Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help me to clean good!

• 15-01-2014 12:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭

Right lads! The birthday is coming up soon so I shall be paying curran a visit ;)

Budget is looking to be about 70 quid so could ye recommend a few bits? I don't have a power washer or hose just to throw it out there

Ideally Id like something to pre wash it, wash it, with, a good drying towel, tar remover, polish, wax, tyre care, and whatever else might be nice :)

So suggestions please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Dry me crazy drying towel and incredimit wash mit. Definitely the two best purchases I've made, from a time saving point of view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Scortho wrote: »
    Dry me crazy drying towel and incredimit wash mit. Definitely the two best purchases I've made, from a time saving point of view.

They were on my list actually!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

They were on my list actually!

They seem pricy but when half a towel does the alfa then I'm feckin happy and well worth the initial outlay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

Try and squeeze in a clay bar to your list, after a clay even the most budget friendly polish and wax will do wonders to your paint work. IMO

As for tyre care, my most recent one is Gtechniq T1 and it is very good, you can use it on black trim also. C4 is the long term trim restorer and I have used it and is highly recommended, but if for now you are starting to build on your arsenal then T1 has more uses and more bang for your buck.

Make sure you get some All Purpose Cleaner (APC) too, can be diluted down and used to clean your interior and also you will want to scrub your tyres with it before applying dressing to make sure it bonds to it correctly and you get the most from it. APC is real cheap, you can of course get expensive stuff, but at the moment I am using the blue one from Aldi; Lidl, Tesco and any discount store will have a suitable version as well.

If polishing by hand it is hard to look past Autoglym Super Resin Polish, AutoFinesse Triple is another good one I gather also. I had good results by hand with Gtechniq P1 but it harder and more time consuming to use as it does not contain any fillers, results are permanent though.

For wax/sealant there are many many options, my first non main stream detailing product was Poorboys World Natty's Paste Wax Blue, it is an entry level wax but I have used a few others and keep going back to it, it is easy to apply and remove, looks great and some reports say it doesnt last as long as others but you will get at least 3 months from an application and personally I love the look of my car (solid black) after a fresh coat of wax so I do it more than 4 times a year, so the durability isnt an issue for me.

If you let us know the colour of your car and the condition of the paint you may get more specific suggestions, for example Poorboys Black Hole glaze followed buy the paste wax I mention above is often suggested for black or dark coloured cars, silver or white you tend to get people leaning towards sealant over wax.

Check out detailingworld.co.uk, loads of threads there to give you ideas, most products if you follow the directions on the bottle will give good results and any difference of opinion over one or anther is often person preference rather than product A being better than product B, my point being, no matter what you decide to buy, if you put in the effort the results will be good regardless of what specific product you go for. :)

HJL wrote: »
    Try and squeeze in a clay bar to your list, after a clay even the most budget friendly polish and wax will do wonders to your paint work. IMO

As for tyre care, my most recent one is Gtechniq T1 and it is very good, you can use it on black trim also. C4 is the long term trim restorer and I have used it and is highly recommended, but if for now you are starting to build on your arsenal then T1 has more uses and more bang for your buck.

Make sure you get some All Purpose Cleaner (APC) too, can be diluted down and used to clean your interior and also you will want to scrub your tyres with it before applying dressing to make sure it bonds to it correctly and you get the most from it. APC is real cheap, you can of course get expensive stuff, but at the moment I am using the blue one from Aldi; Lidl, Tesco and any discount store will have a suitable version as well.

If polishing by hand it is hard to look past Autoglym Super Resin Polish, AutoFinesse Triple is another good one I gather also. I had good results by hand with Gtechniq P1 but it harder and more time consuming to use as it does not contain any fillers, results are permanent though.

For wax/sealant there are many many options, my first non main stream detailing product was Poorboys World Natty's Paste Wax Blue, it is an entry level wax but I have used a few others and keep going back to it, it is easy to apply and remove, looks great and some reports say it doesnt last as long as others but you will get at least 3 months from an application and personally I love the look of my car (solid black) after a fresh coat of wax so I do it more than 4 times a year, so the durability isnt an issue for me.

