Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doing a "Dav"....

• 05-01-2014 10:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭

What has been your worst day in work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Lick ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Tried to cash a cheque and accidentally the whole ulster bank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

While working in tech support job I shutdown one of the companys servers accidentally .

Server was in a remote datacenter and it took ages to find and turn it back on. I was told a few months later that I had cost then 10k in trade in that time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

This is gonna be a thing now, isnt it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Ah give him a break, he's from Mayo and likes to think he is reasonably smart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Filled a petrol car up with diesel in my first job.

In my defense, he pulled up at the diesel pump and said 'fill her up'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

I worked in Ulster Bank about 10 years ago, in the afternoon I was cashing cheques into accounts. I accidently entered the wrong account number but by pure fluke it was a valid number of a student in Trinity. The check was for 125k and because I went to trinity they thought I set it up somehow, when they checked the two accounts and saw the were close enough they let me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

Daqster wrote: »

How did you do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

I got involved in an ill-advised mess selectively citing Irish blasphemy law to stifle debate based on my personal opinions.

Wait, that was Dav too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,200 ✭✭✭shanec1928

How did you do that?
    well he took the nozzle from the pump and then started filling the car up thats how.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Woke up and smashed my face off my nightstand.
    Spilled hot coffee on my lap.
    Broke my laptop when I opened it at my desk.
    Broke a mold that cost a couple of hundred bucks.
    Dropped a sample which broke.
    Spend a couple of hours on a machine and achived nothing.
    Had raw food for lunch.
    I just left after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

I dont think I've ever made that big of a cnut of things in my crappy job. Probably cost boards.plc a fortune in advertising and talk to revenues. Bad for the bottom line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I did the opposite of that. It's easier to get it wrong like I did, don't know how you got a diesel nozzle in a petrol opening though.

Anyway, had to push the car around the back and drain the whole tank and give them a free full tank of diesel in the end. It was an early '90s diesel, not like todays cars where you can't get it wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Do you remember that whole Ulster Bank fiasco last year?

The day that started I was late for work and got fired from my job in a youth hostel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Lost about a grand's worth of stock to a bibe passing dodgy cheques once. Didn't get in too much trouble though.

Back when I worked in a pool one of the lifeguards tried to fix an air-lock in a chlorine pump by unscrewing the hose. Unfortunately he neglected to turn the pump off first and narrowly avoided getting hit by a spurt of highly concentrated chlorine. He couldn't get near it to turn it off so had no choice but to leave it spraying chlorine around the pump room while he went to get help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

I did the opposite of that. It's easier to get it wrong like I did, don't know how you got a diesel nozzle in a petrol opening though.

Anyway, had to push the car around the back and drain the whole tank and give them a free full tank of diesel in the end. It was an early '90s diesel, not like todays cars where you can't get it wrong.

That may have been what I did also.

I just remember arguing with him about which pump he had pulled up at (cheeky pup that I was).

We had a black diesel pump and a blue & white petrol pump.

Was the early 90s for myself also and the owner was a mechanic who worked out the back of the garage and so he was on hand to help.

Didn't dock me or anything. Sound bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I dont think I've ever made that big of a cnut of things in my crappy job. Probably cost boards.plc a fortune in advertising and talk to revenues. Bad for the bottom line.

You'd feel bad for the tech guys. Most (all) of the ones I know would've been up the entire previous night raiding in WoW, eating cheese doodle after cheese doodle and drinking Pepsi Max. I can only speculate but the Boards guys must've been exhausted when they got the call to come in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

shanec1928 wrote: »
    well he took the nozzle from the pump and then started filling the car up thats how.

Bit puzzled about this myself, isn't the nozzle on a diesel pump wider so it can't fit into the petrol tank?

You'd feel bad for the tech guys. Most (all) of the ones I know would've been up the entire previous night raiding in WoW, eating cheese doodle after cheese doodle and drinking Pepsi Max. I can only speculate but the Boards guys must've been exhausted when they got the call to come in.

What a ludicrous statement. Pepsi Max is sugar free, the very idea of them drinking that is laughable.

Diabetics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

I hear Monster is the drink of choice for a level 67 paladin these days.

Diabetics.

