Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UK Car collection experience

• 18-01-2014 7:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭

Crap pic at services on M6
    th_B2161374-F3D8-4213-A8E2-879A158AB651_zpscj44xghe.jpg

So here is a running log of the trip to the UK to inspect and hopefully buy the Car all going well. As some of you may have seen my post in the UK buying thread.

The car is 2010 Skoda Superb Estate SE. 2.0 CR 140 bhp with 6 speed box.

I had verified history, HPI, MOT and done a motor check before paying deposit. I didn't go with an AA check as with all the info I was getting I felt things were right and the way I saw it that if it's was a wreck the money saved would have bought my return flight.

07:19 Early start with brekkie a and taxi at 6:30. Now sitting at gate 106 in the airport looking at people queuing up like sheep for the Ryanair flight to Bristol.

Flight delayed 20mins while a pain having to sit for longer than necessary in seats designed for people with no legs at least I didn't have to listen to the fanfare.

9:30 picked up in the car by the garage. Drove it back and inspected the car. Probably an hour back south in the wrong direction but a decent test drive. Got to the garage and verified the paperwork and inspected the car. All spot on so on to signing and breaking out the Visa Debit card. Machine asked him to call and verify a few things. Duly done with the clearing company and bank. Car bought, probably took 7/8 mins between inserting card and sale going through. Definitely the way to do it of you can.

12:00 Gathered all paperwork, spare keys, service logs etc etc and hit the road.

Worked my way up to Bath and onto the M4, M5, M6 and M56. Stopped twice for coffee and calls of nature. Also booked the ferry online at one of the stops with the laptop as I hadn't done that in case of the worst. Took a spin into Chester to a Halfords and grabbed a £10 set of rubber mats. None in the car and the will do until I get a fitted set.

Arrived Holyhead at 6pm with 2 hours to spare. Very uneventful to say the least.

Now onto the car:
    Current mileage is 73,435. Probably driven 320 miles at this stage. Over half the tank used so guessing around 550 miles to a full tank. Display is saying 50.4 mpg but who knows if that's right. I'll verify that later.

First impressions. Very happy with everything so far.

Comfort:
    Seats are very comfy, half leather rand suede, lots of support and no aches after the spin.

The dual zone climatronic did its job, set it to 20 degrees and auto. Very comfortable, airflow is not noticeable but all windows stayed crystal clear with rain and temp changes outside.

Can't get over the amount of room in the car, it is massive. I'm 6'4" and sit back a fair bit and I can easily sit behind my seat which I've never been able to do in. Any other car.

Another plus is the Bluetooth phone kit which wasn't in the description. It works flawlessly with the iPhone so another score there.

Driving performance:
    6 speed manual, 2.0 CR 140bhp,
    My previous motor was a 97 Passat TDi Estate, 110bhp that I basically drove into the ground so I am coming from a ways back in engine tech. I also have a 2007 ML320 CDI that herself drives so that would be more comparable.

The engine is very lively and refined, once on the move you can't hear it at all. It's brisk but no sports car. The match between the 6 speed box and the engine seen perfect.

From anywhere above 50mph it will capably pull in 6th so on motorway driving you can move out into the overtaking lanes without downshifting. Makes for a very relaxing cruiser. 3rd out of a roundabout is very strong and will easily have you above the legal limit in a few seconds, found myself going from 3/4 straight into 6 several times.

For such a large car, over 4.8m long and 2,200kg it handles very well. Stays sure footed with nothing that cause you to be overly cautious on back roads. Brakes a very sharp and positive. Very little body roll while cornering so nothing to complain about.

Summary so far as I sit on Holyhead waiting for the boat would be that its a very capable car. I can't see it setting your life on fire but as a daily driver, rep mobile or family car I'll be quite happy to get into it very day without being disappointed.

Only thing I'm wondering about now is if the 140bhp is this good what must the 170bhp with DSG be like.

I'll add another update down the line after VRT and a few trips as so far it has been very simple with no drama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Well wear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭lanber man

Hope she goes well for you. Was looking at a hatch myself. Not sure whether to go for 140 or 170. Just have to get rid of my car first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

Keep us up to date re vrt etc as hope to look at a 2012 avensis manual petrol 1.8 soon which are not sold here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I have that same 140bhp engine in my CC and it's fine, as you said it won't win a traffic light grand prix. I drove the 170bhp in an A6 which weighs close to the same as a CC or Superb and didn't find it hugely superior, definitely not in any way to pay a big premium for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Well wear op. Sounds like a lovely car. You make The whole process sound so straightforward. Did you go to the uk because you are saving money ie the car is cheaper than a comparable one here or was it more just for greater choice better spec ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭traco

So far it's all been relatively straightforward. Went to the UK for choice mainly as very few estates here. Out of they few that area round they have the smaller engines and lower spec. Will make VRT appointment tomorrow for the next week and let you know how that goes.

