Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gas Boiler not working..

• 15-01-2014 7:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭

But gas fire and hob seem fine.

Pilot light doesn't seem to be on at all. Tried everything I could!

Any thoughts lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭Egass13

Slattsy wrote: »

Any thoughts lads?

Have you a make/model of boiler , bit more info would be great and maybe we can help you out !

Any thoughts lads?

Have you a make/model of boiler , bit more info would be great and maybe we can help you out !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Sorry!

Yeah it's a Vokera Mynute 16e.

Thanks.

Sorry!

Yeah it's a Vokera Mynute 16e.

Thanks.

What's happening exactly ? Is your water pressure at 1 bar ? . Is the boiler attempting to start at all ?

Bar is at zero.

I can hear it click as such, like it's trying to kick off but nothing is happening.

Bar is at zero.

I can hear it click as such, like it's trying to kick off but nothing is happening.

Water pressure is too low . You need to bring it up to 1. There should be a filling valve in the hotpress , post pics of the various valves etc and I'll tell you which one it is

Taking a bit to upload, sorry.

20140115_195834_zpsjbumrcy5.jpg

20140115_195714_zpsgnzyylhf.jpg

Their fairly inconclusive , you havnt included any of the valves. Their should be a metal braided hose connecting the mains to the system , can you see one of these? If not it would be a half inch gate valve, red wheel head , depending on the type of system

Im sorry mate, but photopucket for some feckin reason wont upload any more photo's for me!!

I cant see anything in the hotpress like a realease valves, just 2 red wheel heads.

Im sorry mate, but photopucket for some feckin reason wont upload any more photo's for me!!

I cant see anything in the hotpress like a realease valves, just 2 red wheel heads.

Well the good news is the problem looks to be only low water pressure so it's a matter of locating the valve and topping it up . The bad news is you'll probably have to get someone in to do it . Where abouts are you located, are you in a newish estate ? Maybe one of your neighbours have the same set up as yourself and might know where the valve is located. It could even be down around the boiler itself . I must add that getting someone in to look at it is probably your best option to determine why the pressure went down in the first place

No leaks anywhere, but cant find a valve anywhere!!

I think i may have over bled a rad the other day, now that i think of it. Would that have a knock on effect??

It sure would , by bleeding that rad you reduce the pressure in the system , so you need to replace it via the filling loop !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭rightjob!

if you let out alot of water it would cause the guage to go down.
    definately no braided hose in there?

Egass13 wrote: »
    It sure would , by bleeding that rad you reduce the pressure in the system , so you need to replace it via the filling loop !

I just thought of that!! Numpty!!

You lost me at filling loop!

rightjob! wrote: »
    if you let out alot of water it would cause the guage to go down.
    definately no braided hose in there?

I probably did let out too much in fairness.
    Yes i see a braided hose going into the boiler, but no valve.

I just thought of that!! Numpty!!

You lost me at filling loop!

I probably did let out too much in fairness.
    Yes i see a braided hose going into the boiler, but no valve.

can you take apicture of under the boiler where the hose is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

It could be an open system. Check the attic for a small tank. It should have water in it.

Photobucket working again here pic of boiler, def no valves near braided pipe.

20140115_211705_zpsvihsg5q6.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

I reckon that's only used for the blow off. Can you take a pic in your hot press of the other side of the cylinder? Concentrate on the coil pipework. If you can stand back from it to get as much into the photo as possible.

Will this suffice ?

20140115_213301_zpsmw7gbgxv.jpg

Sorry, need to see all the pipework on the left. Specially the valves, etc.
    Also you could move the paint.

Sorry!
    Thats everything on the left

20140115_214907_zpsp9qpjfd9.jpg

now your sorted
    that pipe in the corner small half inch valve make sure it open all the way,if it is follow it upstairs to the tank

Sorry!
    Thats everything on the left

20140115_214907_zpsp9qpjfd9.jpg

That red valve in the corner , is it open fully? Anti-clockwise..

Open the upper red wheel valve fully anti-clockwise & check the pressure gauge.
    It will most likely only reach 0.5bar as it looks like you have a semi-sealed system.

Well why didnt ye just tell me that earlier lads!!!!!! You's call yourselves plumbers?? Pppffftttt :D

That's it sorted now, she's back up and running and heating the bedrooms, good timing!!

Thanks very much, really appreciate your time :)

Just one last question, should i close the red wheel back fully or should i be somewhat in the middle?

good stuff,leave it open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

Don't leave them fully open. They can stick. Just turn it a couple of degrees back from fully open

And this is why i love boards, again really appreciate that lads.

295580,xcitefun-good-work-1.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭jimf

And this is why i love boards, again really appreciate that lads.

295580,xcitefun-good-work-1.gif

hi mods

can we have this thumbs up please just for scudo he will love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭David Della Rocco

Hi guys,

have the same issue and have spent the last two days trying to resolve it. Bust my head on a beam in the attic which was the final straw so calling an RGI tomorrow! When I read this I thought I was on to a winner as I had the very same issue and then located the two valves in the hot press but got no joy. The boiler is a Worcester Greenstar 28i junior combi Mk I I I condensing boiler. The boiler is in a house which has been unoccupied for close to 12 months and was therefore not in use but the gas fire is working the same as the day we left.

