Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do men go clothes shopping (with their other halves, on Saturdays?)

• 12-01-2014 12:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭

OK.....Why?
    The women in question bought their own clothes (by themselves) once upon a time, so why are you standing there taking up space?
    It's mind-boggling , the amount of men, waiting outside dressing rooms (let's face it, looking like clowns), to give their 'couture' opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Single eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I've never once did this, ever, in my life.

It's always been on a Sunday..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jay-me

Do you think we want to be there?? I can't stand it but when we are going about town or whatever she will always spot something and rush in to have a gander and I have to follow and give an opinion or hold stuff etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

It's penance from eyeing up the good looking young one on a Friday night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Have to protect them from stick insects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

OK.....Why?
    The women in question bought their own clothes (by themselves) once upon a time, so why are you standing there taking up space?
    It's mind-boggling , the amount of men, waiting outside dressing rooms (let's face it, looking like clowns), to give their 'couture' opinion.

Do you think any of them want to be there.....the ones in town of a Saturday afternoon are either henpecked and pussywhipped or else this is the time they have to put in so they can get out that night for a few pints without a guilt trip!

More than likely they are on their phone outside the dressing room texting mates asking, "Who won the 2.40 at Cheltenham" or "Any score in the Arsenal match, stuck in fooking town with the missus. See you in HQ at 5.30 for the Chelsea game!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I like talent spot while I'm there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

How many ways can you say "Wow! Have you lost weight?" before you start sounding sarcastic?

I think I got to 3 once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

Single eh?

Nope....happily married with children

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Nope....happily married with children

How many children are you married to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Might see Boobies !

21/25

kfallon wrote: »
    Do you think any of them want to be there.....the ones in town of a Saturday afternoon are either henpecked and pussywhipped or else this is the time they have to put in so they can get out that night for a few pints without a guilt trip!

Jesus.

More than likely they are on their phone outside the dressing room texting mates asking, "Who won the 2.40 at Cheltenham" or "Any score in the Arsenal match, stuck in fooking town with the missus. See you in HQ at 5.30 for the Chelsea game!"

Yep....but they still end up there! They are very annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Here's an idea, stop being such a pussy and say no to something you despise so much.

I hate shopping on my own, nevermind shopping for someone else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Cos I'll be honest and tell if it suits or not.
    Colour, size, fit etc.
    And she'll do likewise.
    Sometimes too honestly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Have never understood this either. All those bored and miserable looking men. And why would you even need someone else's opinion on a flippin jumper?

Some people can't go anywhere by themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Couples... they happen to do things together.

You should never have to get a gilt trip for wanting to going out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Cos I'll be honest and tell if it suits or not.
    Colour, size, fit etc.
    And she'll do likewise.
    Sometimes too honestly

Are you Gok Wan? My other half wouldn't know what to say if I asked his opinion on something....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Its always nice to have a second opinion from someone when buying clothes, especially if its an expensive item. I would imagine clothes ranks highest with shoppers for Buyer's Remorse.

If this second opinion happens to come from the person you're having sex with then even better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Well see the way to fix this is that. you need to be the type of man who will go out with your oh and go do your own shopping on sexy clothing, games, technology, fancy cars, tattoos, piercings and show the oh up. then meet at tesco's for the shoping on what you will cook that night.

Sounds like a great relationship. where can i find such?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭StickyIcky

Geez OP sorry for "taking up space" in your woman's (only?) department. I never realised this was such an important point that someone would feel so compelled to come onto the Internet and tell all us men how bothered they are by our presence. Perhaps I should ask all the men in the men's department next time my wife and I are out shopping together if it's okay to bring her in with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Its always nice to have a second opinion from someone when buying clothes, especially if its an expensive item. I would imagine clothes ranks highest with shoppers for Buyer's Remorse.

If this second opinion happens to come from the person you're having sex with someone with a head on them because they'd rather be watching saturday football with the lads then even better.

It seems like a lose lose situation to me

Couples... they happen to do things together.

But generally stuff they both enjoy. Although it's nice to do something for your oh that you don't necessarily enjoy, not every bloody Saturday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I find it hard to believe that anyone actually lives in this tv inspired gender role nightmare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

IvaBigWun wrote: »

If this second opinion happens to come from the person you're having sex with then even better.

This is exactly the reason for gay friends.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

How else are you supposed to have sex in fitting rooms :confused:

I find it hard to believe that anyone actually lives in this tv inspired gender role nightmare

I see a lot of my fella friends being dragged along shopping on Saturday mornings. I'm like why are they going if they don't want to go?? But I'm equally like why are the girlfs insistent on dragging them along??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Lol, you make it out like we want to be there. Well, maybe some do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭RickyBobby1

Your very easily annoyed If that's the case! Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭animum

I have to agree with the op...I think it's ridiculous of a man to go clothes shopping with his missus...

Same goes for dragging your boyfriend to a westlife or beyonce concert.

That's what girlfriends, sisters, mothers are for.

Actually annoys me a little bit too much. :)

StickyIcky wrote: »
    Geez OP sorry for "taking up space" in your woman's (only?) department. I never realised this was such an important point that someone would feel so compelled to come onto the Internet and tell all us men how bothered they are by our presence. Perhaps I should ask all the men in the men's department next time my wife and I are out shopping together if it's okay to bring her in with me.

oooohhhh.... really no offence meant StickyIcky! Only wrote, as was in a shop today and a partner of a lady (beside me in a cubicle) was outside, (with baby and toddler), while other half tried on clothes/stuff. Baby was tiny and very distressed and partner was trying to placate both the baby, and toddler. I felt sorry for all, yet pi£$@ed off with both the man and woman couldn't just pick an hour each over the weekend to choose a jumper on their own!

