    The last minute addition of Huget paid off, 77, top of the league and feeling pretty cocky*
    *I have no doubt that some week soon I will be coming in with my tail between my legs having slid well down the table

Ya prick! I chose my welsh and french winger at random - God damn Medard doing feck all! And he would have been in for a try at the end if it wasnt for that young Gael fella. And for some reason I picked Marshall thinking he'd get a hattrick. Total waste of a space.
    awec wrote: »
    Yea you need to get a good score the first week to have any chance really.

Could have done with that 4k. Need a new wardrobe.

60 for me.

Only the top 200 of several thousand people are over 80 points right now, and most of them are there by sheer luck. It was a particularly lucky round, because Huget and Campagnaro both got two tries and MOTM while being reasonably left field selections. It means the people who picked them were probably gambling to a certain extent. If they don't gamble next week and go for the average (which I think is around 60 points per round), they're catchable, because there is about 100 points on offer per round, if they do gamble next week they could find themselves very easily losing points.

Even if you look at the top guy's team, you can immediately see ways he could have got more points, Dave Kearney for Trimble (+4) or Rob Kearney (+8), 12trees for Williams and Falatau for Launchbury (+5). La Roux for any French Forward who finished the game (+1), or Szarweski (+2).

So he could reasonably easily have got 15 more points. If you have a bad round 2, I would be inclined to think you're stuffed. At this point if you're over 60, so if you had an average first round you still have loads to play for.

This is the most valuable team you could pick although it involves picking a SUB which is a pretty brave move. If you could pick from any nation, than Sexton was more points than Farrell, but he would be a fourth Irish selection. Burrell and Cuthbert and all the Forwards worth 3 are pretty interchangeable. There were a number of combinations that would get you this score.

Huget 18
    Campagnaro 18
    Kearney 13
    Burrell 8
    Cuthbert 8

Farrell 6
    Murray 5

Heaslip 13
    Vunipola 8
    Szarzewski 4
    Pape 3
    Nuanga 3
    Parisse 3
    Denton 3
    Wilson 3

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

57, POC could have taken me over the 60 point mark.

Forwards let me down, i had 3 try scorers in trimble, brown and cuthbert, and 1/2p matched their 8 points as kicker.

so backs = 39 points
    while forwards = 18 points

much work to do for next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

75 and 2nd in the Boards League and 617th in the overall rankings

Huget doing the business for me.

errlloyd wrote: »
    Only the top 200 of several thousand people are over 80 points right now, and most of them are there by sheer luck. It was a particularly lucky round, because Huget and Campagnaro both got two tries and MOTM while being reasonably left field selections. It means the people who picked them were probably gambling to a certain extent. If they don't gamble next week and go for the average (which I think is around 60 points per round), they're catchable, because there is about 100 points on offer per round, if they do gamble next week they could find themselves very easily losing points.

Even if you look at the top guy's team, you can immediately see ways he could have got more points, Dave Kearney for Trimble (+4) or Rob Kearney (+8), 12trees for Williams and Falatau for Launchbury (+5). La Roux for any French Forward who finished the game (+1), or Szarweski (+2).

So he could reasonably easily have got 15 more points. If you have a bad round 2, I would be inclined to think you're stuffed. At this point if you're over 60, so if you had an average first round you still have loads to play for.

Cheers for that, you've cheered me up somewhat :) Logically you would go for wingers in your back and play it safe, but I figured if most others did so too it'd be a bore. I was really bagging on Marshal and Fofana getting in some work to get a jump on people. I should have just played it safe for the first round.

Halfpenny (kicker), Vunipola and Heaslip all saved my ass. I lost out on 1's here and there, which I was most disappointed about. Cheap way to lose points. Zanni was blood subbed and never came back on; Picamoles, Sexton and Philips went off without a try or an assist between them.

Getting rather into this this year! Only my second time playing Fantasy-anything.

64, Heaslip saved my bacon.

Halfpenny (kicker), Vunipola and Heaslip all saved my ass. I lost out on 1's here and there, which I was most disappointed about. Cheap way to lose points. Zanni was blood subbed and never came back on; Picamoles, Sexton and Philips went off without a try or an assist between them.

Getting rather into this this year! Only my second time playing Fantasy-anything.

Boring analysis post.

Amazingly you probably picked up more points in the forwards than most people. Heaslip and Vunipola were the only starting forwards to pick up more than their 3 points, Vunipola with an assist, and Heaslip with a try and MOTM.

The Backs potentially let you down, I fell into the same trap with Fofanna but I wouldn't lose faith in him. While he's less likely to get a try than the wingers, I feel that he is likely to pick up three points for an assist with any of Basteraud, Dulin, Huget and Medard finishing.

I also picked Halfpenny, I figured home game, Italy, Indoor Stadium he'll be worth a **** load, but realistically the difference between hockeying a team, and beating a team is often not that you score more frequently, just that you score more tries and less penalties. HP is only going to be worth 1 or 2 points more than a dedicated outhalf like Farrell or Sexton who you have to pick anyway - so both of us would have picked up more points switch HP for Cuthbert and making our OH our kicker.

So next week I guess pick forwards who will probably finish the game. Heaslip is good he almost always plays 80, Healy is not so good he'll go early, also Healy has only scored 2 Irish tries, Best is more a prolific try scorer so you're picking Healy hoping he will be Man of the Match. That requires us winning, requires our scrum winning and requires Healy to be standout in the loose.

Parisse is also a definite 3 points he won't come off, and if Italy manage a win he's a dead cert Man of the Match. Greig Laidlaw similarly will be Man of the Match if Scotland win, and will pick up penalties along the way, so he's worth considering as goal kicker - when Italy play Scotland you want both of them (and probably Hogg and Campagnaro).

So when picking forwards I'd be tempted to pick all 6 number 8s, Heaslip and Vunipola already scored points, Denton was denied by the TMO and good tackling, Parisse, Picamoles and Faletau will all score points before the end. Then some Man of the Match fodder POC maybe Lawes, arguably POM got shafted yesterday.

At the back it's all just wingers and maybe Fofanna.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 665 ✭✭✭philthrill69

Sorry if this has been posted in the previous pages but is anyone else who had Best pissed off that Heaslip got the points for his try? It's clear as day from all the replays that both of Heaslips Hands were no where near the ball when it was grounded. And even RTE have the credit to Best.

I don't think Jamie would have claimed it in the post match interview if he didn't get it. Though it did look weird. In any case the rules quite clearly state the associated press try scorers after 24 hours are the official source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

I'm almost 99% sure Heaslip got it, he was in possession when he went to ground, I think it just slipped under him as he grounded it and Best got his hands on it then to ensure it was ground.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 665 ✭✭✭philthrill69

errlloyd wrote: »
    I don't think Jamie would have claimed it in the post match interview if he didn't get it. Though it did look weird. In any case the rules quite clearly state the associated press try scorers after 24 hours are the official source.
    Sorry about the quality of the pics but Heaslips Hands were not on the ball.
    In the replay you can see him bringing back his hand afterwards and putting it on the ball.