Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you ever nearly walk out of a job?

• 12-01-2014 9:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42

It happened to me once

In my last job this Cambodian guy was hastling me for the day. We had a large delivery of sofas, and for every sixth sofa we had to stack one on the top. So after sofa number 50, I became weak in the arms. So, I let one of the sofas drop and I ripped the side of it. He became abusive and started shouting and saying ****. I nearly walked out but then I decided to put up with his **** for the day

He was a 40 year old man working manual labour in a warehouse, so can't really get any lower than him :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Walked out of many a job back in the Celtic tiger days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 McIrish_

Walked out of many a job back in the Celtic tiger days
    What type of jobs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

McIrish_ wrote: »
    He was a 40 year old man working manual labour in a warehouse, so can't really get any lower than him :-)

Sounds like you need to let it go.

I've had jobs where I've been stressed out of my mind and have asked myself what am I doing here? I just go for a long walk (maybe buy a coffee or something) and remind myself it's just a job, it's not my company, they don't pay me enough to get highly stressed. Make me an owner and I will care like an owner. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭kryptonmight

Never done it but have seriously considered it plenty of times. I guess what stopped me was a lack of money to sustain me and how it would look on my CV. Also back then I worked for a big company and I didn't want to burn any bridges. I just despised the particular team I worked with, not the rest of the company and knew there was a good chance I would want to work there again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭wuffly

Yes, when i took a day off after getting held up by a junkie and having the day taken out of my salary. I was a week short of finishing my probation and being entitled to annual leave. (I went in the day after as recommended so i wouldn't have a fear of going back and took the following day as i was exhausted as the raid was late in the evening and i was up half the night with guards.) I was working for a building society and even head office HR manager told me i was better off leaving the job.... no regrets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

wuffly wrote: »
    Yes, when i took a day off after getting held up by a junkie and having the day taken out of my salary. I was a week short of finishing my probation and being entitled to annual leave. (I went in the day after as recommended so i wouldn't have a fear of going back and took the following day as i was exhausted as the raid was late in the evening and i was up half the night with guards.) I was working for a building society and even head office HR manager told me i was better off leaving the job.... no regrets!
    While terrible incident not many companies would pay you when you didn't come in regardless of the reason.

I stuck out a job I should have left and eventually did walk out and it was the best thing to do. Thank god I contract now as I can always leave at the drop of a hat and just knowing that is very relaxing. Changed my personality in work and I can never really get too frustrated as I know I don't rally have any connection to the company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Walked out of a job a couple of years back.

I was a manager there and one Friday it was payday for the staff. Company was not able to pay wages that week.

At the same time as staff were turning up to the office saying WTF and where are the wages etc, the two company directors and operations manager were in the car park showing off their new cars company cars. Two brand new 5 series and a nearly new Audi A6. About €130,000 spent on them.

First and only time I ever walked out on a job. Ended up having to sign on for a few months but it was worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭wuffly

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    While terrible incident not many companies would pay you when you didn't come in regardless of the reason.

I stuck out a job I should have left and eventually did walk out and it was the best thing to do. Thank god I contract now as I can always leave at the drop of a hat and just knowing that is very relaxing. Changed my personality in work and I can never really get too frustrated as I know I don't rally have any connection to the company.

I know what your saying but i agreed with them i would take the day off, its not like i didn't just show up. They could have and if they were decent people put it through as a sick day, the head office HR Manager called me ask why it hadnt gone through as a sick day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I once lasted a day as a Phone telemarketer. Eugh. I had a training day then the next day when I went back I couldnt find anywhere to park so I just went home and phoned them and said I quit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭saltyjack silverblade

InTheTrees wrote: »
    I once lasted a day as a Phone telemarketer. Eugh. I had a training day then the next day when I went back I couldnt find anywhere to park so I just went home and phoned them and said I quit.

I lasted less than one day as a telemarketer. Was selling windows and they (22 year olds in suits) kept pushing pressure on us to sell to people who couldn't really afford it. Left at lunch time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭was.deevey

On a business trip to the UK to scout for a product we could globally license - 5 days of going absolutely insane and owner refused to buy into it (huge industrial value product of which we would own the patents which we were getting at a steal).

Owner didn't understand the products merits or the technology behind the products, and I could see that as a tipping point. He wanted technology he could understand (it was reasonably simple GSM tech while analog was still in transition in the US). Without something like this the company as far as I could see was going to go under and he had no understanding of this "new" technology so there was no point in continuing the hunt.

