Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Odd behaviour by Garda

• 18-01-2014 10:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭

I was driving home when I seen a Garda car doing the following:

Driving 10kmph below the speed limit.
    No back lights working at all (22:15 @ night)
    Threw what looked like an eaten apple out of the passenger window on to the sidewalk.

Unacceptable behaviour. I would like to report them, how would i go about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

'An eaten apple out of the passenger window', last time i tried to use that line i got 4 months (apple is code word for cannabis).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

You've been smoking way too much pot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Axidium wrote: »
    sidewalk.

I reckon you should get on to the DA, and bust his ass - never mind that the mayoral election is coming up and it will reflect badly on the precinct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Aestivalis

Call the gards...oh wait.

No really though. Probably just best to ring the station and voice your concerns about the lights not being on.

Throwing an apple out of the window or going 10mph under the limit isnt exactly the worst thing in the world I suppose.
    You can contact the garda ombudsman if you're that upset about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

https://www.gardaombudsman.ie/

The wonders of Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,083 ✭✭✭furiousox

What else did you seen?

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

What you gonna do? Ring up and say you saw a Garda doing all that. Then what? You think they'll put every possible suspect through a lie detector test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Axidium wrote: »
    Threw what looked like an eaten apple out of the passenger window on to the sidewalk.

Where abouts in the USA was this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

Rotten to the core he is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

The apple doesn't fall too far from the tree, they should really cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Should have drove alongside, indicated for him to pull over when safe to do so.

If he did not pull over then perform a PIT manoeuvre on his vehicle to bring it to a stop then make a citizens arrest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

If you report it I'm sure the gardai will be cranking out all the invisible typewriters in the station to solve the case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

One of the greatest pleasures i have had was driving home one night,when traffic was grinding to a virtual crawl ..

Four cars up was mr shiny blue light sticking to 15 miles in a 30 zone
    ten mins of this and three cars turned off ,i found myself staring at the arse end of above mentioned mr shiny blue light car ,the shaggers had no lights in the back ..

it took ten seconds of thought before i flashed lights,took umpteen flashes and took them a bit of time to pull over
    (inside the confines of my car i was making the noise ..nee naw neeeeee new )

there face was priceless ,when i took on the 'what have we here lads attuide"
    to be fair they took it in good jest, and cracked a few jokes about it..

reminded them that i took it easy on them ,and not to forget it next time roles are reversed ..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

The apple doesn't fall too far from the tree, they should really cop on.

But it did fall far from the tree.
    It fell on the sidewalk.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

can you confirm if this was an apple or some other fruit? they will tear you apart in court and your name will be like dirt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Call the Sheriff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    can you confirm if this was an apple or some other fruit? they will tear you apart in court and your name will be like dirt!

True dat. I got in right trouble for telling a Ban Gardai that she had a lovely pear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Chucken wrote: »
    But it did fall far from the tree.
    It fell on the sidewalk.....

Did it fall or was it pushed ? I also heard it literally had lumps gone out of it. I think we have a murder investigation here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Every force has its bad apples. Chucking them out the window is probably the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Arthur Rimbaud

Cydoniac wrote: »
    https://www.gardaombudsman.ie/

The wonders of Google.
    Google should also tell you that is not what the Ombudsman is for.

You report general crime by a Garda to the Gardai.

@OP i was crossing the street outside my house one night when this ghost - squad car cruises up out of nowhere, with no lights. it turns out they were patrolling at night for house marauding burglars, after there had been a few break-ins in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Sounds like a case for Scobie-Doo. He's like scoobie, but a bit rougher.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

True dat. I got in right trouble for telling a Ban Gardai that she had a lovely pear.

Garda Press office famously once issued a statement "We have no more ban-ghardaí, we have gardaí capable of becoming pregnant!" Ban-gharda is a sexist term,apparently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I'm pretty sure the apple core is biodegradable, so I don't think it's all that hazardous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Lucky it wasn't a banana skin, coulda got messy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭karareilly

seriously lad is that all you have to complain about? theres is alot more crazy **** going on than an apple being fecked out of a garda car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Maybe it's a metaphor Kara,
    The Garda is society, the Apple is hope, the car is the axis of the earth

Maybe we're all apples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,420 ✭✭✭✭josip

Was it red top and the baldy lad again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭karareilly

but that doesnt explain them going under the spend limit ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Car 54 where are you???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

karareilly wrote: »
    but that doesnt explain them going under the spend limit ?

apples aren't expensive?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 billyoshea

emale the litter warden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

I suppose you all think it's really funny and clever to make jokes where the Gardai are the butt of them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Was he wearing his hat? It's allowed if he wasn't wearing his hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Going 10kmh under probably to make sure they didn't hit someone/something with the apple. Threw the apple out because s/he was finished eating it. And no rear lights because the front ones come on automatically and it's easy to forget to turn on the rear ones. Why they don't just make all lights come on instead of just the front i'll never know.