Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A/Rist in the spotlight (drquirky)

• 14-01-2014 10:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭

Previous threads from this series:

blockic

Next up in this series of Q + A sessions is the man originally from across the pond, drquirky. Thanks for accepting to take up the reigns.

He is best known for his love/hate relationship with fellow posters in these halls :D and for having the BANter in other forums. ;) But we all know he means well and calls A/R home! So let's get to know him and his running a bit better. This will run again until next Tuesday where drquirky can pass on the baton to the next A/Rist.

So, to start:

How long have you been Ireland?

Why Ireland?

What thing/item do you miss most about not living in the US (outside of family)?

What do you like most about Ireland that you would not get in the US?

What is your opinion on hot dogs?

Why were you banned from the weather forum?

Are you from Boston itself or a city outside of Boston? If so, which one? Have relations there so wondering if you are originally from close by…

Still looking at Boston Marathon in 2015?

What are your Senior PBs in 5km and 10km?

Who has been the biggest influence in your running life and why?

If you had only one sentence to influence a novice person’s running life what would that sentence be?

What is your favourite race to date that you have ran and why?

What do you consider to be your all-time best running performance? Tell us a bit about it. (making it sound like you are old and retired here! :D)

What do you enjoy most about running?

That’s it for now! Enjoy folks and be nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Why did you name yourself after a low-class 'amusement arcade'?

Where did you hone your (now legendary) drinking abilities?

When will the next beer mile be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Why do you guys hate on Alan Webb so much??!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

-what was the trigger that turned you from a nice happy poster into the angry bollox you are today?
    -favourite place to train? (Ireland and US)
    -Typical training week while running in college?
    -List of full track PBs?
    -Favourite meal?
    -Why do you hate the Canadians?
    -What exactly did you do to get banned from the weather forum?
    -Do you feel ashamed that one of the sister pearse joggers finished ahead of you last Sunday?
    -Favourite training session?
    -Views on drug taking?
    -Baseball is a sport played by fat unfit men who can throw or hit a ball, it's not really a sport. Discuss this statement*

*I realise you are not mildly autistic so will take this statement in good humour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Are you really canadian or american or irish?
    How many LetsRun poster names do you have?
    How do you rate your chances of getting Nick Symmonds or Josh Harris over for the next beer mile?
    Favorite (sic) pub in Leitrim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

How many days a week do you train?
    What kind of race/time performance would be enough for you to say 'I can never improve on that'?
    What exactly did you do to get banned from the weather forum?
    Can you point out the USA on a map? Why is it that so few American citizens can?
    Will you push your kids towards running, or let them choose their own sport (even if it's a GAA sport)?
    Is it true that you moved to Ireland after your role as Bulldog in Frasier came to an end?
    Democrat or Republican?
    Ice Hockey or Baseball?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Will try to plow through these!

How long have you been Ireland?
    I moved to Ireland in 2007- just as the Celtic Tiger was topping out.
    Why Ireland?
    Its a bit of a long story that involves women, politics, wanderlust etc etc. Do a long run with me sometime and I'll tell you the whole thing
    What thing/item do you miss most about not living in the US (outside of family)?
    Decent pizza and church/state separation. Outside of that not very much
    What do you like most about Ireland that you would not get in the US?
    The Phoenix Park, black pudding, no guns and really really long summer evenings.
    What is your opinion on hot dogs?
    Funny you ask. I'm not a huge fan myself but my Grandfather was brought over to the USA from Hungary by his father. They opened a bar and began selling sausages/ hot dogs to get the customers to drink more beer. This small enterprise turned into a massive meat/hot dog company that at its apex used to
    supply Madison Sq. Garden in NYC w/ hot dogs. The entire thing exploded in massive family acrimony in the 1970's (so unfortunately I'm not a hot dog heir)
    Why were you banned from the weather forum?

Are you from Boston itself or a city outside of Boston? If so, which one? Have relations there so wondering if you are originally from close by…
    Suburban hell. 15 miles west of the city.
    Still looking at Boston Marathon in 2015?