I think you're generalising there.
    I hear Monster is the drink of choice for a level 67 paladin these days.

Jolt Cola no longer cuts the mustard.

I think you're generalising there.

Just the ones I know...

But it's a really disgusting drink. Even Coke Zero would be a better choice, although I'm not condoning the drinking of that muck either.

shanec1928 wrote: »

Try put a diesel nozzle in a petrol car and get back to me.

Just about possible. Some garages might have a petrol nozzle connected to the diesel pipe. One I worked in did just that when the diesel one was broken and all they had was a spare petrol one.

Possible? Yes, but 1 in a million shot and not really relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

Was working in a garage in Spain... Crashed car comes in for repairs. Me and the lads discuss options for fixing it... That day they went for lunch I stayed on as I was the only English speaker.... Decided I would get a head start on the crashed car. Took the roof off the car completely.... The lads came back I was standing by the car proud as punch until they informed methat taking the roof off was only an option..... The most expensive and the most time consuming one.... Felt pretty bad...

I woke up 2 hours late for work once.

Had egg whites in my hair from the night before (we drunkenly were trying to do the sturdiest mohawks)

Went to wash it out. No hot water.

Boiled a kettle. Just til it would have been hot enough to wash hair in.

Poured straight on my head.

It was a lot hotter than i expected. Burnt my scalp.

Got to work, now 3 hours late and it was 12. 3 hours prep to do in one. (busy burger place- like Bobo's type place)

Went to cut the big industrial blocks of cheddar. Cheese wire broke.

Used a long knife and a tea-towel.

Somehow the knife missed and I cut through 2 tendons on my hand. The initial spurt hit the ceiling.

Restaurant had to be shut due to my blood being everywhere.

Got to Hospital, put on morphine type drugs. Had operation, 8 stitches after they repaired the tendons. Had to keep me in overnight for observation.

It was New Years Eve.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

I woke up 2 hours late for work once.

Pappa wins this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

On the subject of burning ones scalp, a young gullute of a labourer was working on the same job as me and was in charge of the kettle duties.

Now like most old terraced houses the fuseboard and meter is behind the front door high up the wall. As this was a gut job we only had a temporary supply which was a double socket up by the meter. One plug was taken up by the cement mixerdand the other was free.

As he didn't have an extension lead the young six foot two golum fool balanced a full kettle of water on top of the front door to boil. He went around and told all of us to be careful as there was a kettle balancing on the door.

As I dont drink tea or coffee I nipped down the shop for a can or something and as I returned five minutes later I was greeted by the sight of a labourer with a wet towel/turban around his oversized head in a great deal of discomfort.

The twat had nudged the door, tipped nearly boiling water over his own head.

I would have died laughing if I was there to see it.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

What has been your worst day in work?

Ross and I did some routine maintenance type stuff and managed to take Boards.ie offline for about 12 hours or so. That was deeply unpleasant.

Not my worst day in work, but it's the closest I've been to doing what Dav did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

he britta'd it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Bit puzzled about this myself, isn't the nozzle on a diesel pump wider so it can't fit into the petrol tank?

It is now, it wasn't 20 years ago so was quite a common mistake for those of us working in the fuel injection industry.

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

Worked in a Financial Services company in the IFSC during the Celtic Tiger. A colleague of mine decided the best way to show his frustration at the management decisions taking place was to defecate on the manager's desk.

Now the manager was a total ballbag, but absolutely no need to stoop (or perch) to such levels. I think it's much worse than what Dav did, but others may disagree. My colleague didn't take down Ireland 's favourite online talking shop and crank hangout. He did cause considerable distress to our manager though, and to the Eastern European cleaner who had to tidy up afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Back when I was a plumber, I flooded the Dutch Embassy........twice!

Poor lad had to move into the Raddison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Evelyn Cusack

Maybe you're too young to remember premium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Rabelais wrote: »
    Worked in a Financial Services company in the IFSC during the Celtic Tiger. A colleague of mine decided the best way to show his frustration at the management decisions taking place was to defecate on the manager's desk.

Now the manager was a total ballbag, but absolutely no need to stoop (or perch) to such levels. I think it's much worse than what Dav did, but others may disagree. My colleague didn't take down Ireland 's favourite online talking shop and crank hangout. He did cause considerable distress to our manager though, and to the Eastern European cleaner who had to tidy up afterwards.