Few more pics from today

th_26E47587-CCE5-49B9-AB2C-32ADF9658278_zpscpkhrkoq.jpg

th_A7644D98-66C4-43AB-8192-C04966601D7F_zpsf9ndiyz0.jpg

th_717FDA7D-8FF2-4A72-B7F1-E58D6706EDED_zpstnmwsm2o.jpg

th_FCF2D495-DDCC-439E-8237-4730137AE0D1_zpsdg0haywm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

Does it really have 2,200kg? Sounds like a lot, same as new F10?

I'd say it's around 1500. Maybe max laden weigth is 2200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Lovely looking motor, wish you the best of luck with it.

rocky wrote: »
    Does it really have 2,200kg? Sounds like a lot, same as new F10?

I'd say it's around 1500. Maybe max laden weigth is 2200

Yeah, you're right. The V5 has 2,132kg on as the revenue weight, who knows waht that means but the manual has it under 1,600kg in basic spec so you are correct. Guess I wasn't completely on the ball sitting in Holyhead.

Booked NCT inspection, all done online via that website. Booking was handy and you get a confirmation email. In that there is a link to a PDF from that you have to have compeleted and bring it on the day along with all the docs requested.

Booked in for the 31 Jan so we'll see how that goes, wonder if i will have to tax it for all of Jan or if it will be from Feb 1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 earanon

Nice buy there . I'm just about ready to start making some phone calls to the uk for a similar deal. The seat exeo 09/10 2.0 l estate. I'm just a little concerned with potentially buying from car giant ...clocked,underlying problems...etc. is this a real worry? Because it's the exeo,I would have to travel around a lot for choice,where as car giant have several in one spot.
    This is my 1st ever post. Hope it's not too long for a question/ reply

earanon wrote: »
    Nice buy there . I'm just about ready to start making some phone calls to the uk for a similar deal. The seat exeo 09/10 2.0 l estate. I'm just a little concerned with potentially buying from car giant ...clocked,underlying problems...etc. is this a real worry? Because it's the exeo,I would have to travel around a lot for choice,where as car giant have several in one spot.
    This is my 1st ever post. Hope it's not too long for a question/ reply

Just ask them to send you a copy of the V5, HPI check (if they haven't this get one done) if they have it and the service history along with MOT details.

You can verify the MOT history for free here https://www.gov.uk/check-mot-history-vehicle

If you have the service history, contact the garage and verify the details, if its been regularly serviced there you can maybe get a print out. I did and could cross ref this against the MOT details. In my case the MOT failed for misting on shock and indicator bulb failed, service history a few miles later has them replaced and then passing the MOT.

Run a Motorcheck car check and verify engine and chassis numbers tie up on V5, MOT and HPI. If anything is not stacking up then move on - if all is looking good you are probably fine.

Many recommend an AA check (GBP£130.00), its supposed to be great but I found an article somewhere online about somone in the UK using them and ending up with a lemon.

Because of that I placed a refundable deposit and booked a €43 one way Ryanair flight to inspect the car. I looked at the £130 saved as either a return airfare or ferry ticket - happilly it was the ferry ticket with the car.

Just do the groundwork and be prepare to walk away if not right. Hope that helps and best of luck.

So far 1300+ miles covered and going good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 earanon

Thanks for the reply Traco.
    Pretty much more info in one paragraph than that 3 nights worth of trying to scrape it together! I'll be putting it to good use.
    Thanks again
    Eara

Hi traco. You said you paid with a visa debit. Was there no limit on that while in the uk or did you encounter any problems paying for the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Bath to holyhead is some spin!

Well wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭joe 77

Hi traco. You said you paid with a visa debit. Was there no limit on that while in the uk or did you encounter any problems paying for the car?

+ 1
    I'd also like to know how you paid with a Visa Debit card.
    OP your post is most help & cheers for posting

joe 77 wrote: »
    + 1
    I'd also like to know how you paid with a Visa Debit card.
    OP your post is most help & cheers for posting

No worries - happy to share as I get a lot of good info on here!

A few people said I'd have problems but there is none with VISA debit. Once the cash is there to meet the transaction the payment will be processed by your bank.

The only issue you may encounter will be with the garages point of sale clearing agent - whoever supplied their credit card machine / merchant account.