Yup. sub 2:40 Boston 2015 is the long term goal.

What are your Senior PBs in 5km and 10km?
    15:4x and 32:50 both run at age 19.
    Who has been the biggest influence in your running life and why?
    My high school coach. Not only did he influence me in running but he introduced me to punk rock, beat generation literature and Scorsese movies.
    If you had only one sentence to influence a novice person’s running life what would that sentence be?

Don't over think or over analyse your running- run more and more consistently and you will improve.
    What is your favourite race to date that you have ran and why?

Hmmmm….I really enjoyed the Budapest Marathon this year. Simply because it was fun to run a marathon and not blow up.
    What do you consider to be your all-time best running performance? Tell us a bit about it. (making it sound like you are old and retired here! )
    1996 New England Small School X-C Championships. I finished 3rd- don't actually remember tons about the course but there was this Ethiopian fella who ended up winning (he went on to be pushing a sub 4 mile in college) . He was a bit of an unknown to us going in and I think he put 45 secs on me and the second place guy before we even knew it. Ended up in a battle royal for 2nd place w/ my nemesis for the entire race. Fell at the bottom of a hill but it was muddy and I kind of slid back up into a standing position w/out losing any time. Ethiopian lad won by a bunch I got out kicked for 3rd.
    What do you enjoy most about running?
    The silence/ the camaraderie and the balance it gives me.

Why did you name yourself after a low-class 'amusement arcade'?
    I used to work in Finglas w/ young people. A few of the Traveller lads used to always talk about going in there and wrecking heads. That always secretly made me laugh and every time I walk by it on O'Connell St. I chuckle
    Where did you hone your (now legendary) drinking abilities?
    I'm aware I'm a lightweight. Nothing to see here.
    When will the next beer mile be?
    This summer.

Why do you guys hate on Alan Webb so much??
    This question presupposes I'm one of the let's run trolls that starts thread after thread openly mocking America's greatest ever high school runner. I'm not. That said, I think the unfulfilled potential annoys people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Did you kill a Canadian meteorologist to get yourself banned from the weather forum?

what was the trigger that turned you from a nice happy poster into the angry bollox you are today?
    Always been an angry bollix on the 'net!
    -favourite place to train? (Ireland and US)
    Phoenix Park and Fresh Pond in Cambridge, Ma
    -Typical training week while running in college?
    Monday 1hr easy/ Tuesday am 45 mins easy pm Session /Weds 1 hr easy (though easy runs never actually done easy and always turned into a ridiculous race) Thurs am 45 mins easy pm Session/ Fri 1 hr easy /Sat. race/ Sunday 15miles through Amish country w/ coach trailing in a "meat wagon" to pick up stragglers/ lads who managed to get out on the beer the night before.
    -List of full track PBs?
    800m 2:04 Mile 4:32 3000m 8:58(indoors) 5000m 15:42 10000m 32:50
    -Favourite meal?
    Pizza from one of the old school (circa 1920' era) first generation/ coal fired East Coast Pizza Places (Frank Pepe's in New Haven, Santarpio's in Boston and Totones on Coney Island would all be examples of this style
    -Why do you hate the Canadians?
    They are in denial about having a separate culture to the USA. They are essentially the Americans who were too afraid to get rid of the monarchy.
    -What exactly did you do to get banned from the weather forum?
    -Do you feel ashamed that one of the sister pearse joggers finished ahead of you last Sunday?
    Not ashamed, just annoyed.
    -Favourite training session?
    5 mile tempo
    -Views on drug taking?
    Recreationally, they should be legalised. In sports, I support lifetime bans.
    -Baseball is a sport played by fat unfit men who can throw or hit a ball, it's not really a sport. Discuss this statement*

Mostly true. but for me nothing really eclipses the theatre and drama of baseball. It is called America's pastime for a reason- it has immense importance to the social fabric/ culture of the USA. Also there aren't many better ways to kill a few hours then to sit in a baseball stadium, drink some beers and passively watch a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Is it true you were banned from the weather forum for not appreciating our massive amount of snowfall ;)

- How long have you supported Arsenal?
    - Top 3 Arsenal players of the last 20 years?
    - List your dream times you'd like to run for 5k,10k,10 miles,half marathon & marathon over the next 2-3 years (you're old so need to get it done soon ;))
    - Would you enter one of those races were you push your kid in a jogging buggy (I'll find a link later).
    - Boardsie you'd most like to beat.
    - Irish breakfast or US breakfast?
    - In terms of races you'd like to run what is your bucket list?
    - What race would you never run again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Do you stick to one type of shoe or do you have different ones depending on the distance?

