Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guards took car that I bought about 10 days ago

• 20-01-2014 6:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭

My husband just rang to tell me that the Gaurd took the car that we bought about 10 days ago. It was out of Tax when we bought it and I know it shouldn't have been driven but Was to be taxed tomorrow & put in for NCT. Now I haven't spoken to him yet but AFAIK they just said to get it taxed and come back (which will be tomorrow!). Can somone Please tell me will I be charged for them taken it?? It's in the Police station where my husbands Mam and Dad lives. We've changed the Insurance over straight away and he had that with him. Any Advise anyone will they charge my money??? Please help! Thanks all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Bolomaster

xTanyax wrote: »
    My husband just rang to tell me that the Gaurd took the car that we bought about 10 days ago. It was out of Tax when we bought it and I know it shouldn't have been driven but Was to be taxed tomorrow & put in for NCT. Now I haven't spoken to him yet but AFAIK they just said to get it taxed and come back (which will be tomorrow!). Can somone Please tell me will I be charged for them taken it?? It's in the Police station where my husbands Mam and Dad lives. We've changed the Insurance over straight away and he had that with him. Any Advise anyone will they charge my money??? Please help! Thanks all!!
    Don't think they will charge money for taking the car off your hands, pay the tax and get the car back was what happened to a mate when it happened to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

No they'll let it out with the tax paid and possible storage fee, something around €130.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

YbFocus wrote: »
    No they'll let it out with the tax paid and possible storage fee, something around €130.

Yeah, impound fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭xTanyax

YbFocus wrote: »

Hiya Thanks soo much for the reply (My nerves are gone!:(( ) I wouldn't mind but I could have taxed the Car online when I got the logbook I send away for a special PIN number and when it came to the payment part it was charging us AN Extra 55 euro soo my husband said No that couldn't be right so he decided to go in himself and do it! Which would have been tomorrow (which will be tomorrow. We're at logger heads now as u can imagine! ) My Main concern is WIll I have to pay them the Gaurds becuase it's not in a pound it's in Ballyfermot Police station! He said they said just get and show us the tax that's it! What do you think??

Yeah, impound fee.

Hiya Thanks for that! But it's not in an imopond, it's in Ballyfermot Gaurda station. Do you think they'll leave it there tonight?? And if they do will I just have to show my tax..? I was also considering taxing it online and bringing them up my reference number and proballly my laptop/E-mail address and anything else that's needed?? Any advise on that one PLesaseee!!! I'm soo Greatul to All your answers!!:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

I empathize with you OP but I suppose at the end of the day, you've got to have your Motor taxed before you go out on the road. Another Guard might have just told him to sort it quick and waved him on.

I bought a car once and that very morning I drove straight into the tax office in Dublin to tax it. Parked up right outside, went in and came out to find a ticket on it!

But I guess rules are rules :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Impound fee they'll charge also they need proof the car has been taxed.
    The longer it's in the impound the more they'll charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Best thing is to tax the car and go aong and collect it and ask. It all depends on the guard that stopped him, no one here actually knows. Just have enough money to cover the impound fee which is €130.

Thanks for the answers everyone!! I wish I could say it made me feel better but I feel like Killing my husband for driving it as I told him NOT TO! But He just doesn't listen! He already got pulled and he was to produce this Thursday so He intended to do everything tomorrow as we have to go to Smith field tomorrow. I'm sick to my stomach the Reason I bought it was because my other car was crashed 2 days before the Christmas & the trouble that that caused was awful!! Now a New Year and here we go again!! I was actually thinking though Do you really think they'll bother driving it up to the pound at this hour and they know we'll be there with the Tax in the morning?? I'm hoping Not. Also where is this pound?? And lastly If I tax it online now would they make me wait until the discs come for me.. Or would that actually do?? The only thing there is they wanted to charge me an extra 55 euro on top of my tax. Also my Insurance company 123.ie didnt show up on the drop down list.. Thanks again everyone I just had no-where else to turn!:((

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

123.ie is part of RSA insurance.