I tried opening the red valves and noticed that there was what looks like an electrical connection which is not wired up. Boiler worked the day we left last February and no one has had access to change anything since. I would appreciate any help to solve this without hired help.

Appreciate any input

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Robbie.G

Hi guys,

have the same issue and have spent the last two days trying to resolve it. Bust my head on a beam in the attic which was the final straw so calling an RGI tomorrow! When I read this I thought I was on to a winner as I had the very same issue and then located the two valves in the hot press but got no joy. The boiler is a Worcester Greenstar 28i junior combi Mk I I I condensing boiler. The boiler is in a house which has been unoccupied for close to 12 months and was therefore not in use but the gas fire is working the same as the day we left.

I tried opening the red valves and noticed that there was what looks like an electrical connection which is not wired up. Boiler worked the day we left last February and no one has had access to change anything since. I would appreciate any help to solve this without hired help.

Appreciate any input

There's a few things we need to know before we start.
    What is the water pressure gauge on the boiler reading.
    Is the boiler doing anything at all.
    Does the combi side of it work.
    Is there any fault codes on boiler

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

The gauge is in the red almost to 0 maybe a few millibar. As per the original post, the boiler seems to be firing up but then just stops and a green light flickers on the flame symbol in the panel as per the below. There is no screen so no fault codes showing. Sorry but I don't understand what you mean by combi side?

You need to find the fill valve for the heating as the boiler won't work due to low water pressure.
    Take a pic of the hotpress including all pipework and valves
    Your looking for a steel braided hose

Thanks, below is a photo of the full hot press. The only other valves than the red wheels posted previously are at the top left of the hot press as per the second photo. I don't see any steel braided hose in the hot press. Only in a cupboard under the boiler as per the third pic which I will post separately due to the limit

Cupboard under hot press

That's is the fill loop.You need a flat screwdriver open valve on right hand side that's connected to hose until the gauge on the boiler reaches 1bar then shut valve that will put water into heating system.Then try boiler that should do it

So.... As per the photo below, you will see that the connection for the filling valve seems to be missing as it cannot be opened with a flat head screwdriver. I opened it anyway with a pliers and the pressure started going up. I then attempted to close the valve and although I continued to turn to the right the flow of water did not stop. The boiler is now steady at just under 2.5 bar and not rising but it is still not firing up.

Did you reset boiler.
    When you open a hot tap does the boiler fire.
    Is there any faults codes or lights flashing.

Bleed water out of a radiator first & bring the pressure back down to 1.3 bar.
    Press & hold the reset button on the boiler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭MiniGolf

Valve is not quite fully closed. It needs to go a fraction more anti-clockwise so the flat is at 90 deg to the pipe.
    What area are you in? Someone on here might cover your area and be able to help.
    It could be that the pump is jammed or another problem. You will need an RGI to check pump as it is inside boiler casing.
    What I want to know is why is there a combi boiler fitted with a cylinder???

Robbie.G wrote: »
    Did you reset boiler.
    When you open a hot tap does the boiler fire.
    Is there any faults codes or lights flashing.

No boiler doesnt fire. The boiler clicks but doesnt fire up then flame light flashes green for a while and the boiler shuts down

shane0007 wrote: »
    Bleed water out of a radiator first & bring the pressure back down to 1.3 bar.
    Press & hold the reset button on the boiler.

Thanks, have left the house now. I am staying elsewhere until it is sorted but I will try this in the morning.

MiniGolf wrote: »
    Valve is not quite fully closed. It needs to go a fraction more anti-clockwise so the flat is at 90 deg to the pipe.
    What area are you in? Someone on here might cover your area and be able to help.
    It could be that the pump is jammed or another problem. You will need an RGI to check pump as it is inside boiler casing.
    What I want to know is why is there a combi boiler fitted with a cylinder???

Thanks I have left the house for the night. Will try to close the valve in the morning. I am in the castletroy area of Limerick. I don't mean to be short with you but I can't answer as to why a combi boiler is fitted with a cylinder, I'm lost there.

Thanks for all your input. This morning I went up and was able to shut off the filling valve. I then bled water from a radiator to bring the pressure down to just above 1 bar. I then reset the boiler but I get the same issue, it sounds like its firing up then a green light flashes next to the flame symbol and it dies down. We have hot water from the taps so that is working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭MiniGolf

Thanks for all your input. This morning I went up and was able to shut off the filling valve. I then bled water from a radiator to bring the pressure down to just above 1 bar. I then reset the boiler but I get the same issue, it sounds like its firing up then a green light flashes next to the flame symbol and it dies down. We have hot water from the taps so that is working.

Time to get an RGI in!
    Try www.dewar.ie.
    They are based in Limerick and are Worcester Accredited Installers so will be familiar with your boiler.
    No affiliation to them apart from also being a WAI. I Found them on the Worcester-Bosch.ie website.

Thanks very much. My brother actually got in touch with the person who installed the boiler about 2 years ago so he is coming tomorrow. If there are any issues, I will get on to this crowd. Thanks