Do you stretch?

Do you get regular sports massages?

Is the fact that you used to work with Travellers the reason you joined Tallaght A.C. ?

Are you a morning or evening runner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Did you get banned from the weather forum for actually getting the weather right one time and was considered as witchcraft? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭morceli

1. Who on boards annoys you most with their posts.
    2. Who would you hate to be beaten by?
    3. If you could re-run one race from the past, which would it be an why, what would you change?
    4. Are you going to step up and run the next beer mile?

Are you really canadian or american or irish?
    American! I also have an Irish passport though now :D
    How many LetsRun poster names do you have?
    TBH I mostly just lurk there- though I do recognise I share some of the snakiness of some of the posters on there.
    How do you rate your chances of getting Nick Symmonds or Josh Harris over for the next beer mile?
    Low. I will say though- I am actually trying (not making this up)
    As my OH's family lives pretty close to Sligo town, we usually just go out for a drink there(I'm afraid of Leitrim culchies). Shoot the Crows in Sligo is really good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

drquirky wrote: »
    )
    As my OH's family lives pretty close to Sligo town, we usually just go out for a drink there(I'm afraid of Leitrim culchies). Shoot the Crows in Sligo is really good.

Favourite pub in Dromahair..... (Stanfords for me FWIW)

Philly cheese steak or Hoagie

Democrat or GOP

How badly did your team do in the Bros Pearse table quiz?

Red Sox or Patriots

Doug Flutie or Roger Clemens

Favourite training session

Favourite distance

Did you max out your running potential

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Weather models or Big Als burgers - which is worse?
    European Championships or NCAA? If you could win either which one?
    Favourite US athlete (aside from Symmonds)?
    Most dreaded session?
    More proud of - Track or Road achievements?

How many days a week do you train?
    I shoot for 7. If I'm honest my average is usually a day off every 10 days or so when I'm going well.

What kind of race/time performance would be enough for you to say 'I can never improve on that'?
    I don't know- I think it would be hard to get my head around a statement like that. TBH one of my biggest regrets is getting hurt in college and not running for the last 2.5 years there- I never really found out how far I could have gone w/ really good training. I'd be pretty psyched if I hit my 19yr old 5k and 10k PBs and 2:35 or so for the marathon I think would be pretty good running for me.
    What exactly did you do to get banned from the weather forum?

Can you point out the USA on a map? Why is it that so few American citizens can?
    Absolutely. I think because the US is so huge people tend to not look beyond it's borders. I also think there is a massive socio/economic gap that manifests itself in a "two tier" public education system. I've worked in a few public high schools in the USA and I really wonder how anyone could learn anything in some of the poorer/ more neglected ones.

Will you push your kids towards running, or let them choose their own sport (even if it's a GAA sport)?
    Nope. I want my kids to play whatever sport they want. That said I'd struggle a bit if they chose GAA as I have a fairly strong dislike of nationalism and I don't really think politics has a place in sport. I also think the rules (particularly in football) are ridiculous.

Is it true that you moved to Ireland after your role as Bulldog in Frasier came to an end? Not true.

Democrat or Republican?
    Neither. Both cesspools of corruption with juvenile foreign policy ideas. The last time I got energised around an election in the US I volunteered for Ralph Nader's campaign and voted Green.

Ice Hockey or Baseball?
    Tough one as I would say they are my two favourite American sports. I'd probably go with baseball but Ice Hockey is class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Differences between the running scene in Ireland and US?
    What did you do to get banned from the weather forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

What did you do to get banned from the weather forum?