I was hired to do a job I knew I'd be overruled on every time and there would be no commission or bonus if we didn't make a significant purchase so I resigned before landing back in the country. Time to new job, one week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Was very close to walking out of my current job a few times in 2012 but the worst was a Friday when I was made stay late by the CEO to work on a presentation … had no idea when I'd get to go home, hadn't eaten in about 7 hours and had plans that night. He had his wife ringing him because they were also supposed to be going out and he just shrugs and said she's used to it by now. Then he starts going on about how I needed to start working longer hours if I wanted to get anywhere in business. I was so close to telling him to feck off and just walk out but managed to keep my mouth shut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭kryptonmight

Half considering it myself at the moment. The people are nice but the work is boring, i have no flexibility with my hours (although everyone else on the team does), i have to clock in and out every day (IT job as well which makes it seem even stranger) and that i spend 2 hours a day just commuting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

never, but by christ I've come close...

walking out for 10 minutes and coming back sipping a coffee does wonders :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

walked out of a transport job after 2 weeks once.
    the boss couldnt keep her commitments to working hours. When she eventually told me she had said I was not to make plans I told her she could do the job herself and walked out.
    For the first time in 2 weeks I saw her left speechless :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Once, and also came within inches of it multiple times - when you work in Italy, it is bound to happen as there is no respect whatsoever for the worker down there.

First company I worked for, almost walked out:

- CTO (Chief Technical Officer) saying he did not like people who "leave at 6", leading to days which would start ad 9.00 and finish no early than 20.00;

- Multiple times was essentially used as a scapegoat for the owner's or CTOs idiocy, and sent to meetings with disgruntled customers alone (I was a developer, not a commercial agent);

- After three months with no salaries, we asked to work on alternate days as the cost of transportation was starting to weigh heavily on all employees. Response was "Having no salary is not enough of a reason not to work". Of course, we all work for the joy of it;

- Again three months without salary, accidentally discovered (sheets in the network printer's tray) that the company had three cars - a Fiat Marea, an Audi A6 and an Alfa 147 - for which it paid for buying, insurance, tax, fuel and maintenance. These cars were exclusive use respectively of the owner, his brother and his wife;

Finally, at the fourth month with no pay, I just went in one morning, resigned and walked out. It took another year to get the salary arrears.

Second company:

- During my interview, the company owner got up, went to the open space and started shouting at all the employees because they were talking; Kinda like a teacher would do to keep discipline in a classroom;

- Hired as an "experienced developer", but was constantly overruled by the same guy as above on decisions regarding technical matters he did not have an understanding for; I was then blamed when the sh1te inevitably hit the fan;

- Same guy telling he, after another one of his foolish decisions led to a disastrous data loss, that he could just hire anybody off the street to replace me;

- Same guy again went to a customer in Cuba, then called me outside office hours complaining that the Google Ads and links on our website didn't work; Trying to explain they were filtered by the Cuban government was like putting lipstick on a donkey, he kept blaming me for months;

That's just a few; bear in mind, all of this is not rare at all if you work for small businesses down in Italy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

Walked out of a couple of micky mouse jobs and one serious one. First was a selling lines on the street with a clipboard kind of thing, lasted till Lunchtime and got the bus home. Second was the renovation of a Golf course, shovel and a rake type of thing, lasted an hour.

Last was walking off a ship in the UK, Terrible conditions on a terrible ship. Packed my bag and got the bus home to Ireland. All happened while in my teens when I was a fairly opinionated young hot head. I wouldn’t have changed any of the decisions though.

Difference now is I’m married with financial responsibilities, it would take an awful lot to make me walk out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Sikpupi

When I was single - I was giving every hour I had to the job. Working til 9pm++ every night - most Saturdays and the odd Sunday. Mostly doing jobs that others wouldn't stay on for due to their seniority and couldn't care less attitude.

Then one morning, after working til 9-10pm the night before, I got in late to work (around 9.45am) and got called in to Office Manager;s office and giving a right rollicking about 'what time do you think this is to start work' with his door wide wide open to show all the others in the office how tough he was and how he was going to make an example of me.

So I let him rant, reminded him of my recent hours and how hard I worked - and he said that that;s irrelevant - I must be at my desk at 9am. Next time - I would be out on ,y ear.

Well.... that was a red-rag to a bull - and I roared back at it and used a few choice 'f-words' and told him to stick his job and grabbed my coat and left.

Went for a breakfast and a roam around town and enjoy the freedom.
    Rang home later and my mother advises that he on the phone to her about 'a misunderstanding' and to come in tomorrow and all will okay. So - arrived at 9am and was in his office before he even arrived and demanded an apology or I was going to walk. Go it and got some ground rules sorted on working overtime - he messed with the wrong guy that morning!!

Gave me great confidence going forward.....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

As a student back in 2004 and working in a hotel, I walked after 9 months. A father and son were managing, at the same time all too often. This resulted in many, many conflicting demands and having my head ripped off, with working of 20 hours + per weekend.

I eventually walked after getting an elbow in the face from a customer for no other reason than just being an ass. The management took no interest in what happened, so I told them outright to shove their job up their hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Yup, last month.

Due to a mistake made on the production line, the line had to be stopped. All paperwork had to be brought up to date immediately, and engineering and maintenance had to go out on the floor to carry out inspections. I had planned on taking annual leave that weekend but it went out the window.

12 hour days mon/tues/weds/thurs. I knew I had to be in sat and sun too. Had a query for my senior engineer friday afternoon. No sign of him. Asked around and got told "oh he'd a half day"

Turned on my heel, punched out, into car--> home!