Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Runamuck Challenge 2014 - 5k or 10k options - 1/3/14

• 12-01-2014 11:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 48

Would anyone be interested in doing the Runamuck Challenge 2014? I'm seriously considering it. 30e entry. My biggest problem would be my lack of a car to get there and back.

Some more details on the event..

What: Ireland's Original and most popular off-road Fun and Run Challenge for Joggers and Runners of all abilities - 1 lap (~5k) and 2 lap (~10k) options

Where: In grounds of Clonkeeran House, near Johnstown Bridge, Co Kildare (Just off N4 approx 25 mins drive from Jct 7 of M50) - Location details HERE

When: Next Runamuck Challenge is Sat 1st March 2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Birdie Num Num

elleA wrote: »
    Would anyone be interested in doing the Runamuck Challenge 2014? I'm seriously considering it. 30e entry. My biggest problem would be my lack of a car to get there and back.

Some more details on the event..

What: Ireland's Original and most popular off-road Fun and Run Challenge for Joggers and Runners of all abilities - 1 lap (~5k) and 2 lap (~10k) options

Where: In grounds of Clonkeeran House, near Johnstown Bridge, Co Kildare (Just off N4 approx 25 mins drive from Jct 7 of M50) - Location details HERE

When: Next Runamuck Challenge is Sat 1st March 2014

Thoroughly recommend it. Did it last October and it was very enjoyable. Do it with a group and do the 10K. Enjoyed it as a run with fellow runners and there is actually some good running around it. Enjoyed the obstacles very much too and really enjoyed running around for the 2nd 5K lap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

Id be up for this but it seems a bit expensive at 30 quid a head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 elleA

Id be up for this but it seems a bit expensive at 30 quid a head.

Yes, I do think 30 quid is a lot considering early bird hell and back is 39e and that is a much more extensive course. Not sure if it is worth it? Would be good warm up for H&B though which I intend on doing in June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

elleA wrote: »
    Yes, I do think 30 quid is a lot considering early bird hell and back is 39e and that is a much more extensive course. Not sure if it is worth it? Would be good warm up for H&B though which I intend on doing in June.

My wife did Runamuck last Oct in preparation for H&B. I think she found it very useful in preparation for it like what clothes to wear, what to bring, etc.
    She only did 5km in Runamuck and had no issues with the course, I think they found it relatively easy to complete.

My wife did Runamuck last Oct in preparation for H&B. I think she found it very useful in preparation for it like what clothes to wear, what to bring, etc.
    She only did 5km in Runamuck and had no issues with the course, I think they found it relatively easy to complete.

Can't comment on Hell & Back. Don't really like the look of it and normally not really into those type of events. I prefer a good road race or cross country race but in saying that Runamuck was really good fun and did it with other runners. There is good running in it as well as obstacles. Don't see how €39 is better value than €30. Funny that these events even make it into forums about Athletics and Running. I will, most likely do Runamuck again sometime with a crew for fun.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 254 ✭✭Excuseless

Can't comment on Hell & Back. Don't really like the look of it and normally not really into those type of events. I prefer a good road race or cross country race but in saying that Runamuck was really good fun and did it with other runners. There is good running in it as well as obstacles. Don't see how €39 is better value than €30. Funny that these events even make it into forums about Athletics and Running. I will, most likely do Runamuck again sometime with a crew for fun.

Declared interest here as I organised Runamuck :)

Folk will have different views on what is "Value for money" and this is probably influenced on what other events they have done and what they are really looking for from an event which can differ greatly from person to person.

With the Runamuck we have always tried to give primarily a fun day out for all participants with an achievable level of challenge course and in general I think we have succeeded in that.

As a regular racer in all sorts of events myself I am also conscious of the "value for money" element.

Worth pointing out that if folk do want to compare prices, as we all do when we consider an event, it should really be on a "like for like" basis.

Runamuck's early entry price has always been €20 a head for solos and €16 a head for groups since the event started.

This cost includes the On-line Entry Service Provider's charges, chip timing, Vat we pay on your entry fee and Runamuck Souvenir Mug.

Hope this clarifies and folk can vote with their (mucky) feet ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭DK man

Fair play to u excuseless...

I did a half iron man and it was €210. It was run by a lot of volunteers and all on / in public spaces. We did get a swim hat an ok t- shirt a medal and very poor quality food...