This is exactly the reason for gay friends.

Oh god no, we hate it too. Why can't ye just go shopping with other girls?

oooohhhh.... really no offence meant StickyIcky! Only wrote, as was in a shop today and a partner of a lady (beside me in a cubicle) was outside, (with baby and toddler), while other half tried on clothes/stuff. Baby was tiny and very distressed and partner was trying to placate both the baby, and toddler. I felt sorry for all, yet pi£$@ed off with both the man and woman couldn't just pick an hour each over the weekend to choose a jumper on their own!

But you don't know the situation at all. Maybe they are on holidays and stopped by the shops for an hour. Maybe the woman is breastfeeding so couldn't leave baby behind but wants to be able to actually try on clothes! Maybe he had spent the last two hours looking for a new suit and she only spent 5 minutes in that one shop!

Also if your boyfriend is so whipped to go shopping with you, you can bet a week's wages he doesn't have the goolies to tell you if your bum looks big....so a pointless exercise for all in my opinion.

animum wrote: »
    Also if your boyfriend is so whipped to go shopping with you, you can bet a week's wages he doesn't have the goolies to tell you if your bum looks big....so a pointless exercise for all in my opinion.

How pathetic it is to call a man who goes to a shop with a woman, "whipped". Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Well, someone has to pay for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

I work in a clothes shop at the weekend and always find it so funny seeing men lurking around the dressing rooms looking so bored waiting for their OHs. They seem so out of place and uncomfortable, it reminds me of how in the olden days men would wait in the waiting rooms while women were giving birth, it's like the fitting rooms are sacred women grounds or something :P

I never went shopping with my ex, except once. I didn't enjoy it because I felt bad for dragging him around with me. I prefer shopping alone, don't even really like friends being there.

How pathetic it is to call a man who goes to a shop with a woman, "whipped". Ffs.

If he doesn't want to go and does it to avoid an argument and also does it to keep her sweet so he can go out without a fuss from her, then yeah, he's whipped.

That's usually the circumstances I've witnessed, and I've witnessed it many times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Daqster wrote: »
    How else are you supposed to have sex in fitting rooms :confused:

Apparently if you look like you're even going to try this an eagle eyed shop security guy will turn into an evil eyed one.

Apparently.

<_<

>_>

But you don't know the situation at all. Maybe they are on holidays and stopped by the shops for an hour. Maybe the woman is breastfeeding so couldn't leave baby behind but wants to be able to actually try on clothes! Maybe he had spent the last two hours looking for a new suit and she only spent 5 minutes in that one shop!

But he doesn't need to go in and hover around the dressing rooms, leave her off for half an hour to have some time to herself. I know I would prefer that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

For me it might be because my opinion was genuinely sought and I could tell her when I'd had enough.

But he doesn't need to go in and hover around the dressing rooms, leave her off for half an hour to have some time to herself. I know I would prefer that.

You might, she might like him to tell her how a dress looks. News flash: everyone is different.

Personally I cannot stand shopping and I'd hate it more with a partner hanging around - or even a friend for that matter - but each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Chareth Cutestory

I value my boyfriends opinion when it comes to clothes, as he does mine. I've never once dragged him anywhere to wait while I try something on and if he does wait around then I appreciate it. If he said 'listen I'm bored, I'm gonna feck off for a bit while you change' I'd say fair enough, no problem. Why are people afraid to tell their other halves they'd rather leave them to it and meet them later on?!

Why pick on my comment, someone else said pussywhipped and henpecked...

Anyway, I would call anyone who does something they don't want to do whipped...just to keep the peace.

Couples do things they like to do together, any man I know doesn't like shopping for himself, let alone for his girlfriend....unless it's to an Ann summers shop.. :)

You might, she might like him to tell her how a dress looks. News flash: everyone is different.

Personally I cannot stand shopping and I'd hate it more with a partner hanging around - or even a friend for that matter - but each to their own.

Absolutely! Just don't drag kids into the mix on a Saturday.......that's the bit I found upsetting. No need. You can find a jumper/dress anytime - but each to their own!

Why pick on my comment, someone else said pussywhipped and henpecked...

Anyway, I would call anyone who does something they don't want to do whipped...just to keep the peace.

Couples do things they like to do together, any man I know doesn't like shopping for himself, let alone for his girlfriend....unless it's to an Ann summers shop.. :)

I commented on theirs too.

If someone feels they need to stand outside a clothes shop just to stop a fight, they need to take a long hard look at their relationship.

Fcuk. That.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Dressing room shagging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I commented on theirs too.

If someone feels they need to stand outside a clothes shop just to stop a fight, they need to take a long hard look at their relationship.

Fcuk. That.

Easier said than done in a lot of cases. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

Absolutely! Just don't drag kids into the mix on a Saturday.......that's the bit I found upsetting. No need. You can find a jumper/dress anytime - but each to their own!

So you were annoyed because there was a child there? Why start a thread about men accompanying their ohs?

Either way, it's hardly someone else's fault if you choose to be annoyed by something like this.