Why did you do to get banned from the weather forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Stop avoiding that question!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Track Session: 400's or 1k's?
    What area do you need to focus on to run sub 2:40?
    Favourite piece of kit?

Lark or Owl?
    Larger, Stout or Ale?
    Boxty or Pancakes?

digger2d2 wrote: »
    Did you kill a Canadian meteorologist to get yourself banned from the weather forum?

Hahaha is that the MT Cranium dude? Not guilty. To answer everyone's questions, I was banned from the weather forum for trolling.

Around the time of my wedding last year, the d-bags who post over there were having a circle jerk over some "snow event" that they were hyping up. They were rubbing their hands together with glee and praying for a complete shut down of the roads as well as the airport etc… As we had many guests coming from overseas I was none to happy w/ the constant ramping of snow etc….so started low level trolling- posting ridiculously inaccurate models i.e. "My models are telling me that a western vortex wind will be pushing the CITN down from the Arctic but will be hit by a blocking front boundary and drop 15 inches in the bosom of the sea"(or something like that). All nonsense of course.

I was equally annoyed as we were preparing to fly out on our honeymoon to Cuba and those **** for brains started getting pumped up over further possible weather delays. So I think I lost the head one night and told them they were d bags etc etc and as it wash;t my first infraction I got a permaban. I'm thinking of eventually appealing. :D:D:D:D

How long have you supported Arsenal?

I lived in Finsbury Park from 1998-2001 and began supporting them around 1999.

- Top 3 Arsenal players of the last 20 years?
    Henry, Bergkamp, Viera

List your dream times you'd like to run for 5k,10k,10 miles,half marathon & marathon over the next 2-3 years (you're old so need to get it done soon ;))
    sub 15:40 5k, sub 33 10k, 55 10 miles sub 1:15 HM sub 2:35 Mara (realise these are pretty ambitious.)

Would you enter one of those races were you push your kid in a jogging buggy (I'll find a link later).
    Yup would want my kids to taste victory early.

Boardsie you'd most like to beat.
    You or KU

Irish breakfast or US breakfast?
    I like both for different reasons

In terms of races you'd like to run what is your bucket list?
    Boston 2015
    Falmouth RR
    Beer Mile
    Berlin
    The Havana Marathon
    Hood to Coast Relay
    Spawell Gift
    An Indoor DMR
    That HM in Spain Ecoli goes over to
    Tokyo

What race would you never run again?
    Bohermeen 5k or any 10k in NYC in the middle of July!

Do you stick to one type of shoe or do you have different ones depending on the distance?

Kinvara for training and another Saucany flat (hyper speed?) for racing

Do you stretch?
    Nope. Never have, never will

Do you get regular sports massages?
    Yup- lots. I can recommend Ecoli or Vinny Mulvey ./out hesitation

Is the fact that you used to work with Travellers the reason you joined Tallaght A.C. ?
    Na just thought Sportsworld were D4 pricks, Sister's Pearse too slow, Raheny too elitist and not super comfortable w/ wearing a big crusader shield on my singlet!

Are you a morning or evening runner?
    TBH don't work 9-5 so depending on a bunch of different things I run a complete mix of times.

Who on boards annoys you most with their posts.
    won't name names but not a big fan of people posting ridiculous workout splits (relative to their PB's) usually on short intervals and then claiming they are targeting times that are 2-3 mins faster than their current PBs in the next race. I think loads of people don't really understand the work required to get times down by big margins.

Who would you hate to be beaten by?
    The Boy Blunder in DCM '14

If you could re-run one race from the past, which would it be an why, what would you change? 1998 Regional XC's in College. I was 5th man for the team that day and ran w/ a stress fracture. Very very stupid and the ensuing worse injury ended up being the catalyst for my 13 yr. running break and 30lb weight gain!

Are you going to step up and run the next beer mile?