That's just being a deliberate tool of the highest order though. Dav's was an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Rabelais wrote: »

Neither did Dav.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

I worked in a pizza factory and made dough by the millions. I put a 5kg sack of yeast into a dough that was supposed to be flat - ruined 3 days production as nobody noticed until the put toppings on and started the baking and it started to rise. issue was boxes would not take the size as too large too.......ooops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Working in a cosmetics factory in Tipp and I put the wrong label on 10,000 lipsticks. :o

All of them had to be peeled off by hand, there is no machine to do this.

Would be teams of 8 of us working night shift just sitting around a table chatting and playing "guess the band" and so on for a few weeks.

Your fingers would be raw and bleeding by the end of a shift!

On the plus side all the factory floor workers loved me and it was overtime $$$. Factory floor work is not well paid so overtime and shift premiums are extremly important to workers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

I posted this in R&R before but it fits well here... still get the shudders when I think about this awful day. This was written in November of last year...

I am on a work trip to Africa to run a training course for local staff. Many many MANY rants brewing already and I've only been here since Thursday.

Got to the airport yesterday to take a domestic flight. Hand over the ticket, 10 mins later I'm still standing there and the check-in lady says "Eh you're not on the list for this flight". She gives no further explanation so I ask her to check again. Turns out whoever booked my flight only put me on stand-by so I don't actually have a ticket. I stand at the check-in desk for SEVENTY MINUTES until a supervisor appears, presses one button on the computer and hey presto, I have a boarding pass. SEVENTY ****ING MINUTES! Frantic run run run through security and to the departure gate to find out the flight has been delayed but no one thought to announce it. Spend 2 hours in what must be the only departure gate in the world with absolutely no seats.

Finally arrived into the north of the country, expected to be brought to a hotel (as usual on these trips) and to check out the workshop venue. Things take an interesting turn when we veer off the paved road onto a dirt track and the driver eventually stops in what I can only describe as a field in the middle of nowhere flanked by chalets, with several nuns walking around. Turns out we are to run our workshop in a church and are staying in little cell-like rooms with no hot water, no internet and erratic electricity. Okay, bit weird, but grand.

After dinner I get into bed. There is no fan or AC and man alive it is HOT. Almost 40 degrees in the daytime hot. I think I'm lucky when the rain starts as it will cool everything down, but it also cuts out the power. Luckily I have a torch, so I think I'll just nip to the loo and then get to sleep. Swing the torch around and that's when I see the first tarantula. Yes, the first. It turns out giant spiders don't much like rain and a ****load of them came into the chalet. They are in the bathroom and in my bedroom. I manage to count 5 tarantulas before I succumb completely to my overwhelming arachnophobia and I have what can best be described as a total ****ing meltdown. I think quickly - what do I need more, my dignity or to sleep somewhere away from this army of tarantulas? It's an easy choice so I make a very embarrassing call to a senior colleague (who I have never even met) and ask for a driver to bring me back into town to a hotel. Fair play to the man, it took 2 hours to sort it all out but I got brought to a hotel where the owner was waiting for me - he even carried out a full spider check on the room before he let me in!

Was in the hotel sometime after midnight. Didn't get much sleep, very exhausted, wouldn't you know the driver comes at 7am (it's Sunday by the way) to bring me to work.

CAN I COME HOME NOW PLEASE?

(TL;DR - Tarantulas)

OSI wrote: »
    I assume you know them all through doing the exact same yourself, yeah?

Me? No. Never played a lot of WoW myself.

More of a D&D man, is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Flooded a telecommunications building when doing a bit of work in there. Roller doors opened that morning to greet us with water pouring down the walls. Forgot to turn a tap off the day before. :o

That was a fun day...

More of a D&D man, is it?

Laser quest, then Airsoft.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I actually did pretty much the exact same thing as Dav on a messageboard I co-run about two weeks ago. Unfortunately, my last functioning site backup was in 2007. :pac:

Is this not Ireland? The very land of "That'll do"? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Got my hopes up.

I thought the last couple of years of drunk bullocks I'd posted was about to get scrubbed forever.