In my case the garage had to call them, I spoke to them, answered a few security questions as they were also speaking with BOI also. Basically it was to verify that I was the account holder and it was my card. Took maybe 7/8 mins and they payment was processed.

Visa Debit Exchange Rates:
    Transaction Sat 18 Jan. Interbank Rate 0.8294
    Tranasction appeared on Bank statement 21 Jan at rate of 0.824402, the interbank rate on that day was 0.8246

Based on that I doubt you will get any better exchange rate, its as close to interbank as you will get and much better than the rate offered on cash or draft over the counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭joe 77

Cheers for that , I never even thought of using my Visa Debit card .:D

VRT Update

I had an appointment booked for Friday 31st Jan (a week ago today) for the VRT inspection at 10 am. Had done the checks on the VRT calculator and couldn't find one to match mine exactly, there was a 2.0 170 BHP and a 1.9 but no 2.0 SE 140 Bhp. Those checks were throwing up 3.4k odd so I used that as a base and got a draft for 3k and make up the balance on my Visa debit. For some reason you can't pay above a certain amount to Applus via card even though I bought the car using the same card - go figure.

Went to Northpoint, presented all the paperwork needed (listed below for anyone that needs it), all straightforward. Was told to wait at the car and they'd verify the chassis number - this must be the one stamped on the chassis and not the one through the window so handy if you know where that is. Few mins later that was checked along with the mileage.

Back upstars and waited for a few mins, got called up to say the car had lower emmisions than they had on their system and they'd have to generate a new code. Signed a form confirming all the info as being correct and they told me I'd get a call within 10 days with the figure from head office - Rosslare?? So off I went. Total time was maybe 25 mins.

Email and text message on Wednesday morning asking to call to get the VRT price that it had been processed, called and after a few security questions they gave me the info - sub 3k so said thanks very much and they said just call in at the approriate payment times (different hours to inspection) and make the payment whenever it suited. I had these on teh paperwork from the initial visit.

Went in this morning, no appointment needed and gave the UK reg. They pulled the info and said that VRT would be x - same value. Said I had a draft for 3k which was only a few euro more which was grand. They would have given me change but I asked about plates as I needed them. Paid a few more € and was given the plates with the new reg 5 mins later. Total time 20 mins.

Car will be on system 24-48 hours time to tax online - using info on receipt.

All in all no hassle plus over €400 less than my budget had allowed for. The whole process was very starightforward and now I have 10D1248** parked outside. Just took a bit of time and planning but no more hassle as far as I can see if I bought down the country.

Info needed for VRT Process:
    V5 UK registration document
    Purchase Invoice
    Proof of import date - ferry booking / ticket
    Proof of PPS number - payslip / revenue docs
    ID - Drivers licence / passport
    Proof of address - recent utility bill
    You must complete VRTVPD2 form if you are a private buyer importing a used car, it can be filed out on the PC and printed, I left the values blank and filled in on the day as I didn't know if they wanted GBP or Euro and signed it on the day.
    Form link http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vrt/forms/formvrtvpd2.pdf

All details also here on the official site: http://www.ncts.ie/vquest.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭jarvis_c82

Great thread.

Going to be looking into this in the next month and very insightful of the process I'll be going through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Excellent information.

Fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭vinnie13

Wear well,iv always went to the UK fir cars,always hsppy..
    Not like the liars selling scrap over here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭juniord

hpi check now includes checking if the v5 is not from a batch of 400,000 stolen in 2006 so if checking a car include the v5 serial number , i had a near miss with one in a private sale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Great thread, thanks for the info! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

traco wrote: »
    No worries - happy to share as I get a lot of good info on here!

A few people said I'd have problems but there is none with VISA debit. Once the cash is there to meet the transaction the payment will be processed by your bank.

The only issue you may encounter will be with the garages point of sale clearing agent - whoever supplied their credit card machine / merchant account.

In my case the garage had to call them, I spoke to them, answered a few security questions as they were also speaking with BOI also. Basically it was to verify that I was the account holder and it was my card. Took maybe 7/8 mins and they payment was processed.

Visa Debit Exchange Rates:
    Transaction Sat 18 Jan. Interbank Rate 0.8294
    Tranasction appeared on Bank statement 21 Jan at rate of 0.824402, the interbank rate on that day was 0.8246

Based on that I doubt you will get any better exchange rate, its as close to interbank as you will get and much better than the rate offered on cash or draft over the counter.