Hopefully but it depends on numbers and quality of field!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

-List of full track PBs?
    800m 2:04 Mile 4:32 3000m 8:58(indoors) 5000m 15:42 10000m 32:50

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Good replies so far drquirky.....thanks

Apart from the marathon, what are your goal PBs for shorter distances before Boston 2015?

Favourite race distance (now)?

Favourite race distance (college)?

When (if ever) do you think you will stop racing?

Its 9pm on a sunday and you have a free hour, and youre on 95 miles for that week so far: 5 mile run or TV and beer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

1) If you could have a pint with one person in World athletics to get training advice who would it be and why?

2) If you could have a pint with one person in World athletics for general banter who would it be and why?

3) Where would you rate Josh Harris among the pantheon of athletics greats?

4) What's your opinion on backslapping?

5) What is the set-up like in the USA for non-elite adults looking to participate in track and field?

6) The obesity rate in the USA is through the roof. What are the main reasons for this and what would you do to change things?

7) What's your opinion on ultra marathons? How would you rate a top 10 at a World Championships 24 hour or 100km?

8) Athletics is not very popular as a spectator and TV sport in the USA. What changes would you make to get the masses watching track and field in your home country?

9) What is your favourite field event and why? Have you ever participated in any field events?

10) All jokes aside, what one thing could sprinters learn from distance runners and what one thing could distance runners learn from sprinters?

Diet/weight? Do you watch what you eat, know what you weigh? Change coming up to a goal race? Or figure it will take care of itself?
    Any crosstraining or supplementary stuff, aside from the massages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Why do you guys hate on Alan Webb so much??
    This question presupposes I'm one of the let's run trolls that starts thread after thread openly mocking America's greatest ever high school runner. I'm not. That said, I think the unfulfilled potential annoys people

Was only winding you up, just knew you would be one if the few people to get the Alan Webb reference! :)

Favourite pub in Dromahair..... (Stanfords for me FWIW)
    Yeah Stanfords or the Clubhouse

Philly cheese steak or Hoagie
    Cheese Steak- tho my favourite sub would either be a Chicken Parm or an Italian- Boston style w/ all the meats,Provolone, hots and oil and vinegar

Democrat or GOP
    See my answer above both idiotic signs of a very dysfunctional coin. But red or dead lefty is how I'd identify politically :D

How badly did your team do in the Bros Pearse table quiz?
    Have no idea, I was too drunk to notice.

Red Sox or Patriots
    Sox but am a Pats fan as well

Doug Flutie or Roger Clemens
    Ridiculous question. One is a local hero, grew up 10mins from my house and played his heart out every game, the other is a mercenary Texan who used PED's (relax mods- its been proved in court) and sold out the people of Boston for Toronto of all places. Flutie all the way.

Favourite training session
    See above.

Favourite distance
    5k or 3000 indoors (though haven't run indoors in years)Marathon is growing on me though as I get old and slow

Did you max out your running potential
    Doubtful probably just squandered it :mad: quitting the sport at 19/20 was a pretty stupid decision.

Weather models or Big Als burgers - which is worse?
    Would be pretty close but will go with weather models.

European Championships or NCAA? If you could win either which one?
    NCAA's fo' sho'

Favourite US athlete (aside from Symmonds)?
    Obviously Symmonds but besides him Jordan Hasay or Alexi Pappas

Most dreaded session?
    Anything below 800 reps.
    More proud of - Track or Road achievements?

I think I'm most proud of losing 30 pounds, changing my lifestyle and running decent times again. So I'm gonna say my recent road stuff.

Differences between the running scene in Ireland and US?

Basically everything. American competitive running is really completely shaped around high school and college teams. There isn't a club structure so to speak. The Irish/ UK model is so much better and promotes lifelong participation and racing.

Track Session: 400's or 1k's?
    1k's for sure

What area do you need to focus on to run sub 2:40?
    Endurance/ Marathon experience. I think McMillan has me close enough to 2:40 w/ my current 5k times. Not worried about the speed side of things but need to up my game in terms of ability to hold 6min miles!
    Favourite piece of kit?
    Probably my Garmin

Lark or Owl?
    Owl
    Larger, Stout or Ale?
    They all have their place….gun to the head though I'll say cask conditioned ale

Boxty or Pancakes?
    Pancakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Do you foam roll?