I gather u have to rent a venue and put up some obstacles and probably pay staff

€30 sounds like an ok price to me and good to see a home based organiser generating jobs

Good luck and well done

Ended up joining a team and entering this in the end! I do hope it's worth it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Fatnacho

Just wondering if anybody knows people who cannot take part for any reason.Would be willing to pay the €30 entrance fee.Left it too late to register :(

Sorry dude I'm still in, would it be worth your while showing up on the day and hoping for the best?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭downesy

I'm signed up to do this on Saturday and am so worried about it. My fitness level is non existent. There's about fifteen of us doing it together and when I've expressed my worries I've been told to 'get over it, it's just a bit of fun'.

So lads, is it just a bit of fun? Anyone that has done this, what is it really like? I walk the dog, that's about the most I do, will I be able for it do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

Yes, it's just a bit of fun. Just go out and enjoy the muck at your own pace, whatever that is. No serious racer would take these style of races seriously. It's all about the fun. Loads will be doing it in fancy dress etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭downesy

Enduro wrote: »
    Yes, it's just a bit of fun. Just go out and enjoy the muck at your own pace, whatever that is. No serious racer would take these style of races seriously. It's all about the fun. Loads will be doing it in fancy dress etc.

Thanks Enduro. I'm not 100% on what to do yet. I wanna do it but I'm just so bloody unfit. Think I'll try it though. If I can't make it I'll pull out :(

Try running a gentle 3k this evening, use map my run or something similar. It'll make you see how achievable it is, and on the day you'll have adrenaline and teammates to spur you on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭dekbhoy

What type of footwear is best suited to one of these races. I'm running as part of a team and competing against another group so it's important we are winners (bragging rights) im mot sire whether to wear trails road trainers or football boots. Any suggestions welcome

I've heard that football boots are the way to go. My options are running spikes or ordinary runners...and I'd probably kill someone with spikes. Runners it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Japandamo

Just wondering if anybody knows people who cannot take part for any reason.Would be willing to pay the €30 entrance fee.Left it too late to register

If you haven't found anything yet, I've organised a team of 23 for this and two people have dropped out so if you'd like to join us that would be great!

The good news is I got it at the earlybird price of €16. We'll probably all be helping each other out the whole way round, so the choice would be yours on whether or not you'd be interested in staying with us or tearing around on your own. We'll be delighted to have you if it's the former, but won't be insulted if it's the latter. We're far from being an elite team, so won't be breaking any records.

Anyone else who want's to get in touch will be most welcome also. May have a third space opening up too (someone having second thoughts, but not definitely out yet).

dekbhoy wrote: »
    What type of footwear is best suited to one of these races. I'm running as part of a team and competing against another group so it's important we are winners (bragging rights) im mot sire whether to wear trails road trainers or football boots. Any suggestions welcome
    I've heard that football boots are the way to go. My options are running spikes or ordinary runners...and I'd probably kill someone with spikes. Runners it is.

I have also heard that football boots are a good idea, and they probably are, until you have to walk across a slippery plank over a pool of manky, manky ditch water. I've gone for runners for the two of these events that I've done, but someone advised me to tape them on with duct tape, and this seemed to work quite well (I didn't lose them anyway). Then again I haven't been aiming for a good time on either of those events (by that I mean tick-tock time, I've had an excellent time at both of them).

Still have spaces on the team, if anyone wants in.

dekbhoy wrote: »

A pair of old Nike Pegasus with the waffle soles did me just fine. Wore them ahead of my trail shoes. You are going to slip on muddy parts whatever you wear and there are so many different types of terrain and surfaces. Wear something comfortable and old. My shoes were binned straight after which was maybe a bit extreme.

I got a pair of vibram barefoot runners at Christmas, so I think I'm going to risk it in them. They seem to wash up pretty well so far...

My god this was a tough event. My arms are aching...and I only did the 5k. Will look out for more like it in future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭Hugo_Whoriskey

That was really tough yesterday! Out in the first wave, did the 10k, the deterioration in the conditions was terrible. Really enjoyed it, really well organised.

My only gripe was lack of a drink station at any stage, one at the 5k mark for people doing the second lap would be perfect.

Well done all involved.

Christ yeah, you'd need some bit of hydration. I was fine for the 5k - a nice lady handed me a peeled banana and a glass of water at the end :) I'm looking to do Tough Mudder now :D