Does the vendor incur a charge for using the Visa Debit - I know with Visa Credit some dealers impose a 1.5%/ 1.75% surcharge to cover their Visa costs but not sure if this is the same with Visa Debit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

Another question - did you transfer your own insurance over to the new car as soon as you had bought it? I read somewhere that if you get stopped by the police over there you will need some documentation from your insurance company to show you are covered! Also, was the car taxed?

@Casati There was no surcharge on the garage side that I know of. I was charged €11 by my bank for the transaction as there is a cap on it. I think the other surcharges related to credit cards but in the case of a debit card the cash must be present to meet the transaction balance.

@MayoForSam I called my insurance provider, gave them the reg and car info and insured it. Got a letter stating cover and brought it and my disk with me to display. I have to call them Monday and give them the Irish reg. There was an increase in my premium but that's due to the higher value and more powerful engine I think rather than anything else. I think some insurers might charge €25 admin fee for transferring and issuing new cert.

MayoForSam wrote: »
    Another question - did you transfer your own insurance over to the new car as soon as you had bought it? I read somewhere that if you get stopped by the police over there you will need some documentation from your insurance company to show you are covered! Also, was the car taxed?

I was bringing a car back a couple of weeks ago. Got stopped by the police half an hour from holyhead after driving seven hours. Car was coming up as having no insurance as there was a system lag or something. Reckoned that he would of seized the car if I hadnt the cert with me. Most garages wont release a car without having proof of insurance aswell

MayoForSam wrote: »

I was bringing a car back a couple of weeks ago. Got stopped by the police half an hour from holyhead after driving seven hours. Car was coming up as having no insurance as there was a system lag or something. Reckoned that he would of seized the car if I hadnt the cert with me. Most garages wont release a car without having proof of insurance aswell

MayoForSam - sorry, missed the tax question.
    The car was not taxed, I asked the garage and they offered to tax it for 6 months for £77. On further discussion with the garage and others that had brought in cars they all suggested the risk of getting done particularly with all sales, insurance, ferry tickets etc being low as the car was being exported. So they filled it with juice for me instead. Passed a few cop cars but none stopped me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Lots of good advice and nice report on the process. Are you competent enough to know if the car was a lemon? I dont think I would hence why I went for the full AA check the last time I bought a car there and tbh it was well worth it. Never knew that you could end up with a hape of ****e though from using the check

I wouldn't be a mechanic but I'd know what I'm looking at. I'd also be very critical and am from a technical background so I'd generally trust my self more than a third party. I'd also be prepared to accept problems I know I can easily fix.

Thats it - all done. Taxed online this morning so new tax disc in the post along with new insurance disk.

Probably took a week longer due to the VRT guys having to create a new statistical code for the car but very painless to be honest.

The biggest hassle was the trip to the bank for the VRT draft and the two trips to the VRT office as they required time out of the office which was maybe 3 hours in total.

Almost 3,00 miles covered so far and average consumption is 6.425l/100km or 43.966 mpg. Trip is saying 47mpg so its a little optimistic. Thats includes High speed motorway, commuting, school runs, trips to shops etc so its a warts and all figure.

Only whinge I have is that the fuel tank is too small for such a car, most I have been able to get into it is 53l on a fill, it would benefit from a 70-80l tank as I hate stopping to fill up. Might do a more detailed review on the car after a few more miles.

Glad this thread has helped a few out and to anyone considering doing similar - just do your homework and you should be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

I think this thread should be stickied. Mods, would you consider it, please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

traco wrote: »
    Only whinge I have is that the fuel tank is too small for such a car, most I have been able to get into it is 53l on a fill, it would benefit from a 70-80l tank as I hate stopping to fill up.

Is the computer reading more or less empty when you fill up? Seems like it's a 60 litre tank, so if you've run it right down I'd be expecting to get close to 60 litres in.

Had a similar complaint from a customer in a Superb a few years ago, after he ran out of fuel with the needle not on the bottom of the dial and the computer saying he still had around 150km to empty.

Eventually discovered that the tank is in 2 parts, due to being set up for the 4x4 versions. Large part of the tank on one side, with a smaller tank on the far side. The pump that should pump from the small side, over the transmission hump, in to the larger side, had failed, so the car still had fuel in, but couldn't access it.

Its been down in the red each time with the light on. Haven't had the confidence to push the needle below the red as knowing my luck I'd be miles from anywhere. Have a rule of filing once its down there as I don't like running diesels too low -heard some of them use the fuel to keep the pump cool (could be rubbish) and running them very low regularly can cause the pump to overheat and fail early.

Specs say 60l and perhaps you could get 55l into it if I did push it. Just seems like a skimpy tank on a car that covers miles so easily but I'm guessing weight and emisisons and all this other waffle influence these decisions.