Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car insurance

• 16-01-2014 11:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭

Who's good for car insurance at the minute?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

just do it wrote: »
    Who's good for car insurance at the minute?

if u or ur better half are in the public sector then "cornmarket"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,315 ✭✭✭tanko

A friend of mine was with FBD for years, changed to liberty last week. They were 20% cheaper as long as they added a named driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Renewed with axa. They dropped 25% off the quote on the renewal letter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 D-mac

insure my van.ie is hard to beat for com insurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Aviva are very competitive.

25% discount on one policy if you've two or more household cars with them. Not to be sniffed at.

They are also v good if you have to claim, which we rarely think about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

fbd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

123.ie here.

Any quote I get from them I riing them up and tell them taht I can get it 25% cheaper with another company. They'll usually match my bluff. No other insurance company can come near them for price. For lowest price ensure that you are putting a good named driver on it (ie. over 25 and preferably female) and that you have the correct value on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭bulleyes

D-mac wrote: »
    insure my van.ie is hard to beat for com insurance

+1for this

Muckit wrote: »
    Aviva are very competitive.

25% discount on one policy if you've two or more household cars with them. Not to be sniffed at.

They are also v good if you have to claim, which we rarely think about.
    Rang Aviva and they were €1,200 :eek:

€420 fully comp with wife and 25yo au-pair as named drivers. That includes class 2 which not all insurers do. No one else has come close to matching that!

25year old au pair, it's your heart ud want to be insuring so

hugo29 wrote: »
    25year old au pair, it's your heart ud want to be insuring so
    It's gas she's falling for a lad at the moment and it's funny to watch as an observer. Sends a shiver down my spine thinking about when my 4yo girl gets to that stage :eek:

I have a 5 year old lad up here who will keep an eye on her for ya,

hugo29 wrote: »
    I have a 5 year old lad up here who will keep an eye on her for ya,
    I've a 6yo lad that will hopefully take care of your 5yo if he touches her!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Anyone try ARB

Do lads think it's worth paying an extra 50 or so to protect your NCD?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

reilig wrote: »
    123.ie here.

Any quote I get from them I riing them up and tell them taht I can get it 25% cheaper with another company. They'll usually match my bluff. No other insurance company can come near them for price. For lowest price ensure that you are putting a good named driver on it (ie. over 25 and preferably female) and that you have the correct value on it.

who are the insurers? RSA I presume ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭lollsangel

reilig wrote: »
    123.ie here.

Was with 123, went to renew one car last november and the renewable price was almost double! Needless to say we shopped around and got it with chill for slightly higher than last year. The killing part is both policies are rsa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Box09

[qwuote="Muckit;88496638"]Aviva are very competitive.

They are also v good if you have to claim, which we rarely think about.[/quote]

You must like ringing India so. Aviva are not competitive and a nightmare to deal with. Zurich are good and now do farm. Fbd ok but pricey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

lollsangel wrote: »
    Was with 123, went to renew one car last november and the renewable price was almost double! Needless to say we shopped around and got it with chill for slightly higher than last year. The killing part is both policies are rsa

123 are grand when they are getting your money, but when any issues arise they are an unhelpful shower of .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

FBD are competitive again, didn't have any car with them for nearly 10 years. Now have 3 out of 4 family cars, they were the lowest with renewal quotes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,542 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I just go to campion insurance in town. They are a broker and the girl that works there is very good as she always gets A good renewal quote every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

IFA are affiliated with FBD. ICMSA with Campion. I'm affiliated to both. Time to play one against the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 screcrow

Zurich were €90 more than fbd for the car and €300 cheaper for the farm&house

I think there's no two ways about it. You have to shop around. Everyone has a different set of circumstances. age, car type, years driving, no claims bonus, job type etc etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 orla.mccormack

If you're a woman in Ireland looking for cheap car insurance, then I would say <snip> would be your best chance!

Post edited by Boards.ie: Niamh on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭Dunedin

I’m public service and I’ve never saw any ads or correspondence to staff from them? Are they much cheaper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭garrettod

I thought that Cornmarket only did life cover, health cover, pensions and investments - and yes, they do target the civil service and semi state staff (although in not sure if the are actually any more competent, or competitive, tbh)

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭garrettod

BTW - unusual as it may sound, give Supervalu a try - they've been quite competitive on quotes and also throw in some Supervalu reward points and vouchers, which can make the offer even better.

Thanks,

G.

FBD offer a discount if you are an ifa member.

You get an even better deal if you call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

I took the farm and car insurance from FBD about 4 years ago, last year the local rep hounded me to allow them quote. So I said fair enough. He was embarrassed when I showed him how much more expensive FBD were compared to what I could get with A A on the farm insurance & One Direct on the car and that was him doing the best deal he could for me.

Do you get public liability on farm insurance with the AA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Sorry I have the farm insured with AXA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,576 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It's immaterial who is good. You have to price around all insurance every year. As well different companies target different sectors, age groups etc

Know a lad that is with Just for Women. No insurance company can discriminate against you on gender.

Nobody can do your footwork for you.

Slava Ukrainii