Do you realise that a large proportion of your posts start with "I don't mean to sound like a pr1ck but...." :D

Do you think you could beat your 5k pb from your early days if you put in the work and how long might that take to achieve?

Who is the meanest? You, TRR, Kurt or Chivito?

Would you go back to the weather forum if invited?

Would you give up running forever if given 250,000 euro right now? (i know I'm stealing your question vitani but I think it's a great one!)

Apart from the marathon, what are your goal PBs for shorter distances before Boston 2015?
    Don't really know would like to get down to 16:10/16:15 5k. I'm at 16:38 now so not totally unrealistic. 1:15 seems reasonable to me in HM we'll see how I go.

Favourite race distance (now)?
    5k(as I said above marathon growing on me.

Favourite race distance (college)?
    5k or XC

When (if ever) do you think you will stop racing?
    Dunno- hopefully never- I like it and running is really good for me physically and mentally.

Its 9pm on a sunday and you have a free hour, and youre on 95 miles for that week so far: 5 mile run or TV and beer?

Ha TV and a beer all the way. I have runners OCD but I'm not a numbers guy so if I've put in 95 miles for the week- I reckon its been a pretty solid week so not gonna stress over 5 miles!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

I don't mean to pry about a non jokey matter but was wondering how your getting on with the issue you mentioned in the opening post of your log? Have a sister who suffers from the same, been trying to get her out running, I'm sure it would help her in general.

If you could have a pint with one person in World athletics to get training advice who would it be and why?

Symmonds obviously springs to mind but seeing as he runs 800m and most weeks my milage is more than his- I'd go w/ Ben True. I reckon my style is most similar to his of all the elites I can think of- his background isn't totally dissimilar either. I'm a big fan of Mark Coogan so would be interested to pick his brain as well.

2) If you could have a pint with one person in World athletics for general banter who would it be and why?

Oh- yeah Symmonds here for sure. My favourite athlete in general. Also a D3 college runner and an unapologetic lefty etc etc would love to have a beer with him.

3) Where would you rate Josh Harris among the pantheon of athletics greats?
    Higher than many people would expect. His time in the beer mile is simply mind-blowing. I'd put his WR performance above several of the more bland performances at the WC's this year.

4) What's your opinion on backslapping?
    Its pointless cause you never improve if everyone tells you how good you are all the time. Though that being said I can see how it helps new runners

5) What is the set-up like in the USA for non-elite adults looking to participate in track and field?

I would imagine poor but haven't lived there as an adult athlete so not 100percent sure!

6) The obesity rate in the USA is through the roof. What are the main reasons for this and what would you do to change things?

Was recently reading an interesting article on this. It's yet another example of the overarching class discrepancies in the USA. Basically the obesity problem in the US runs very strictly along socio/economic lines. To address this I'd start trying to hit the real problem of the mass gap in wealth between the rich and poor. I'd also crack down on cynical corporations who blatantly market the crappiest food to America's most marginalised people.

What's your opinion on ultra marathons? How would you rate a top 10 at a World Championships 24 hour or 100km?

I think running for 24 hrs is really impressive but I don't really rate the "records" set at it. My primary problem w/ ultra running is a good few people (especially at the top) see it as a self promotional exercise. It frustrates me greatly to see these people try to put their achievements alongside athletes like Kipsang or Rudisha.
    The reality is very few people participate in Ultras and almost 100percent of these people come from rich western countries. I have similar feelings about people claiming to be world champions in Polo or Dressage.

All that said - I would never begrudge someone for doing Ultras- I actually think there are elements of them that are cool and a real test. I think the self promoters in the community do the majority a real disservice by comparing themselves to Neil Armstrong or Edmund Hillary etc etc.

8) Athletics is not very popular as a spectator and TV sport in the USA. What changes would you make to get the masses watching track and field in your home country? Ha! It is popular- every 4 years… I'm with Symmonds on this. Betting on track, events in train stations etc etc. Anything creative I support.