Once you've paid online, print out the screen showing the payment confirmation. That should act as proof of payment. I don't know if that will suffice, but until the discs come in the post, that will be all you'll have.

I'm not sure what the additional €55 is about. It could be a back payment on tax if the car had been untaxed for a period of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭dougie-lampkin

The impound fee is supposed to be waived if you can show that you do not owe arrears for the last two months (see sec. 6, Road Traffic Act 1994 Detention of Vehicles Regulations 2011). As you're not responsible for the tax before you bought the car, there should be no release fee when you show the VLC with date of sale. Otherwise it's a €125 fee plus €35 for every day after the impound.

Of course, if it was seized for no NCT also, then you're liable for the full release fee. Sorry :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

123.ie is a broker, I think.. not an insurer.

You'll have to tax it for the month of January, and should be able to do this online now and print a receipt. Not sure about the fee, if it is just parked up at the station there may not be one. I've had two cars towed, but both were impounded away from the stations and I had to pay €140 or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Hiya Thanks for that! But it's not in an imopond, it's in Ballyfermot Gaurda station. Do you think they'll leave it there tonight?? And if they do will I just have to show my tax..? I was also considering taxing it online and bringing them up my reference number and proballly my laptop/E-mail address and anything else that's needed?? Any advise on that one PLesaseee!!! I'm soo Greatul to All your answers!!:)

You can't drive a car without a tax disc in the window, it doesn't matter if it's paid. Go in person to get the disc rather than waiting on it to be posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

You can put in your insurance policy number on the motor tax website from last year if you like. The motor tax website has no way of validating it. It only looks for "a" insurance policy number. Pointless field really.

Also where is this pound??

The car park surrounding the Garda station.

GarIT wrote: »
    You can't drive a car without a tax disc in the window, it doesn't matter if it's paid. Go in person to get the disc rather than waiting on it to be posted.

It should be sufficient to get the car released from the Garda pound though, the longer it stays there the higher the impound fee.

bazz26 wrote: »
    It should be sufficient to get the car released from the Garda pound though, the longer it stays there the higher the impound fee.

That would be surprising as the disc itself needs to be displayed for the car to be allowed to be driven. Then again we're in Ireland "Don't mind the law be grand".

Can you not get it on the spot in the motor tax office?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

OP do you have an proof you just bought the car? If you do, bring it along to the station. The guards are basically just sick of the "I just bought it excuse" that everybody uses. If you can show them that you really did just buy it they might be a bit more accommodating when you go to collect it.

Technically you can be fined for not displaying a valid tax disc. But as long as the tax is paid and you have a receipt saying so, I'm sure the Gardaí will release it from the pound. Whether it is paid online or in the motor tax office is up to to how the OP does it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

the extra €55 is probably arrears for December if you bought it before new years day

GarIT wrote: »
    That would be surprising as the disc itself needs to be displayed for the car to be allowed to be driven. Then again we're in Ireland "Don't mind the law be grand".

Can you not get it on the spot in the motor tax office?

Yeah that's what my husband says. He says he'll just go into the tax office first thing in the morning and tax it and we'll both probably go up and show them & this should be still very early! I really cant' see them been satisfied enough with just the Email/Print. I'd Much rather to present the disc. Aw well he learned a hard lesson I can defo tell you! There more than likely we'll have to pay the pound, Obviously we Had to get the tax & More than likely the NCT will have to be put in fast! It doesn't need much at all tho for the NCT just a service/oil/plugs/etc and the wheel bearings on the front wheel so I hope I'll be looking at a very cheap price for a really lovely car! We're actually starting to like this car a lot more than the one that we loaned out and was crashed 2 days b4 the Christmas! This was supposed to be a run around but It's a real beaut Please God just Send/Wish us Luck with it as we're not having much luck lately accept for this one!