Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you wear wellies and overalls around the yard?

• 14-01-2014 12:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭

Over the Winter I'd almost always wear wellies and overalls around the yard, then when I get to the door of the house its handy enough strip off the dirty stuff and everyone's happy.

However... I was over at a friend's yard recently (dairy place) and I've seen the same in lots of places. 2 lads there in lace up boots, jeans and a jumper and the whole lot plastered in muck. In for the dinner then and they drop off the boots ok but obviously the rest of them is still destroyed.

Do wives/partners/mothers/OH's not go ballistic at the mess? Just wanted to see if overalls and wellies are the norm here, I know they are not the most comfortable but can't see the logic in having every stitch a lad owns destroyed every time you go out the yard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

yes I wear overalls in the winter. you still need an oldish jumper under neat I find as the sleeves of the jumper can still get dirty from grease and oil or whatever.

bought a pair of Dunlop rigger boots which are fur lined inside a few weeks ago. best purchase yet. I love them.

find it hard to get out of the overalls then in the spring. can be cold without them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I work naked the wife just hoses me down when I'm coming in. The neighbours wives just watch me work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Miname wrote: »
    I work naked the wife just hoses me down when I'm coming in. The neighbours wives just watch me work.

Hardy buck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

Hardy buck.

Especially this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Overalls are a must for the cold weather. Wellies if I must but I'd be more comfortable in good boots.

Use the overalls with the splash proof legs. Gives a little extra protection from wet.

As above. Can be hard to leave the overalls behind when the warmer weather comes in. I'd rather go without a jumper an keep the overalls on a bit longer.

Don't use jeans for work wear, buy dickies work trousers online. Comfortable and plenty of pockets. Also can have knee pads fitted if there is the need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Would ya need to be careful if you're milking cows???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Never got into overalls but might give it another go as I go through trousers like mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Overalls and wellies here all winter into early summer
    Jumper is usually shed before overalls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

I have a pair of delaval overalls. I find them brilliant because they have a waterproof layer on the legs so very easy to keep clean. Hate the normal waterproof trousers as sweat so much in them. Just wear them winter and spring though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Overalls and wellies everyday. Will not do any stock work or milking without them. Peel off going to house, nice and clean, new pair daily in spring.

Stop wearing when about 25 degrees, wellies off in summer unless near cattle.

Cap every day, even with good clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

yes wear overalls, apron in the palour and birthday suit in bed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Mulumpy wrote: »
    I have a pair of delavals overalls.

thats a real school boy error by him

School boy error on del part

It's a pair I threw out!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Couldn't work in overalls way too warm.

delaval wrote: »
    It's a pair I threw out!!!
    someone routing through your bins lad

Reggie. wrote: »
    someone routing through your bins lad

Charity shop

I taught you left them after you while visiting. BTW I found out the reason for Jerseys departure :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Usually don't bother with overalls, but instead a rain jacket, and fairly durable 2nd set of tracksuit bottoms which I strip off at the door. On a slightly different topic, I've just after gone through another set of wellys, holes/cracks in them on the side just behind the big toe. Bloody annoying, I don't know why I'm going through so many sets recently, this pair only lasted about 2 months, I think they are a set of Dunlops. Anyone any suggestions for something more durable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

Never wear overalls and seldom wear wellies. I prefer my work boots and can manage in them around the cattle yards. If it is pissing rain or I am using the power hose to wash the lorry etc then I will put on wellies and full rain gear.

I taught you left them after you while visiting. BTW I found out the reason for Jerseys departure :D:D

Well, are you going to spill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Jerseys departure don't leave us hanging

Dunlop pure foot or something like that serious wellies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Can't get used to overalls.
    Have two pairs of wellies, one with good pair of oil skins on all the time just change over for dirty work
    Wellies left down the yard and only bring work boots to the house

Can you imagine the craic in the nurses station, who's going down to the hard mans room with the spoon today?

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Couldn't work in overalls way too warm.

im the same when it gets milder i tend to have lighter stuff under neat! i remember the day i had snickers on and overalls......... that was a long day

rs8 wrote: »
    im the same when it gets milder i tend to have lighter stuff under neat! i remember the day i had snickers on and overalls......... that was a long day

Thought the snickers would melt?!!

i knew it would be a smart answer :D

i must take up cycling

Can you imagine the craic in the nurses station, who's going down to the hard mans room with the spoon today?

knowing nurses, they were probably taking advantage of the situation

i must take up cycling

You should talk to your doctor he might be able to prescribe something

british nurses+party+kosovo......oh the memories :):):):)

No need for the rails at the side of the bed anyway!!

Thought the snickers would melt?!!

I can think of other sayings instead of - Get some nuts, with a melted snickers down there

british nurses+party+kosovo......oh the memories :):):):)

Ye let them run through snipers alley and watched from a distance?

young, drunk and taken advantage....was all good till the next morning :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Some good laughs to be had In here! Overalls everyday during winter/spring, once it's warm enough it's overalls with shorts underneath for morning milking then shorts for the rest of the day, wellies if its wet or I'm milking then work boots rest of the day, ya end up with some tan lines on d legs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

young, drunk and taken advantage....was all good till the next morning :o

And that was just you guys right?!

You should talk to your doctor he might be able to prescribe something

what like a bmx or mountain bike?

C0N0R wrote: »
    And that was just you guys right?!

No more the rest is classified :cool:

what like a bmx or mountain bike?

A high nelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

What's the difference between a helicopter and a nurse?

Not everyone's been up on a helicopter

Wellies with waterproof leggings over work pants, hoodie, wooly hat, bodywarmer.

Runners, work pants and old t shirt during summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Anyone do the wellies and shorts combo in the summer? My wife says it looks comical but it sure is comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

Wellies yes, overalls depends on the job, or how cold it is there great to keep you warm and great for calf rearing no scour or drool all over ya. Gloves are more important i think nothing worse than not been able to get the ****e scrubbed out of your hands especially when you have an off farm job!

F.D wrote: »
    . Gloves are more important i think nothing worse than not been able to get the ****e scrubbed out of your hands especially when you have an off farm job!

Especially if dosing with trodax!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

Timmaay wrote: »
    Usually don't bother with overalls, but instead a rain jacket, and fairly durable 2nd set of tracksuit bottoms which I strip off at the door. On a slightly different topic, I've just after gone through another set of wellys, holes/cracks in them on the side just behind the big toe. Bloody annoying, I don't know why I'm going through so many sets recently, this pair only lasted about 2 months, I think they are a set of Dunlops. Anyone any suggestions for something more durable.

bekina wellys, great job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Wellies, overalls and tay cosy on the head. Overalls until weather warms. Had to cut the left sleeve off last year as AI during cold end April and May.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

charity shops provide a lot of my work wear. jeans and hoodies. thgrow the overalls on over them then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Oh they did.......and so did the women ;)

bekina wellys, great job