Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Exam Results -Thursday 23rd 9am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭LilRedDorcha

Some of my friends are after getting their results today, somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Some of my friends are after getting their results today, somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭21 Schump Street

https://www.results.ul.ie is not opening for me; will it not be up until tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Dante on Fire

Is the first time you have checked?

As stated in my last message:
    ITD strongly advises all students to check that they can log onto the system prior to the release of results on Thursday 23rd January at 9am. Results will be available at www.results.ul.ie.

The easiest way to check that your account is working is to visit www.ul.ie/library and click the ‘Login From Home’ icon. This will display a Username and Password box for login. If students have any problems logging in to this they can email ITSS@ul.ie to have their passwords reset.

Let me know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭smilerxxx

It isn't opening for me either, but if I remember correctly in previous years the page would fail to load until 8/9 am when it would eventually load and you could login.

I can login through the library and student records, i've been using the login all over xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭highlydebased

www.results.ul.ie not been loading at all today for me. Regular student portal working just fine though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭ZomB13 F1Sh

Not loading for me either, but I can sign into the library and records just fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

The page doesn't become live until results are available. It will timeout until then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Yurt

Odds on the results being out at midnight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭21 Schump Street

Is the first time you have checked?

As stated in my last message:
    ITD strongly advises all students to check that they can log onto the system prior to the release of results on Thursday 23rd January at 9am. Results will be available at www.results.ul.ie.

The easiest way to check that your account is working is to visit www.ul.ie/library and click the ‘Login From Home’ icon. This will display a Username and Password box for login. If students have any problems logging in to this they can email ITSS@ul.ie to have their passwords reset.

Let me know how you get on.

Same as the others, I can log in through the library O.K, it's just the https://www.results.ul.ie/ page doesn't open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Dante on Fire

You should be emailed with the link tomorrow but until then Im afraid its not available from what I can see.

Best of Luck to all of ye tomorrow.

Make sure you post up how well you did.

Paddy

Yurt wrote: »
    Odds on the results being out at midnight?

usually 8/9am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Darth Frodo

still nothing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭highlydebased

They're up now!

Anyone have any idea what "Status" means? I have 4 "C" and one "O".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

I'm in first year and I have two D1 grades, and it says my QCA is 2.08. I presume a have to repeat the two D1 grades?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭iLaura

I've always just assumed C - Compulsory, O - Optional. I had one O in first year which wasnt compulsory so thats the only thing I can think of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,144 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

O just means its an elective module.
    Im fairly disappointed. 1 B, 3C's and a Fail. QCA of 2.2 going into final semester of 4th year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Ciano35

1 B, 3 C's and a fail in a module I thought I did decent in, sickened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I'm in first year and I have two D1 grades, and it says my QCA is 2.08. I presume a have to repeat the two D1 grades?

Nope, shouldn't have to repeat. You can repeat and raise your QCA, but since it's cleared after first year, it may only have an impact on co op. It would cost about 350 to repeat those two as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Ciano35

I pretty sure you'll be fine because your qca is over 2.00, I'm open to correction on this though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

I messaged paddy on Facebook and he says I'm grand :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭ricimaki

If your QCA is above 2.00, you are allowed 2 D grades. You only have to repeat if your QCA is below 2.00, you have Es or Fs, or you have multiple D grades. You do have the option to repeat the Ds, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Managed a B2 in an exam I was so sure I failed, I'd started putting money aside for the repeat :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭RachealB

Got c3 in two and c1 in others. First year mature so really happy, just happy that is ok to pass.x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Woo! No repeats for me this year! (Although in my defense, I've only ever failed one. First year was just bad...)
    QCA could probably do with being higher though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Username99

I am happy anyway, the one I thought I failed I got a B2 in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭bluefinger

Can someone tell me what QCA means?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

I got screwed in one exam I thought I actually did really well in, so gutted there.

But managed a comp fail in something I was bricking I did "F" fail, in 4th year also, so delighted, no repeat thank feck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Got a C1, B3,B2 & an A1

Only took me till 4th year to get myself an A1 :D

Need a B3 average over the 2 semesters so hopefully im on track, although the FYP isnt going so good :(

4 A1s and an A2. Everyone hates me now? Oh ok... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

4 A1s and an A2. Everyone hates me now? Oh ok... :(

Pfft, why would we hate you... it's not like you got 5 A1s ;)

I could get that with my eyes closed! (Like when I'm asleep and dreaming...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭B8ZZ

Got a B1, B3, C2, D2 and a F with a QCA of 1.92. What situation does that put me in?

B8ZZ wrote: »
    Got a B1, B3, C2, D2 and a F with a QCA of 1.92. What situation does that put me in?

You must repeat the F in the summer, and get your QCA above 2.00.

apparently the results i got on monday weren't a joke after all, delighted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭B8ZZ

ricimaki wrote: »
    You must repeat the F in the summer, and get your QCA above 2.00.

So just repeat that one and I will get into next year? How much will it cost aswell?

Thanks for replying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭DarkDusk

I have a QCA of 1.24 (Yeah I know, too much partying :/ ) and have a D1 and 2 F's. If I repeat the F's could I get my QCA to 2?

DarkDusk wrote: »
    I have a QCA of 1.24 (Yeah I know, too much partying :/ ) and have a D1 and 2 F's. If I repeat the F's could I get my QCA to 2?

And I probably need to work very hard this semester also...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭Agent_99

What were your other 2 marks if they were both C3 you will have to repeat them all. Try not to fail enything in spring semester

Agent_99 wrote: »
    What were your other 2 marks if they were both C3 you will have to repeat them all. Try not to fail enything in spring semester

C1 and C3

So just repeat that one and I will get into next year? How much will it cost as well?

Thanks for replying.

Repeat the F, and your QCA would be fine.
    I think it costs something around €170 per exam, but I'm not too sure.

What year are you in? If your in 3rd or 4th year I would consider repeating the D also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

If I get my QCA up from 1.62 to 2 next semester do I have to repeat the D1 i got? I got 1 F which I know I have to repeat.

C1 and C3
    Repeating the 2 F grades and passing with your C's and D's should bring you up to 2.04, you are very close to the line of failing the year so for spring semester you will need to get a C3 or above in all your modules or else you may not get an overall 2.0, less partying and a bit more time in the library should do it !! :P

Agent_99 wrote: »
    Repeating the 2 F grades and passing with your C's and D's should bring you up to 2.04, you are very close to the line of failing the year so for spring semester you will need to get a C3 or above in all your modules or else you may not get an overall 2.0, less partying and a bit more time in the library should do it !! :P

Ah cool, thanks man :)

I'm in 4th year on qca of 2.15 with an F to clear. What will my qca be then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

My QCA is 1.64, will I have to repeat the D1 I got in the first semester if I get my QCA up to 2 by the end of the year?

ryanf1 wrote: »
    I'm in 4th year on qca of 2.15 with an F to clear. What will my qca be then?

F grade when you pass capped at C3 2.0 so approx 2.08

Lads, for these answers they are only approximate and you'd be better of checking with Paddy or your student adviser just to be on the safe side as it is your degree after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Trader1991

Fourth year student here with qca of 2.48. What would I need in the final semester to achive a 2.2 or a qca over 2.6?

Trader1991 wrote: »

Fourth year student here with qca of 2.48. What would I need in the final semester to achive a 2.2 or a qca over 2.6?
    Its tough but doable, depends on how much weighting is given to your 4th yr results and the length of time your QCA is calculated over (i.e did you qca kick in 2nd or third year?)