If you let us know the colour of your car and the condition of the paint you may get more specific suggestions, for example Poorboys Black Hole glaze followed buy the paste wax I mention above is often suggested for black or dark coloured cars, silver or white you tend to get people leaning towards sealant over wax.

Check out detailingworld.co.uk, loads of threads there to give you ideas, most products if you follow the directions on the bottle will give good results and any difference of opinion over one or anther is often person preference rather than product A being better than product B, my point being, no matter what you decide to buy, if you put in the effort the results will be good regardless of what specific product you go for. :)

Thanks for that :) I've done the whole detailing thing before, I just want to up it a bit if you get me? The car is a dark green, scarbe green to be exact, and there's not a scratch on it so that's always a plus! I've used auto glym srp on the car i have now, and another polish by them that smells oddly like head and shoulders :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

Thanks for that :) I've done the whole detailing thing before, I just want to up it a bit if you get me? The car is a dark green, scarbe green to be exact, and there's not a scratch on it so that's always a plus! I've used auto glym srp on the car i have now, and another polish by them that smells oddly like head and shoulders :pac:

Is that a BMW metallic colour? If the paint is in good condition then a filler type polish/glaze would probably be best, not point in using anything too abrasive
    if not necessary. And if metallic some people reckon wax could 'mute' the flakes so go for a sealant, Gtechnic C2v3 is a spray on product that is easy to use and sits well on top of other products.

HJL wrote: »
    Is that a BMW metallic colour? If the paint is in good condition then a filler type polish/glaze would probably be best, not point in using anything too abrasive
    if not necessary. And if metallic some people reckon wax could 'mute' the flakes so go for a sealant, Gtechnic C2v3 is a spray on product that is easy to use and sits well on top of other products.

I wouldn't be one for gtechnic now, seems far to complicated and pricey for my liking haha, it's a saab color, yeah it's metallic as far as i'm lead to believe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Right lads! The birthday is coming up soon so I shall be paying curran a visit ;)

Budget is looking to be about 70 quid so could ye recommend a few bits? I don't have a power washer or hose just to throw it out there

Ideally Id like something to pre wash it, wash it, with, a good drying towel, tar remover, polish, wax, tyre care, and whatever else might be nice :)

So suggestions please!

First thing if head here>
    There are a few slots available.
    PM Me for code

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057104915

€70 might be a bit tight for all that stuff though.

You could head to Aldi/Lidl/Tesco and pick up a litre of their APC.
    Dilute and put in a spray bottle and spray complete car as a pre wash.

Then wash with your group buy kit.

Tar remover
    Tar Cleanse > http://www.detailingshed.com/test-category/69-t.html

Clay
    http://www.detailingshed.com/detailing-clay/142-blit-hamber-auto-clay-regular.html

Polish
    http://www.detailingshed.com/polish/107-chemical-guys-p40.html

Wax
    http://www.detailingshed.com/waxes/243-collinite-845-liquid-insulator-wax.html

Wheels
    Wash and scrub with apc solution
    Treat with Tar Cleanse

Give them a couple of coats of Collinite 845

Tyres
    http://www.detailingshed.com/plastics-trim/120-chemical-guys-new-look-trim-gel.html

Glass
    http://www.detailingshed.com/glass/100-oac-glass-clanse.html

I'd recommend the cleanse combo (tar, wheel, iron) on DS:

http://www.detailingshed.com/specials/213-cleanse-combo-iron-tar-wheel-cleanse.html

The polish and claybar that vectra suggested and some wash and wax in Tesco.

(Despite coming from Tesco, it's actually not all that bad for a budget shampoo, though you will use a fair bit of it each time to get any decent results, but will still last several washes). I think the Tesco wash and wax is around 6-7 euro for 2 litres (but I stand to be corrected on that).

Problem is, you may need some applicator pads and stuff, too (for the polish). So for the extra €5 I'd buy one or two of them off DS. These thingies here: http://www.detailingshed.com/accessories/129-yellow-wax-applicators.html

(but I've put you over-budget a bit there. Unless you plan to collect in person to avoid postage costs).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

If you have alloys, I always find that shiney alloys and dressed tyres make a car pop out. Don't neglect them, prioritise them.