What is your favourite field event and why? Have you ever participated in any field events?
    I like Jav- my uncle was New Jersey State Champ in it in the 60's. I've thrown it a bit and can actually sling it a decent distance but I'm too small/ don't really weigh enough to get too much behind it.

10) All jokes aside, what one thing could sprinters learn from distance runners and what one thing could distance runners learn from sprinters?

Sprinters could learn work ethic from distance runners. Distance runners could learn form, attention to detail and restraint from sprinters.

Do you foam roll?
    Nope.

Do you realise that a large proportion of your posts start with "I don't mean to sound like a pr1ck but...." :D

Yup. I think its cultural. People in New England really aren't the "have a nice day" style Americans that tend to dominate stereotypes about the country. We are known for being blunt/ occasionally combative, sarcastic but intensely loyal and very very friendly once you get past the veneer. I'd like to think that describes me.

Do you think you could beat your 5k pb from your early days if you put in the work and how long might that take to achieve?

Yeah pretty sure I could but might require Krusty, Ecoli style training (90-100mile weeks) in the short term. I'm playing the long game here and think 55-70 miles a week consistently for the next couple years should get me close.

Who is the meanest? You, TRR, Kurt or Chivito?

Have met all (w/ exception of Chivito) in person and am happy to say wouldn't describe either of them as "mean"

Would you go back to the weather forum if invited?

Nope MT and his boyz can go **** themselves :D:D:D:D

Would you give up running forever if given 250,000 euro right now? (i know I'm stealing your question vitani but I think it's a great one!)

No chance. What I get from running doesn't have a monetary value to me.

I don't mean to pry about a non jokey matter but was wondering how your getting on with the issue you mentioned in the opening post of your log? Have a sister who suffers from the same, been trying to get her out running, I'm sure it would help her in general.

Good question. I'm assuming you're referring to anxiety disorder? I try to bring it up in my log now and then but haven't talked much about it maybe because I'm doing really well with it and much of that I attribute to running/ exercise. It still creeps up every now and then(thats what Xanax is for):D:D but on the whole I think running has a very positive effect on it.

Feel free to PM me statts if she/ you wanna know more about things I've tried (I've tried pretty much everything in 15 years w/ it lol) Nobody should have to suffer in silence with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

t'was specifically referring to the panic attacks - great to hear it's going well, I'll shoot you a PM.

Diet/weight? Do you watch what you eat, know what you weigh? Change coming up to a goal race? Or figure it will take care of itself?
    Any crosstraining or supplementary stuff, aside from the massages?

Diet/weight would be a huge area for improvement. East fairly healthy but love cake/ beer/ crisps/ cookies basically all my main meals are healthy but snacks can be ridiculous. I weigh 137/ 138 lbs 9 stone 12/13 so not big but could be a little lighter i think.

Aside from playing any sport I can not a lot of cross training. As an ex-wrestler though I do a good bunch of push ups (habits die hard!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

* As an ex wrestler, have you ever been beaten by a girl?

* Which Boards person do you not like been beaten by in a 5k race?

* Do you actually like smoked food?

* What made you join Boards.ie A/R forum?

* Do you think the Boards A/R folk are 'cliquey'?

* Would you ever mentor a DCM Novice thread?

* Opinion about 'off the shelf' training plans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

I'm a fan of live baseball games myself having been to a couple. Great craic.

Bearing that in mind, do you reckon it's worth going to see the Mets at home? Their rivals are out of town and I read mets attendances are dropping all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

What height are you?

Why do you always take the piss out of Brother Pearse?

What forum do you hate the most on boards (excluding the weather forum)?

Whats your favourite branch of mathematics?

What are your opinions on the american scholarship system and do you think it can ruin certain athletes?

Will you do any track this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Which is more important hard work or natural talent?

What's you favourite piece of American literature/ favourite author?

pa4 wrote: »
    Why do you always take the piss out of Brother Pearse?

He's jealous :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

Favorite movie?

Favorite book?

Favorite music band?